Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves - Medium

SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves allow you to seal the deal when out on the tracks.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves - Medium
Review 1 for SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves - Medium
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KEEPING WARM AND DRY,
January 02, 2014
By pedrop
from tyne and wear
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: flexable
Cons: none
"Bought these for my son for xmas,had another make which he had problems changing gears. he said these are much more flexible and the quality really good, loves them."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WASHINGTON
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves - Medium
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good all rounder product.,
December 22, 2013
By Flock
from Isle of Wight
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Performance pretty much as advertised. However, not quite as windproof as I was expecting. Only adequate in above zero temperatures. Otherwise an excellent all round product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves - Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the job,
December 14, 2013
By Commuter44
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Grippy warm and thin enough for keeping the feel of yr handlebars when riding"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves - Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gloverly,
December 06, 2013
By PennyFathing11
from West Sussex England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"these gloves keep the wind and rain at bay and are much warner than ordinary non cycling gloves. I use them every week day to cycle to work which is about three miles away and I am very pleased with my purchase."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves - Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SealSkinz all weather gloves,
December 06, 2013
By watt38
from Sunderland SR4
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought as present - bought these in the past and were brilliant. so if anyone thinking about these go ahead.
Price was ok in line with everyone else and had all sizes in stock.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SUNDERLAND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves - Medium
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All weather?,
April 13, 2013
By Nickname1988
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Nice gloves, but went out in recent weather (chill factor -3) and fingers numb in 25 minutes. The packaging does give a tep range but these are not for really cold days."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves - Medium
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All weather glovess,
April 04, 2013
By ColinCycle
from Inverness
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Very pleased with product. They have kept my hands warm during some recent cycles in cold weather. A wee bit expensive, but quality good so hopefully will be good value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves - Medium
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Winter Glove,
March 03, 2013
By munroman
from Port Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought these gloves on the strength of the reputation that Sealskinz have for excellent products.
The positives first: they are well made and the padding on the palm is excellent as is the towelling patch on the back of the thumb.
The negatives: the gloves are not as warm as the "all weather" tag suggests. The back of the hands do get chilly, eventually once you are fully into the cycle the do feel warmer.
The only other issue is the way they are designed with a glove within a glove. The inner is quite snug however the outer shell is slightly larger and looser making it quite awkward to pick up and grip items. I haven't tried them in the rain as yet so can't comment on their waterproof qualities.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GREENOCK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves - Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not sure about ALL weather, but good for cold,
January 28, 2013
By micropaleo
from Southampton, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: durability, waterproofing
Cons: movement of inner layer, expensive
"These gloves were a lot more expensive than I wanted to pay for waterproof gloves, but I had heard from several people that they were the best. My commute is about 50 minutes by bike, and when it rains, it isn't particularly pleasant, especially in the winter. I bought these back in November, and have worn them most days since then.
When it isn't raining they are good to about -5°C before your hands start to get cold after 50 minutes of cycling. Above about 5°C they can get really warm. So ALL weather may be a stretch, but -5 to 5°C is fair.
As for their waterproofing, I should start off with nothing that is breathable is truly 'waterproof'. If you need to be able to submerge your hands for any amount of time allow me to recommend marigolds. But these gloves do the job. In a light rain, they get me through my commute without getting my hands wet. In a proper heavy deluge, my hands do get wet by the end of my ride. However, they aren't sopping, just damp. On top of that, it takes so long for water to get through the inner membrane, that by the time it gets to your hands it is body temperature, which is good on those cold days. Last week I rode in heavy rain both ways three days in a row, and the gloves got quite wet inside and out. Unfortunately, the downside to them being waterproof is they take FOREVER to dry once they are wet inside (~36 hours). And you can't put them in the drier or on the radiator because that will destroy the waterproof membrane. That being said, for short jaunts of 30 minutes or more, these gloves should do you.
I did use them in the big snowstorm we had two weeks ago. I was outside making snowballs and building snowmen for about three hours and my hands did not get wet or cold.
The biggest downside in my book is the fitting of the gloves. They are constructed of three layers, an outer, not waterproof layer that keeps you warm, a middle, waterproof layer, and an inner layer that keeps your skin off the waterproof layer. The problem is the innermost layer is only attached to the middle layer at the points between fingers and the wrist. This means if you aren't careful the inner layer fingers get flipped inside out inside the glove when you take it off, making it exceptionally hard to put back on. I recommend the removing one finger at a time approach rather than pulling the whole thing off at once.
Over all, the gloves do the job, although they will eventually give in if in a deluge for long enough. They keep my hands warm under most (southern) winter conditions, and I trust they will do so for sometime."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves - Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
service,
November 29, 2012
By ghost26
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: none
"Simple easy services with friendly and knowledgeable staff thanks again"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves - Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good gloves,
November 11, 2012
By NigNic
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"These gloves are perhaps a bit on the expensive side, or is that just me? I am however very happy with them though as I've just been using them for 2 weeks they haven't been out in the rain yet. In the shop I thought they were quite thick but in practice the backs particularly are quite thin so they won't be suitable for very cold weather, except for short trips as I use them for."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves - Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
there's nothing better out there.,
October 23, 2012
By skippy2012
from York
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"completely faultless and will last for years,good to see Halfords stocking quality brands"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.