Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Bike Tyres or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c

For training, Continental Ultra Gator Bike Tyre is ideal with high durability and fast rolling.
Average Customer Rating:
4.61 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(141 Reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (141 reviews)
5 stars
99
4 stars
33
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
2
137 of 140(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Review 1 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Road Tyres,
August 23, 2015
By
from Edinburgh, Edinburgh, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great tyre that I've previously used and cycled over 4,000 miles without a puncture. A little harder to put on due to strengthened sidewalls but worth the effort. Wouldn't use Halfords click & collect again however. While online price is cheaper than in store I'm pretty sure they just took the tyre off the shelf when I called to collect and they also gave me a tyre without any labels on so it wasn't until I got home I realised they'd given me a 650 instead of a 700. That's never happened when I've used a local bike store so while I'd recommend the tyre I'd also recommend that you buy it from a proper bike store and not Halford. Return trip to the store wiped out any online saving. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (HERMISTON GATE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tyres,
August 21, 2015
By
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Second pair of tyres first did well over 500 Mls no punture touch wood lol "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great compromise,
August 17, 2015
By
from Shropshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have been using these for years and the compromise of VFM, puncture resistance and grip is just right. Usually get about 2,000 miles from a set. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? OSWESTRY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Puncture Proof,
July 02, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Although the Gator Skin is more durable against direct punctures. I had a incident where I ran over an object, it turned and went straight through the side wall of the tire. Leaving a hole about 10mm, Efectively distroying the tyre.
I would still recomend these tyres for comuting.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DARTFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Click-n-collect-a-joke,
July 01, 2015
By
from Internet
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good tyres
Cons: halfords click-n-collcect
" The tyres are great. Just what I wanted.
The amusing thing is Halfords click-n-collect. They are still operating in a pre-war 20th century mode. When I arrived at the store I explained myself. I was told "we don't really have click-n-collect. please see if you can find the items yourself and bring them to the checkout." "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tyres,
June 28, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: puncture resistance, quality
" simply the best tyres I have ever fitted to a road bike. I cycle all year round in all weathers and find their puncture resistance fantastic. The front covered 14000 miles and was replaced as it was cracking, the rears covered 8000 and square off. I cover 6-7000 miles a year and get between 6 and 8 punctures per annum.Not bad especially on gritty winter roads.
Beading can make it hard to fit but it I changed the wheels a while ago and can more or less put the tyre on without levers.
Bike is a carrera virtuoso with almost 15000 miles on it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre,
June 24, 2015
By
from Scunthorpe
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: professional staff quality product.
" Just had a pair of these fitted at my local Halfords in Scunthorpe, a big thankyou to Colin and Harry for the excellent service provided .
The tyres seem super smooth and a little faster on the road, I would definitely recommend this product.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SCUNTHORPE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent tyre,
June 23, 2015
By
from Bedfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: no punctures so far
" Got me from London to Brighton with no punctures :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BIGGLESWADE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliable,
June 11, 2015
By
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought these tyres because of persistent punctures, was a bit apprehensive as I thought they might be slow rolling. I have done 700 miles no punctures and I haven't noticed any difference in rolling resistance. They are a little tricky to get on bought a special tool to assist this in case I do get a puncture when out "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gator skin bike tires,
June 10, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Really steady
You don't feel every bump and crack beneath you when you are riding your bike. I also found that the ride is a lot speedier with these tyres.
Definitely a great buy
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cracking tyre,
June 02, 2015
By
from West Yorks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good puncture protection, low rolling resistance
Cons: expensive when not on special offer
" I've been riding on a pair of these for the last 12 months and they have covered over 10,000 Kms.
When they eventually wore out & I needed another pair it wasn't a difficult choice to make to buy another pair.
They might not be completely bullet proof but they have held they're own on the pot hole riddled roads of Yorkshire.
Order on line & collect in store or buy when they are on a 3 for 2 offer to get the lowest price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? DEWSBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality tyre,
April 29, 2015
By
from Dublin, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very good tyre and I got on special price 20% discount. Ilike online discounts. Looking deal in future.
Thanks for halford team
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? BLANCHARDSTOWN (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant value for money,
March 16, 2015
By
from Norfolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" These tyres are exactly as described but you may need a little help the first time you fit them which Halfords provided at no extra charge "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great winter tyre,
March 02, 2015
By
from Redditch, Worcestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great tyre for winter training. Low rolling resistance and no punctures. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money,
March 01, 2015
By
from Lincoln, Lincoln, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" A durable tyre that you would expect for a top brand like Continental with good value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic quality and price!,
February 27, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: protection against punctures
Cons: nothing
" These tyres were initially not my choice as they were too expensive but they are worth every penny I paid!! Don't think just do!
Same as the gatorskin pros (no differences) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gator skins,
February 25, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Brought these tyres last month and the are a fantastic set of tyres they are everything you want for a road bike tyre fast rolling and great puncture pertection fantastic tyres will gladly recommend these to anybody who want a good all round tyre wil be buying again wen these were out Dan "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tyres and a great price.,
February 25, 2015
By
from Cardiff
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great tyres and no more punctures to date. Reasonably priced too. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? CARDIFF (PENARTH RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unbreakable!,
February 21, 2015
By
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great tyre for winter riding. Not too heavy and well worth not getting a puncture. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality tyre,
December 29, 2014
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" So far so good. Having been picking up punctures this winter I decided to switch to the Gator Skins.
No punctures yet & good service at Halfords,fitted for me while i waited.
Could have got them slightly cheaper if ordered online but would have to wait for delivery. So ordered & collected the same day at Halfords
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>