Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Socket Sets or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"

The Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8 is a great value quality socket set.
Average Customer Rating:
4.723 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (119 reviews)
5 stars
92
4 stars
23
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
115 of 118(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Review 1 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
December 18, 2014
By Nealsy49
from Arundel
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality
Cons: there are none
" Bought this as a gift for a friend.
I've had this set for several years & it's provided sterling service.
I work in engineering & most of the tools in my kit are Halfords pro, unbeatable for quality & value.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? RUSTINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set,
December 10, 2014
By jontrix
from norwich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have been buying Halfords tools for many years now,the quality is excelent of my latest purchace ,I trust the name even against other named tools with the same products. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value Product,
December 08, 2014
By LandyAndy1
from Barnsley, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ratchet feels firm, sockets have good grip
" The Halfords Advanced Professional Socket Set is a great addition to any mechanics tool box. The sockets grip even the most worn nuts with no slip. The ratchet is strong and will with stand having a lever bar attached to release Loctite bolts "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (HARBOROUGH HILL)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality socket set,
December 04, 2014
By Jaygee49
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I needed to replace a 3/8" ratchet and this set was fantastic value for this and a very good quality product too. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WOKING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Socket set,
November 24, 2014
By Kaz248
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this for my husband for his Xmas, it's fantastic value and has everything he needs. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
good but lifetime warranty doesn't cover moving parts,
November 24, 2014
By alexvdb
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Seems good quality but disappointed that "moving parts" are excluded from the lifetime warranty. The only moving part is in the ratchet mechanism - the only part of the kit likely to fail. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent socket set,
November 14, 2014
By MattR
from Tadley, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality feel to the tools
Cons: ratchet mechanism has slightly too large teeth
" I bought this as an addition to my tool kit primarily for the long reach sockets. I already have a number of halfords socket sets in 1/4 3/8 and 1/2 in drive and they have all been very good. I have lost some pieces but I have not had any of them break or fail. All of them are good but the professional range are my favourites as they do come with a lifetime guarantee for piece of mind. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good basic set.,
November 04, 2014
By Arfurb
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: has some deep sockets.
Cons: doesn't have a spinner handle.
" A good basic set, with all the common sizes and some deep sockets too. Feels good to handle, good quality and decent chrome. Slightly expensive at full price but a bargain as it was on offer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3/8ths set,
November 02, 2014
By boatfix
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: high quality low price
" Brought this when I noticed the half price sale on. And in all honesty id have paid full price for it anyway. Quality is excellent with good range of sizes and deep sockets in convenient case. Plus everyone loves a lifetime guarantee! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? LOWESTOFT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Advanced socket set.,
October 20, 2014
By Akw1
from Northampton.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Superb value. Excellent quality, ideal to keep in the boot just in case. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (RIVERSIDE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best price and quality,
October 10, 2014
By Anonymous
from Worthing, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: resistance, price
" I had bought previously steel tools which were cheaper and all of them were getting broken quickly, causing expensive issues (round bolts, small cracked parts left around, etc). Buying the chrome-vanadium tools from Halfords Advanced suite was not just clever but an investment. They have allowed me to save a lot of time and issues. Something like hammering a socket on a rounded head to remove it would have not been possible without a so well tempered socket and I would have ended drilling the bolt, which is difficult and risky due to the place where the bolts were, an engine.
Highly recommended investment. Buying cheaper will force you to buy twice at least.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality and versatile tool set,
September 21, 2014
By Madmitch180
from GB
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of finish
Cons: box is a bit flimsy
" This is a very handy socket set which will be useful for the majority of jobs. It has a good quality feel to it and has already been put to good use.
I build and reapir cycles and this set has proved invaluable so far while being compact to store.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3/8 Halfords pro socket set,
September 19, 2014
By stevo7682
from Maybole, South Ayrshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this set to replace a broken ratchet as such good value over buying ratchet on its own good quality would recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? AYR
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant bit of kit,
September 17, 2014
By Sparky13
from Dunstable, Central Bedfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the strength, the feel, the price
" This socket set is brilliant very well made strong and worth every penny "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hard wearing and value for money,
August 09, 2014
By Kevkoi
from Somerset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compact, has a 15mm
" Hard wearing and value for money.neat and tidy case and comes with a 15mm which as I've found out recently many others don't . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value and quality,
August 03, 2014
By matt12567
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this at half price and cant fault it so far. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
April 20, 2014
By Archie12345
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, guarantee, finish, value, case
" I work as a bike mechanic when im not at college so this set gets pretty frequent use especially during the holidays. I am very pleased with this set because it was very cheap and has all the sizes needed for a bike apart from an 8mm which i bought seperately and fits inside the 17mm deep socket for storage. I also bought a long breaker bar for freeing seized nuts and bolts. The set is of exceptional quality and the ratchet is very smooth unlike my collegues draper expert ratchet which is a chore to use. I am thinking of buying another set so that i can load them up with differnt sockets I will eventually buy a large halfords socket set but i don't require the other tools yet so i am not bothering yet. This set also has a lifetime warranty which i hear is honoured very well but i don't have personal experience of this. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BARNSTAPLE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything you could want,
January 07, 2014
By Grahamchuckles
from Chatham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: has an extension piece, well made parts, has a sutible case
" This little socket set is handy when doing small improvements to even to big ones fit nice and neatly in a well constructed case they have included the most common sizes and even comes with an extension piece good all round value very pleased "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHATHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
January 07, 2014
By itchyscratcher
from Warwickshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great socket set for small jobs, ideal for carrying around in my van as backup, and at half price in the sale fantastic value as well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent socket set,
January 07, 2014
By GSR88
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good quality socket set, worked out cheaper to buy this set than a single 3/8" drive replacement ratchet.
Easy click and collect online reservation
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>