Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Socket Sets or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"

The Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8 is a great value quality socket set.
Average Customer Rating:
4.734 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
5 stars
85
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
105 of 108(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Review 1 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best price and quality,
October 10, 2014
By Anonymous
from Worthing, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: resistance, price
"I had bought previously steel tools which were cheaper and all of them were getting broken quickly, causing expensive issues (round bolts, small cracked parts left around, etc). Buying the chrome-vanadium tools from Halfords Advanced suite was not just clever but an investment. They have allowed me to save a lot of time and issues. Something like hammering a socket on a rounded head to remove it would have not been possible without a so well tempered socket and I would have ended drilling the bolt, which is difficult and risky due to the place where the bolts were, an engine.
Highly recommended investment. Buying cheaper will force you to buy twice at least.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality and versatile tool set,
September 21, 2014
By Madmitch180
from GB
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of finish
Cons: box is a bit flimsy
"This is a very handy socket set which will be useful for the majority of jobs. It has a good quality feel to it and has already been put to good use.
I build and reapir cycles and this set has proved invaluable so far while being compact to store.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3/8 Halfords pro socket set,
September 19, 2014
By stevo7682
from Maybole, South Ayrshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this set to replace a broken ratchet as such good value over buying ratchet on its own good quality would recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? AYR
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant bit of kit,
September 17, 2014
By Sparky13
from Dunstable, Central Bedfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the strength, the feel, the price
"This socket set is brilliant very well made strong and worth every penny"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hard wearing and value for money,
August 09, 2014
By Kevkoi
from Somerset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compact, has a 15mm
"Hard wearing and value for money.neat and tidy case and comes with a 15mm which as I've found out recently many others don't ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value and quality,
August 03, 2014
By matt12567
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this at half price and cant fault it so far."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
April 20, 2014
By Archie12345
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, guarantee, finish, value, case
"I work as a bike mechanic when im not at college so this set gets pretty frequent use especially during the holidays. I am very pleased with this set because it was very cheap and has all the sizes needed for a bike apart from an 8mm which i bought seperately and fits inside the 17mm deep socket for storage. I also bought a long breaker bar for freeing seized nuts and bolts. The set is of exceptional quality and the ratchet is very smooth unlike my collegues draper expert ratchet which is a chore to use. I am thinking of buying another set so that i can load them up with differnt sockets I will eventually buy a large halfords socket set but i don't require the other tools yet so i am not bothering yet. This set also has a lifetime warranty which i hear is honoured very well but i don't have personal experience of this."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BARNSTAPLE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything you could want,
January 07, 2014
By Grahamchuckles
from Chatham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: has an extension piece, well made parts, has a sutible case
"This little socket set is handy when doing small improvements to even to big ones fit nice and neatly in a well constructed case they have included the most common sizes and even comes with an extension piece good all round value very pleased"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHATHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
January 07, 2014
By itchyscratcher
from Warwickshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great socket set for small jobs, ideal for carrying around in my van as backup, and at half price in the sale fantastic value as well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent socket set,
January 07, 2014
By GSR88
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good quality socket set, worked out cheaper to buy this set than a single 3/8" drive replacement ratchet.
Easy click and collect online reservation
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice compact socket set,
January 07, 2014
By Juan27
from West Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this to augment 1/2" and 1/4" socket sets I already owned. Seems very good quality and covers a good range of sizes. The four deep sockets do not have the rubber inserts which allow easy removal of deeply recessed spark plugs and a longer extension bar would be a useful addition, hence 4 stars."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: More than 3
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent service, great product,
December 23, 2013
By Jazzy1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent click and collect service, great product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most used socket sizes...perfect!,
December 22, 2013
By Ctbc140
from Bedfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is an addition to my other Halfords socket set and I have to say its brilliant, the ratchet feels comfortable and extremely we'll made, whilst the sockets, extensions ect have a lifetime guarantee so there's nothing to complain about.
All in all, I'm a very happy customer and wouldn't hesitate in buying any of the other advanced professional sets."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BIGGLESWADE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Professional 18 Piece 3/8" Socket Set,
November 25, 2013
By Mike2014
from Oxfordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: it would benefit with a longer 3/8" extension bar
"Its a great piece of general DIY socket set to keep in the car to tackle any simple and basic jobs, with a range of deep sockets for spark plug removal.
The sockets and ratchet is well housed in an ABS molded box that keeps the set in well arranged, and can spot any missing tools on completion of tasks."
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brillant Value,
November 23, 2013
By ChrisT1
from Woodbridge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent set for the price. Would recommend without reservation."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for the price,
October 28, 2013
By Soloman118
from Northern ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Was very pleased with the product.. Was out of stock for delivery but I was able to reserve it and pick it up in the store.. Very good socket set for the price.. And with life time guarantee would highly recommend it.."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BALLYMENA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent value set for diy or professional use.,
October 20, 2013
By pat26
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent value set nicely presented.A quality set of sockets that would compliment anyone's tool kit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? NEWRY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value.,
October 15, 2013
By barwell59
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: motor diy
"great service and excellent value for money,tools are very good quality"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great set for the money,
October 13, 2013
By dmsims
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After my sockets went walkabout from the drive I needed to replace them and this set is great value for money with a great guarantee. Ratchet has an excellent action and is comfortable to use"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great starter kit,
October 06, 2013
By LDVMAXUS
from northern Ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"After years of not having the correct kit at hand I visited Halfords and bought this 18 piece kit it looked better quality than anything else at the price and when I spoke to my work colleagues about buying tools they were able to validate the quality from having used their own Halfords purchases. It looks and feels good and only time will tell if it is excellent. I will be buying the 6mm drive set next now that I have used this and would not hesitate visiting Halfords for future purchases with the on line reservation service."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? COLERAINE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>