Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Mountain Bikes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"

The Carrera Fury 18" Mountain Bike frame is made from new 7005 T6 heat treated aluminium and features double butted tubing and SRAM 27 speed gears
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Review 1 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb bike get one now!!!!,
May 26, 2011
By
from Dartford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, looks, build
Cons: paint quality, handlebar grips
" well what can i say, this bike is equipped with some great equipment normally found on bikes way above its price tag.
The bike is very very solid and yet very light it feels very at home both on and off road
Avid Juicy 3 Hydraulic disc brakes are superb and will Stop you in an instant, Great Suntour Epicon forks with the speed lockout means you can lock the forks for different terrain and the SRAM X5 gearing is smooth and precise, I have had this bike for a few weeks now and have covered about 500miles on road and off road (Bewl Water and National Cycle route 1 from London to Erith) and nothing has gone wrong all i have done is changed the tyres for some Continental Travel Contacts (also superb) and changed the handle bar grips(as the ones it came with were very horrible and uncomfortable ) . my biggest niggle is the paint, it chips very easily the slightest knock, or even carefully leaning it against a cycle rack will chip the paint.
Overall this is a must have bike and you will love it, it is Fast, Light and very well built.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike,
May 13, 2011
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great suspension
Cons: uncomfortable grips
" This is a great bike, excellent and great to ride, Smooth gear changes and excellent quality. Light Frame, However, Grips are really uncomfortable. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worth every penny,
April 12, 2011
By
from birmingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks ride brakes.nearly everything
Cons: grips are hard and uncomfortable
" ive had this bike for a couple of weeks and have been very impressed with it, it rides very well and feels nice and solid, handles very well and is very chuckable due to its light weight. I use it for work daily and have been trailing a couple of times with no problems. I bought it on the back of reviews in what mountain bike mag and it lives up to its praises "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Epic Hardtail,
March 29, 2011
By
from Herts
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great brakes, value for money**, lightweight, smooth suspension, looks fantastic
Cons: rubbish grips
" The last bike i owned was way back in 2000 and things have come a long way since then it seems. As i have not owned a bike for so long i will be unable to make any comparisons to other bikes.
I brought this bike in October 2010 as i was looking for a decent hardtail to use at the weekends, on easy to moderate rides. After reading a copy of ‘What Bike’ this one had won a number of awards. Also due to a mixup at Halfords head office i was also able to use my Cycle to Work scheme voucher and get the 30% discount as well, which normally you’re not allowed to do.
I’ve ridden the bike about 10 times now mainly on easy rides so far and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. I am 6’4” and the 20” frame is just perfect, i am not stretched out to much and the ride is quite comfortable. I’ll be honest i have changed/added a couple of things to the bike, the grips were changed out for some ODI Yeti Hardcore grips the same day, as they lacked well grip. I have also changed the seat clamp to a Hope 34.1 clamp as i like to be able to adjust the height without carrying my tool box around with me. The last thing i added was a set of Topeak mud guards and they work wonders during the winter.
The Avid Juicy brakes and Suntour forks are brilliant and the lock out on the right side of the fork is perfect when transferring between hills and bumpy downhills. I am not too sure if this is normal but the bike has had to go back twice to adjust the gears as gear 9 and 18 started to skip quite a bit but after a quick service the gears are running smooth again.
If you are part of the Cycle to work scheme and have enough to get this bike, then you will not be disappointed, just double check all the bolts, brakes and gears before you leave. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrering flyer,
January 19, 2011
By
from Newport, Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value, speed, lightness, equipment, looks
Cons: fork set up hard, fragile paint, saddle not great
" This bike is a rocket ship! I have three hardtail MTB's, and this is the lightest and fastest of them all. Its not all been plain sailing mind, as have had a Juicy 3 leak and replaced under warranty and the fork is a pain to get the right set-up, but when you do its great. The Speed king tyres don’t last long (600 miles with rotation front to rear), watch the paint as its thick and chips easily and the saddle is not the best. But other than that, for performance and value you will have to spend a lot more to beat it. Get one!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great budget XC,
January 18, 2011
By
from York, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, spec, fork, size/fit, colour
Cons: big pedals, skinny saddle, uncomfy grips
" I bought this bike as a replacement for a hybrid that had been nicked from my garage and probably committed the No. 1 sin of any seasoned biker like myself, I bought in on the strength of a review having never actually clapped eyes on it or sat astride it! Having said that, being rated as the best budget XC hardtail you could possibly spend your money by What Mountain Bike left me in doubt that it was worth the investment.
Having only ridden it now a couple of times, my first impressions are really positive. The bike is roomy for a big 6'2" 16st chap like myself, there's good width in the bars and the reach is long enough so you don't feel cramped up. The Suntour fork is excellent, nice a springy with good rebound and has the great feature of an easy lockout if your hitting the hard stuff. The Juicy brakes are excellent and do their job without complaint and the overall ride is thoroughly enjoyable.
The bikes only let down by thin and uncomfy grips and big heavy pedals but they're easily replaceable, not a major concern.
Overall, if you're on the look out for an entry level XC'er for a big lad, go for it. Good bike, good price, great service from Halfords. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Fury Mountain Bike 09 18"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beware of build quality,
October 26, 2010
By
from Edinburgh, Scotland
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: forks, frame, looks
Cons: crank, build quality
" Great spec, great looking bike at a good price. The epicon suspension on this bike is awesome and will take all the knocks you throw at it. Frame is solid too.
However as many others have previously said, I was massively let down by initial build quality. After 6 weeks: The crank had fallen off while cycling, headset was loose, gears mis-configured and a gear cables had come out of runners.
Bad build quality can damage your bikes components, it can also damage your health (i.e. you fall off)! So be aware. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.