Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Tools or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit

Halfords Essential Tool Kit contains the tools you`ll need to maintain your bike.
Average Customer Rating:
4.265 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(121 Reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (121 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
44
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
7
108 of 118(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Review 1 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fix your Bike Properly !,
April 11, 2010
By Getonyourbikesoon
from Colchester,U.K.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Ever had to change your Bottom bracket or indeed your Triple Chainset ?
I managed to do this with this Fantastic Bike
Service KIt, Every Family with Bikes should own one !! Bargain Buy and Absolutely all the Bits you
will need for most repairs !!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
November 10, 2014
By Bainesorbust
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price quality strength
Cons: no cons !
"I Bought this kit online without being able to check it's quality, I am delighted with it ! Everything I need to build my fixie project."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Essential tools for any game amateur,
November 10, 2014
By Kirky36
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good price for what you get
Cons: a pair of wire cutters would've been useful
"Tools are of ok quality, price is excellent for what you get. Brilliant starter for 10 if you want to start doing your own maintenance and part changing."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All you need in one box,
October 26, 2014
By RTW2014
from Pontypool, Pontypool, Torfaen NP4, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: everything in one box
Cons: some tools could be better quality
"Decided to rebuild my 20 year old folding mountain bike. As this required some special tool bought this kit. It has proved to be worth it making most removals easy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great starter set,
September 24, 2014
By ad1985
from Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good range of tools, solid build quality, handy carry case to keep tools together, great value for money
Cons: would benefit from addition of adjustable wrench
"I spent much time deliberating between this and other more expensive tool sets trying to decide which was best suited to my needs.
I wanted to break down a road bike completely so I could get the frame re-sprayed, and then rebuild with new parts.
This tool chest although compact has everything that you would need to complete overhaul a standard road bike. The tools feel well made and definitely more then capable to do the job. I was worried the plastic case might feel cheap but it is solid, compact sturdy and everything fits in it and is held in place well.
A great starter tool set for a home mechanic. I would note that it could benefit from an adjustable wrench, but other than that a great tool set.
would recommend"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WEST THURROCK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is good value,
August 28, 2014
By Blaze1980
from Cwmbran
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value, quality, nice carry case
"Got this kit to do my own repairs at home and must say has everything I need and good value for money also"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? CWMBRAN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Crankset Tool Warning,
August 20, 2014
By SmartTit
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Do not use this kit!
Crankset Tool is poor quality. This tool damage my crankset tread. Be Careful !
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? HERTFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good starter kit!,
August 07, 2014
By Steve1346
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Pretty good starter kit that has all the basic tools you need to do most of the early learner tasks. I had begun buying a few tools here an there and when I came across this kit I found it much more cost effective to purchase it rather than continue to buy a tool here and there. You won't be able to buy all of the tools seperately for less I am sure!
Only thing to be mindful of the tools are generic as to fit the largest range of bikes possible. Some tools you may find will not be compatible with your components such as the cone spanners, however I've found most tools will fit my bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? CHORLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor - do not buy.,
July 20, 2014
By Anonymous
from Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Do not waste your time on this kit. Buy quality tools. This kit is NOT up to the job. I would also go so far as to say that I would not buy the more expensive version....this one was so poor. Buy quality separate tools when you can look at them and touch them and hold them.
Shame because the tools available in the motorists section are really good.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? RUGBY
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very poor!!,
July 13, 2014
By Tay100
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: poor quality tool that are not fit for purpose
"I needed to remove the bottom bracket on my bike, i was going to get just the tools to do the job and against my better judgement i bought this kit, the puller works well....... thats about it all the other tools use for removing the bottom bracket are not fit for purpose they flat out just do not work because of the poor construction so after wasting my money on this im left to go out again and buy the right tools for the job. I would like to point out that im am an engineer by trade so i know how to use tools!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
invest in better, it'll be worth your time and money!,
July 09, 2014
By aj89
from Harrow on the Hill, Harrow, Greater London HA1, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Do not buy this tool kit. Recommended go for something a bit more. You pay for what you get, cassette remover easily wears away! Chain tool to hold cassette, chain just flew of once. Chain remover snapped already!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? HARROW
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent kit for the money,
June 12, 2014
By darraghom
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all the tools you need in a handy case, cheaper than buying seperately
Cons: black spanners not the best but functional.
"Bought this kit for a frame replacement I carried out this week.
The tools are great for the money and I had no problems with any of them.
The quality of the tools is great and apart from using a socket instead of the supplied spanner for the bottom bracket tool, everything worked fine.
Great value for money. A must have for any amateur bike mechanic."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mostly good,
June 06, 2014
By MattB664
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: comprehensice
Cons: bottom bracket tool not great
"Surprisingly comprehensive and good value, I've done a lot of DIY stuff to my bike - what I would like to see is a better bottom bracket tool - the large spanner and the bolt-like attachment aren't great if, like you may well have to do with a tight BB, you have to put a lot of muscle into getting it undone - the spanner flexed too much and nearly stripped some of the grooves on the old bottom bracket. I had to purchase a separate tool which did the trick. Other than that I like the tool-kit. I've never used several of the tools but just having this kit makes me feel more manly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice bit of kit,
March 05, 2014
By nabilTDF
from westcliff on sea Essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"does what's it's meant to do great value for money."
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not universal,
January 30, 2014
By jennox123
from Walsall
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: compact
Cons: not versatile
"Not very good for my needs most of the tools don't fit my bike maybe because it's a couple of years old had to buy a free wheel remover and cone spanner and some other tools separately"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? WALSALL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant tool kit for the price !!!,
January 05, 2014
By Nickmartin4414
from Killamarsh
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: little case, price, compact enought to fit in a back pack
Cons: will never use some of the tools that are included, tyre levers are rather flexible
"For the money it's an brilliant little tool kit it's small and compact so it fits in a bag and its all in a neat little case !!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (CRYSTAL PEAKS)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
not as good as i first thought!,
January 02, 2014
By allotmentboy
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: no hassle refund
Cons: quality of tool
"Purchased this item thinking it would be better to have everything I need in one box, for basic home servicing. I knew the tools wouldn't be workshop quality, but for the chain whip to break after one use is not good, the cassette removal tool didn't sit tight, it kept slipping off the nut I was trying to undo.
In fairness to the Havant store I did recevice a full refund, which I then used to purchase the tools I required individualy"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bike essentials,
December 27, 2013
By caller42
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the package
"All the special tools you need to fix your bike in one place. Easyto use and well packaged. Suitable for all bikes & fittings. Vive le Tour!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality kit,
September 30, 2013
By BikerDPM
from Chelmsford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The first job was to dismantle the Bottom Bracket on my Dahon. The tool kit worked a treat and coped with tight fixing without a problem."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Essential Bike Tool Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike tool kit.,
September 30, 2013
By Bruce38
from Bath
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lovely case.
"Great little essential bike tool kit.
Couldn't find a tool kit similar on the net
So I looked at this. Seems to have all the nessacery
Tools a dad will need when all the household are cycling .
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BATH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>