Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery

Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport VRLA Motorcycle Battery never needs refilling and is maintenance free.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
18 of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Review 1 for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yuasa Battery,
December 05, 2013
By Tim6969
from Farnborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I got the genuine Yuasa battery as they are of a reliable quality. Works really well. Bike starts even quicker than before. Obviously, the old one was suffering after many years of service.
Don't settle for anything less."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great but confusing description,
November 28, 2013
By kyojitsu
from leicestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, available quickly
Cons: not yuasa as described, expensive compared to other online deals
"I bought this thinking it'd be a Yuasa branded battery as that's the OE replacement for my bike and is well recommended by many owners. Reserved at my local store, went to collect and was presented with a Varta equivalent. Assistant said it was the same but not sure. Lots of googling revealed that it's made in the same factory as Bosch and is a good battery. So far very good - easy to fill with acid but you need to charge using an Optimate or similar. Took about 12 hours or so. Very strong battery and working well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? RUGBY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
electrolytes won't fill into battery!,
October 24, 2013
By bikegirllondon
from London
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: good feedback
Cons: unusable
"With an mot looming tomorrow I thought I'd buy a decent battery. Peeled back the strip and pushed onto battery as per instructions. Air bubbles from nearly all cylinders, all good so far. Had to pop out for a couple of hours and when I returned the acid has barely emptied even 1/4 of the way? Am now stuck as it'll spill everywhere when I inevitably have to separate it to return it to the shop?! Stuck!!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? HENDON
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery,
September 23, 2013
By Geebuddy
from Brighton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Battery was replaced by a Varta model. Worked out of the box. Simple to fill as per instructions"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Far better value than a cheap battery,
July 24, 2013
By Skytour
from Norfolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Like many bike owners my bike often stands for long periods, and I dont use a special charger to keep the battery topped up. In the last few years I have bought several cheaper batteries which have tended to totally discharge and then refuse to re-charge after standing. This Bosch was about 60% more expensive but after leaving the bike standing all winter, it was still fully charged!! I will always buy this type of Bosch battery in future, it has saved me money and you can tell its a really high quality product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? CROMER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality,
July 16, 2013
By Abuja57
from Somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good quality, easy to add acid, works brilliantly
Cons: you have to add acid unlike a car battery which co
"The battery itself needs to be filled with "acid" but it is very easy and safe to do. It carries some charge after about an hour - enough to start a 955 bike. However, the advice in the shop was that it needed to be charged overnight. After starting the bike without any additional charging and riding the bike back home (about 50 miles) it has been fine."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EXMOUTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High Quality motorcycle battery.,
June 23, 2013
By JeffB
from Harlow, Essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this battery for my Triumph Daytona 955i. Very pleased with the performance and I'm confident that as with other Bosch batteries I have purchased for cars and my boat, it will give reliable service over a long period of time."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ease to use,
March 16, 2013
By spudmurphy1595
from surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"just put the acid ease to use bottle no spills put battery on bike vrooomvroom of you go no need to charge it ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bosch battery for Triumph Sprint,
April 02, 2012
By SprintSt955
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fitted perfectly, easy to add supplied acid
Cons: bike batteries are so expensive compared to cars.
Car Make Triumph Sprint st 955 (2001)
"Perfect fit, worked as expected, excellent product (so long as it lasts - too early to tell obviously, buit so far so good)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BMW GSA replacement battery,
February 27, 2012
By BMWR1200gsa
from midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make BMW
"Reserved on line and collected from store no problems at all.
Perfect fit no mods required just read the instructions and away.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just a battery,
January 13, 2012
By Scooterboy007
from London, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Car Make Vespa 250 GTS
"It works - full stop - what else is there to say?
It's a battery - does what it says on the tin.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
battery,
October 16, 2010
By divvie
from Surrey,England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Reserved online and collected it next day. Turned out to be a Varta battery not a Bosch but had to take it as it was a sunday. Seems to work ok though but i've only had it on for 3 weeks."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bosch Battery YTX14BS,
September 19, 2010
By ZX12R
from Staffordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to order and collect
Cons: having to fit it
"well its on the bike. Other reviews say better than the OEM fit so give it a go."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works Egor,
August 12, 2010
By RedScooter
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"With an MoT looming and a dead battery, I reserved this online at 7pm & picked it up about half an hour later.
The battery is a sealed unit, and comes as a kit with electrolyte and a sealing strip. It also includes a set of contact bolts. The one sheet guide is fairly easy to follow, tear off a foil strip on the battery & invert the bottle of electrolyte over the holes, pushing it home to break the seal. It took about half an hour to fill, and then the sealing strip is pushed home (this took some effort).
Although the sheet says it comes dry pre-charged, a quick check with a multi-meter showed it needed charging. I left it overnight at 1 Amp (normal) charge (on a 3 hour on 1 off cycle). Put it in the scoot next morning, started and rode to the test centre. Passed.
Overall, it was well packed included all the parts and had clear instructions. Loses a star on performance for having to be recharged. Price was similar to the dealer's (who of course wasn't open at 8pm!)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Motorcycle Battery,
April 14, 2010
By TomTree
from Ashton, Cornwall
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: uprated cranking power
Cons: top of the price bracket
"I have tried over the years motorcycle batteries from cheap manufacturers through to expensive ones. My last three motorcycle batteries have all been Bosch. I would recommend them to anyone, there is a marked increase in cranking power. I would not buy another make now, even the OEM Yuasa, even thoughit is an expensive option."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sweet purchase,
March 28, 2010
By neddydude
from Andover, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: did exactly what it said on the box!
Cons: battery box a little big
"The batter was an excellent buy as long as you follow the instuctions, fill with acid and leave for half hour then it's fully charged! As soon as i put it in the bike, it fired and sorted out all my problems too! A + service too!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
super battery,
December 08, 2009
By darby12shire
from birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: no cons
"battery has been great no problems did its job thanks halfords"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic battery at a fantastic price,
August 05, 2009
By jaybo
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great value for money and a very good quality item."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
battery did not hold charge,
May 27, 2009
By ricks000
from farnborough
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: met a nice aa man
"battery went flat in the middle of london
total let down"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Yuasa YTX14-BS Powersport Motorcycle Battery
Based on 1 ratings-only review
RatingOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5