Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Socket Sets or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"

The Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8 is a great value quality socket set.
Average Customer Rating:
4.718 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(103 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (103 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
99 of 102(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Review 1 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
April 20, 2014
By Archie12345
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, guarantee, finish, value, case
"I work as a bike mechanic when im not at college so this set gets pretty frequent use especially during the holidays. I am very pleased with this set because it was very cheap and has all the sizes needed for a bike apart from an 8mm which i bought seperately and fits inside the 17mm deep socket for storage. I also bought a long breaker bar for freeing seized nuts and bolts. The set is of exceptional quality and the ratchet is very smooth unlike my collegues draper expert ratchet which is a chore to use. I am thinking of buying another set so that i can load them up with differnt sockets I will eventually buy a large halfords socket set but i don't require the other tools yet so i am not bothering yet. This set also has a lifetime warranty which i hear is honoured very well but i don't have personal experience of this."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BARNSTAPLE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything you could want,
January 07, 2014
By Grahamchuckles
from Chatham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: has an extension piece, well made parts, has a sutible case
"This little socket set is handy when doing small improvements to even to big ones fit nice and neatly in a well constructed case they have included the most common sizes and even comes with an extension piece good all round value very pleased"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHATHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
January 07, 2014
By itchyscratcher
from Warwickshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great socket set for small jobs, ideal for carrying around in my van as backup, and at half price in the sale fantastic value as well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent socket set,
January 07, 2014
By GSR88
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good quality socket set, worked out cheaper to buy this set than a single 3/8" drive replacement ratchet.
Easy click and collect online reservation
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice compact socket set,
January 07, 2014
By Juan27
from West Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this to augment 1/2" and 1/4" socket sets I already owned. Seems very good quality and covers a good range of sizes. The four deep sockets do not have the rubber inserts which allow easy removal of deeply recessed spark plugs and a longer extension bar would be a useful addition, hence 4 stars."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: More than 3
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent service, great product,
December 23, 2013
By Jazzy1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent click and collect service, great product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most used socket sizes...perfect!,
December 22, 2013
By Ctbc140
from Bedfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is an addition to my other Halfords socket set and I have to say its brilliant, the ratchet feels comfortable and extremely we'll made, whilst the sockets, extensions ect have a lifetime guarantee so there's nothing to complain about.
All in all, I'm a very happy customer and wouldn't hesitate in buying any of the other advanced professional sets."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BIGGLESWADE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Professional 18 Piece 3/8" Socket Set,
November 25, 2013
By Mike2014
from Oxfordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: it would benefit with a longer 3/8" extension bar
"Its a great piece of general DIY socket set to keep in the car to tackle any simple and basic jobs, with a range of deep sockets for spark plug removal.
The sockets and ratchet is well housed in an ABS molded box that keeps the set in well arranged, and can spot any missing tools on completion of tasks."
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brillant Value,
November 23, 2013
By ChrisT1
from Woodbridge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent set for the price. Would recommend without reservation."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for the price,
October 28, 2013
By Soloman118
from Northern ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Was very pleased with the product.. Was out of stock for delivery but I was able to reserve it and pick it up in the store.. Very good socket set for the price.. And with life time guarantee would highly recommend it.."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BALLYMENA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent value set for diy or professional use.,
October 20, 2013
By pat26
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent value set nicely presented.A quality set of sockets that would compliment anyone's tool kit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? NEWRY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value.,
October 15, 2013
By barwell59
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: motor diy
"great service and excellent value for money,tools are very good quality"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great set for the money,
October 13, 2013
By dmsims
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After my sockets went walkabout from the drive I needed to replace them and this set is great value for money with a great guarantee. Ratchet has an excellent action and is comfortable to use"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great starter kit,
October 06, 2013
By LDVMAXUS
from northern Ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"After years of not having the correct kit at hand I visited Halfords and bought this 18 piece kit it looked better quality than anything else at the price and when I spoke to my work colleagues about buying tools they were able to validate the quality from having used their own Halfords purchases. It looks and feels good and only time will tell if it is excellent. I will be buying the 6mm drive set next now that I have used this and would not hesitate visiting Halfords for future purchases with the on line reservation service."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? COLERAINE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good kit with deep sockets.,
October 03, 2013
By Yankeedoc
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: deep sockets
"A good range of useful socket sizes rather than having a box full of stuff you don't use. These sizes were all useable for me on a MTB rebuild. There were some deep sockets that you don't get in other kits. Well priced and worth the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? HIGH WYCOMBE (LONDON RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, great price,
October 02, 2013
By Whit3knight
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, price
Cons: no step down socket
"Great quality gear that won't let you down when you need it , good price considering warranty (lifetime) would I have paid full price maybe not."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No problems at all,
September 26, 2013
By kateswan11
from Sevenoaks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just what I needed to get the job done.
No hassle.
Thanks,
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SEVENOAKS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value for money,
September 22, 2013
By JuniorChubb
from London
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: average quality set at an excellent price
Cons: rathcet mechanism can stick under pressure
"This purchase was my first socket set to save me borrowing from friends and family. I found this set at half price and after buying Halfords tools in the past I knew this would be above average quality.
I used the reserve and collect service and it was a very simple process.
The tool set is just as I expectected, good quality, good price but the ratchet motion sticks occasionally under extra pressure. Despite the sticking I am happy with the product due to the price. If the set was to be used more often or in professional situations I would look elswhere, but for me working on my bike every other month or so this socket set fits the bill perfectly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHADWELL HEATH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought 2 today,
September 11, 2013
By MotorcycleTechnition
from Livingston
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lifetime warrenty
"sets are very good quality and i got them at half price"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professional Socket Set,
July 18, 2013
By Keelster
from Telford, Shropshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A nice set best one I have had :-) I would recommend this"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>