Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit

Remove dirt and grime from your vehicle with ease using the Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.674 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
41 of 43(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Review 1 for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent. very impressed,
August 31, 2011
By seany76
from west midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: does what it says it will, everything needed is included in the box
Cons: none
Car Make renault
"excellent, car came up as smooth as glass and it was very rough before i clayed, felt like it was covered in overspray. very impressed with it caused no marring or scratching. excellent product from meguiars, i now have the cleanest car in the street."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stuff really works,
May 03, 2014
By Buddyb
from Derby
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, works brilliant, value for money, saves time
"I cannot believe I've never bought this before.being a car lover and owning two classics,I've spent hours over the years trying to remove built up grime with T Cut or Polish which cleans the paint but doesn't remove the dirt that's embedded giving it a rough feeling.
Well today I thought I'd pop to Halfords and get this kit!
All I can say is it's amazing,I washed the car and it had a very rough feel,I used the clay as per instructions and it leaves the surface as smooth as glass,so then a quick polish and done!
May be expensive but you only use a small amount and when you see what it removes you won't believe it!
It takes quite a lot to shock me after cleaning cars all these years but this is the one.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ILKESTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is excellent,
February 08, 2014
By headlesssteve
from Scunthorpe
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the results achieved, the fact i only used half
Cons: that it took me so long to try it
"If like me you are somewhat obsessive about keeping your car clean,and then you stupidly went out and bought a white car this is the product for you.After 8 months of ownership my gleaming white car was covered in little black tar spots and small rusty spots.After some research i decided clay bars were the way forward.I chose the Meguairs kit over others available as it came with more clay than others available and i didnt know how much i would need.All i can say is i did a full car with only half of what was in the box.In all it took about two hours and the difference was astonishing.All the marks have gone and the paintwork is as smooth as glass.After a good polish the car now looks better than it ever has.I thoroughly recommend this product, and if like me you have a white car its a must!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SCUNTHORPE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent kit, useful second clay bar...,
June 06, 2013
By IainAReviews
from Cardiff
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good quality!, second clay bar is a good idea!
"First time claying my car and found good reviews of this kit. Thought it was a little pricey but wanted good results!
Grateful there was a second clay bar as after only doing 1 panel I dropped the clay rendering it useless!
Tip: Split the clay bar in two and keep the second half in the box until you need it! The second bar did the rest of my Mazda 3 without a problem.
Great product, will be buying more clay bars and probably more detailer (easily lasts the claying and I think I was quite liberal with the spray!)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CARDIFF (GABALFA)
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product!,
May 05, 2013
By Fultanio
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bit of hard work to use but we'll worth it. Finish on car is brilliant after using this. Would strongly recommend!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smooooth,
April 20, 2013
By shug155
from fife
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"left the bodywork so smooth,made putting ultimate compound on a breeze,left a swirl free finish.
Very good products
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? KIRKCALDY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product, fantastic results.,
April 07, 2013
By Baz2435
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very easy to use
Cons: halfords don't stock quick detailer on it's own.
"Excellent. If you want your car to have a finish that is as smooth as glass get this product.
Once done the car looks fantastic and is actually easier to clean once it's been done.
The Quick Detailer that comes in the package is great to use on your car after washing even when not claying.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TOP NOTCH PRODUCT,
March 03, 2013
By sunshineboy
from Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Used to prep my car before diamondbrite application, The instructions were perfectly clear and it was really aesy to use and gave a perfect surface before applying diamondbrite, would also be perfect prep before waxing
TOP NOTCH PRODUCT"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRIGHTON
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant results on what i thought was a clean car,
February 16, 2013
By markymark79
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: silky smooth bodywork
"i bought this product and was worried about using on my 6month old black q7, last thing i wanted as more scratches in my paint work. its has brought so much dirty out my paint work i was amazed as i keep my car generally clean. It took 4 hrs to clean whole car and there was enough clay to do a large 4x4. Polished car straight after and waxed and the results are brilliant."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smooth Surface Clay Kit,
October 19, 2012
By PW1968
from IN the Middle
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use.
"My first try with Clay Bars, easier and faster that expected, left a great finish."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pleasantly surprised.,
July 15, 2012
By Kevc84
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: effective
Car Make Ford
"I recently took my car to have a scuff painted, on picking the car up I noticed some lumps. I was assured this was glue from the masking tape, after washing my car and taking a closer look it became obvious that this was excess primer. I did a search on the net and saw a few people suggest a clay bar, sceptically I went out and bought this kit. To my amazement after following the instructions the primer was removed along with a few other troublesome spots. Overall I think this a brilliant product and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wow how good is this,
April 04, 2012
By wangie
from MANCHESTER
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Car Make RENAULT
"My 1year old white car looked clean but had gone rough down the sides.Was told to try a clay bar,never used one before looked at Halfords web site,PICKED OUT MEGUIARS, IT'S a bit strange when you try it for the first time,wondered how it worked. BUT WOW what a job it does on the rough side of the car,the muck it brought off the car which I thought was clean would never of dreamed a piece of clay would do this."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exactly what my boyfriend wanted.,
February 06, 2012
By Abi011
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality product
Cons: time to apply
"I got this for my car mad boyfriend as a birthday present. He heard a lot of good things about it on several car forums (he has a BMW Mini) and the car looked great after use. It does take a while to get the whole car done but it was worth it. Overall great product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
quality,
January 16, 2012
By elvis77
from essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make jaguar x-type
"smooth surface clay kit provides the best performance without having swirls"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
buy it now,
December 28, 2011
By discopooh
from Nottingham UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great end finish
Cons: alittle expensive but worth it
Car Make Audi TT
"Great kit,used half a bar of clay to completly finish my car. Claying your car is hard work but the results with this kit are great.The added bonus of the polish has converted me from being a Autoglym addict to Meguires. The finished paintwork was silky smooth and very shiny."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic, well worth buying,
September 15, 2011
By Barty75
from Derby
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent quality, easy to use, simple instructions
Cons: doesn't go as far as you would like, can leave marks if you do not keep the car wet
Car Make BMW 7 Series
"This product is fantastic. Before using this the paint work on my BMW was very rough, almost like sand paper. Having bought this car second hand I can only imagine it has not been cared for and therefore collected plenty of dirt in the paint work.
After using this the paint work was show-room quality and smooth, just how it should be. Although I will have to purchase another box of this as it does not quite cover the whole car (BMW 7), it is certainly worth buying if you love your car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
you wont be dissapointed,
April 17, 2011
By monkeyboy36
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great product makes paint smooth as glass.ideal prep before polish and waxing."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality at Comparible price,
April 12, 2011
By SC44
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A good and comprehensive kiti do feel it could be cheaper and not include the wax though, generally you have a preffered wax, so don't see the need for this one, I would however say the meguiars cleaning chems are great quality and often better value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beware !,
March 25, 2011
By PhissedOffCustomer
from Belfast
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Maybe its the way that I was doing it but I only done my bonnet and it left a horrible scum mark on it which polish would not even remove !"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
-12points
3out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product, really improves the cars look,
July 20, 2010
By Madmossy
from Torquay, Devon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Purchased this item with the intent on giving my car a really good thorough clean, took me roughly 3 hours to clay the entire vehicle (bmw 330 ci) and wow does it really make a difference, the paint work feels smooth as glass and the colour really stands out.
Its shocking just how much rubbish builds up on the car over time, specially tree sap which came off with little effort"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>