Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Socket Sets or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"

The Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8 is a great value quality socket set.
Average Customer Rating:
4.734 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(124 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (124 reviews)
5 stars
97
4 stars
23
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
120 of 123(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Review 1 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality socket set,
March 07, 2015
By Deano99x
from Reading
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very good value for money socket set, with the long reach sockets and a nice little mechanism which locks the socket to the ratchet. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? READING (OXFORD RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good bit of kit,
February 09, 2015
By lemecredi
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Needed a socket set for some time now for bicycle maintenance, this is a good set at a good price "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good Indeed.,
February 04, 2015
By JohnJ440
from Milford Haven, Pembrokeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I am very happy with the set.It is well made and carries a good selection of sockets.I do wish it had a 19mm deep socket as well but it was probably left out because you would need a 1/2" drive ratchet handle to use it and not risk over-stressing the one in the set.It is also a very good thing that the pieces in the set are guaranteed for life although,obviously,not if you abuse them!
Great value and well designed and made - Thank you!
The staff in the Haverfordwest store are always helpful,informed and could not be better - Brilliant!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HAVERFORD WEST
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Socket set,
January 29, 2015
By Bunsley44
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great quality and warranty backup. Recommend this product and a great price ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LIVINGSTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8",
January 02, 2015
By tuggybear
from Leicester, Leicester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" excellent socket set a must for anybody that values their tools "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
December 18, 2014
By Nealsy49
from Arundel
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality
Cons: there are none
" Bought this as a gift for a friend.
I've had this set for several years & it's provided sterling service.
I work in engineering & most of the tools in my kit are Halfords pro, unbeatable for quality & value.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? RUSTINGTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set,
December 10, 2014
By jontrix
from norwich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have been buying Halfords tools for many years now,the quality is excelent of my latest purchace ,I trust the name even against other named tools with the same products. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value Product,
December 08, 2014
By LandyAndy1
from Barnsley, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ratchet feels firm, sockets have good grip
" The Halfords Advanced Professional Socket Set is a great addition to any mechanics tool box. The sockets grip even the most worn nuts with no slip. The ratchet is strong and will with stand having a lever bar attached to release Loctite bolts "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (HARBOROUGH HILL)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality socket set,
December 04, 2014
By Jaygee49
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I needed to replace a 3/8" ratchet and this set was fantastic value for this and a very good quality product too. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WOKING
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Socket set,
November 24, 2014
By Kaz248
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this for my husband for his Xmas, it's fantastic value and has everything he needs. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
good but lifetime warranty doesn't cover moving parts,
November 24, 2014
By alexvdb
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Seems good quality but disappointed that "moving parts" are excluded from the lifetime warranty. The only moving part is in the ratchet mechanism - the only part of the kit likely to fail. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent socket set,
November 14, 2014
By MattR
from Tadley, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality feel to the tools
Cons: ratchet mechanism has slightly too large teeth
" I bought this as an addition to my tool kit primarily for the long reach sockets. I already have a number of halfords socket sets in 1/4 3/8 and 1/2 in drive and they have all been very good. I have lost some pieces but I have not had any of them break or fail. All of them are good but the professional range are my favourites as they do come with a lifetime guarantee for piece of mind. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good basic set.,
November 04, 2014
By Arfurb
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: has some deep sockets.
Cons: doesn't have a spinner handle.
" A good basic set, with all the common sizes and some deep sockets too. Feels good to handle, good quality and decent chrome. Slightly expensive at full price but a bargain as it was on offer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3/8ths set,
November 02, 2014
By boatfix
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: high quality low price
" Brought this when I noticed the half price sale on. And in all honesty id have paid full price for it anyway. Quality is excellent with good range of sizes and deep sockets in convenient case. Plus everyone loves a lifetime guarantee! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? LOWESTOFT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Advanced socket set.,
October 20, 2014
By Akw1
from Northampton.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Superb value. Excellent quality, ideal to keep in the boot just in case. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (RIVERSIDE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best price and quality,
October 10, 2014
By Anonymous
from Worthing, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: resistance, price
" I had bought previously steel tools which were cheaper and all of them were getting broken quickly, causing expensive issues (round bolts, small cracked parts left around, etc). Buying the chrome-vanadium tools from Halfords Advanced suite was not just clever but an investment. They have allowed me to save a lot of time and issues. Something like hammering a socket on a rounded head to remove it would have not been possible without a so well tempered socket and I would have ended drilling the bolt, which is difficult and risky due to the place where the bolts were, an engine.
Highly recommended investment. Buying cheaper will force you to buy twice at least.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality and versatile tool set,
September 21, 2014
By Madmitch180
from GB
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of finish
Cons: box is a bit flimsy
" This is a very handy socket set which will be useful for the majority of jobs. It has a good quality feel to it and has already been put to good use.
I build and reapir cycles and this set has proved invaluable so far while being compact to store.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3/8 Halfords pro socket set,
September 19, 2014
By stevo7682
from Maybole, South Ayrshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this set to replace a broken ratchet as such good value over buying ratchet on its own good quality would recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? AYR
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant bit of kit,
September 17, 2014
By Sparky13
from Dunstable, Central Bedfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the strength, the feel, the price
" This socket set is brilliant very well made strong and worth every penny "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Advanced Professional 18 Piece Socket Set 3/8"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hard wearing and value for money,
August 09, 2014
By Kevkoi
from Somerset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compact, has a 15mm
" Hard wearing and value for money.neat and tidy case and comes with a 15mm which as I've found out recently many others don't . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>