Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Shampoo, Polish & Wax or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Autoglym High Definition Wax

Autoglym High Definition Wax contains everything you need for the ultimate finish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.821 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
27 of 28(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Review 1 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fabulous finish,
March 16, 2016
By
from Wales, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fabulous 'hard wax' finish, easy to apply and polish off, lovely 'expensive sunscreen' coconut smell
Cons: nothing really!
" I bought this to protect my brand new vehicle from day 1. It took about 3hrs to apply and polish off my clean and dried Defender. The finish is fabulous, rain water just rolls off it and it gleams when the sun shines. I used between a third and a half of the tub (it's a big vehicle!) so plenty for next time too (in about 6 months). The time and effort was well worth it. Autoglym products aren't cheap, but they're well worth the cost. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? HAVERFORD WEST
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality wax,
October 02, 2015
By
from Suffolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A good deep "showroom" shine is achieved with this product.
This is the kind if shine I've been trying to obtain for many years unsuccessfully with other products.
A small amount of wax goes a very long way. The tub of wax should last me several months, if not years which makes it very econimical despite the price.
2 spongy application pads are provided with 1 good sized microfibre cloth.
I would highly recommend this product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BURY ST. EDMUNDS
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
did the job but not as I expected,
September 19, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" before brought this product I have read many positive feedback from internet, once I actually used it, I found the wax only last like a week, then I need to re-wax again. not very impressive for such expensive price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
-10points
2out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent polish,
August 04, 2015
By
from kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: deep shine
Cons: price
" Superb as expected from top company. Puts a great shine. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BROMLEY
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best wax,
May 19, 2015
By
from Gateshead, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Fantastic wax I gave used many waxes and none come close to this wax buy this wax don't worry about price "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far very pleased, time will tell.,
January 15, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: reccommended for jaguars
" I bought this product to use on my classic Jaguar.
The car looks great at the moment, but it is stored through the winter.
We shall see what the product really performs like when it is exposed to the elements.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? TAMWORTH
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Expensive but worth it,
December 19, 2014
By
from Staffordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Its seems expensive but then so are our cars and its less than a tank full of petrol.
You do not need much so it should last for ages. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEEK
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good price, good service,
September 30, 2014
By
from Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" booked online which is 3 for 2 offer. Collected in store, good service. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing on old paintwork,
June 26, 2014
By
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use only requires a small amount
" Having read all the glowing reports I purchased this wax for my 23 year old MX-5.
I washed the car, then used a clay bar, I followed this with autoglym pain renovator on the worst parts of the car which had turned pink ( a real problem with a red car), the rest of the car was polished with autoglym polish. Then finally the wax went on. The result was amazing, a really beautiful shine. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? WELLINGBOROUGH
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very nice shine & finish,
June 17, 2014
By
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My second wax. Its a different type of shine, freshly done its like glass. My previous wax was a warmer shine if that helps but in certain light this is much better.
Its was easier to remove but thats down to not putting too much on in the first place.
I will give it 5 stars as I really cant complain. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good!,
April 05, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: comes with its own applicator and cloth, covers a huge area so will last for ages, good quality shine
Cons: could supply a second removal cloth
" I used this for the first time on my car today and it is very easy to apply and buff off and after you have waxed your car it doesn't look like you've even touched the wax in the tub because you really don't need much at all.
I can't comment on durability at this stage however as I have only just applied it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NORTHALLERTON
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SUPERB WAX,
March 16, 2014
By
from wirral
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very easy to use, no remaining residue
Cons: whats not to like
" It is an expense but when you use it you find out why I applied two coats of hd wax on my astra and its still looking fabulous even almost a moth after. Tip after washing vehicle clay bar paintwork with meguiars clay bar system, polish with auto glym super resin polish and finally apply two coats "ones probably enough" but for a deep glossy long lasting shine and protection go for two coats. I always use auto glym products and there's not been one I don't like and this is no exception, its well worth the money as one pot can last you a very long long time "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BROMBOROUGH
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Shine,
June 03, 2013
By
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this product after some research and reading the reviews on here. It's as good as they say, absolutely stunning. You get everything you need in the box ie 2 applicator sponges and a buffing cloth.
Easy to apply. Very little polish required as spreads well.
Leaves no dusty residue or white marks on other parts.
I've been trying and using good polishes for nearly 50 years and this is by far the best. Ok, there may be better ones but I honestly can't see any reason to buy a more expensive one.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
Which Store did you visit? COLCHESTER
+28points
38out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Autoglym HD Wax,
May 05, 2013
By
from Wolverhampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to apply
Cons: takes elbow grease to get off!
" I looked at the price and thought 'I hope its worth it', however a couple of weeks in and I'm glad I paid the money. It leaves a great finish, car shine is awesome on my 5 series, looks showroom new. Would happily tell others to try it and i've done 2 layers and still have three quarters of the pot left, so it will last, even on a big car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BILSTON
+20points
23out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent as alwaya,
April 23, 2013
By
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: large box waste of cardboard
" The key to this working correctly is prep. I always wash the car, de-tar, clay bar, wash again, correct paint, polish, seal and then wax afterwards. Do one side at a time, 2 thin coats are better than 1 thick one. Use several cloths to remove, 1 is mot enough in my opinion. Remove bird dirt with Fastglass afterwards to prevent the wax being tarnished. 1 tub did 5 coats on an average size car easy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
+10points
15out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing wax,
March 13, 2013
By
from Cambridgeshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, a coat of wax lasts months
" I was a little worried when I brought this due to the cost, however after preparing my car with a good wash, clay and polish I applied this wax, its very easy to put on but does take a little bit of work to buff off however the results are amazing.
About a week after waxing the car I rewashed it since it was really muddy and the dirt and soapy water just slides right off the body work, this wax really does last a long time and better yet after waxing 3 cars I've only used around 5-10% of the wax so it should last years.
A very good buy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WISBECH
+12points
20out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Autoglym High Definition Wax - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED,
March 11, 2013
By
from Leyland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: amazing results, excellent durability
Cons: expensive. really expensive.
" EXCELLENT PRODUCT!
Don't let the price tag fool you. Yes, it's expensive and it's enough to put you off buying it. But trust me on this one: SPEND THE MONEY!
I bought this to replace the Meguiars Wax that I was previously using and this blows it out of the water. It's easy to apply and surprisingly easy to come off. THE RESULTS ARE SUPERB. It glows like glass. And the beading is really evident.
The best part it, it stays on your car and lasts and lasts and lasts. Washing the car after having a coat of this stuff is a breeze.
And even after a year, I still haven't finished off a pot yet. Excellent value for money!
Autoglym makes good products. But there are some that are must-haves (Super Resin Polish, Tar Remover). This fits in that category!
See my other review of the Autoglym products. I've tried and tested them all. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
+55points
59out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
February 25, 2013
By
from West Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to apply and buff off
" The price tag in itself made me a little suspicious whether the product was just one of those products you pay a fortune for for the name. However I have to say it is by far the best wax I have ever used. Its easy to put on with the sponges and easy to buff off. Very little goes a very long way, I expect that the tub of wax will out live my car. It leaves an amazing wet look shine and to top it off it smells pretty good as well. I would reccomend using the clay system by autoglym first to get that ultra smooth glossy look. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic and so easy to use,
January 26, 2013
By
from Bridgend Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Unbelievable product u get what u pay for
A must buy product
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great stuff,
November 25, 2012
By
from Halifax
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought a new white Ibiza FR two weeks ago and the dealer tried to sell me an Autoglym kit for an extortionate price so I declined, knowing fine well you can purchase the exact products you need from Halfords. After reading reviews on this HD wax, I decided to purchase some despite the price tag, after all I want my new car to stay looking new. I have used a car wash twice (I am lazy) since getting the car so today decided to try the wax today after the carwash. This wax is amazing. Goes on easily and buffs off lovely, the bodywork feels so silky and is gleaming. I even want to do my husbands black Leon now as I am sure black will look even more amazing (but what a shame he is out in it). If this does actually run out at any stage given it looks like it will last forever, I will definately be purchasing more "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+10points
17out of 24found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>