Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike 17"

The Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike is a rugged bike with a lightweight 7005 Series Aluminium bike frame.
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 of 18(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike 17"
Review 1 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike 17"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
acerage,
July 10, 2010
By simon37
from gosport
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"i bought this bike after reserving it at many of the halford stores near by for them to ring me up saying that there stock was not correct with the web. eventualy got one but had to travel 60 mile for it. the bike is ok but the gears slip alot and the brakes squeek. apart from that the bike is ok"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great buy ever!!,
June 25, 2010
By Ali1234
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Light weight good performance..brillaint for cycling in all weathers."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike 17"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Bike,
April 22, 2010
By Frogg
from Tunbridge Wells
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good bike at great value
Cons: niggles - hope they are rectifiable
"Really think this is a good bike for riding with the family. Not sure if I could call it a "performance" bike - but for the money it is great value.
Have a few niggles with the bike, wheels and brakes - but hope these will be sorted out at the 6 week service.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike 17"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good buy!,
April 12, 2010
By Podman
from Nottinghamshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price, ride, looks
Cons: minor pre-purchase damage
"For the price, this is a very well equiped bike (although I'm not sure I would have paid the advertised full price prior to discount!).
Good ride and brakes.
It did have a couple a little chips in the paint work before I picked it up and the seat did have a rip in it (this was exchanged with no problems).
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Service,
April 09, 2010
By trnut
from Didcot
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: friendly and very efficient
Cons: none
"Ordering this was a breeze via the web, we went to collect the bike on Sunday, the mechanic was just finishing the build so we were able to set it up for my son. Very heplful Staff, and excellent service."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike 17"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK but !!!!,
April 04, 2010
By fub59
from Somerset
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Nice lightweight and rugged bike, front suspension forks with discs brakes front and rear and reasonable seat, but it's a shame they couldn't fit a chain guard ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great vlaue bike,
March 26, 2010
By e3030
from london
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Does what it says on the tin gets me to work and back 3 times a week, 12 miles each way."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BRILLIANT BIKE,
January 04, 2010
By Pedzeus
from MERSEYSIDE
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This was an absolute bargain - almost half price and a quality piece of equipment."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Bike,
December 28, 2009
By Recommend1
from Ayrshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent purchase my son loves this bike and a great price for a bike at this spec."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
December 17, 2009
By Hamster55
from Thirsk, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Buying was easy - great discount. My son is very happy with the bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent price/quality balance,
August 12, 2009
By jmejay
from Dundee - Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: absolutely nothing
"I got this bike on exchange from a cheap Full suspension model that was terrible. This bike is actually COMFIER than a cheap suspension bike as the hardtail doesnt bounce around on every bump and just smooths over. The tires are incredibly grippy and the brakes are insane. you hold them in tight and the wheel WILL stop - although you'll probably end up in the air...
Seat and grips are very comfy.
Gears are VERY responsive and strong - no slip at all - 1/1 feels incredibly light and makes any hill easy-compared to the other bike. i really cant think of anything bad about this bike - its light - suspension is great...handling is light and loose it just feels great. and it looks amazing.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great buy,
July 03, 2009
By cuthbert
from Belfast, N.Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"excellent bike for very little money, great suspension, breaks, gears etc, would highly recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike 17"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Spec and Value,
May 23, 2009
By f1jb
from Dublin Ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great spec and price on this bike, I was looking for a bike with 2 disc breaks and this was by far the best value for money by far. I built the bike myself and it was easy.
My son loved it, bad thing is someone else did too and it was stolen this week from his school, but I had it well locked and it was insured and I will be buying the exact same bike for him when the insurance pays out."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike 17"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good purchase,
May 01, 2009
By Bawhead
from West Lothian, Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great specification, great value
Cons: slightly heavy, breaks needed a bit of adjustment
"I'd been swithering for ages about buying a mountain bike having just had a road bike for several years. The price (just over £200) and the good spec (front/rear disk brakes, shimano gears, aluminium frame) persuaded me to go for this bike. I've had it for a couple of weeks now and I've been really impressed with it. A good ride, the suspension works well and brakes (after a few minor adjustments) work very well. Not the lightest bike you'll ride, (although maybe I'm still too used to my road bike) despite the aluminium frame but gearing still makes it easy to get up steep, obsticle strewn tracks. I'd definately recommend this bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good for the Money.,
December 31, 2008
By Matthewt1501
from Swindon, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light, cheap, well made frame, agile, entry level spec loadout, adjustable front shocks, precise shifting
Cons: awful brakes, aheadset is just as bad, brake componants are cheap, no replacement for disc pads
"Well I'd be annoyed if I'd paid the full 300 for it.
But I got it in the sale, and really wasn't holding out for much as I just wanted a commuter bike.
BUT... Having done 3 weeks of 60 miles a week. Also having it complelty covered in mud from the Country park trails, It gets an off road bashing pretty much everyday (it's on my to work, so why not!!??!!). It's holding up very well. It's cleaned weekly and re-greased and oiled where applicable, and the it's spot on. Pay no attention to the Gripshift complaints... why by a gripshift if you want rapid fire?
They are SRAM Shifters, and little cheap feeling but very presise and on the button. They are no Shimano XTR's I'll give you that, but you just have to look ahead a bit more on the trail to get the right gear.
However there are a couple of issues. The disc brakes and woefull!
Also you try getting pads for "Zoom Disc Brakes". So as soon as I have some spare money hydralics are going on there!
The Aheadset and stem are also woeful. So new ones on order...
All in all though a good bike for the money if it's looked after.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike 17"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not a trail bike!,
December 22, 2008
By jamesthepirate
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"This bike appears to be a very good buy on the surface. Alluminium, disc brakes, 21 gears. To be honest that is where it ends. The disc brakes are incredibly hard to stop rubbing and the gripshifts are just annoying for quick shifting. I tried it and didnt like it. I exchanged it, spent the extra £20 and got a carrera vulcan v spec. Now that is a good bike. Only got v brakes but they are much more responsive than the discs on this bike. I would recommend that if you are thinking of buying this bike you should do the same. You wont regret the extra £20."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
apollo xc 26se 17",
June 24, 2008
By charles
from Watford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"the Apollo xc 26 se17" is a very good bike. it is great for riding downhill as well as paths and fields. It is a good bike bike for teenagers like myself and is better than the full sus bike as that is too heavy to be fast and light enough to climb steep hills."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
About Me: I'm a cycling enthusiast and like top quality products and brands
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens Mountain Bike 17"
Based on 1 ratings-only review
RatingOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5