Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Autoglym High Definition Wax

Autoglym High Definition Wax contains everything you need for the ultimate finish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
44 of 45(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Review 1 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing on old paintwork,
June 26, 2014
By SMA321
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use only requires a small amount
"Having read all the glowing reports I purchased this wax for my 23 year old MX-5.
I washed the car, then used a clay bar, I followed this with autoglym pain renovator on the worst parts of the car which had turned pink ( a real problem with a red car), the rest of the car was polished with autoglym polish. Then finally the wax went on. The result was amazing, a really beautiful shine."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? WELLINGBOROUGH
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very nice shine & finish,
June 17, 2014
By whytecat
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My second wax. Its a different type of shine, freshly done its like glass. My previous wax was a warmer shine if that helps but in certain light this is much better.
Its was easier to remove but thats down to not putting too much on in the first place.
I will give it 5 stars as I really cant complain."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good!,
April 05, 2014
By Outofthi5world
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: comes with its own applicator and cloth, covers a huge area so will last for ages, good quality shine
Cons: could supply a second removal cloth
"I used this for the first time on my car today and it is very easy to apply and buff off and after you have waxed your car it doesn't look like you've even touched the wax in the tub because you really don't need much at all.
I can't comment on durability at this stage however as I have only just applied it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NORTHALLERTON
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SUPERB WAX,
March 16, 2014
By ttfro92
from wirral
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very easy to use, no remaining residue
Cons: whats not to like
"It is an expense but when you use it you find out why I applied two coats of hd wax on my astra and its still looking fabulous even almost a moth after. Tip after washing vehicle clay bar paintwork with meguiars clay bar system, polish with auto glym super resin polish and finally apply two coats "ones probably enough" but for a deep glossy long lasting shine and protection go for two coats. I always use auto glym products and there's not been one I don't like and this is no exception, its well worth the money as one pot can last you a very long long time"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BROMBOROUGH
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Shine,
June 03, 2013
By BertrumBassett
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this product after some research and reading the reviews on here. It's as good as they say, absolutely stunning. You get everything you need in the box ie 2 applicator sponges and a buffing cloth.
Easy to apply. Very little polish required as spreads well.
Leaves no dusty residue or white marks on other parts.
I've been trying and using good polishes for nearly 50 years and this is by far the best. Ok, there may be better ones but I honestly can't see any reason to buy a more expensive one.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
Which Store did you visit? COLCHESTER
+20points
26out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Autoglym HD Wax,
May 05, 2013
By ppsewell
from Wolverhampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to apply
Cons: takes elbow grease to get off!
"I looked at the price and thought 'I hope its worth it', however a couple of weeks in and I'm glad I paid the money. It leaves a great finish, car shine is awesome on my 5 series, looks showroom new. Would happily tell others to try it and i've done 2 layers and still have three quarters of the pot left, so it will last, even on a big car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BILSTON
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent as alwaya,
April 23, 2013
By Anonymous
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: large box waste of cardboard
"The key to this working correctly is prep. I always wash the car, de-tar, clay bar, wash again, correct paint, polish, seal and then wax afterwards. Do one side at a time, 2 thin coats are better than 1 thick one. Use several cloths to remove, 1 is mot enough in my opinion. Remove bird dirt with Fastglass afterwards to prevent the wax being tarnished. 1 tub did 5 coats on an average size car easy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing wax,
March 13, 2013
By Andrew88
from Cambridgeshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, a coat of wax lasts months
"I was a little worried when I brought this due to the cost, however after preparing my car with a good wash, clay and polish I applied this wax, its very easy to put on but does take a little bit of work to buff off however the results are amazing.
About a week after waxing the car I rewashed it since it was really muddy and the dirt and soapy water just slides right off the body work, this wax really does last a long time and better yet after waxing 3 cars I've only used around 5-10% of the wax so it should last years.
A very good buy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WISBECH
+10points
16out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Autoglym High Definition Wax - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED,
March 11, 2013
By Ninh
from Leyland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: amazing results, excellent durability
Cons: expensive. really expensive.
"EXCELLENT PRODUCT!
Don't let the price tag fool you. Yes, it's expensive and it's enough to put you off buying it. But trust me on this one: SPEND THE MONEY!
I bought this to replace the Meguiars Wax that I was previously using and this blows it out of the water. It's easy to apply and surprisingly easy to come off. THE RESULTS ARE SUPERB. It glows like glass. And the beading is really evident.
The best part it, it stays on your car and lasts and lasts and lasts. Washing the car after having a coat of this stuff is a breeze.
And even after a year, I still haven't finished off a pot yet. Excellent value for money!
Autoglym makes good products. But there are some that are must-haves (Super Resin Polish, Tar Remover). This fits in that category!
See my other review of the Autoglym products. I've tried and tested them all."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
+48points
50out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
February 25, 2013
By AntonVW
from West Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to apply and buff off
"The price tag in itself made me a little suspicious whether the product was just one of those products you pay a fortune for for the name. However I have to say it is by far the best wax I have ever used. Its easy to put on with the sponges and easy to buff off. Very little goes a very long way, I expect that the tub of wax will out live my car. It leaves an amazing wet look shine and to top it off it smells pretty good as well. I would reccomend using the clay system by autoglym first to get that ultra smooth glossy look."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic and so easy to use,
January 26, 2013
By Lennox
from Bridgend Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Unbelievable product u get what u pay for
A must buy product
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great stuff,
November 25, 2012
By MRSDH
from Halifax
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought a new white Ibiza FR two weeks ago and the dealer tried to sell me an Autoglym kit for an extortionate price so I declined, knowing fine well you can purchase the exact products you need from Halfords. After reading reviews on this HD wax, I decided to purchase some despite the price tag, after all I want my new car to stay looking new. I have used a car wash twice (I am lazy) since getting the car so today decided to try the wax today after the carwash. This wax is amazing. Goes on easily and buffs off lovely, the bodywork feels so silky and is gleaming. I even want to do my husbands black Leon now as I am sure black will look even more amazing (but what a shame he is out in it). If this does actually run out at any stage given it looks like it will last forever, I will definately be purchasing more"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best wax i've used,
November 01, 2012
By ronald1992
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the results
Cons: cost
"ive tried a few cheaper and a few expencive waxes this is the most expencive but money well spent. dont have to use much at all and the results are worth the money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product,
October 15, 2012
By KurlyKris
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I used this on my Obsidian Black Mercedes, after claying and polishing,
All I can say is WOW, what a deep, wet looking, shine !
The best wax I`ve ever used and whatsmore, really easy to apply and buff off."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product,
May 05, 2012
By Jsm1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy to use and you only need a tiny amount, well worth the money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
April 16, 2012
By Tricky123
from Belfast
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great shine, easy to apply, easy to rub off
Cons: a little pricey but you get what you pay for
Car Make BMW 3 series
"This is a fantastic product. The extra price is well worth it. The shine off the car is brilliant. My dad borrowed it for his z3 which is 10years old and the car looks brand new again. Buy it if you hold any pride in your car"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WHAT A FINISH,
April 04, 2012
By wangie
from MANCHESTER
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great finish
Cons: bit pricey
Car Make RENAULT
"I have always used AUTOGLYM polish using 2 coats because it's so easy. having driven throgh something on the road which took some getting off .used the super resin polish as usual but then the HD WAX OH WHY HAVE I NEVER USED IT BEFORE. Put it on with the pads !!! from the kit,went in for a brew, thought would be hard work getting the HAZE off but was easy AND WHAT A SHINE.THERE IS LOT'S AND LOT'S LEFT"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple process,
November 07, 2011
By gadz
from East Midlands
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good deep shine
Car Make Toyota
"I quite like the Reserve and Purchase process which worked well in this particular instance, it saved me driving around until I found a store that actually had the product in stock.
The product was bought to treat a brand new car, (18 miles on the clock) and to provide a good solid wax base.
It was easy to apply and rubbed up quite easilly to produce a really deep shine. As ever, this being England, it has rained on it a few times and the finish has 'beaded up' well.
Also very economical so far, I've barely used much at all. Not cheap but a good buy !!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
expensive, but a finish thats worth the price!,
May 08, 2011
By juicybean
from whitby north yorks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the finish outstanding, easy to apply
Cons: the cost
Car Make audi
"I have been using autoglym polishes for over 20yrs in the trade and on my own cars, and always found autoglym to be the best around! so have been looking forward to trying the hd wax out, and it hasnt dissapointed, the finish the super resin and ultra gloss give is very good but the finish on the hd wax is in a different league, a very deep smooth and a outstanding glossy shine, very easy to apply but takes a bit of elbow grease to buff off but the finish is worth it! you get everything in the box and looks like the wax will last a long time doesnt need much on the pad to apply, the only downside is the price of the wax, best to get when its on a three for two offer."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Autoglym High Definition Wax
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pricey but worth it.,
January 31, 2011
By V70
from Fife
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, superb lasting finish
Cons: price will deter many
"Before I discovered Autoglym I used to favour Turtle Wax paste because of the deep lasting shine it produced so when Autoglym brought out their High Definition Wax I had to give it a try, firstly I was impressed with how easy it was to apply and pollish off as I had expected it to require more elbow grease, the shine produced is very deep and glossy and after eight months once washed the car still looks great and water is still beading nicely. I really thought that Autoglyms Super Resin Polish was as good as it gets especially after their Ultra Deep Shine completely failed to impress but the HD wax has it beaten..... if you can stomach the price tag."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>