Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Sendai CD889 CD Radio with MP3 & USB Connectivity

Sendai CD889 CD player with front USB and AUX input for easy connection of MP3 players and other devices.
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
28 of 33(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Sendai CD889 CD Radio with MP3 & USB Connectivity
Review 21 for Sendai CD889 CD Radio with MP3 & USB Connectivity
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sounds great, but functions fail within a year,
January 31, 2011
By
from Carlow, Ireland
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good sound, lots of features
Cons: buttons malfunction, display malfunctions, unable to select features, unit practically inoperable within a year
" I've had this CD player for less than a year, and now the display malfunctions more often than not and very few of the buttons work. I can't adjust the sound any more due to the malfunctioning buttons, and I can't turn the CD player on and nor can I turn the unit off - the power button has stopped working too. It is awful piece of kit, and the only thing I can do it toss this unit out and buy a better make.
On a positive note the unit has great sound and lots of features. However, the operational malfunctions are just too severe for this to make it worth buying. I expect that the positive reviews on this site are from people who have recently bought the unit and haven't experienced these malfunctions yet.
I recommend paying slightly more and buying a better brand instead, like a Kenwood, Sony, JVC or whatever. They sound great too, and will last for much longer than this Sendai junk. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Sendai CD889 CD Radio with MP3 & USB Connectivity
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value for money,
January 24, 2011
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" i found this stereo very easy to install it looks stylish and is very easy to use. the kids can just plug their ipods into it and listen to their own music too which is great for them. overall fantastic value for money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Sendai CD889 CD Radio with MP3 & USB Connectivity
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well worth the money,
January 19, 2011
By
from Essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looks great, sounds good, easy to fit with iso fix, removable fascia, sd card slot
Cons: don't control ipod
" I picked it up at 6.30 in the evening and had it fitted in 10 mins, only problem was the length of the rear fixing which stops the cd jumping over bumps, it was too long but improvised with a shorter screw and it fits like a glove.
And for the price it sounds great its just a shame the USB don't charge or control my ipod but that is all I could say bad about it. The remote is handy if maybe a little bit pointless as its just as easy to use the buttons.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Sendai CD889 CD Radio with MP3 & USB Connectivity
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good pruduct,
January 16, 2011
By
from Luton
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This is a good radio
get a lot for the price
plays all songs from 4gb card (class 4) just a little bit hard to card back out some times
fitted easly
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Sendai CD889 CD Radio with MP3 & USB Connectivity
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sendai CD889 Review,
January 10, 2011
By
from Woking, Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: flip down cd player, removable face, cd aux usb sd, case for the removable face
Cons: very bright colour
" Overall a great product! I was also very happy about the fact it fitted in my car and so i did not need to buy anything extra.
The colour is intense on this smart player, slightly discracting when driving at night but obviously nothing serious. So far i've only used the AUX and CD, they are not at all confusing to work. Its not specified on the page but the face of this radio IS removable and therefore grat value for money for the saftey aspect.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Sendai CD889 CD Radio with MP3 & USB Connectivity
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value for money,
October 26, 2010
By
from Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very good item for the money. Clear sound, easy to use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Sendai CD889 CD Radio with MP3 & USB Connectivity
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
its ok,
October 21, 2010
By
from hull
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: cheap, looks nice
Cons: freaks out with large data storage
" for a mid price mid range player this is ok, but it has its odd moments where it will crash, and can only handle devices up to 2gb, makes my phone and 8gb ipod pretty useless :s still, good player for the money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Sendai CD889 CD Radio with MP3 & USB Connectivity
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value,
October 17, 2010
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have to admit the unknown brand was a little off putting but i still took the chance, for the price and hind sight it was worth it. I've read a few reviews and there are one or two having probs with the CD's, to be honest, with a card reader and a usb, not to mention an auxillary i don't see the point of a cd player. I play my card which has 600 records on it and a usb flash sick/card which has a further few hundred on it, so i am more than delighted with the purchase. The radio again, never a problem. The only gripe i had and this is a personal one, was that it annoyed me not being able to listen to the player with the drivers door open without a warning sound coming from the dashboard informing me that the door was open, so i had no choice but to cut the blue wire (which off course immediately invalidates the warranty) but again for the price it was worth taking the risk. I have had the appliance for two months now and its just as good as the day i bought it. Even if it broke down tomorrow (And because of the warranty issue) i wouldn't hesitate in buying another one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Sendai CD889 CD Radio with MP3 & USB Connectivity
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CD Radio,
October 16, 2010
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This was not so easy to fit to my astra as it said on the web site but a great stereo. Easy to use, One problem is the remote control you get with it doesn't always work. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Sendai CD889 CD Radio with MP3 & USB Connectivity
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sendai radio/cd player,
October 15, 2010
By
from Lincoln, Lincs
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: remote control in my caravan
Cons: new cd did not load 1st time
" 1st. cd i loaded came up error 3, tried again no problem... usb input no problem, have'nt tried sd card yet. overall i think this product is very good value. i have fitted it in my caravan which went without a problem, remote very useful, excellent all round "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Sendai CD889 CD Radio with MP3 & USB Connectivity
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the Job Well,
October 07, 2010
By
from Exeter, Devon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good value (i think), clear and easy to use, simple
Cons: lighting is a bit brash, takes ages to load a cd
" I am no expert on car audio. I bought this because it was good value and had a USB input. It was easy to install and sounds better than the old Sony unit I had. There could be better products out there but if you just want to be able to use MP3 players then this does the job well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Sendai CD889 CD Radio with MP3 & USB Connectivity
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sendia,
October 02, 2010
By
from stockport
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This radio has all the features i need and would really recomend this radio to anyone and found fitting it simple to.
The young lad who helped me(stockport store) sort everything i needed for it was very helpful and couldn`t do enough to help,excellant customer service.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Sendai CD889 CD Radio with MP3 & USB Connectivity
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointing,
October 01, 2010
By
from Sheffield
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: very pretty
Cons: has a mind of its own
" This CD player doesn't play half of my CDs - it just comes up with 'error 3'. It plays copies and old scratched ones, but not new ones! The radio presets also change themselves. At one point all of them set themselves to radio 2! I would prefer to make my own choice of what I want to listen to, and not have my cd/radio choose it for me! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2