Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Batteries or
Choose a Category

Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee

Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 is a great standard maintenance-free car battery.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Review 1 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great replacement battery,
August 26, 2014
By Martinc3
from Horsham, Horsham, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This has proved to be a super replacement battery for our old dead one. It's a direct replacement with all dimensions the same so no problem in slotting in. It was also ready charged so no hassle having to get the charger out. It's a shame that there isn't a handle on this one like the previous model but it's so small that it's not a show stopper. A great purchase overall. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HORSHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Got my car going again,
November 03, 2013
By FatSam
from Carrickfergus
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: made my car work again, shop was open on a sunday when i needed it most
Cons: staff hadn't got a clue what was going on., crikey batteries have got expensive., pretty limited choice. only one model available.
" What do you say when you write a review for something like a car battery?
This brand has better electricity than the other brands? No, not really, that wouldn't make sense.
My car battery had died. Wouldn't hold a charge. It was 9pm on a Saturday and I needed a battery urgently so I could get to work again on Monday. All the local suppliers would be closed until Monday, so the only option available was a big Sunday opening store like Halfords.
I placed the order online and collected the battery in-store on Sunday morning. After 20 minutes of confusion amongst the staff, it was clear that there was a breakdown of right hand/left hand communication, as nobody knew where my reserved battery had been put. So I lost my patience waiting for them to figure it out and went and got one off the shelf and took it to the checkout, thus rendering the entire reserve'n'collect procedure a pointless waste of time.
I should say that this battery was the only one available to fit my car, so this was not a purchase of choice. This was a purchase of necessity.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWTOWNABBEY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wrong Size for suzuki vitara mk1 and mk2,
October 21, 2013
By reignmack
from London
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I have no idea why the website recommends this battery for a suzuki vitara it is way too tall and has the wrong sized terminals. Complete waste of time, vitara battery should not be any taller than 190mm "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As deacribed and long guarantee,
February 09, 2013
By bv85
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Replacement battery, fitted myself with no issues. Check your.model of car for arrangement of terminals. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
New Battery,
November 18, 2011
By Mudstopper
from Huntingdon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Car Make Matiz
" Not much to say, ordered online to collect, I fitted it, as it is an easy job, works fine "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Battery,
February 11, 2011
By carbatteryrequired
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" extactly what I expected, a car battery and it works "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords car 12v battery,
December 01, 2010
By TinyZulu
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: built in handle
" Reserved the item. Great that it was in stock. Was simple to replace and was such a pleasure not having to jumpstart the car anymore. Even now in London with the snows and temperatures of -3 degrees the car starts first time without even the slightest hit of a a tired battery. Has a 3 year guarantee as well, so can't complain. Even has a built in handle to carry the heavy item. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028,
January 11, 2010
By Batteryman
from Bradford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Thanks to the guy who fitted and help me chose the battery. So service excellent, battery works. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Deal,
January 09, 2010
By Madfords
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Ordered the battery online and collected 2 days later in storeusing unique booking reference. Was a simple and smooth transactions "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery in 2005 Suzuki Alto,
September 30, 2009
By zaz75uk
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" The battery seems good enough but when we tried to use it to replace the original battery in a 2005 Suzuki Alto we found the terminals were the opposite way round to the original battery which meant we had to stretch the cables to make contact, not ideal! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best purchased quality,
May 25, 2009
By Rizone
from london
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" since i bought i got no problem , my car start in first kick in both summer and winter time. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Based on 1 ratings-only review
RatingOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5