Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1

Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb up to 90% brighter than a standard headlight bulb
Average Customer Rating:
4.192 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
6
44 of 52(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Review 1 for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
extreme rubbish,
January 14, 2014
By stevokenevo1
from fIFE
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"bought these bulbs in the hope of getting a brighter light and to see a bit further down the road for the winter. so disappointed, dipped beam is brighter than main beam, my original bulbs where better and have already changed them back! taking bulbs back for a refund."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice and Bright,
December 29, 2013
By JukeOwner
from Telford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I opted for this bulb after reading a few of the reviews and I'm not disappointed that I did as it is a great improvement on the ones that it replaced. It really has made a difference to driving in the dark and I feel so much safer now as I can see further ahead of me when driving."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointing,
May 06, 2013
By Orrock
from Scotland
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought four of these bulbs due to all the positive reasons given in the text above, brightness, safety etc, and I didn't mind spending the extra for piece of mind.
I bought the bulbs in January 2013, and have just had to use my fourth bulb; they have only lasted a matter of weeks. My headlamps have been checked and they are not faulty.
Very disappointing. Given all the good reviews, maybe I just got a bad batch."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? KIRKCALDY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bulbs,
March 26, 2013
By 4182percy
from Northants.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great bulbs, bought to replace the standard ones on my car as I found night diving hard work, these have only been on the car for a couple of weeks, and have already proved to be a blessing showing a far better light than I had before."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DAVENTRY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality H4 headlight bulb,
January 25, 2013
By JohnKC2
from Rossendale
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Nice and bright, giving good coverage on the road. The basic headlight design on my car isn't brilliant, but the use of bulbs like these, makes an instantly visible difference."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A little brighter,
January 07, 2013
By FinallyGotAUniqueNickName
from Edinburgh
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: definitely brighter., take advantage of the 2-for-1 offer.
Cons: £7 is a bit pricey for fitting a bulb.
"These bulbs are definitely brighter than standard bulbs, although "up to 90% brighter" might be stretching it a bit. No complaints from oncoming drivers."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bulb,
December 14, 2012
By pteanderson
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought these bulbs for my 14 year old van and I have always struggled with it being old but these bulbs are great they really light the roads will definitely be buying them again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Bright white light,
December 05, 2012
By Limits
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: bright white light
"These are bright, increased beam distance, so much better than my old set. White light, slight blue edge, Xenon gas technology, who can really say if its 90% or 50% e.c.t.. The point is I notice the difference on roads that are well lit
and then when you get off the main roads its as good as my mainbeam used to be for visability on un-lit roads. I've only had them fitted a week so this is first impression but to be honest I'm so happy with the difference I would replace them every 6 months if needed. I almost wished I had tried the Super Brilliance with upto 120% more light, maybe i will next time. I had them fitted also which was a good idea as it isn't as simple as I would have expected, the coolant bottle had to be taken off its mount and moved to allow access! Didn't expect that, done in a little under 15 minutes. Overall they are the upgrade I had hoped for and the make the difference i needed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worthwhile improvement over standard H4 bulbs,
November 20, 2012
By Pilotjet
from Edinburgh
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Not sure about the claim to be 90% brighter, but these are a useful upgrade over normal H4 halogen bulbs.
Have only used them for a few weeks, so early days to comment on the lifespan, but I'm not expecting them to last as long as normal bulbs if they burn brighter.
Worth the money as a two-for-one deal, a bit dear otherwise."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SUPERB,
November 11, 2012
By Santaferay
from Nottinghamshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: these wont disappoint
Cons: none
"Could'nt wait to test these headlight bulbs on my 4x4 as my other ones were so dim they were dangerous as i could'nt see where i was going.OH BOY i was'nt disappointed with these, they lit the road up superbly now makes night driving more pleasurable.The 2 for 1 offer was a bonus.."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value,
January 12, 2012
By aapp
from West Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brighter crisper light
Car Make VW Polo
"Excellent product, buy 1 get 1 free good value for money, (don't know if I would have bought them if not). Fitted them to the latest model VW Polo, easier to remove headlamps to fit bulbs. Probably worth being fitted by Halfords for the price they charge."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good upgrade over standard bulbs,
December 19, 2011
By Anonymous
from Stirling
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make Suzuki Swift
"Much brighter than the standard bulbs that came with my car...light output remains visible with oncoming traffic and it gives a nice bright usable beam pattern."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best purchase ever,
November 07, 2011
By jollygreengiant
from port talbot. south wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make toyota yaris
"just reserved items on-line went to the store and had the items installed straight away no fuss or bother
great purchases always recommend this company.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointing,
October 23, 2011
By vegman
from Ashford
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: brighter than standard bulbs, cheap when on a buy one get one free
Cons: both bulbs didn't last longer than 5 mths
Car Make peugeot
"brighter than standard bulb. didn't last long in normal use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super bright headlight bulbs,
March 30, 2011
By wiseolddriver
from East Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money and great performance
"These bulbs were an excellent pruchase, a bargain at two for one.Really make a difference to light output from headlights- especially on dip beam, can see about twice a much a standard bulbs."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Extreme Brilliance Single Bulb,
March 11, 2011
By goingtobethestig
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great bulbs and make night driving alot easier. Good value with the bogof offer other wise a bit on the pricey side.
Next time a bulb goes in the second car in the house I will be replacing them with these
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords Extreme Brilliance Single Bulb,
February 06, 2011
By decodave1
from Bristol
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: cost
"You can really notice the difference, even during dawn and dusk"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Extreme Brilliance Single Bulb,
February 04, 2011
By AllanF
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Compared to many similar bulbs on the market this represents good value both in price and performance."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
top draw,
February 04, 2011
By huffalump
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"got these thinking it wasnt going to be as good as stated but really impressed with purchase"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Extreme Brilliance (HBU472EB) H4 Car Bulb x 1
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only make sense as BOGOF,
February 03, 2011
By Talbot928
from Glasgow, Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: bogof
Cons: only makes sense as bogof
"Do make quite a difference, nice bright and white with a blueish tint. Beam pattern seems more clearly defined, Only make sense with the 'buy one get one free offer' similiar bulb sets available elsewhere at the same / cheaper price. Overall quite happy!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>