Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"

The Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec 20" Hardtail Mountain Bike features the new 7005 T6 heat treated aluminium frame, Suntour XCM forks, SRAM gears and Tektro disc brakes
Average Customer Rating:
4.639 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
27
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
94 of 97(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Review 1 for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommended,
May 23, 2011
By nutcasecyclist
from Leeds, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdy construction, great value for money
"I've had one of these for nearly a year and can highly recommend them. Very good value for money. Tyres were a bit average so I swapped them for some Halfords puncture resistant 1.5" semi-slicks (also awesome - 1 puncture in over 1000 miles of dirt tracks). Very sturdy and yet relatively lightweight."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding bike,
May 11, 2011
By Nathannl
from Northern Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Amazing bike I bought this to get started riding trials and needed a solid bike that could handle my aggressive riding style and this bike did not disappoint :) . . Very good disc brake setup and great fork lockout feature for when I'm cycling on the road to and from trails, truly brilliant bike for the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value,
May 08, 2011
By dazzlin74
from wiltshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality components, smooth ride, great value, good wheels/tyres
Cons: seat a bit hard on the bumps
"reserved and collected via web,great service,bike assembled and checked by excellent staff who knew their stuff,bike rides a dream,gear shifting is smooth and quiet,brakes are excellent,cant really fault it really,only downside is the seat if like me have a boney small bottom,otherwise brilliant bike and outstanding value"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ok to start with but when put to the test,
May 07, 2011
By Steviec1981
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Solid frame, looks good. Sram gears, not the best as the gear change is sloppy, will not go in some gears, slight annoying noise coming from the chain. Have had the bike looked over by the halfords staff and they asured me that there is nothing wrong with the gears lol. Disk breaks anre rubbing but halfords staff asure me that after 2-3 rides the rubbing will stop, i'm 50-60 miles into ownership and still rub a dub dub."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
2nd Time Lucky,
May 02, 2011
By Bushbike
from North Shields
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great value, nice spec, easy to ride, staff as always are great at any halfords store
Cons: took 2 times (different stores) to get a good one
"Picked up the bike today, had a disappointment earlier in April with the same spec bike, but really pleased today.
Great spec for the price, gears (this time) snicked into place nicely.
Extended my run from the shop to 20 miles back to home and the bike performed well - puncture 200 metres from home...but thats no fault of the bike or Halfords, just the local council!
I recommend this bike and the Cramlington store.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic bike,
April 30, 2011
By cmy1969
from stoke on trent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"what a fantastic bike, great to ride, looks brilliant, absolutley one of best bikes ive owned"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant bike,
April 27, 2011
By Robbie83
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This bike is brilliant, you get alot of bike for the money you pay for it. The bikes performance is great i`v already been on some quite tough off road routes as well as the road and it handles it superb, having the lock off front suspention is a bonus too, i didn`t actually think i would use this much but i really do. Overall the bike is much better than i thought it would be because i was looking at far more expensive bikes first and to be honest there`s little difference between them, i would say this bike is better. I`m not just saying that because its the bike i bought, it true."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ideal for cycling to work and back,
April 26, 2011
By Johnboy46
from Sutton Coldfiled West midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A high quality top spec mountain bike, I bought it on the half price deal currently on offer at halfords. All the parts are branded and work very well, the gear system has a smooth flow mechanism making it easy to change on the more challanging terrain. The front and rear disc brakes give you more control of a sure stop if need be. The seat is a lttle un comfortable but after purchasing a gel seat cover it soon ironed out this issue. I bought some mud guards as an added extra, and also fitted some LED lights. I love the blue frame colour which works welI with the white alloys. In general I totally recomend this bike,"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good for the money,
April 25, 2011
By paul2011
from blackburn
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"i got the bike in the sale so very good value for money the gears work great the only down side to this bike is the seat is very bad on the bum and the disc brakes need bedding in but after a few goes they or fine overall a good bike"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountain Bike Bought for Work,
April 25, 2011
By Davit
from Hertfordshire, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: disc brakes, front suspension, quick change gears
Cons: no rear suspension
"Was looking for a mountain bike for work and maybe the very occasional offroad use. I have not been dissapointed, the bike swallows up the 6 mile ride to work without really noticing it. The gears are positive, quite accurate and the quick change facility is brlliant. Disc brakes are great and very reassuring.
No rear suspension but the front suspension reduces wrist injuries and fatigue.
As with most bikes that get daily used should regulary clean, Lubicate, check and service."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic,
April 25, 2011
By Antihero76
from Norfolk, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very good value for money, it's a lot of bike for little money. Looked at Giants and GT's but the spec of the Vulcan for the money was unbeatable. Very nice ride, the seat is a bit like sitting on a razor blade but you get used to it or you could buy another seat. Other than that, really good value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carrara vulcan,
April 24, 2011
By steveg30
from liverpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: perfect
"exellent bike bargain price at the moment i use it to get to and from work petrol very expencive and the bickle with pay for itselve with in a few months"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a good buy,
April 23, 2011
By r6yamaharider
from sp84eq
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"this a a great bike,well balanced and good to ride.whelliies well and no problems coping off road or when riding down steps. small spocket on front sometimes hard to engage.not that i use gears that low,but a very good all round bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT PURCHASE !!!!!!!!!!!!!,
April 22, 2011
By ljn1995
from Manchester, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: suspension brakes
Cons: have to manually adjust brakes
"this bike is fantastic it is good and easy to get use to i went on a 30 mile bike ride the 2nd day i had it and it was perfect great bike =)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
well spec'd for price!,
April 13, 2011
By aiston
from washington, england
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: disc brakes...
Cons: entry level forks
"i'm over the moon with the carrera vulcan. i think this is a very well spec'd bike for the price..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vulcan bike,
April 08, 2011
By Newburycyclist
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very good bike - used for on and off road. changed saddle for more comfortable one. helpful service at halfords"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carrera vulcan,
February 10, 2011
By bornagainhealthfreak
from scunthorpe
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"purchased through the governments go green scheme titled bike to work, Halfords was the 1st choice when choosing a bike which would suit me for the purpose of commuting mainly.
The range of bikes on offer would suit anybody's budget, and of course the staff member who helped me with my purchase was very knowledgable when it came to offering advice.
The bike i chose was exactly right for me and i am totally happy with my choice, the bike is rugged looking with a great paint scheme-there is nothing i do not like about the carrera vulcan-it's fantastic!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very nice bike,
November 09, 2010
By griff1983
from sittingbourne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i've covered about 60 miles since i bought this bike and ,apart from needed to adjust the brakes up,i've had no issues what so ever.
it's a great bike at an amazing price,the only thing i miss is a QR seat-but this cheap enough to solve.
cant recommend highly enough-go for it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lovely bike,
October 18, 2010
By bfreeman
from Solihull, Olton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: reliable not had any problems with it and not expe
Cons: none
"nice and easy to ride. gets me every-where I need to get to with no problems at all. the 24 gears are great for when going up hills or just cruising along. it also has two disc brakes which I find are much better than the ordinary ones and much more responsive.
overall the bike looks very nice and is very strong and not to heavy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Vulcan Disc Spec Mountain Bike 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
what a buy,
September 19, 2010
By herb
from canterbury
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Well satisfied with my new bike, it rides well and the gear changing is wonderfull. had to change the saddle as my bums to big for the slim line one fitter"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>