Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c

For training, Continental Ultra Gator Bike Tyre is ideal with high durability and fast rolling.
Average Customer Rating:
4.621 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(153 Reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (153 reviews)
5 stars
109
4 stars
34
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
2
147 of 150(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Review 1 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only general use tyre for me!!,
March 29, 2016
By
from Inverness, Highland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Anyone who uses them know they are a great tyre and that's why I am continuing to use them on my winter/touring bike "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bomb proof tyres - well almost!,
March 29, 2016
By
from Dartford, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Been using these tyres for a couple of years now - they're long lasting and pretty resistant to punchers especially st this time of year. They tend to last around a year but that depends on the amount of riding you do. Make sure you check the tyre every week or so to make sure there are no smal stones or glass fragments stuck in it.
The only downside is the difficulty in putting them into the rims in the first place, but a little time and patience will get you there and you won't be disappointed.
"
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? DARTFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality you'd expect,
March 06, 2016
By
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great value for money with the discount applied to this quality product. Lovely smooth rolling action when out on the road. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MARCH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tyre,
February 28, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: hardwearing
" Good grip and no punctures so far. Would recommend! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality rubber,
February 09, 2016
By
from Sunderland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Used these tyres last season and swear by them. No punctures, holds corners in the wet. Quality tyre at a reasonable price. Highly recommend. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SUNDERLAND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great commuting tyre,
January 29, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very few punctures
" Great tyre, but don't last as long as I expected for commuting, but very few punctures though.
Commute about 100 miles a week plus training miles on top. My rear tyre lasted 6 months .
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Tyres on the Market,
January 28, 2016
By
from Lancaster, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" great grip on the slick tyre in both wet and dry conditions I never personally change the way I ride from wet to dry I still throw my bike round corners on my way to work in the wet and the bike tyre grips nicely.
would recommend these tyres to anyone who is wanting to purchase a new road bike, had a set of tyres on the road bike and they lasted a few days and didn't feel to good on the bike I bought, so decided to read a review on the gatorskins and didn't look back from there
no punctures or cuts and still have plenty of tread and grip left to my disposal cant wait to head back on the road with these tomorrow to cycle down to the gym.
if your sick of getting flats on rides out then go to Halfords buy the tyres online to save a few quid and get them on best tyres ive ever had on a bike "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? LANCASTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, so good,
January 19, 2016
By
from Swansea, Swansea, Swansea, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price and comfort
Cons: hard to fit
" Bought a pair of these tyres as I'd recently experienced 2 rear punctures on the same ride. These tyres were hard to install on the bike but have ridden well over the few recent rides I've used them on. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LLANELLI
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good winter tyre,
January 15, 2016
By
from Buckinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" A good winter tyre. Have used it a few tyres already & I'm very pleased. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike tyre,
January 12, 2016
By
from Milngavie, Glasgow, East Dunbartonshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Tyre as described, looks good quality and appears hard wearing. It took a little time to get tyres fitted over rim, but I think that this was due to the quality of the tyre.
I bought these tyres due to recommendation from other cyclists who use them.
Only cycled about 60 miles so far. I think the tyres are good value for money and at the time halfords were best price.
Used click and collect, and tyres were ready for me when I arrived at store
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BISHOPBRIGGS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best tyres I've ever had,
January 11, 2016
By
from Leicester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good grip, increased speed
" The best tyre i have ever fitted. my bike is a smoother quicker ride. with increased grip. good value as i got them in the sale.
Good online service from halfords with quick click and collect.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tyre,
January 09, 2016
By
from Dublin, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: strength, grip, durability, light weight
Cons: tiny bit pricey if not on special offer
" Great value, great tyre. These go up to 120 psi no bother, they are easy to fit, very grippy and tough as nails hitting bumps and kerbs. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CARRICKMINES (ROI)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Click & Collect Gator Skin Tyres,
January 05, 2016
By
from Widnes
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: product and price
Cons: click & collect service
" I purchased the cycle tyres on Halford's Click & Collect Scheme. Although I was contacted by phone and text message to say my order was ready for collection when I arrived at the store it was clear that it wasn't ready and the tyres were still on display on the shop floor. In fact the assistant had difficulty finding the size of tyres I requested and tried to palm me off with different size tyres.
There does not seem to be much point in offering Click & Collect if there is a chance that the product will not be available when you turn up at the shop. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WIDNES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good Customer Service,
October 14, 2015
By
from Suffolk, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: customer service
" I haven't used the tyre yet, as I bought it as a spare, but I was really impressed with the advice and experience offered by the sales assistant - also a keen cyclist. (This was in the Boston store).
NB. My product rating is not accurate - it is a mandatory field so I have to put something.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? BOSTON
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great commuting tyre,
October 09, 2015
By
from Paisley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: puncture resistance
Cons: a bit weighty
" Only use these on my commuting bike. Have had one puncture in 5 years using these. Still fast rolling and give sufficient grip "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PAISLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gatorskin tyres,
October 06, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great milage, great puncture resistance, great commuter and sportive
" Best tyre ever .
Best for milage and puncture resistance.
Best commuting tyre I have used
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Road Tyres,
August 23, 2015
By
from Edinburgh, Edinburgh, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great tyre that I've previously used and cycled over 4,000 miles without a puncture. A little harder to put on due to strengthened sidewalls but worth the effort. Wouldn't use Halfords click & collect again however. While online price is cheaper than in store I'm pretty sure they just took the tyre off the shelf when I called to collect and they also gave me a tyre without any labels on so it wasn't until I got home I realised they'd given me a 650 instead of a 700. That's never happened when I've used a local bike store so while I'd recommend the tyre I'd also recommend that you buy it from a proper bike store and not Halford. Return trip to the store wiped out any online saving. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (HERMISTON GATE)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tyres,
August 21, 2015
By
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Second pair of tyres first did well over 500 Mls no punture touch wood lol "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great compromise,
August 17, 2015
By
from Shropshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have been using these for years and the compromise of VFM, puncture resistance and grip is just right. Usually get about 2,000 miles from a set. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? OSWESTRY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Puncture Proof,
July 02, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Although the Gator Skin is more durable against direct punctures. I had a incident where I ran over an object, it turned and went straight through the side wall of the tire. Leaving a hole about 10mm, Efectively distroying the tyre.
I would still recomend these tyres for comuting.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DARTFORD
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>