Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit

Halfords Essential Tool Kit contains the tools you`ll need to maintain your bike.
Average Customer Rating:
4.279 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(129 Reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (129 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
42
3 stars
10
2 stars
1
1 star
7
112 of 122(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Review 1 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Basic tool kit,
December 07, 2015
By
from West Yorks
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Basic tool kit, but good value for £10 in the recent sale.
The quality of tools is not the best but OK for the average cycle maintenace beginner.
Would have given it 4 stars instead of 3 but it was missing the allen keys when I got home.
Please check contents before you leave the store and save yourself a return visit.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HALIFAX
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
December 03, 2015
By
from Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" To get all these tools for £10 is a bargain. This will be ideal for the odd repair or bike service "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent tools for the price.,
December 02, 2015
By
from Kilmarnock, Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Tools are good for small jobs. Great value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? KILMARNOCK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Worth the money,
November 22, 2015
By
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: reasonable quality specialist tools
Cons: some spanners a bit flimsy
" I bought these when they were £17 on line.
For the money, they're pretty good, the spanners may be a little flimsy and they'll open up under pressure but the more specialist tools seem fine such as the bottom bracket tool and crank remover.
Tyre levers are probably just in there to make up the numbers in the kit and are pretty flimsy.
However, for the money you can't go wrong.
One thing with the bottom bracket remover.... to stop it rounding off the splines, fit a bolt back in the tapered square with a large washer and pull the bracket tool down tight otherwise you'll risk rounding off the splines and you'llet then struggle.
Would definitely recommend as a basic tool kit
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? STAINES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fab product,
November 21, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Fab price worth every penny and good service advice from staff too "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for most bike maintenance tasks,
November 20, 2015
By
from Fochabers, Fochabers, Moray IV32, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap
Cons: external bb tool
" All the tools you need for most bike maintenance tasks. Could have benefitted with an external bb tool instead of an adjustable 'c' spanner that is meant to be the tool for the task. A couple of the tools look a bit flimsy but have been more than adequate so far. I haven't tried out the open ended spanners on the chain whip, not sure if they will withstand too much force. Overall for the cheap online price tag, I can't complain. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ELGIN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
halfords cycle tool kit,
November 14, 2015
By
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this tool kit as a birthday present for a friend. I think it represents great value. It's a great starter kit for anyone with an interest in bicycle mechanics or someone who wants to save time and money on bicycle repairs. As always I found halfords service quick and easy. Highly recommended.. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
'ello,
November 05, 2015
By
from South Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: speed of delivery
" great stuff got for half price and very fast delivery 10/10 "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money bicycle tool kit,
November 01, 2015
By
from Chesham, Chesham, Buckinghamshire HP5, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a good buy and it comes with lots of tools for the amateur maintenance enthusiast. Sadly the reason I bought it was to remove the crank and the tool supplied for this task is a little bit lightweight and wasn't up to the job given the amount of rust my bike had on it.
I think for a bike that has been weather protected it would have been fine so it's a minor point that I raise and possibly a bit more penetrating oil would have sorted it.
The plastic case it comes in is quite study and you just wouldn't be able to purchase all of these items separately for less than £40 so it's a good buy when on promotion.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit,
October 31, 2015
By
from Northampton, Northampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Compact Kit, excellent price and value for money. Great for the amateur to maintain a bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (RIVERSIDE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Useful set of tools,
October 22, 2015
By
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price, fairly comprehensive
Cons: missing shimano crank tool
" This is a useful set of tools for doing occasional bike maintenance. The quality isn't what a pro would look for but hey - neither is the price. I used it to swap out a Sora 9 speed for a 105 10 speed groupset and the only thing that was missing was a crank cap extractor that fits the common Shimano size crank (duh!) . Everything worked well enough to do the job, including breaking the chain and swapping out the cassette. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? WELWYN GARDEN CITY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords essential Bike tool kit,
October 18, 2015
By
from Norfolk, uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: mostly all of the tools included
Cons: that there isn't a freewheel remover included
" I've had this tool kit for a couple of weeks now and used the cassette remover, chain whip, bottom bracket remover, chain link remover and cone wrenches. The only problem I experienced was when using the chain whip 32mm spanner on the bottom bracket remover. It flexed too easily and would not stay on the bb remover. I ended up having to use a 32mm socket which I borrowed. In my opinion it would have been better to have the remover with an allen key fitting so one could use a pipe bar for extra leverage. Overall the tool kit is useful for a novice like myself and my only disappointment is that I also needed to remove a MTB freewheel and there isn't one included in this tool kit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A BARGAIN,
October 18, 2015
By
from Rotherham, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the quality
" Got it on sale at 10% off .Cost me £18.50 . Bargain. Used it to change bearings in bottom bracket of my mountain bike. No problems with tools. All good quality. good case.. all the tools you need "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bargain!,
September 30, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I was suprised at how good the quality is and has a great selection to cover nearly all bike related jobs. Each tool is probably as good as a £5 tool when sold individually. This is a real bargain at only £21 (shows as £36 in store). "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value and ideal beginner kit,
August 31, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cost and value, ideal for learning and applying the basics
Cons: no torque wrench, not the most robust of tools
" Bough this with 15% off which was a great deal. The only issue I have is that there is no torque wrench which would have been useful item as I ended up taking the frame to a bike shop as I was unable to remove one side of the bottom bracket which he did very easily with one. I found the spanners just kept slipping and you could not get enough leverage. That said it's a great first kit for novices but those with more knowledge and experience may wish to spend a little more for better quality tools. I am pleased but think I may end up purchasing additional or tools better quality tools as I become more competent "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good bunch of tools,
August 23, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: variety of tools
Cons: not much
" Bought this kit for £29-99, only for it to drop to £21-99 a week later...typical!! Anyway, the kit is a good little kit for basic to minor repairs. I removed my crankset and replaced a new one with the tools in this kit.... With the help of a few online videos I should be able to do all repairs to my mountain bike and save hundreds of pounds. Go for it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good starter kit,
August 09, 2015
By
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value
" Bought this set whenI was chaging the gear cassette. Worked really well. Now all I have to do is find out what all the other tools are for "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
June 10, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent tool kit for everyday maintenance! Would definitely recommend! "
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit,
April 29, 2015
By
from Gloucester, Gloucester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" If it is your first time servicing a bike or you are a novice bike mechanic this is a very good tool kit. Good quality tools and a very good selection.
I couldn't find any faults with it for its price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pleased,
April 29, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Rather than pay a shop to service my bikes I purchased this kit. Plenty of youtube guides to help doing all jobs so thought I'd give it a go. Everything there to do most jobs the only bit I struggled with was the loose fitting of the tool to take the cassette off. This may have been made more difficult due to the cassette having been on for years. Nice bit of kit as all Halfords tools are... "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>