Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Banshee X Mountain Bike 09 19"

The Carrera Banshee X has a 19" 7005 Series Aluminium full suspension frame, Marzocchie 33R forks and SRAM X7 27 speed gears
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 14(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Banshee X Mountain Bike 09 19"
Review 1 for Carrera Banshee X Mountain Bike 09 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superb,
February 15, 2012
By majorcyclone
from lincoln
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fantastic on or off road as potholes mean nothing
Cons: so nice people will want to nick it so invested in
"best bike oozing quality and enables me to ride the bumpy city roads in comfort as well as hit 40 miles plus on cycle track routes accross lincolnshire through the countryside with ease"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: More than 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Banshee X Mountain Bike 09 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carrera Banshee X Mountain Bike 09,
February 14, 2012
By M0F0
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looks grate, rides well
Cons: the down side is the rear suspension the rear susp, halfords staff know little or next to nothing abou
"The' 09 spec is better than the '12 spec, it looks as if each year they keep replacing items with cheeper parts."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Banshee X Mountain Bike 09 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0-muddy in 30 minutes,
November 13, 2011
By monsta
from shropshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: top spec kit at entry level price
Cons: made me even more likely to hurt myself.
"great bike for a great price. Loads of good names hanging off an ally frame, that ticks all of my boxes. Light and responsive straight out of the box only a few tweaks in suspension set-up and I was filthy dirty with a big smile on my face in half an hour!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Banshee X Mountain Bike 09 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Bike!,
October 25, 2011
By mac8
from Erith
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I got this bike with the cycle to work scheme, 1st ride was great as this is the first full suspension bicycle I have purchased, rear shock may need a few pumps with the shock pump. Great bike! next test will be bedgebury forest.
Great service from Trevor & Paul- Old Kent Road"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Banshee X Mountain Bike 09 19"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Banshee x,
February 05, 2011
By Djk88
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good and well equipped bike, average in store service."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Banshee X Mountain Bike 09 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Banshee x is best all rounder,
September 24, 2010
By Jamiesobotie
from DARTFORD KENT
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I got this through cycle to work thing .
Bike is awesome and the best bike I have had
The build quality is great and great down hill
Big thank you to DARTFORD HALFORDS and DREW on the bike team u were a great help
Great service great bike what more could I ask for"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Banshee X Mountain Bike 09 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Banshee X Mountain Bike 09 19,
June 12, 2010
By garnib
from burton on trent staffs
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great bike you get a lot of trick bits for your money ..
took it up the ftd chase last weekend and was very impressed by the bike.
good alround bike.."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Banshee X Mountain Bike 09 19"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
good spec but......,
March 15, 2010
By alfiefraggle
from stoke on trent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: brakes gears suspension
Cons: frame flex when tanking it :(
"brought the bike a few weeks ago and it was love at first sight went out on it for the first time everything was great (set up spot on) now i have noticed there is alot of frame flex in my beloved banshee :("
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Banshee X Mountain Bike 09 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good looker! .... Great Performer,
February 27, 2010
By southie
from South West, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap reliable and easily upgradeable
Cons: saddle is a tad cheap looking
"A great bike which has been strongly improved over the years. The forks are so light and give good feedback without nasty top out. The rear shock is great and easily setup with a shock pump (not supplied). Gears and brake setup perform well, white juicy calipers/ levers look quality. Wheels and tyres finish of the bargain buy very well with mavic strength and conti's high grip levels"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Banshee X Mountain Bike 09 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Class Bike,
October 30, 2009
By Dragon36
from Manchester , England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lots of gears, light weight frame, rear air shock, front shocks, razer sharp brakes
Cons: no free air pump
"This bike is amazing for the money i can get over 30mph and thats not using all the gears its light and looks good all your mates will like it as mine do if you are after a new bike and enjoy riding get this if you have the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Banshee X Mountain Bike 09 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Banshee X 2009,
October 22, 2009
By Mozman
from Lincoln
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very well balanced bike, good brakes, good sram set-up
Cons: setting up rear-shock
"Had this bike for just over a month now and all I can say is what a fantastic bit of kit it is. It is a well balanced bike with fantastic performance, it has handled XC, Freeride and jumps brilliantly and with the shocks stiffened works fine on the smooth roads and bike paths. There has been some bad reviews on the rear shock, it does need some tweeking but once you have it set up right it works a treat.
*A bit of advice for all interested in buying Carrera's. Ignore bike snobbery, Carrera's are a brilliant range with offer you fantastic value for money. (And no, I dont work for Halfords, I have just had a good experianced with there Carrera Banshee range!)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Banshee X Mountain Bike 09 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent bike, even better price!,
September 30, 2009
By Anonymous
from Cheshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great quality, good parts for the price, does not weigh the earth, or cost it!
Cons: suspension has no lock out
"bought this bike about a month ago and I absolutely love it! I wanted a good quality full suspension bike to get back into mountain biking after 4 years of being a lazy student! got the bike on offer for £639.99 and for that price (the maximum I could and would spend) this bike Is brilliant, great gearing, powerful brakes and actually surprisingly light for a "budget" full suspension bike!
the forks and rear shock do not have lock out as described but to be honest Im not too bothered, it just makes me fitter working harder on the climbs! and its the descents that us mountain bikers are all bothered about which this bike more than makes up for!
don't let the name put you off, yes its designed as a free ride bike, but i've used it cross country ,down hill,up hill, pretty much everything!
if you ride in wales you will no doubt pass me on mine with the biggest grin on my face because i've got a bike of this quality and performance for a steal!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Banshee X Mountain Bike 09 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Doesn't do what it says on the tin,
September 04, 2009
By MrJT
from Oxfordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: much lighter than 08 model, great colours
Cons: entry level forks, no front or rear suspension lockout
"This bike is a good specification for the money, but don't be fooled by the spec on line. The front forks are entry level Marzocchi forks, and do not have lockout as suggested. Rear shock needs lockout if you are to use on road but otherwise is a good shock. Halfords also supplied my bike with the wrong size frame - a packaging error I think by Carerra but not checked by the shop. Returned mine now and swapped it for a Boardman Comp HT instead which is significantly lighter. Waiting to see if the Boardman delivers on the hype."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Banshee X Mountain Bike 09 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
banshee x 09 freeride,
August 16, 2009
By terroristsimon
from cardiff
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: love the white and green combo.
Cons: no lock out on rear suspension
"what a fantastic bike the components you get for 700 quid are of the wall, the rear shock is fantastic and has eaten up some large drops and jumps at cwm carn and afan forest the tyres stick the the trails like nobodys buisness and it is extremely light for a full suspension bike would strongly recomened this bike to anyone looking to start downhill as a intermediate bike ,and then just upgrade your components to suite your needs , i challenge you to find a better spec bike for the money fantastic dai iawn carrera.built on a fine 08 model and adressed the cons of that , the weight and rear shocks . would have like to seen a lock out on the rear shock though ,"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.