Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Apollo XC.26 SE Mens 20" Mountain Bike

The Apollo XC.26 SE men's Mountain Bike is a rugged bike with a lightweight 7005 Series Aluminium bike frame.
Average Customer Rating:
4.433 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
27 of 30(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens 20" Mountain Bike
Review 21 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens 20" Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo XC.26 SE Mens 20" Mountain Bike,
May 27, 2009
By Colin1234
from Wiltshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had previously used a touring bike for family outings but was plagued by punctures and poor gear ratios when riding off road. This new bike appears to meet all my needs exactly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens 20" Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo XC.26 SE Mens 20" Mountain Bike,
May 26, 2009
By Bzza
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"fantastic bike...worth every penny well made had it for a few months now had no proplems at all apart from getting two punchers on the inside of the inner tube( the rim side up )"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens 20" Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent bike for the money.,
May 26, 2009
By P4DDY
from MK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I paid £187 for mine, everything is good with the exception of the grip shift gears they often fall out, comfortable ride, good forks, and a fairly light frame."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens 20" Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
May 24, 2009
By allyis
from INVERNESS
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good on all terain
Cons: i live on the 4th floor
"Got this bike six weeks ago and it is just going in for its free service (not that it needs one). Great all round bike/value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens 20" Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
May 24, 2009
By mikev92
from Southampton, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent brakes, excellent handling
Cons: slightly squeaky front wheel due to disc brake
"I bought this bike back in March and, compared to my old bike, it is absolutely brilliant. I cycle every weekday to college and I have been able to nearly half the time it takes me to get from home to college since buying the bike.
The brakes are fantastic but they require so little grip that you need to be careful when using them or you could grip them too hard (even if it doesn't feel like too hard) and just fly straight off the bike.
The gears themselves are also decent but there can be difficulties in changing them as these are quite sensitive like the brakes. I frequently move up/down one gear to find that the bike has decided to shift two gears despite the fact that I have definitely only moved up/down one gear."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens 20" Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
brakes need work,
May 10, 2009
By alex1994
from castle bromwich, england
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: fast and good off road
Cons: i go back every week because of the disk breaks
"the overall of roading experience is great but the disk breaks let it doun i would not recomend it unless youve got serius cash for mods"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens 20" Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
do not buy,
May 09, 2009
By juke
from North London
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: good brakes
Cons: unreliable
"this is quite a cheap bike,but thats the problem with Apollo bikes, people buy them because their cheap and then all they've got is a flimsy bike that has trouble going off a pavement curb let alone a MTB trail. it also makes a lot of noise when changing gear and going over bumps. the one good thing i can say about the bike is that it has very sharp brakes. please do not make the mistake of buying this bike like i did, if your looking for a MTB that is affordable have a look at a Carrera."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens 20" Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good bike for a good price,
April 12, 2009
By Anonymous
from High Peak, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything works, durable
Cons: brakes needed a bit of adjustment
"Overall this bike is great, good for moving up from a smaller bike. Its very lightweight and alright for speed, although the gears a little bit too low for real speed (great for hill climbing, which is useful living in the high peak). I needed to adjust the brakes after purchase because the pads rubbed against the discs even though i wasnt braking, increasing friction and resistance, but it didnt take long to sort it out. Great buy, i would recommend it to others definately."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens 20" Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Strange,
February 01, 2009
By LukeChrissy
from wales
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: sturdy frame work
Cons: rubbish tecnicalitys
"Whilst having this bike i have noticed something very strange about the bike.
As soon as i bought the bike, i started by doing ALOT of road riding, and the bike did NOT hold up very well. I had endless problems with the crank arms, crunching noises and bearings. also i had my fair share of problems with the rear wheel spindle, the nuts would not stay tight on there, and the wheel kept comming loose during riding.
Also the rear gear mech, i had endless problems with that which involved the gears constantly slipping no matter how i adjusted them. But, after i had got the bike to a decent working state, i started to do alot of mountain tracks, the bike help up superbly for this, as a mountain ride, this bike is great, but is a bit let down as soon as it is on the road
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Apollo XC.26 SE Mens 20" Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worth it,
October 16, 2008
By Noloafing
from Norwich England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: disc breaks, front suspension
Cons: breaks needed some work done to get the right
"After getting this bike made my trips much faster than my old bike. The Suspension has improved the ride confute of the down hill section of the trip drastically. And the Disc breaks work a treat"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
<<prev12