Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Boardman Road Bike Team Carbon XL 2010

The Boardman Road Team Carbon XL features a 57.7cm carbon fibre monocoque frame designed with Olympic gold medal winning technology for ultimate performance
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Boardman Road Bike Team Carbon XL 2010
Review 1 for Boardman Road Bike Team Carbon XL 2010
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chris Boardman Team Carbon,
November 05, 2010
By WATERHENDO
from Edinbugh, Scotland.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lightweight, quality components
Cons: tyres are poor
" This is the 2nd team carbon bike I've owned in as many years. Whilst cycling, the front chain ring collapsed sheering the bottom bracket area and scraping the frame, Halfords are going to replace the frame, but I don't know when his will be done. The 1st team carbon bike I owned was fine with only the tyres requiring replacement, as they were very easily punctured. This bike is of the the same ilk and I can only assume the problem I expeienced is quite rare. The over-all design and build quality is excellent but the value is a fair bit down on last years model, due to the
£200 price increase.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman Road Bike Team Carbon XL 2010
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent Value for money,
July 14, 2010
By saintneil
from isle of wight
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light and great value for money
Cons: gears need to be set up properly
" wow, what a great bike. Didnt think the weight and quality would show so much. Make sure the gears are set up correctly. Mine were not and i had to take the bike back to be done properly. The sram is different set up to shimano and needs to be done by someone know this set up.
Dont let this put you off buying this bike.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman Road Bike Team Carbon XL 2010
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Best,
June 05, 2010
By Doug1313
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the whole bike
Cons: low stocks around london
" No problems with the bike whatsoever, top quality materials all over, dont go for any other buy this one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman Road Bike Team Carbon XL 2010
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great bike !,
October 23, 2009
By 4Bobby
from Bicester, Oxon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Really pleased with my Boardman Team Carbon bike. Despite a few concerns in relation to the quality of the wheels after reading other reviews on the internet, I went ahead and ordered the bike. I picked it up at St. Alabans, where the staff were very good in setting the bike up for me. I had a trial ride before purchase which confirmed to me that I was buying the right bike. Have no hesitation in reccomending the bike to other prospective buyers, I am very pleased with it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman Road Bike Team Carbon XL 2010
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman Road Bike Team Carbon XL 09,
October 12, 2009
By Sandshoes
from Stockport
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value
Cons: availability
" Superb value. Nothing comes close for the price. Quality excellent.
Heard bad reviews on the wheels and tyres, so I've replaced these and already 1 lbs lighter.
No problems with the SRAM double tap shifters and got used to them straight away.
100% recommended, but difficult to get hold of.
Let's see how it get's on after a few more rides....
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman Road Bike Team Carbon XL 2010
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really really pleased,
September 19, 2009
By phil13
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Fantastic bike, great value and really quick delivery. Couldn't be happier. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman Road Bike Team Carbon XL 2010
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman Carbon Pro - makes you feel like a pro,
May 24, 2009
By Aikiadp1
from Putney, London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Having competed in Olympic distance triathlon as an age grouper for the last five years I have made do with a Canondale Tri bike, but this was frankly not going to cope with the hills on the Lanzarote Ironman. The guys at Halfords Putney were outstanding in meeting my requirements, particularly in tweaking the gear set-up to cope with the hills. The Boardman flew like nothing else I have ridden – superb piece of kit with the SRAM Force gear/brakes an ideal compliment to a light, rigid and responsive carbon frame and crank combo. I will definitely be doing more business with this friendly, professional and accommodating crew. As for Boardman – you have created something wonderful. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman Road Bike Team Carbon XL 2010
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
May 22, 2009
By Mzzr
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent light weight performance bike. I bought it under the cycle to work scheme. Just completed the Kent Castle 100 and preparing for the Etape. Am delighted with it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.