Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Car Batteries or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee

Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 is a great standard maintenance-free car battery.
Average Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
9 of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Review 1 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great Value, Low quality,
February 07, 2016
By
from Cork, Ireland
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: quality
" Bought this battery and came discharged. After charging was working fine for 2 weeks (until now). I recommend you to put a bigger battery to you car, this one is weak (33Ah). Same model by Bosh or Varta has more amperes (40Ah). This one has caps for maintenance (surely is rebuilt once and again) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CORK (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent service,
December 07, 2015
By
from Partridge Green, Horsham, West Sussex RH13, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: service with a smile
Cons: nothing
" I ordered via click and collect, so when I arrived at Halfords my battery was ready and waiting. I cannot fault the Horsham Halfordfs service. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? HORSHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a new battery,
September 09, 2015
By
from Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I needed a car battery to pass my NCT, I logged onto the halfords website and saw this one. It was good value compared to the price I had been quoted for other batteries. I ordered it and received confirmation that it was in stock and could be collected from my local halfords store the same day. The car passed the NCT, so I'm pleased with the overall service I received from halfords. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? TRALEE (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best battery ever,
February 23, 2015
By
from Oxford, Oxford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" i needed a new car battery and halfords saved the day.
clear descriptions and great click & collect service.
BEST BATTERY EVER. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
car battery,
January 03, 2015
By
from Northamptonshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" purchased just before christmas.ordered online,easy to do and was ready to pick up within the hour.easy enough to fit and was up and running!very well made battery.also if needed you can remove conections if yours are to small to fit over them,which i didnt need to,but thought that was a good plus.recommend this product,and with a 3year guarantee you cant go wrong. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DAVENTRY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great replacement battery,
August 26, 2014
By
from Horsham, Horsham, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This has proved to be a super replacement battery for our old dead one. It's a direct replacement with all dimensions the same so no problem in slotting in. It was also ready charged so no hassle having to get the charger out. It's a shame that there isn't a handle on this one like the previous model but it's so small that it's not a show stopper. A great purchase overall. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HORSHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Got my car going again,
November 03, 2013
By
from Carrickfergus
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: made my car work again, shop was open on a sunday when i needed it most
Cons: staff hadn't got a clue what was going on., crikey batteries have got expensive., pretty limited choice. only one model available.
" What do you say when you write a review for something like a car battery?
This brand has better electricity than the other brands? No, not really, that wouldn't make sense.
My car battery had died. Wouldn't hold a charge. It was 9pm on a Saturday and I needed a battery urgently so I could get to work again on Monday. All the local suppliers would be closed until Monday, so the only option available was a big Sunday opening store like Halfords.
I placed the order online and collected the battery in-store on Sunday morning. After 20 minutes of confusion amongst the staff, it was clear that there was a breakdown of right hand/left hand communication, as nobody knew where my reserved battery had been put. So I lost my patience waiting for them to figure it out and went and got one off the shelf and took it to the checkout, thus rendering the entire reserve'n'collect procedure a pointless waste of time.
I should say that this battery was the only one available to fit my car, so this was not a purchase of choice. This was a purchase of necessity.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWTOWNABBEY
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wrong Size for suzuki vitara mk1 and mk2,
October 21, 2013
By
from London
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I have no idea why the website recommends this battery for a suzuki vitara it is way too tall and has the wrong sized terminals. Complete waste of time, vitara battery should not be any taller than 190mm "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As deacribed and long guarantee,
February 09, 2013
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Replacement battery, fitted myself with no issues. Check your.model of car for arrangement of terminals. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
New Battery,
November 18, 2011
By
from Huntingdon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Car Make Matiz
" Not much to say, ordered online to collect, I fitted it, as it is an easy job, works fine "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Battery,
February 11, 2011
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" extactly what I expected, a car battery and it works "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB028 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords car 12v battery,
December 01, 2010
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: built in handle
" Reserved the item. Great that it was in stock. Was simple to replace and was such a pleasure not having to jumpstart the car anymore. Even now in London with the snows and temperatures of -3 degrees the car starts first time without even the slightest hit of a a tired battery. Has a 3 year guarantee as well, so can't complain. Even has a built in handle to carry the heavy item. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.