Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee

Halfords 12V Lead Acid Car Battery HB038 with 3 Year Guarantee.
Average Customer Rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
32 of 37(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Review 1 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fabulous service but dud battery,
August 01, 2015
By
from Greater London SE18, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: helpful and friendly staff
" I ordered this battery online for collection from a local store in one hour. It was quick and easy with great confirmation and a call from the store to let me know it was ready. Unfortunately the battery was a dud so had to be returned. Again, excellent service. Friendly staff. No quibbling. Just a shame the battery didn't work. It also leaked acid on my clothes which have now been binned.
I would definitely use Halfords at Charlton again though as the service was excellent. Just not their batteries. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHARLTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what we wanted,
July 06, 2015
By
from Burntwood, Staffordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The battery will be used for electrifying a fence for a paddock, is suitable for what we have purchased it for. In fact we purchased a second one so that one will be on charge whilst the other is being used as no electricity supply to my stables "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LICHFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ideal for a pony paddock.,
July 05, 2015
By
from living room
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Bought this battery to power the electric fence that keeps our daughter's pony in his paddock. First time he touched the fence with his nose he got a bot of a shock. Hasn't escaped from the field since. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? DONCASTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery was dead,
June 10, 2015
By
from Wigan, Wigan, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Obs had to get taxi to collect then battery was dead, then taxi to take it back then back home, the staff should check the charge b4 u take it home "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery for Morris Minor 1000.,
April 19, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" First had a start-up problem 2 months ago, but when the RAC turned up it started 1st time and battery appeared to be OK?
Today same again, despite checking the car yesterday and all was good.
This time fault remained and RAC found it to be a duff battery, but alas they don't stock a 038 battery on their vans?
Strange as the Morris Minor Owner's Club recommends the RAC as their preferred breakdown service.
Rang Halfords in Newmarket and answered promptly and to my surprise they stocked and fitted the battery I required!!
Well done Halfords!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? NEWMARKET
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Price,
February 03, 2015
By
from Nottingham, Nottingham, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We purchased this product as a back up battery for our tipper trailer.It was powerful enough to tip large loads of aggregate & soil.We would definitely recommend it.great value for the price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? GRANTHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is what it is.......................,
January 29, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good.................................................. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? SUNBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good and cheap,
January 23, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value
Cons: not a sealed type
" In stock and £10.00 off was a no brainier shame it's not a sealed type "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job,
January 22, 2015
By
from Farnham, Surrey, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I reserved this online and collected it next day.....no problem. Does what it's supposed to do, absolutely fine. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? FARNHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
January 18, 2015
By
from Essex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cheap
" This is a good product for the price, the terminals were the oposite way to my old battery which require me to rearrange clips etc but once that was done all is good "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ROMFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job!,
December 30, 2014
By
from South England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Seems to be a good quality battery, which provides effective starting power for an older classic car (for which calcium batteries are not available). Very good value. "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moggy Battery,
October 28, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought for my wife's 1957 Morris Minor, started first time, good value battery "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? WATERLOOVILLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great value for money,
December 30, 2013
By
from dereham uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money
" after searching around the internet found this battery to be the cheapest by £20 , Excellent value for money, booked it on-line and collected it 1 hour later and it was ready to go, noticed on the web site to check the terminals as it would only fit back to front this was totally correct spot on well done halfords tech's "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EAST DEREHAM
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Right Battery For My Car.,
October 25, 2013
By
from Chelmsford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" As always I looked around the web for some days in order to find the right product at the right price and ended up once again buying my new battery from Halfords. This particular battery is equivalent to what was specified as original equipment on my classic car; everything aligns correctly and the price compared favourably with what else is out there. I have bought these batteries (or equivalent) before from Halfords and they have always lasted well; once when I had a problem the battery was changed with no fuss under the terms of the warranty. I used reserve and collect which was great; just walked into the store, presented the details and was handed my purchase from the back room. The only reason I don't give 5 stars is because I never do for anything; however, quality and value are certainly good. All things being equal I will buy again.
The only negative if you can call it such is that my old battery said on it that it was 'Maintenance Free' and it wasn't. I notice that my new battery doesn't make this claim. Worth bearing in mind when it is left on a maintenance charge over winter. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery for lawn tractor,
October 16, 2013
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: price
" I have only just bought the battery for the lawn tractor so cannot really comment on reliability yet but it seems well made and has the necessary power for the job. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (WICKHAM RD)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job well,
October 07, 2013
By
from Daventry, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Its a car battery - what more can one say? Does the job it was designed to do in a normal car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY,
October 01, 2013
By
from SALISBURY
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" PICTURE ON WEBSITE SHOWS MAINTENANCE FREE BATTERY. THE ONE FITTED DID NOT HAVE THIS ON SO NOT SURE IF MAINTENANCE FREE OR NOT. ASKED THE FITTER WHO FITTED THE BATTERY AND HE WASN'T SURE! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lead Acid Battery,
June 09, 2013
By
from Glos
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I use this battery to charge an electric fence, it does the job perfectly and has held its charge so far 3 weeks without top up - very pleased "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHELTENHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New Battery,
May 26, 2013
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Required a new battery for a 40 year old car on a Sunday morning. Looked up hallfords online and they had one in stock. Reserved online and just popped along and got it.
Great facility and have lots of different things in stock. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GLASGOW (RUTHERGLEN)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Lead Acid Battery HB038 - 3 Yr Guarantee
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good price and quality,
May 25, 2013
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I ordered this thorough Halfords online and picked it up the next morning. Great service and good quality. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>