Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"

The Carrera Subway 2 20" Hybrid Commuter Mens Bike is made from the new 7005 T6 aluminium and features double butted tubing and SRAM 24 speed gears
Average Customer Rating:
4.39 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
17
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
40 of 41(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Review 1 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really Great Value,
February 28, 2010
By passmadd
from Liverpool UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I got this bike as a commuter bike for a10-14 mile daily round trip to work.
So far it has been much better than my previous bike and feels much better and sturdier.
Keeping it clean and correctly oiled is a must as after two weeks use and a couple of heavy showers the chain began so squeak quite a bit. Some chain oil (never WD40) has sorted this easily.
The brakes are very sturdy and responsive, and the smooth tires keep your speed up whilst maintaining grip in corners.
The SRAM shifters are a lot better than the last ones i had and make going through the gears simple. The grips are also quite 'grippy', giving confidence in the handling.
The handling is simple and getting about through rush hour traffic seems effortless.
The only issue i have had in the last two weeks was when the chain somehow got caught in the front shifter twice, but was quickly resolved.
All in i love this bike, its so much better than the generic one i got last time, and with regular maintenance, i think this will work great for many years to come."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid 20",
May 28, 2011
By MarkMarkF
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price (extra 20% off)
"I've had the Carrera Subway 2 now for about 2 weeks and I'm very pleased with it. I bought the bike with the offer of an extra 20% off.
I reserved online late on Saturday night and it was ready to pick up from my local Blackpool Halfords, built and ready to ride by 4 pm Sunday. The staff were very helpful and added a few extra items, (bottle holder and bar ends) to the bike for me there and then. Slight negative is that the bike comes with toe clips, which I would have liked fitted, but the supplied pedals don't allow this. Strange indeed. I've managed without them up to now but will probably get the pedals replaced and toe clips fitted.
Very happy with the ride of the bike and all componants feel solid and well made. Gears seem smooth with no crunching to speak of. Even the saddle seems comfy. Disk brakes are solid and sharp.
At the price I paid I feel I've a real bargain!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Bike!,
May 09, 2011
By nicknick1973
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fast road running, brakes are responsive, smooth chainset
Cons: perhaps too many gears, going to take the cheap bell off :-)
"Needed a new bike for a while and been looking around for a well balanced hybrid - I used to own a Raleigh X1 and have been a very keen cyclist in the past. I found this one after searching online, not knowing what was good these days.
I have taken it out for several short runs now (less than 5 miles) and I'm impressed with it, it runs very smoothly on the road, cruising wonderfully at a nice 14-16 mph (which for a old fatty like me is a nice surprise), I honestly prefer grip shifts to these paddle ones, but the change is fast and smooth. The disc brakes, which I have avoided after a poor experience with some bad hydraulic ones on a old bike, I've found to be very responsive, nicly modulating and powerful. The 20" frame is about right for me (32" inside leg) - I think the 18 would have been too small.
Overall I'm impressed with this bike, I will see if I can get as many miles from this one as I did my from X1 :-)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really happy husband,
May 02, 2011
By AllyH
from Inverness, Highlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this bike for my husbands birthday (on his request) and he couldn't be happier. He hadn't been on a bike in some time and he immediately felt safe on this bike, it is easy to use and has all you need from a hybrid."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy rider,
March 26, 2011
By Tallica
from Liverpool, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fast, stylish, effortless to ride
"Great bike - it really is a pleasure to ride. It's only a couple of KGs lighter than my old mountain bike but it's so fast - I've reached 25mph along flat ground - and it really feels effortless to ride.
It's great for going up hills, I'm overtaking cyclist after cyclist on my commute to work and what used to be a 24 minute ride to work in the morning now takes just 12 minutes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall, very pleased,
March 20, 2011
By Nick43
from Canterbury, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light fast & comfortable
Cons: disc brakes squeal if they get wet
"I purchased this bike following a recommendation from Halfords staff & I'm glad I did. It is well built and feels sturdy, but at the same time it is light & fast. Saddle was described in other reviews as uncomfortable but I found it is fine. I have so far covered approx 100 miles and actually look forward to the ride. Only things I have found so far are that the plastic sleeves which cover the wires leading from the handlebars to the rear brakes and gears rub on the frame, just below the handlebars, which has already caused significant rubbing away of the paintwork. Also, on one ride home it rained and by the next day the disc brakes were squealing really badly, a good wash & heavy dose of lubricant seems to have sorted this out, but it was surprising after just a light exposure to rain. The bike looks good and has attracted some good comments"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mr,
February 28, 2011
By frantheman
from strabane
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great brakes
Cons: none as yet
"A fantastic bike all round. I have done about 50 miles to date (5 mile commute)
Just cant fault it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect commuter bike,
January 30, 2011
By fr05t
from hythe, kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: none
"i do over 6700 miles a year to and from work on a subway 2 and the bike behaves brilliantly. so sturdy it can take anything the road throws at it, but fast enough to make your journey a pleasure"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bike supports fatty,
January 13, 2011
By onlyabeggar
from Liverpool
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Being a little larger than is ideal, I was looking for a machine with ruggedness. The Subway 2 does not disappoint! I get a secure smooth ride along the Liverpool Loop line. Liverpool Edge Lane Halfords did a great job setting it up too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera 2,
November 10, 2010
By John222
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy gear change
Cons: non adjustable headset
"The Carrera 2 is a good machine and feels quite solid and was well prepared by my local branch. Gear cables needed adjusting over the following weeks but that is only to be expected. The only drawback was the new style headsets are non adjustable for height which required the addition of a riser, not available ex stock from Halfords, to be fitted in order to provide a more comfortable ride. But apart from that id did everything it said on the tin."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very pleased,
November 06, 2010
By Chequemate
from Liverpool (Aintree)
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I'm not disappointed. Strong, smooth, all the attributes that they say. I've done about 100 miles on the two weeks I've had it and I'm very pleased. There have been some teething difficulties, gears settling in, the stand trapping the cable and other very minor things. Generally, as long as you're not afraid to keep going back and making sure they sort these out... You will end up with a great piece of kit... Great value too. Well done Halfords (and the Bike team... (About time they got some credit on these reviews)... :-)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
October 01, 2010
By JohnnyK
from Manchester, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light, feels solid enough, comfortable seat
Cons: none really
"I bought this bike for commuting to work which is a mixture of roads and (TransPennine) trail, so wanted something that suitable for both. For me it does the job nicely. It's light, reasonably quick and feels solid enough for what I do, so I'm very happy with it so far.
Would recommend the Halfords Front & Rear Bike Mudguard Set.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Diappointed,
September 13, 2010
By Andee
from Paisley, Scotland
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: the staff
Cons: the bike
"I'm not pleased about the bike. Gears poor and needing replaced. Had bike for eight months and had it in the shop about five or six times all because of the gears. Front part of gears eventually changed and new chain fitted and so far so good - staff were helpful and understanding. However, all in I have not had a good experience with this bike and would not recommend it to anyone."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SUBWAY 2,
September 11, 2010
By otone
from Surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: smooth ride
Cons: saddle design
"After 3 weeks of daily use its a very smooth ride, good bike design. First time on a hybrid bike, mainly use to & from work have not really missed a front suspension after using mountain bikes in past. Much quicker than my previous bike, saddle design could be better but you get used to it. Good value for what I paid for.
All in all happy"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product shame about the service,
September 06, 2010
By Freddy100
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good product
Cons: dealing with halfords
"The bike is brilliant, slick gears and really good disc brakes, both very important for tackling the South Devon hills and gradients. Very easy and comfortable to ride, and good to look at."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
carrera subway 2 20",
August 22, 2010
By tackleboxes
from Ramsgate, Kent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Ordered 20" inch frame Bike that had been prepared was 18" eventually got 20" version later on inspection there was a few marks on the frame.
Apart from that the bike seems to be excellent quality"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike, suits me perfectly,
July 09, 2010
By N2K9
from Teesside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight, good-looking, modular, brakes & gears very responsive
Cons: handlebars not adjustable
"I was wanting to purchase a bike using the "Cycle 2 Work" scheme - restricted to Halfords so did some research. Been using a cheap heavy mountain bike to go to and from work for a couple of years but knew that probably wasn't the best solution. I wanted something lightweight and faster, decided on a Hybrid, as the roads I travel aren't really smooth. This bike fits the bill perfectly. Reserved online and ready the next day to collect in store, great service. Because of what I've been used to, I've found this bike really fast, I love the disc brakes and gear shifters which make the bike really responsive. As well as running really well, it looks great too. Bit disappointing that you can't adjust the handlebars, I had been warned about this beforehand by a mate who bought one, so I went for the larger 20" frame, which does make a difference but they still feel a bit low. Not a downside to the bike, but the lack of suspension is very noticeable when you've been riding a full-suspension mountain bike for years! Worth bearing in mind if you're switching like me. Overall, a great bike, with some great features for the money, very good value. I considered a Boardman too, but this is way better value still with some great features & performance."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Early days yet,
May 18, 2010
By Anonymous
from Callington, Cornwall UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lightweight easy to lift onto roof carrier, very good value for money
Cons: gears needed adjusting after a short while
"Bought this bike from the Plymouth, Marsh Mills store, at a very good price on May bank holiday weekend, so is still early days.
Thus far the bike has delivered everything it promised to, and for its price is excellent value.
It is lightweight, fast and comfortable.
I ordered the bike on the Sunday and it was built and ready for me to collect by midday the following day, the staff were helpful, courteous and even pointed out how I could save more money when looking at accessories.
I did invest in a gel seat cover after reading the previous reviews,
The gears have needed some slight adjustment, but are now very smooth and reliable (I will get these checked again at the 6 week inspection).
In summary an all round good buy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One of my better buys,
May 18, 2010
By Dopeyhound
from Swansea
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Ordered via the web on a Saturday night and was ready for collection at my local store on the Sunday afternoon, quite impressed. I am still tweeking the bike with regards the seat height but I am very happy with my purchase so far.
Bike is nice and light. The brakes are getting better and better every time i ride it and the gears are changing quite smoothly. Just need to get a bit fitter now!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good all rounder,
May 04, 2010
By tonyt1568
from North Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Value for money, quality built bike. Ideal for those who don't want huge MTB's.
Easy to assemble if you wish to do it yourself.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>