Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Tools or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit

Halfords Essential Tool Kit contains the tools you`ll need to maintain your bike.
Average Customer Rating:
4.376 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
39
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
3
101 of 107(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Review 1 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fix your Bike Properly !,
April 11, 2010
By Getonyourbikesoon
from Colchester,U.K.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Ever had to change your Bottom bracket or indeed your Triple Chainset ?
I managed to do this with this Fantastic Bike
Service KIt, Every Family with Bikes should own one !! Bargain Buy and Absolutely all the Bits you
will need for most repairs !!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice bit of kit,
March 05, 2014
By nabilTDF
from westcliff on sea Essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"does what's it's meant to do great value for money."
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not universal,
January 30, 2014
By jennox123
from Walsall
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: compact
Cons: not versatile
"Not very good for my needs most of the tools don't fit my bike maybe because it's a couple of years old had to buy a free wheel remover and cone spanner and some other tools separately"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? WALSALL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant tool kit for the price !!!,
January 05, 2014
By Nickmartin4414
from Killamarsh
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: little case, price, compact enought to fit in a back pack
Cons: will never use some of the tools that are included, tyre levers are rather flexible
"For the money it's an brilliant little tool kit it's small and compact so it fits in a bag and its all in a neat little case !!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (CRYSTAL PEAKS)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
not as good as i first thought!,
January 02, 2014
By allotmentboy
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: no hassle refund
Cons: quality of tool
"Purchased this item thinking it would be better to have everything I need in one box, for basic home servicing. I knew the tools wouldn't be workshop quality, but for the chain whip to break after one use is not good, the cassette removal tool didn't sit tight, it kept slipping off the nut I was trying to undo.
In fairness to the Havant store I did recevice a full refund, which I then used to purchase the tools I required individualy"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bike essentials,
December 27, 2013
By caller42
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the package
"All the special tools you need to fix your bike in one place. Easyto use and well packaged. Suitable for all bikes & fittings. Vive le Tour!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality kit,
September 30, 2013
By BikerDPM
from Chelmsford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The first job was to dismantle the Bottom Bracket on my Dahon. The tool kit worked a treat and coped with tight fixing without a problem."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike tool kit.,
September 30, 2013
By Bruce38
from Bath
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lovely case.
"Great little essential bike tool kit.
Couldn't find a tool kit similar on the net
So I looked at this. Seems to have all the nessacery
Tools a dad will need when all the household are cycling .
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BATH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good little tool kit,
September 23, 2013
By Fandy
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great price, all you need to get started maintaining your bike, excellent selection of tools
Cons: cheap tyre levers
"Great kit for the money really well made tools got thoroughly
Tested on the use of it had to change a cassette which when
I came to take the old one off it was done up far to tight and I have had which would of broke before it came near coming undone. Only problem was two of the three tyre levers broke for the price can't complain because all the tools can't be some the toughest I have used.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SHREWSBURY
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bike Tool Kit,
September 19, 2013
By Tandemtod
from Manchester
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: handy box to keep everything together
Cons: chain spanner is not up to much
"This is a good little tool kit, it does the job I wanted it for which was to keep my tandem in good working order. Its not the best kit out there but good value for money. I don't think it would be up for using in a workshop but as a home kit its great."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (MANCHESTER RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply excellent and value for money,
September 16, 2013
By SpottyPoppy
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cost, quality
Cons: absolutely nothing
"I only needed a couple of bits out of this kit but by basically spending a little more, I ended up with a case full of quality gear!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor Quality tools let this down,
August 29, 2013
By jm20130829
from Essex
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The chain rivet extractor is rubbish the T bar is neither strong enough nor long enough, so failed to extract even one rivet before bending. The chain whip tool could do with a longer chain and some means of securing the free end so that it does not tend to pull out of worn cogs.
You could leave out the 2 spanners, screwdriver and allen keys and improve the quality of the bike specific parts."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every Bike Owner Should Own 1,
August 10, 2013
By deadone
from Corby UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great piece of kit, has just about everything you will need to maintain your bike at home.
cant fault it at the price
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tool kit,
August 02, 2013
By Harry610
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good value for the money,everything you need to repair a bike while away from home."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
July 29, 2013
By Gray6992
from Newmarket
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really good product would recommend this tool kit to friends."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great features,
July 26, 2013
By Nonz
from Birmingham england
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this bike kit tools helps me alot on my MTB. A very essential to all mountain bikers who loves assembling and dis assembling bikes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SELLY OAK - B'HAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for occaisional maintenance,
July 20, 2013
By ConciseCat
from UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good range of standard tools suitable for periodic jobs. E.g. I got this for changing a 20 year old bottom bracket, and it had all the specialist bits to remove the old and insert a new one. All were fit for purpose, although not top quality which you would want if you did these jobs every day."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? READING (WINNERSH)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hassle free!,
July 20, 2013
By potxnoodle
from northern Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: saving money
Cons: hassle and confusion
"Had looked about for a bike tool kit on the internet, but many seemed poor quality. I saved money buying the one from halfords online in comparison to the store price, around £7 i think. It saved time and money. Very easy to do, who could want more!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LISBURN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tool kit,
July 12, 2013
By 2094jayne
from mansfield
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Not a bad tool set, however the bottom bracket tool could do with being one that you can use a socket set with to make things easier"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value,
June 28, 2013
By Bigalrob
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good all round tool kit with everything I need to carry out most maintainance. Good value when on offer."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.