Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre

Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil offers 4 X more wear protection than ordinary oils from start up.
Average Customer Rating:
4.827 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (81 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
81 of 81(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Review 1 for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovely product,
August 22, 2014
By Delo819
from North Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've used standard oils in the past and they "do the job" this oil seems to do that job and more, the ticking from my old car has gone now ever since I've used this oil, and it runs like a dream, even for a 15 year old car!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SCUNTHORPE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mr,
June 03, 2013
By israrbaig
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have used this brand and oil in my car some the last few years and found that due to my cars age this oil does help avoid engine problems due to wear and tear."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It stops my start-up rattle.,
April 27, 2013
By OilyHandsJon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it does what it says on the tin
Cons: the price
"I have previously tried Castrol GTX in my high mileage RAV4 and the rattle on start-up was very loud. I switched back to Magnatec and the rattle has disappeared, so I believe it does offer better protection on starting."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good choice,
April 18, 2013
By elsaco
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"quick delivery to my local store,good price,excellent quality product,totally recommended for my petrol engine(1.2 corsa)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHEND
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
castro magnatec 10w40,
April 17, 2013
By runaround
from suffolk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"High quality motor oil(does exactly what it says on the tin) i beleave.Would not think twice to buy again.Happy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SUDBURY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buying oil at Halfords,
April 15, 2013
By Bluefoxk
from Salisbury, Wilts
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good premium brands often discounted
"With a small fleet to service, I look out for oil deals from all vendors. Halfords offer discounts on this premium oil occasionally which saves me a lot of money and is always the best value. I know I can protect my machines for an affordable price with Halfords."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldnt have asked for better,
April 12, 2013
By Jessica1991
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Couldnt have asked for a better product. Always nice to give your car a treat. And exellet value for money!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good,
April 12, 2013
By Lols876
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good product...........would buy again............"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A quality oil which quietens start-up.,
April 12, 2013
By spellacy29
from Dereham, Norfolk UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sale price, quality of oil
"Reaches the parts other oils cannot reach!
High quality oil which gets around the engine quickly on start-up aided by its 'magnetic' nature which leaves a thin residue of oil on all internal parts. Certainly means quieter start-up on my 100K Mazda MX5.
When it's on-sale, it's the best you can buy for the money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? EAST DEREHAM
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Castrol oil,
April 11, 2013
By OCE6
from Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great price for this quality oil - used the reserve and collect service thinking it was an on line offer but actually same price in store."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Castrol Magnatec 10W40,
April 11, 2013
By RRX900
from stockport
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought the oil when on special offer,great saving on original price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHEADLE
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Castrol magnatec 10w40 oil,
April 11, 2013
By Emma93
from BNES
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fairly priced when on offer and quick and easy to reserve :)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MIDSOMER NORTON
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value,
March 24, 2013
By HomeMaintMan
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Nothing too exciting about oil, but when you are doing an oil change Halfords have what you need at a good price. Castrol products have always served me well,"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TONBRIDGE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Better than ordinary oil,
February 06, 2013
By PeaterG
from Burton on Trent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: thinking it makes my car healthier, engine noise is reduced
Cons: its expensive
"Have been using Magnatec engine oil for a while now and have noticed some reduction in engine noise."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Castrol Magnatec 10/40.,
December 20, 2012
By DickC
from Feltham, Middlesex.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this product at the Sunbury branch. I have always
used Castrol Magnatec and the discounted price on this
occasion was a real bonus.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Definitely would recommand this oil engine,
November 13, 2012
By gaby
from london
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good quality at a resonable price. excellent. thank you"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
engine oil,
October 31, 2012
By turk544
from oldham .lancs
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality run smoother
Cons: price
"the engine in our freelander td4 feels alot smoother and runs quieter after changing to castrol magnatec,"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's oil. Good price.,
June 24, 2012
By jimbo60
from Camberley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make Ford
"It's oil. Good price. End of review really!
ALWAYS worth checking for best prices, and at the time I needed oil, this was it. Safely and promptly delivered. What more could anyone want?
OK - they could swap the filter and fill with the oil.
Thank you Halfords!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
castrol,
June 14, 2012
By muscleuk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"motor oil is motor oil,but it was a decent price,would buy again"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Castrol Magnatec 10W40 A3 B4 Oil 4 Litre
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
castrol magnatec 10w40,
May 02, 2012
By a13fxr
from East Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make ford
"Great product will buy again, the halfords reserve & collect service was five stars, well done."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>