Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Tyres or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c

For training, Continental Ultra Gator Bike Tyre is ideal with high durability and fast rolling.
Average Customer Rating:
4.595 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (116 reviews)
5 stars
81
4 stars
27
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
2
112 of 115(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Review 1 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
October 01, 2014
By 1Brad
from Brighton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My friend suggested these tyres and especially the fact they were on offer at the time too. As a novice their write up ticked all of my boxes of a tyre that I was looking for. Since my purchase I have spoken to my other friends who too also rate and I have noticed this same tyre on many bike. Just done a 74 mile road trip on them yesterday and had no problems whatsoever. They were really smooth and quiet. Go get yourself some. You will not be disappointed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BRIGHTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tyres!,
September 29, 2014
By Watchmeexplode
from Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought a pair of these for my winter/commuter bike - nice and tough and a little wider than what I would normally use for summer - exactly what I needed.
Halfords pricing was very competitive and came out tops!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? INVERURIE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cont;gator skins,
September 28, 2014
By S2Andy
from Loughborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: look smart & seem tough
Cons: quite tight to fit
"Bought on a Halfords deal to replace some puncture prone Lugano's. Seem tough and look smart. No punctures yet."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great service,
September 26, 2014
By Acker8
from Christchurch, Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Got them for my son's road bike, fed up with repairing punctures. So far they've been excellent. ordered on line, picked up on my way home from work and my son even fitted them himself! Been out for a few training rides with him and will get some myself when the cutrrent tyres wear out."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHRISTCHURCH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So Far So Good,
September 22, 2014
By Cicc
from Nottinghamshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good looks, grippy
"I've not done a massive amount of mileage on these tyres but I've had no issues with them so far. As far as the grip level is concerned they have done everything that has been asked of them in the dry and in the small amount of wet weather cycling I have done. They give a reassuring grippy squidgy sound when you are manouvering the bike around and they look great. No punctures so far (hoping not to tempt fate!)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommend the continental gatorskins to anyone and Halfords competitive price!!,
September 19, 2014
By Naithon89
from Havant, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent tyre
"Excellent tyre, good grip and very rare to get a puncture, and if you don't do many miles they will last you a life time"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Snap up this Gator!,
September 16, 2014
By Boz13
from Hampshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The product description says it all. If you're looking for a good, reasonably priced training tyre this one comes highly recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ULTRA GATOR SKINS,
September 14, 2014
By Dommo50
from DORSET
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: puncture resistance, good rolling quality
Cons: paying to much for a brand name, grip in wet conditions
"A GOOD DURABLE TYRE. COMFORTABLE TO RIDE ON OVER MOST ROAD SURFACES, A LITTLE LESS GRIP IN WET CONDITIONS BUT OVERALL OK. NOT GREAT IN TERMS OF VALUE FOR MONEY WHEN COMPARED TO SWALBE LUGANO, WHICH HAS SIMILAR PERFORMANCE FOR HALF THE PRICE!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DORCHESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At this price nothing else compares,
September 07, 2014
By Knightynose
from Wales, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have just purchased a new bike and immediately replaced the standard factory fit tyres with these. I had them on my previous bike, simply no punctures, 1000's of miles of quality riding and plenty of grip!
You will not regret buying these tyres and at this price for 2 you may not find them cheaper.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gator skins,
September 04, 2014
By Seasider66
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Well I've only done about 40 miles since I bought these tyres. But it's a 100% improvement as I was getting a puncture nearly every time I went out with my previous tyres! So they are good value for me."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Buy,
September 02, 2014
By Hoggy73
from Motherwell
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great buy, gives confidence on bends and quick too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gatorskin tyres,
September 01, 2014
By DaveL47
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent performance. Great service. Got cheaper deal on line so will defo do that again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c,
August 29, 2014
By DAPR
from Barrowford, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, availability, service
"Fantastic service all round from Halfords. The single item price was 60% cheaper than the independent suplier and the multi item price was almost 75% cheaper. The in store assistant could not have been more knowledgeable on the product or more helpful, the goods were delivered to store ahead of the agreed time and the notification worked a dream. The friendliness of the staff on collection was great and I picked up another bargin whilst the tyres were brought to the till. Fantastic."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BURNLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product,
August 20, 2014
By Kalem
from Acton, London W3, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: delivery cost
"Reasonable price, easy order and pick up. Good customer experience."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PUTNEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tyre,
August 11, 2014
By Chaitanya
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have been using a road bike. After every 10 miles, it used to get punctured. I would end up buying a new tube to fix it. I was recommended to buy a Ultra Gator skin by one of the Halfords team.
Hurray!! it worked. I have replaced my old tyres with a ultra gator skin and have used the bike for 30 miles now and it is still intact. Hope to see it lasting longer. 30 miles is less to write a review but I am confident as the previous one used to cause a problem every 10 miles.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great all round tyre,
August 10, 2014
By Adg123
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Brought this tyre for all round cycling also brought because it good for turbo trainers for wet and winter days"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
one puncture 3500 miles,
July 29, 2014
By casualrider
from Northampton, Northampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Only one puncture in 3500 miles what more could you ask. Good grip on the slippy roads excellent around silverstone so much confidence with them."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (RIVERSIDE)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tyre if you can find a store which has them in stock.,
July 24, 2014
By Baxi
from Berkhamsted
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ride quality
"The Gatorskin is a great product and certainly worth getting at the price Halfords advertise. However, my nearest store didn't have any in stock so I had a round trip of 20 miles to pick up a pair from a Halfords much further away.
So impressed with the smooth ride and lack of punctures (so far!) I thought that I'd better get a pair for my wife's bike. However, the nearest three Halfords have not got any in stock so I need to look at another supplier.
Come on Halfords, a great tyre at a great price needs a great retailer to make them available to the public.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
what a difference a tyre makes!,
May 10, 2014
By CorkSpurs
from Cork
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: look, puncture protection
"I have just replaced the standard tyres on the Carrera Virtuoso that I have had for the last 8 weeks. Where the old tyres had numerous issues the Continental Ultra Gator skins have given better traction, allowed faster times and really do what the numerous reviews say.
Definitely a tyre that is worth purchasing and I now can ride through rural roads with mud, cow muck and gravel with far more confidence."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Continental Ultra Gator Skin Bike Tyre - 700c x 23c
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Tyre,
May 05, 2014
By Geoff994
from Runcorn
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: grip price easy fit
Cons: nothing
"I purchased these tyres a short while ago and have already racked up several hundred miles. I have them on my Carrera TDF, as the OEM tyres were a little flimsy.
The Gator Skins are a quality tyre. They hold the road well in both wet and dry conditions. They absorb bumps and potholes well and so far have not punctured. They inspire confidence when cornering and do not go out of shape when cranked over at speed.
In short they are well worth the money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WIDNES
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>