Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Mobility Aids or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Handy Bar

Provides help when getting in & out of the car
Average Customer Rating:
4.84 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 of 25(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Handy Bar
Review 1 for Handy Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Find it hard getting out of a car,
September 18, 2011
By crabapple
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fits all cars, seatbelt cutter
Cons: a bit heavy
"This is the best device I have used to get me in and out of a car. I would recommend it to everyone who has trouble getting in and out of cars. It includes a seatbelt cutter and a window shatter/smasher."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Handy Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very simple robust item,
February 03, 2013
By Keithbt
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
"A very simple piece of equipment that is both well thought out ,and very easy to use.after just a few times of use my disabled wife got the hang of it and says it helps her tremendously..I certainly would have no hesitation in recommending anyone to purchase it.I give it 5 out 5"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Handy Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handy Bar,
January 15, 2013
By Domic
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent item. Has proved invaluable for helping my husband get in and out of the car. Such an easy device to use and store."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Handy Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handy Bar,
January 10, 2013
By RAY44
from SCOTLAND
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent
"The Handy Bar does exactly as it says it does i do some volunteer driving for Contact the Elderly and the difference that it makes for people getting in and out the car is unreal. Everybody always asks where i got it.
EXCELLENT TOOL.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Handy Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
handy bar,
December 23, 2012
By martin222
from bosham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"very happy with it. It's also very useful and is well made"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Who will use this Product? Parent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Handy Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very helpful,
December 04, 2012
By Nick109
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of use and it works
Cons: heavy and pointed so don't drop it on your toes!
"Excellent instrument for helping those with difficulty getting in and out of the car. Have recommended it to numerous people and have bought several for extended members of the family. Can't recommend it highly enough and can't understand why Associations etc whose aim is help those with a disability don't don't know about it - many people with a disability aren't even aware of its existence. It's such a simple idea but is a great help."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Handy Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Buy,
September 26, 2012
By ArtieQ
from London, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: extremely practical
"This is a great asset for the elderly or disabled, who (still independent) are having trouble getting in and out of cars. Not such a looker, but that doesn't matter. It does it's job. Well. Feels comfortable to the hand and has two other uses. Fab!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Handy Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value,
November 11, 2011
By happ
from county durham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"recently purchase for my elderly mother, quality is excellent & really helps her get out of the car, whilst makes it less stressful for everyone else, would definitely recommend"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Who will use this Product? Parent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Handy Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
November 07, 2011
By Melmar
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It was bought to help my 87 yr old father, with mobility difficulties, to get in and out of the car. It worked a treat - fitted in seconds and really secure. Excellent product, so simple to use, easy to take everywhere"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Who will use this Product? Parent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Handy Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The very best,
October 20, 2011
By uselessscrapiron
from Bristol, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: none
"I have already posted a review on the excellence of this product - this second one is to tell you that this is for a repeat purchase for a family member. Another family member is about to purchase one also and I am showing it to everyone I meet. I think that says it all."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Handy Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handy Bar,
October 07, 2011
By Dusty4
from High Wycombe
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a useful aid for any person who has difficulty getting in/out of cars & would like to be able to grab hold of an extra support"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Handy Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely super,
October 04, 2011
By avocet
from Southampton, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My Occupational Therapist recommended this to me and I could not believe it was all he said. It is so easy to use and gives me complete stability when getting in and out of the car, and even more importantly, anyone else's car. I have already recommended it to several people and bought my mother one. I bought it at the special offer price however and I am not sure I would have done at the full price. I would have needed a demonstration although the OT's recommendation helped. I think you could describe it better."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Handy Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
don't panic,
October 04, 2011
By shiloh
from essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: strong
Cons: price- if paying full
"the handy bar does as the label says helps getting in & out the car.
But it also gives you several other helps for when the panic in you rises.
it gives you a seatbelt cutter in the handle.
the handy bar is strong with a pointed end, heavy enough to smash the glass to get out.
light enough to use daily
a good tool to give you confidence not to panic when accidents happen"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Handy Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good helping tool to carry in your car,
September 26, 2011
By Wheelchairspirit
from West midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: worth the money
"Brilliant tool to help people get in and out of cars especially if you have bad knees or hips. This product is well worth the cost as it gives you some freedom to help yourself without having to ask for help"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Handy Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handy Bar,
September 21, 2011
By backcare
from Surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very good product to enable a person to get out of the car. Encourages independence"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Who will use this Product? Friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Handy Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handy Bar No the alcoholic drinks type!),
September 18, 2011
By EnglishPatriot
from Greater London, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was fortunate to discover the Handy Bar at reduced cost 20% usual price. It is the product I struggled without for too long (who knew Halfords did this stuff?) when getting out of my car. It's sturdy (I'm not as slim as I once was) firm and you can be confident of being able to rely on it. Fantastic product, I only wish I'd found it sooner."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Handy Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a 'gadget'!!,
September 13, 2011
By irongeorge
from Bristol, England.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: i think i've said it all.
"This must be the greatest invention since radar! I bought it for my passengers but I find it useful getting in and out of the car and I'm not disabled - just old. Unlike many 'gadgets' which consist of thin plastic and metal this is made to last. A true engineering masterpiece and so simple. As a one-time designer, I would have been proud to be the designer of this."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Handy Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent,
August 30, 2010
By Ambar
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My relative's comment - absolutely brillant wish we had had this years ago, has made getting out of the car so much easier. Thank you to who ever invented it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Handy Bar
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good buy,
August 28, 2010
By Anotherpensioner
from Cornwall
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to keep in the car ready for use.
"A very useful gadget which does, as it says give good support getting into and out of the car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Handy Bar
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent,
July 20, 2010
By Bagshot
from Ringwood, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"As a Parkinsons sufferer I find the Handy Bar more than usful to enable me to get in and out of my car. I can recomend this to anyone with mobility difficulties."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
12next>>