Halfords Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

X-Rated Exile 2 Freestyle BMX Bike

X-Rated Exile 2 Freestyle BMX Bike has a hi-tensile steel frame.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
7 of 10(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for X-Rated Exile 2 Freestyle BMX Bike
Review 1 for X-Rated Exile 2 Freestyle BMX Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exile II,
June 12, 2009
By Imaskyver
from Bridgend, South Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: style and spec
Cons: weight of rims
"Bought in sale last year for my son who had only recently learned to ride (7). It was marginally too big for him but he managed.
This year he's the right size for it and bike is spot on - good Giro and build quality good - could have benefitted from alloy rims to lighten overall.
I'm 37 and had a go on it and it brought back all the waves of memories of ripping around on my Raleigh Supertuff Burner. If it can handle a 20st bloke doing bunny hops and jumps on it and it still works fine then it must be a good bike. I recommend this bike.
Imaskyver"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X-Rated Exile 2 Freestyle BMX Bike
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst bike ever owned,
June 06, 2009
By Routty
from haverhill, suffolk
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: was cheap. only 80 pounds
Cons: weak wheels
"Out of all the bikes i have ever owned this is the worst ever. First off when i got it most of the bolts where loose so i got then tightened up ( couldnt use it for the first day). after that i took it to a local skate park and started to ride it and with in 20 min both wheels where buckeled. not only that the back wheel keeps making its way loose because the nuts on the back dont hold the wheel well enough. the last bike i had was a 90 pound dimondback and it never went wrong once and i rode it same way as this one."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X-Rated Exile 2 Freestyle BMX Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really pleased,
May 28, 2009
By Tadleybikers
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this as a birthday present for an 11 year old. He loves it and we have been really impressed"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X-Rated Exile 2 Freestyle BMX Bike
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
May 26, 2009
By surfing
from kent
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"with in two days of having the bike the break lever snaped and no matter how many times I
refix the handle bars after about 20 mins they work lose had I not been working I would have returned the bike by now but will be returning it this weekend.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X-Rated Exile 2 Freestyle BMX Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product,
May 26, 2009
By Anonymous
from Bristol,England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Brilliant service,easy and quick to collect store very helpful"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X-Rated Exile 2 Freestyle BMX Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect purchase!!,
May 26, 2009
By FatherOfFour
from Feltham, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My lad who is 10 has been nagging me for a bike and with limited funds we got hunting. Not only great value for money, but he loved it too!! Can't get him off it, which means there is 1 less car on the school run now too!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X-Rated Exile 2 Freestyle BMX Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY BEST BMX OWNED YET,
April 13, 2009
By BMXSTAR89
from NAILSEA
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I HAVE JUST RECENTLY COME OUT OF PLASTER FROM AN UNFORTUNATE ACCIDENT ON A PREVIOUS BMX AND SO I BOUGHT THIS 1 AND ALL THOUGH IT IS CHEAP IT IS STILL VERY GOOD QUALITY FOR MONEY."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X-Rated Exile 2 Freestyle BMX Bike
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
OMG! Worst £80 Ever Spent,
October 26, 2008
By Nozza46
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: half price, light
Cons: 1 piece crank so not ideal for jump riding, needs lots of work before you can actually ride it, needs longer front axle, needs stunt pegs, front sprocket is too large to fit over the coping, rims are flimsy and buckle, forks are not standard so parts don't fit, brakes don't work, grips are hard so blister hands, top loading stem so handle bars slip if not tight
"I bought this bike as it was half price and I can understand why!
The only things that are the same on my bike now are: the frame, bars, forks and tyres.
When I bought this bike the brakes didn't work, new front axle needed putting in, front rim was buckled, grips were changed and new stunt pegs were added.
When I took it to my local skatepark I found that the sprocket didn't fit over the coping, the rims bent after a few landings, the bars slipped in the stem and that generally I spent more time fixing it than riding it.
The crank arm also snapped, chain fell off, original stunt pegs wear down like plastic and the forks aren't standard so parts don't fit them.
I have spent an extra £250 getting this bike upto a good standard so I would stay well clear of it if I was you and spend more money on a bike that won't brake the first time you ride it!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from Halfords:By Halfords QA TeamNovember 12, 2008
The bike has been subjected bike to rather extreme BMX / jump use. Good 'shock absorbing' technique on landing will prevent rims 'bending' or buckling. No rim will withstand severe jump landings.
Review 9 for X-Rated Exile 2 Freestyle BMX Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very very good,
September 04, 2008
By Saaam
from Watford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: 360 rotation, reliable brakes, light yes durable, sweet paintjob
Cons: plastic pedals
"This bike is lovely, beautiful paint job and ready to go straight away be it to school or skatepark. For those who bmx I'd recommend this definitely as a cheap alternative to more expensive bikes as this bike contains many elements usually found in the more expensive bikes"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
About Me: I'm a cycling enthusiast and like top quality products and brands
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X-Rated Exile 2 Freestyle BMX Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BRILLAINT,
June 15, 2008
By GUSGUS
from west sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A brilliant bike and half price as well lovely condission chain never comes of evan if you got something stuck in it and. The 360 degree handlebar rotation that entertaned me for hours and the steel frame is unscratchable and that means the paint is as well i would toatlly recommend this to you."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
About Me: Cycling is a leisure activity with friends or family
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.