Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005

Halfords 12V Calcium Car Battery HCB005 with 4 Year Guarantee.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005
Review 1 for Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Positive plus...,
February 18, 2016
By
from Northumberland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Did not realise just how much a failing battery affects the smooth running of a modern motor. Runs great! No more spluttering whatsoever. Very happy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? BERWICK ON TWEED
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Calcium Car Battery HCB005,
January 26, 2016
By
from East Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: bags of power
" I found the battery needed using halfords web site, I then clicked on order and collect, and went and picked the battery up! I fitted the battery in the car myself, as I felt that the halfords fitting charge at £10.00 was rather expensive. Halfords took the old battery away for recycling. The new battery has bags of punch, needed on an older car (A 27 year old modern classic.) with a less efficient starter motor and electrics. The battery has a easy to see charge indicator, so it is easy to monitor its charge state. I have had this type of battery before in other cars and they have always provided a good long service. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EASTBOURNE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
New battery disaster,
January 01, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I I had a new battery fitted to my 04 Shogun-pinin. I chose to have it fitted because I had a broken ankle and was wearing an aircast and did not want to aggravate the injury carrying a battery. The fitter who put the battery in focused on strapping the new battery in rather than connecting it up to the vehicle electrics. This was despite my request to connect the terminals quickly to prevent the ECU resetting to factory default. The end result was that when the battery was eventually connected the ECU had reset. As a result the vehicle would not run at idle and stalled every time my foot was lifted from the throttle. Attempts to use the process to re-educate the ECU failed. Eventually I had to have the ECU reset through a diagnostic unit and also had to have the throttle box disassembled and cleaned. None of this would have been required if the electricals had been connected before the safety straps were refitted. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top class,
June 10, 2015
By
from Rochdale, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very much
" I have had a similar battery from you before and was satisfied.
Also very satisfied with this one for are car
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (FORT)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product works,
January 26, 2015
By
from hampshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Not easy to review how good a new car battery is after only one week so let us concentrate on the installation.
The sales representative (or mechanic) installed the battery in the car park outside the shop in a few minutes. He protected the engine and other parts from the driving rain whilst doing so.
I consider it a job well done.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ok,
January 04, 2015
By
from Hounslow
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: price
" Looks ok
A bit pricey
Lets see after 4 years if this thing really lasts
"
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HOUNSLOW
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New Battery,
November 06, 2014
By
from Ely, Ely, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Brought this for my girlfriends FTO as the battery had died on hers. Found it on the internet and reserved it to pick up at store.
Was waiting for me at the store when I got there 2 hrs later.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWMARKET
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery,
December 09, 2013
By
from se18
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The service was excellent, sales person was quick and efficient and knowledgeable. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BLACKFEN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car starts perfect again!,
April 25, 2013
By
from Salisbury, Wiltshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: packs a punch, fitted 95 wrx fine
Cons: price
" The old battery was tiring before failing to charge again. This replacement, although perhaps costly, leaves me knowing the car will start perfectly even if I leave it for a couple of weeks at a time. Hoping it lasts a few years to prove its worth! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good product and good service,
March 16, 2013
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Ordered this battery online in the morning and then went to pick it up in the afternoon. Had it installed by Ryan from leamington store. Very quick and professional installation service. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
battery from halford,
March 05, 2013
By
from fakenham, norfolk, uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Did what was needed and the reserve/coolect process was excellent. Quality item at a fair but certainly not bargin price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Same size as the original battery was very easy to install fitted the plastic cover without altering.,
February 11, 2013
By
from CROYDON
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" So far the battery has been fine plenty of power on starting. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kia Battery,
February 05, 2013
By
from Forfar
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" reserved online late on in the day and fitted after 6 in store. Got my daughter out of a jam. Well done. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
calcium battery HCB005,
January 26, 2013
By
from hertfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good product from Halfords as ever. Battery fitted fine 10 days ago, only problem have been snowed in since then so haven't been for a drive yet! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent service,
December 24, 2011
By
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make Subaru Impreza Turbo
" Excellent service as always at Halfords. Very good value. I highly recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Necessary Purchase,
February 12, 2011
By
from Stockport
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: able to reserve the product
Cons: reservation was only 24 hrs
" New Battery fitted easily, so far very good but use limited to date. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better Specification than Manufacturer's Original,
January 16, 2011
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Fitted to Toyota Celica 1.8 VVTi (2000) to replace 10 year old original battery which was failing in cold weather starts and wouldn't hold its charge. The Halfords battery is higher capacity (60 Ah vs. 48 Ah) resulting in noticably better performance with lighting when driving at night (old battery couldn't supply the power when flicking on main beam and all lights dimmed momentarily before the alternator could supply the charge that the battery wasn't able to). Easy to self fit.
As for paying the extra for the calcium battery only time will tell - but it sounded like a good idea. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Halfords Calcium Battery HCB005,
November 04, 2010
By
from selly oak
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good fitting service
Cons: expensive
" buying and fitting was easy and done well by a nice lad from halfords. now have i done the right thing by buying a more expensive battery?
only time will tell....probably by next spring i'll know,so i might write agin then.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.