Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre

Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre forms an extra layer that protects during warm-up and beyond.
Average Customer Rating:
4.773 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (119 reviews)
5 stars
98
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
116 of 119(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Review 1 for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Castrol Magnatec, great all purpose oil,
April 23, 2013
By Phlock
from Leeds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great price
"A well manufactured hard wearing oil, suitable for most vehicles. Although Please make sure you select the correct oil for your cars engine. All modern turbo diesels need a full synthetic!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great oil - 5 stars,
April 20, 2013
By Mally1960
from Pontefract - UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good product at great price
"Fantastic oil, the engine funs much more smoothly than using the manufacturers recommended oil."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Castrol magnatec,
April 17, 2013
By Mavie
from East Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy clean pour, full synthetic protection for engine, slim line packaging fits neatly on shelves, engine ran smoother and quieter after oil change
"Bought an old car and the oil was black as tar...
I always use fully synthetic oil and Castrol magnatec was Recommended by the manufacturer, so went with it.
Engines feels smoother and sounds a little quieter too after oil change, really enjoyed the drive home!
Easy to pour, I have a little left now the slim styled bottle sits comfortably on my shelve in case o top ups!
Well worth the cost!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? UCKFIELD
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Castrol 5/30w oil,
April 13, 2013
By Fomoco
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: promo price
"Strong brand good lubricating properties at a excellent price"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good oil, good price,
April 12, 2013
By m00ser1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Needed to top up my Discovery 3 found this at a good price and recommended by owners."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
magnatec,
April 12, 2013
By RanaS
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great oil. Keeps the engine clean and running smoothly. Less residue whwn changing oil and filter."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? CHINGFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
needed oil for the car,
April 12, 2013
By Myron
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Does exactly what it says on the tin. There is not much else I can comment about this product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says!,
April 08, 2013
By JoDi
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
"Good stuff at a great price - half the price of car dealer's oil!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WEST QUAY RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
one happy customer,
April 04, 2013
By flower666
from luton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"would definitely recommend does wonders for your engine i know because i gave this oil to my garage to use when my car was being serviced. once i put the key in it was like i was driving another car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LUTON
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
magnatec 5 W 30 oil,
March 26, 2013
By adj1
from manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: shop staff
"i found it so easy to order on line.the oil i wanted and a great saving . so much so i bought 3 X4 ltr s of it.a very good service.the staff were so helpfull too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (FORT)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Oil,
March 15, 2013
By Staticuser
from Stockport, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: 4l often not quite enough for an oil change
"good quality oil and value. used for oil change and worked perfectly"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product.,
February 28, 2013
By FrankB
from Surrey.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Engine runs smoother and quieter. Noticed the difference soon as I done the oil change."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Castrol Magnatec 5W30 Oil 4 Litre,
December 27, 2012
By Huss
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very good prouct, very heplful staff, very use again....."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MOT TIME,
December 24, 2012
By Grizwalds
from Chester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased Oil to give to local garage to do an Oil change whilst doing my MOT
Saved significantly on the garages own oil cost and guaranteed top quality oil was used.
It was currently on offer as well so even better.
Pre-ordered OIl so it was available for me to pick up at store
No issues will use system again.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Engine oil,
December 11, 2012
By Syed55
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I guess the product is quite upto the mark and staff was friendly ! Therefore , I'm satisfied ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GOOD PRICE,
November 27, 2012
By GARY54
from HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"ENGINE RUNNING QUIETER SO GOOD NEWS AND A GOOD DISCOUNT!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money,
October 20, 2012
By Naeem123
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought it at 25% discount and it is really worth to buy it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality expected for the price,
October 19, 2012
By Ranger911
from Chelmsford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"6.2 litres of it in my truck, engine now quieter and smoother so can't complain!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product!,
September 07, 2012
By Sparrow94
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make Peugeot 107
"Brought this oil when ut was on offer wich was really good value for what it is. Car runs nice and smooth no problems."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Castrol Magnatec 5W30 A1 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Castrol MAGNETIC 5W30 Oil 4Litre,
June 24, 2012
By wisdom25
from N Ireland COLERAINE
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gives total engine performance
Cons: none
Car Make Saab
"Castrol Magnetic 5W30Oil4 Litre. A PRINCE AMONG OILS. at aBARGIN price from a great supplier. Atop notch oil at basement price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>