Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Tools or
Choose a Category

Bikehut Cable Cutters

Snip! Snip! The Bikehut Workshop Cable Cutters make cutting brake and gear cables easier.
Average Customer Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
12 of 14(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Bikehut Cable Cutters
Review 1 for Bikehut Cable Cutters
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tool,
January 07, 2014
By 68Pete
from Chichester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this tool so that I can replace my own cables rather than pay a bike shop to do it. When I tried with normal cutters the cables always frayed. This tool cuts very cleanly and even cuts the outer cables neatly. It's a good price and seems robust. I would recommend as a useful addition to any cyclists tool kit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BOGNOR REGIS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bikehut Cable Cutters
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bikehut cable cutters,
September 30, 2013
By petepj
from Solihull
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great tool cuts cables cleanly with ease no fraying great value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SHELDON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bikehut Cable Cutters
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike hut cable cutters,
September 19, 2013
By Pughie56
from Middlesex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Brought this pair of cutters and they work a treat slicing through brake and gear cables with a nice clean cut. Was a bit concerned reading other reviews but did not have to worry as they have done the job that there made for."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bikehut Cable Cutters
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great cutters,
September 15, 2013
By silver2789
from uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"for me, these cut my brake+gear cables perfectly along with the housings. I had no issues with fraying like others have mentioned. the crimpers are a little too close to the top of the cutters which make it a little fiddly to get hold of the crimp but they were still easy enough to use and did everything I needed"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WORKINGTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bikehut Cable Cutters
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cuts brake cables,
August 01, 2013
By Cubeh
from East midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: works as advertised
Cons: costs a lot
"It cuts cables cleanly. The only gripe with it is the price, for something you might use once a year or so it's pricey."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (RIVERSIDE)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bikehut Cable Cutters
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Useless for inner cables,
July 23, 2013
By wombat406
from South Wales
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: will fray inner cables
"These will not cut inner cables all the way through and cause the cut end to fray. Useless tool."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? BARRY DOCK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bikehut Cable Cutters
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good,
May 15, 2013
By Ian83
from Edinburgh
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Cuts well, though I did get a little fraying from the cable a few times. Good value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (HERMISTON GATE)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bikehut Cable Cutters
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well although not perfect.,
January 06, 2013
By ChrisM206
from Cambridge, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price, cuts well
Cons: crimp jaw, spring return is stiff
"These wire cutters are fairly solid although a little stiff. They cut the gear cable casing cleanly and relatively easily. The cable end cap crimp jaws are quite poorly located, and slightly ineffective requiring several attempts to get a secure crimp."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bikehut Cable Cutters
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tool,
March 14, 2012
By 6X6X6X
from Gloucester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great tool
"First class tool. Clean cut of gear cable. Highly recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bikehut Cable Cutters
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Money better spent elsewhere,
August 20, 2011
By bcpeach
from Elgin,Moray.
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: they cut cable outers
Cons: they frayed cable inners
"Was looking for a reasonably good pair of gear cable cutters for home use and these looked quite good value.I tried them on the cable outer and they cut quite cleanly but found out when getting round to replacing my gear cables they wouldn't cut the inner cable all the way through and just frayed the cable.The crimping part didnt work either-Very poor."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bikehut Cable Cutters
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cable cutters,
July 13, 2010
By vikingrider
from midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Cut cleanly and easily and could not find a comparable product elsewhere any cheaper."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bikehut Cable Cutters
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A snip in time,
June 05, 2010
By Grouditch
from South Bedfordshire, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: comfortable grip positive action
"Having stuggled with wire cutters and pliers to trim excess brake cable, it was a real pleasure to use these cutters and discover how easy it is to do a good job with the right tool! Highly recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bikehut Cable Cutters
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cable cutters for the home mechanic,
May 19, 2010
By Nukes
from Kent, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have worked in the bike industry in the past have very familar with workshop tools. The Bikehut range is better than the usual cheaper brands, however, the pair I purchased lack a positive spring-back action to them. These are fine for average use, however, I would not want them for everyday use. They do though cut with no issues. I would rather buy these than cheaper brands."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bikehut Cable Cutters
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cable cutting,
June 14, 2009
By BrightonCyclist
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: its good
Cons: price
"This cuts break cables easily & no fraying, can't comment to if its long lasting as have only just got it, but seems strong. It also puts the cable end covers on. :-)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.