Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"

The Carrera Fury 18" Mountain Bike frame is made from new 7005 T6 heat treated aluminium and features double butted tubing and SRAM 27 speed gears
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Review 1 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb bike get one now!!!!,
May 26, 2011
By Pete01x
from Dartford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, looks, build
Cons: paint quality, handlebar grips
"well what can i say, this bike is equipped with some great equipment normally found on bikes way above its price tag.
The bike is very very solid and yet very light it feels very at home both on and off road
Avid Juicy 3 Hydraulic disc brakes are superb and will Stop you in an instant, Great Suntour Epicon forks with the speed lockout means you can lock the forks for different terrain and the SRAM X5 gearing is smooth and precise, I have had this bike for a few weeks now and have covered about 500miles on road and off road (Bewl Water and National Cycle route 1 from London to Erith) and nothing has gone wrong all i have done is changed the tyres for some Continental Travel Contacts (also superb) and changed the handle bar grips(as the ones it came with were very horrible and uncomfortable ) . my biggest niggle is the paint, it chips very easily the slightest knock, or even carefully leaning it against a cycle rack will chip the paint.
Overall this is a must have bike and you will love it, it is Fast, Light and very well built.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike,
May 13, 2011
By Mezza
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great suspension
Cons: uncomfortable grips
"This is a great bike, excellent and great to ride, Smooth gear changes and excellent quality. Light Frame, However, Grips are really uncomfortable."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worth every penny,
April 12, 2011
By Anonymous
from birmingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks ride brakes.nearly everything
Cons: grips are hard and uncomfortable
"ive had this bike for a couple of weeks and have been very impressed with it, it rides very well and feels nice and solid, handles very well and is very chuckable due to its light weight. I use it for work daily and have been trailing a couple of times with no problems. I bought it on the back of reviews in what mountain bike mag and it lives up to its praises"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Epic Hardtail,
March 29, 2011
By Yourmum90
from Herts
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great brakes, value for money**, lightweight, smooth suspension, looks fantastic
Cons: rubbish grips
"The last bike i owned was way back in 2000 and things have come a long way since then it seems. As i have not owned a bike for so long i will be unable to make any comparisons to other bikes.
I brought this bike in October 2010 as i was looking for a decent hardtail to use at the weekends, on easy to moderate rides. After reading a copy of ‘What Bike’ this one had won a number of awards. Also due to a mixup at Halfords head office i was also able to use my Cycle to Work scheme voucher and get the 30% discount as well, which normally you’re not allowed to do.
I’ve ridden the bike about 10 times now mainly on easy rides so far and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. I am 6’4” and the 20” frame is just perfect, i am not stretched out to much and the ride is quite comfortable. I’ll be honest i have changed/added a couple of things to the bike, the grips were changed out for some ODI Yeti Hardcore grips the same day, as they lacked well grip. I have also changed the seat clamp to a Hope 34.1 clamp as i like to be able to adjust the height without carrying my tool box around with me. The last thing i added was a set of Topeak mud guards and they work wonders during the winter.
The Avid Juicy brakes and Suntour forks are brilliant and the lock out on the right side of the fork is perfect when transferring between hills and bumpy downhills. I am not too sure if this is normal but the bike has had to go back twice to adjust the gears as gear 9 and 18 started to skip quite a bit but after a quick service the gears are running smooth again.
If you are part of the Cycle to work scheme and have enough to get this bike, then you will not be disappointed, just double check all the bolts, brakes and gears before you leave."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrering flyer,
January 19, 2011
By cambeltsnapped
from Newport, Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value, speed, lightness, equipment, looks
Cons: fork set up hard, fragile paint, saddle not great
"This bike is a rocket ship! I have three hardtail MTB's, and this is the lightest and fastest of them all. Its not all been plain sailing mind, as have had a Juicy 3 leak and replaced under warranty and the fork is a pain to get the right set-up, but when you do its great. The Speed king tyres don’t last long (600 miles with rotation front to rear), watch the paint as its thick and chips easily and the saddle is not the best. But other than that, for performance and value you will have to spend a lot more to beat it. Get one!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great budget XC,
January 18, 2011
By parko1
from York, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, spec, fork, size/fit, colour
Cons: big pedals, skinny saddle, uncomfy grips
"I bought this bike as a replacement for a hybrid that had been nicked from my garage and probably committed the No. 1 sin of any seasoned biker like myself, I bought in on the strength of a review having never actually clapped eyes on it or sat astride it! Having said that, being rated as the best budget XC hardtail you could possibly spend your money by What Mountain Bike left me in doubt that it was worth the investment.
Having only ridden it now a couple of times, my first impressions are really positive. The bike is roomy for a big 6'2" 16st chap like myself, there's good width in the bars and the reach is long enough so you don't feel cramped up. The Suntour fork is excellent, nice a springy with good rebound and has the great feature of an easy lockout if your hitting the hard stuff. The Juicy brakes are excellent and do their job without complaint and the overall ride is thoroughly enjoyable.
The bikes only let down by thin and uncomfy grips and big heavy pedals but they're easily replaceable, not a major concern.
Overall, if you're on the look out for an entry level XC'er for a big lad, go for it. Good bike, good price, great service from Halfords."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beware of build quality,
October 26, 2010
By jules345
from Edinburgh, Scotland
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: forks, frame, looks
Cons: crank, build quality
"Great spec, great looking bike at a good price. The epicon suspension on this bike is awesome and will take all the knocks you throw at it. Frame is solid too.
However as many others have previously said, I was massively let down by initial build quality. After 6 weeks: The crank had fallen off while cycling, headset was loose, gears mis-configured and a gear cables had come out of runners.
Bad build quality can damage your bikes components, it can also damage your health (i.e. you fall off)! So be aware."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fed up now,
August 28, 2010
By Snooch2TheNooch
from Sheffield, England
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: add a con
"I've had this bike for 12 months next week and I can honestly say that it have driven me mad with despair. I am not a hardcore rider and bought this bike as part of my 'get fit' programme. In the 12 months I've had it I've had it back to the store about 8 times. Faulty front forks, faulty derralieurs front and rear, rear gear set split. While it's a decent starter bike for the money my mates 12 year old Giant (never been serviced) is still so much better."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good bike but badly set up,
July 08, 2010
By baldybiker
from lancashire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: best bike ive been on
Cons: original set up was appauling
"collected from halfords store at preston docks supposedly ready to use but it wouldnt change gear on the front cogs, after minor adjustments i took it home to find the tyres were flat and the chain was running on the front de-railer, took it to my home store in lancaster to be set up correctly and found front crank bolts were loose and covered in grease instead of loc-tite.
now it is set up correctly the bike is brilliant both on and off road, the best bike ive ever used, its well equipped and very good value for money
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
really nice bike,
June 07, 2010
By chuckie39
from sheffield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: smooth, handles well
Cons: creeks on front end, check all bolts
"a very nice bike all round ,great spec for the price. the bike will be going back in very soon,but i think this is a build issue not the quality of the bike ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent spec,
May 03, 2010
By konawolf
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light and nippygreat frame build
Cons: cheap bar and stem..
"great bike,light and some great spec on it.
sadly let down by cheap bar and stem,but easily fixed.had a banshee x for 3 years and purchased this because of its build.
fork nt too bad but could do with some marzocchi,s but thats just a personal taste.
overall well worth the price...oh and just make sure you redo all the bolts and check air in fork after you buy..
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesome bike,
March 09, 2010
By stevo2605
from doncaster
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lightweight cheap and looks great
Cons: setup (not bikes fault)
"After weeks of reading reviews and searching everywhere for what type of bike i wanted i decided i wanted a light, hard-tail bike with hydraulic brakes and a decent crankset so i wouldnt have to be purchasing replacements in 2-3 years and the carrera fury 20" is just that. its awsome lightweight frame means you can throw it round trails with ease and have a lot of fun and would deffo recommend to anybody and front forks are not the best but they do the job. only cons to bike were halfords set up. Had to set it up myself i.e brake leavers etc also during set up not sure what they used but the front disk brake had grease on it affecting its power but cleaned up they are really sharp. overall great bike"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good value for money and good quality.,
February 28, 2010
By MTBmad
from Burton on trent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light weigh, good looking, very good value, rims and brakes ( if they dont have oil on them )
Cons: assemble team.
"The Carrera Fury 09 is a very good, quality bike that i really enjoy riding and have riden nearly every weekend since christmas and love doing so. The only problem i have with it is not the bikes fault its halfords assemble teams, when putting my bike together and oiling it up, they had got some oil or grease on the disc brakes. Now when i brake it makes a horific skreaking noise that isnt too nice. I took it back and all they did was clean the brake pads, which worked for a day or two, but now has stopped working and the brakes make the same noise again :(, im goin to ask them too replace the brakes completely so that i can ride my bike to its limits :D but overall i love the Carrera Fury."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
do it yourself,
January 10, 2010
By washandgo
from cheshire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looks great
Cons: very poor set up
"The bike looks great, handles well and has excellent components for the money but mine has bin let down badly by the set up by Halfords. On picking it up the stem was loose and after the first ride in the wet the chain went rusty. I am now also concerned about the paint finish, as under the seatpost clamp the paint has cracked causing small flakes to fall off.Halfords are selling some good bikes and the cycle to work scheme makes them even better value for money, but they should be able to set them up much better if they want to appeal to future customers."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value,
November 06, 2009
By Anonymous
from Midlands
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good vfm
Cons: poor prep
"Bought an 08 one thru the cycle2work scheme. The bike had a couple of large chips in the paintwork, the chain broke the 1st morning I used it. The latter was replaced the same day by Halfords. The prep was not very good, gears I had to set up myself. Reflectors & gear/fork/brake manuals not supplied, & the puncture sealant I had paid for was not fitted to the tubes. The rear wheel bearings had not been greased on assembly, & went west in a couple of months.
Once set up properly, it is very good. I use it for both commuting & X-country use. In last winters snow & ice I found myself overtaking cars on the road. Off road it is a delight, I use it on the Malvern Hills & various bridleways."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome mountain bike,
September 18, 2009
By RockingDad
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: styling, hydraulic brakes, quality rims, great front shock forks, nice shifting system, good crank system, lightweight
Cons: not enough time in the day to ride it everyday!
"decided it was time to update my trusty steed to newer model (it has been 12 years) and move on from cantilever brakes and 15 SIS gears.
This bike is worlds apart from my old bike. It has a very stylish design with nice touches such as colour matching brake levers and calipers and most of the the main welds on the tubes are smooth.
The hydraulic brakes are like nothing else i've tried and are certainly better than my sons cable disc brakes. The front fork is smooth and adjustable and the whole bike just feels well engineered. If your considering this bike go for it, you won't be disappointed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super Bike !!!,
August 06, 2009
By stylo
from West Mids
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good brakes !, light frame !
"Bought one from my local halfords store on a sunday afternoon whilst looking for a more expensive bike ! I was and still am impressed by the look and quality of the fury 09 !
Its light and agile and the spec is as good as any bike at this price range and more !!
Mine has taken everything i have thrown at it so far ! In my opinion if you want a good spec hardtail but dont want to pay the earth for it the fury 09 is the bike for you !!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.