Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c

For training, Continental Ultra Gator Bike Tyre is ideal with high durability and fast rolling.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
22
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
2
94 of 97(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Review 1 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
what a difference a tyre makes!,
May 10, 2014
By CorkSpurs
from Cork
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: look, puncture protection
"I have just replaced the standard tyres on the Carrera Virtuoso that I have had for the last 8 weeks. Where the old tyres had numerous issues the Continental Ultra Gator skins have given better traction, allowed faster times and really do what the numerous reviews say.
Definitely a tyre that is worth purchasing and I now can ride through rural roads with mud, cow muck and gravel with far more confidence."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Tyre,
May 05, 2014
By Geoff994
from Runcorn
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: grip price easy fit
Cons: nothing
"I purchased these tyres a short while ago and have already racked up several hundred miles. I have them on my Carrera TDF, as the OEM tyres were a little flimsy.
The Gator Skins are a quality tyre. They hold the road well in both wet and dry conditions. They absorb bumps and potholes well and so far have not punctured. They inspire confidence when cornering and do not go out of shape when cranked over at speed.
In short they are well worth the money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WIDNES
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miles of trouble free riding,
December 28, 2013
By 90BHP
from Hinckley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Faultless tyres from a quality brand. I have used these tyres for winter training on my hack for many many hundreds of miles as well as using the same pair on a solo Lands End to John O'Goats ride this summer covering 1100 miles on that journey alone. I have had one puncture in all that time. The rear tyre is now slightly squared having been loaded with panniers, I am not at all surprised and can only marvel at the all round resilience and wear given by these tyres. They are so good I now have them on all but my race bike.
Worth every penny, but they last so long you can hold out for an offer !!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HINCKLEY
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light strong great grip in the wet,
December 24, 2013
By Mikehan
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This tyre is light, strong and has a great all round grip in the wet."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ASHTON UNDER LYNE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Slick & Quick,
December 16, 2013
By Anonymous
from Northern Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everthing, extremly sure- footed, very durable, exceptional value
Cons: no cons
"These tires were a wonderful revelation and sort of put all those fancy and trick looking road tires into the shade. I live in a rural area were every corner you approach seems to have a scattering of gravel, I don't know how, but these tires don't slip on gravel, they seem to sweep it aside! My regular route includes passing a few dairy farms, were the roads are awash with wet, slippery cow dung. In the rain this route can be hellish, but the Gators just cut through, and grip the road surface with comforting precision. I have used tires costing three times as much, and now know I wasted my money. I am planning a tour from Malin Head County Donegal to Brow Head , County Cork, these brilliant tires will take me there!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? NEWTOWNABBEY
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tyre,
December 15, 2013
By PhilSton
from Iden, East Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good all round tyre
"Good all round tyre that is virtually puncture proof"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best value road tyre,
December 12, 2013
By ramblingman3008
from Hampshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is an excellent tyre and rolls well. With Halfords' extra 10% this undercut every other site. Bargain."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHRISTCHURCH
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome tyres,
December 10, 2013
By KwakKnight
from wigan
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good all round grip
Cons: really tight fit
"I bought these tyres for my TDF to replace the ones made of egg yokes and bog roll that came on it as standard.
So far I can't fault them. No punctures and great grip in the wet. Fast rolling, shaved 5 mins off my morning commute.
Plus by ordering online and collecting I got the pair for almost the same price as one tyre in store. Bargin!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
two years still no punctures,
December 05, 2013
By dave162
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have fitted these to both my road bikes which I use everyday and so far no punctures. Better wet grip than continental sport which came with my bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ultra Gatorskin,
December 04, 2013
By 1Crocodile
from Suffolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: the colour of side wall
"Used them for a few years now get a good 3000 miles from a front and 200 miles from a rear. they are tough but not totally puncture proof. A puncture normally means the tyre is getting too old. Obviously I like them & would recommend them on price & durability."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (SUFFOLK RTL PK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliable product,
December 03, 2013
By J1234
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A friend recommended this particular tyre as I commute daily on my bike and kept on getting punctures. It is good quality and has worked for me so far!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Slick,
December 01, 2013
By Gouch
from Hull
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good quality look great very fast and roll well, see how they last"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amazing puncture protection,
November 27, 2013
By Cearon
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: puncture protection, value for money, easy to fit
"I used to get punctures almost every week if not more.
I rode over 3000 miles on a pair of these with a handful of punctures between them. When i had to replace them due to wearing out there was no other choice but another set of these.
i have ridden across a variety of surfaces and conditions including a horrendously wet sportive around box hill, with no degradation in grip. These have literally saved me a fortune in inner tubes.
could not recommend highly enough
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHATHAM
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good product,
November 24, 2013
By Anonymous
from leeds
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"will recommend this tyre it's really good and fast on the road..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As tough as old boots!,
October 23, 2013
By roadblock
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: nearly as tough as chuck norris's face
Cons: couldn't find directional arrow
"I brought these to replace the ones that were made of tissue paper on my TDF. Their not the lightest tyres tyre in the world but that said I'm not the lightest person in the world and people in glass houses .....
I've ridden over glass, sharp stones, hit pot holes at speed and they have never let me down. I've even stopped to check them convinced I've got a puncture but nothing. BRILLIANT!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (ERDINGTON)
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tyre at a great price.,
October 23, 2013
By Roadbot
from West Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fast rolling tyres.
Cons: none
"Over the years i have been running stelvio tyres but that all changed when they stopped producing them so I had to make another choice.I was going to go with the schwalbe durano plus which replaced the stelvio until someone from the local cycle club suggested these tyres to me and i'm glad they did.Great grip,good rolling composition and great price,can see these lasting a fair while.Puncture resistance i'm not too sure about until I've put enough miles in but what people say about them they should be just fine.Would definitely recommend these tyres to anyone."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WAKEFIELD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gators are a pretty snappy tyre,
October 21, 2013
By Mickd62
from Preston
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fast, good puncture protection, good grip in the wet, wet give you plenty of confidence where it matters
Cons: tight fit but that's being picky
"Bought these after being told time and time again how good they are by my mates. I replaced my lugano's (dreadful tyre) that were 2 days old. Previously I rode on Michelin but these gators beat both by a country mile. As soon as you ride on them you'll wonder why you waited so long to buy them. Fast and pretty much bullet proof at a price, yes, but honestly they're worth every penny. Definite recommendation from me..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gator Skins as good as it gets for fixed gear riders,
October 21, 2013
By KraftedGears
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"As someone who has been through the market alternatives for most popular fixie tyres I have to say I think this is most defiantly the best one. They seem to last the longest out of any on the market. The only down side to the purchase was I got a puncture almost instantly, but I deem that more to be from my riding... Other than that nothing has been wrong and a month in they still seem fine, defiantly alot more time in them."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CATFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Highly reccommended,
October 17, 2013
By MattK24
from Bristol Cribbs
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality
"Kept having trouble with punctures with my old tyre but this one seems to be doing the job and holding out."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRIBBS CAUSEWAY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value,
October 14, 2013
By stuarnewt
from harrogate. n yorks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"use these on my winter bikes.great at keeping punctures at bay. good grip and durability in the wet in allterrains"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>