Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Ring Smart Charger 8

The Ring Smart Charger 8 features battery reconditioning, remote battery check & 2-8 amp charging capacity.
Average Customer Rating:
4.295 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
39 of 44(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Ring Smart Charger 8
Review 1 for Ring Smart Charger 8
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Your best mate in these winter mornings....,
February 08, 2010
By Chocks
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent charger and battery reconditioner.
A quick press of a button tells me what condition the car battery is in. If it shows that the battery needs recharging I can do so with the battery still in it's place under the bonnet ( a positive godsend as you don't need to mess about with radio codes etc). The different amp settings on the charger allow me to charge the battery with increased speed if I want to. The charger also has the potential to restore a battery. It does this automatically as part of the charging process. Overall, a great purchase and better than those plain 2amp chargers from some other brands. Recommended!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ring Smart Charger 8
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Charger,
December 02, 2011
By ToyotaMRS
from Hampshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make Toyota
"I borrowed one from a friend and was impressed by the product so bought my own"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ring Smart Charger 8
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pretty Average,
October 25, 2011
By B111COR
from Scotland
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: looks good
Cons: deosn't charge very low batterys
Car Make VW Corrado
"This was bought to recharge my weekend cars battery, the battery is around 1 year old, bought from Halfords and has a 4 year guarantee.
It had run down due to lack of use of the car over the last couple of months.
The charger lights indicated the battery was dead and simply refused to charge.
I have now returned the charger and received a full refund.
I did buy another cheaper unit which did the job perfectly!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ring Smart Charger 8
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ring 8 Amp Smart Charger RSC8,
May 21, 2011
By Chaos1
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make Vauxhall astravan
"I have owned a couple different chargers over the years but this one is in a different league.
It does what it says on the tin. I recharged one battery that was only showing 6 Volts in less than a day and the battery has kept the voltage fine.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ring Smart Charger 8
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plug n Play - very easy,
January 30, 2011
By Tellydj
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Specifically bought to recharge the leisure battery on my VW Camper - did the job superbly - battery very strong afterwards. Highly recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ring Smart Charger 8
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product.,
January 18, 2011
By James2
from Eastbourne, East Sussex.
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Needed this when the newish battery fitted to my Peugeot 306 Diesel failed to turn over the engine in the extreme cold of December 2010. This together with Halfords JumpStart 100 rescued the situation. As a retired electrician I was able to decipher the instructions but they seem to be more complex than necessary.
Overall a good purchase it was a pity that my local Halfords did not stock this and I had to make a round trip of 18 miles to collect it!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ring Smart Charger 8
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smart Charge,
September 06, 2010
By memyself
from Cambridge
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light compact easy
Cons: cable compartment it a bit flimsy
"Not had this for long, but it is light, easy to use, cables pack away neatly. Just attach and forget as it cannot overcharge/damage the battery (apparently). Only gripe is that the cover to the cable compartment is a bit flimsy and liable to come off. Does the job I bought it for a treat."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ring Smart Charger 8
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taking it back,
August 25, 2010
By xxxxxxxxxxxxxx0
from m31
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: none
Cons: all
"Couldn't get anything out of this. I will take it back. Tried to charge my second car, nothing, so I jumped it from my first car. Instant result."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ring Smart Charger 8
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Charger,
July 25, 2010
By scotstew
from Scotland
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: noisy
"It is OK, but very noisy if used in a motorhome or caravan as is one of its intended uses"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ring Smart Charger 8
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good buy,
July 12, 2010
By scotty38
from dorset uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good features and display
Cons: none
"Good features, leads, and display. Excellent control of charging rate. Display of battery % charge. Leads pack away within case. Would buy again. Not the cheapest but good value. Well finished."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ring Smart Charger 8
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ring RSC8 smart charger,
May 25, 2010
By mikebav
from Bury Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good range of charging currents, useful indications
Cons: batter attachemnt is by crocodile clips only
"I wanted a charger for my caravan leisure battery .The caravan charger is a constant voltage charger at 13.8volts and can only partially charge the battery to around 80%.The in built tester confirmed this (% charge)
I put the ring RSC8 to work and found the battery life in the caravan was much extended after the charger had done its business for 3 or 4 days.
I have some SLA batteries for electric bikes that were giving much reduced capacity in use so I have put the RSC8 onto see if it can improves things here too.
Having upto 8A capacity is useful if a quick charge is needed - some other smart chargers at this price have a max 2-4A
I would recommend this charger"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ring Smart Charger 8
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ring Smart Battery charger,
April 23, 2010
By engineer59
from essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: will not charge totally flat battery
"cheecked halfords website and Rings website as well,decided on this unit.
Used on 3 batterys so far,works great.
Only downside is it will not even try a totally flat battery,but put that battery on old school battery charger<circa 1980`s> and it then had even volts for the Ring charger to start a charge."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ring Smart Charger 8
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says...,
April 20, 2010
By Ardvark
from Basingstoke, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cables all tidy inside unit.
"Good charger, with long leads so can charge car out of garage whilst charger is inside. Instructions could be clearer."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ring Smart Charger 8
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wise Buy,
March 18, 2010
By linkstar
from Rotherham, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compact design with clear displays, excellent recondition function, six stage charging
Cons: manual could be better
"I needed a smart charger to keep my two caravan leisure batteries in good shape(85ah). Very pleased with product so far.The charger brought one 'dead' battery fully back to life using the 'manual recondition' function. It seems to be doing an excellent job keeping the other battery fully charged while not on the vehicle. Easy to use. Charger will check the battery without having to connect to mains power. Useful information on the Ring website. Use RSC 16 model for batteries above 100 ah."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ring Smart Charger 8
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Box of Tricks,
February 18, 2010
By stevetheone
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great box of tricks - does the job... small and compact and wires protected. Maintenance charge useful"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ring Smart Charger 8
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Product,
January 28, 2010
By davidgla
from Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good quality and good function to tottally recondi
Cons: need to work out the amps for your battery
"fairly easy to use. Only issue s getting the correct settings but a quick internet search on web should get these.
The battery recondition function is good and worked on a battery I had been having problems with and all seems to be sorted out now."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ring Smart Charger 8
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saved me pounds!,
January 21, 2010
By TRT68
from London, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: automatic operation - idiot proof!
Cons: no setting for just a trickle charge
"During the recent cold spell, my Toyota's battery became completely drained. It's an OEM battery and although the Exide equivalent works fine it doesn't have the gas vent the Toyota one did, which adds £100 to the price! Rather than put the old battery in at the dump, I thought I'd check its condition with this charger. It took two days to recondition, but in the two weeks since, the Toyota battery hasn't lost any charge at all and I'm confident it can safely go back in place of the Exide. That's saved me a lot of £s."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ring Smart Charger 8
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant for Calcium batteries!,
January 18, 2010
By Nuthernuts
from Irvine, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fast and very easy to use!
"I looked very hard for a 'smart' charger that was suitable for calcium batteries. Well, this charger is for sure. It works really well and is very fast. It's easy to use and can also be used safely even when the battery is in situ in the car saving on battery removal etc."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ring Smart Charger 8
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice Piece of Kit That Needs a useable User Guide,
January 04, 2010
By IPSNB
from Perthshire, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My car had been left in a garage for over 8 weeks. The charger, charged the battery within 18 hours and the car started first time.
I left wndering what all the buttons and settings are for. I update computer Operating Systems and work with computers a lot but just couldn't work out what were the best settigns for the machine. I checked the User Guide but that didn't give any useful information; I went on the internet and I still didn't get any info I could use. In the end I hit the 8 amp button and wlaked away. What's need are about 3 or 4 scenarios that you could work with. For me it would 1950cc diesel engine charge from flat. Anyway nice piece of kit.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ring Smart Charger 8
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ring 8 Amp Smart Charger RSC8,
December 29, 2009
By gaz2428
from Cheshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: expensive
"Bought as a replacement for a cheaper brand that broke down after a month & so far does exactly what it says on the box. No fuss, just plug it in & connect it up.. Thats it !!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
123next>>