Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"

The Carrera Subway 2 20" Hybrid Commuter Mens Bike is made from the new 7005 T6 aluminium and features double butted tubing and SRAM 24 speed gears
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Review 1 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid 20",
May 28, 2011
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price (extra 20% off)
" I've had the Carrera Subway 2 now for about 2 weeks and I'm very pleased with it. I bought the bike with the offer of an extra 20% off.
I reserved online late on Saturday night and it was ready to pick up from my local Blackpool Halfords, built and ready to ride by 4 pm Sunday. The staff were very helpful and added a few extra items, (bottle holder and bar ends) to the bike for me there and then. Slight negative is that the bike comes with toe clips, which I would have liked fitted, but the supplied pedals don't allow this. Strange indeed. I've managed without them up to now but will probably get the pedals replaced and toe clips fitted.
Very happy with the ride of the bike and all componants feel solid and well made. Gears seem smooth with no crunching to speak of. Even the saddle seems comfy. Disk brakes are solid and sharp.
At the price I paid I feel I've a real bargain! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Bike!,
May 09, 2011
By
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fast road running, brakes are responsive, smooth chainset
Cons: perhaps too many gears, going to take the cheap bell off :-)
" Needed a new bike for a while and been looking around for a well balanced hybrid - I used to own a Raleigh X1 and have been a very keen cyclist in the past. I found this one after searching online, not knowing what was good these days.
I have taken it out for several short runs now (less than 5 miles) and I'm impressed with it, it runs very smoothly on the road, cruising wonderfully at a nice 14-16 mph (which for a old fatty like me is a nice surprise), I honestly prefer grip shifts to these paddle ones, but the change is fast and smooth. The disc brakes, which I have avoided after a poor experience with some bad hydraulic ones on a old bike, I've found to be very responsive, nicly modulating and powerful. The 20" frame is about right for me (32" inside leg) - I think the 18 would have been too small.
Overall I'm impressed with this bike, I will see if I can get as many miles from this one as I did my from X1 :-) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really happy husband,
May 02, 2011
By
from Inverness, Highlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this bike for my husbands birthday (on his request) and he couldn't be happier. He hadn't been on a bike in some time and he immediately felt safe on this bike, it is easy to use and has all you need from a hybrid. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy rider,
March 26, 2011
By
from Liverpool, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fast, stylish, effortless to ride
" Great bike - it really is a pleasure to ride. It's only a couple of KGs lighter than my old mountain bike but it's so fast - I've reached 25mph along flat ground - and it really feels effortless to ride.
It's great for going up hills, I'm overtaking cyclist after cyclist on my commute to work and what used to be a 24 minute ride to work in the morning now takes just 12 minutes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall, very pleased,
March 20, 2011
By
from Canterbury, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light fast & comfortable
Cons: disc brakes squeal if they get wet
" I purchased this bike following a recommendation from Halfords staff & I'm glad I did. It is well built and feels sturdy, but at the same time it is light & fast. Saddle was described in other reviews as uncomfortable but I found it is fine. I have so far covered approx 100 miles and actually look forward to the ride. Only things I have found so far are that the plastic sleeves which cover the wires leading from the handlebars to the rear brakes and gears rub on the frame, just below the handlebars, which has already caused significant rubbing away of the paintwork. Also, on one ride home it rained and by the next day the disc brakes were squealing really badly, a good wash & heavy dose of lubricant seems to have sorted this out, but it was surprising after just a light exposure to rain. The bike looks good and has attracted some good comments "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mr,
February 28, 2011
By
from strabane
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great brakes
Cons: none as yet
" A fantastic bike all round. I have done about 50 miles to date (5 mile commute)
Just cant fault it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect commuter bike,
January 30, 2011
By
from hythe, kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: none
" i do over 6700 miles a year to and from work on a subway 2 and the bike behaves brilliantly. so sturdy it can take anything the road throws at it, but fast enough to make your journey a pleasure "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bike supports fatty,
January 13, 2011
By
from Liverpool
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Being a little larger than is ideal, I was looking for a machine with ruggedness. The Subway 2 does not disappoint! I get a secure smooth ride along the Liverpool Loop line. Liverpool Edge Lane Halfords did a great job setting it up too. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera 2,
November 10, 2010
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy gear change
Cons: non adjustable headset
" The Carrera 2 is a good machine and feels quite solid and was well prepared by my local branch. Gear cables needed adjusting over the following weeks but that is only to be expected. The only drawback was the new style headsets are non adjustable for height which required the addition of a riser, not available ex stock from Halfords, to be fitted in order to provide a more comfortable ride. But apart from that id did everything it said on the tin. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very pleased,
November 06, 2010
By
from Liverpool (Aintree)
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I'm not disappointed. Strong, smooth, all the attributes that they say. I've done about 100 miles on the two weeks I've had it and I'm very pleased. There have been some teething difficulties, gears settling in, the stand trapping the cable and other very minor things. Generally, as long as you're not afraid to keep going back and making sure they sort these out... You will end up with a great piece of kit... Great value too. Well done Halfords (and the Bike team... (About time they got some credit on these reviews)... :-) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
October 01, 2010
By
from Manchester, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light, feels solid enough, comfortable seat
Cons: none really
" I bought this bike for commuting to work which is a mixture of roads and (TransPennine) trail, so wanted something that suitable for both. For me it does the job nicely. It's light, reasonably quick and feels solid enough for what I do, so I'm very happy with it so far.
Would recommend the Halfords Front & Rear Bike Mudguard Set.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Carrera Subway 2 Mens Hybrid Bike 09 20"
Based on 1 ratings-only review
RatingOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5