Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board

Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board displays your rear lights, reflectors and your number plate.
Average Customer Rating:
4.029 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
1
31 of 33(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Review 1 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not used in earnest yet but seems a good enough product,
May 24, 2014
By Pauley2
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light, sturdy enough, good value, much cheaper than the thule
"On the basis you get what you pay for this seems good value. Checked straight out of the box on the car socket and before drilling the number plate holes - all the bulbs worked fine - they look like standard automotive bulbs, so shouldn't be difficult to replace if needed - wattages should be written on the base of the bulb. If you want to make sure you miss the cables inside when drilling the holes, then remove the two end caps temporarily, initially drill hole through one side only and carefully look down inside from one end with a lamp shining through the hole - if a cable is likely to get hit then move it with a long screwdriver/BBQ skewer, then drill right through other side. Easy. Then replace end caps - some glue might be a good idea in case they pop off. You can loop a thin bungey cord through the holes to hang it. Number plate was another £18 in Halfords and they made it up in about 3 minutes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adequate,
May 20, 2014
By NickC
from Colchester
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: no instructions or information
"Had to fiddle with the bulbs on one side to get them to work. No fittings or instructions for fixing a number plate to it or what type of bulbs to buy if you wanted spares. Advised to by Halfords to drill some holes and use bolts for fixing the plate. No idea where to drill though as there is no indication as to where the wires run. Cable is a reasonable length."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Essential item for cycle carriers,
December 01, 2013
By Dasower
from Halifax West Yorks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have the Light Board fitted to carrier, took 2 mins to attach and connect, easily stowed in vehicle when not in use and works a treat."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HALIFAX
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board,
November 28, 2013
By Donald2
from WEYBRISGE, Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This has proved excellent.
I paricularly like the two holes through which the board can be attached to my bicycle.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BYFLEET
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works Fine,
October 21, 2013
By ukuleleplayer
from Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this to attach to a tow-ball bike carrier. Seems fine - could have had better fixing facility. Stall at Boston store were excellent - friendly and helpful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BOSTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bike Tail Board,
August 09, 2013
By simonfitz
from Haywards Heath
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: size
Cons: no space for sticker
"Last minute purchase for a trip to France so reserved & picked up on same day. It is an ideal size for a bike rack (we have a high level Thule tow bar 3 bike model). You'll also need some bungee or cord to thread through the eyelets to secure it onto the rack. I also suggest you use some insulation tape to secure the plastic end covers as we lost ours quite quickly on a previous one. My one criticism is that there is not enough space to display a GB sticker (the one on the car is hidden behind the bikes). There are two reflectors so I guess you could remove one for the sticker."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board,
August 05, 2013
By Steve2805
from Dewsbury
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: reasonable price
Cons: number plate not included.
"Beware, there is no number plate on the lighting board. It wasn't till I got it home that I saw on the box that number plate isn't included. Too late then."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-27points
1out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Light board,
August 03, 2013
By Anonymous
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good quality product this, very easy to use and with simple, clear instructions. Getting the number plate in store at the same time was very useful as well, if you need one I'd recommend that as well"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems to fit the bill,
July 09, 2013
By polis
from Herefordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Haven't used this board on the road yet but works when plugged into the car. Nice and lightweight and I would have been unable to build one for the money. A word of CAUTION when fitting a number plate. If you use nuts and bolts likme me then beware the wireing for the lights is along the centre of the board. Thankfully I thought about this and was able to place the holes to miss the wires."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRYNMAWR
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does exactly what it's supposed to.,
June 28, 2013
By Carbon9
from Manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value
"Cycle Carrier Lighting Board is exactly as described and does just what it's supposed to.
These are available on the internet slightly cheaper at other retailers but by the time you've got the cost of postage on top they come in at the same price, so buy it it Halfords, you can collect same day and have somewhere to go back to just in case anything goes wrong."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin,
June 17, 2013
By Dunlop25
from Burgesshill
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Having bought a tow bar mounted bike rack, i needed a lighting board, this was one of the only products that i could find with holes pre drilled to accomodate fixing it to the bikes. It was no more expensive than other generis lighting boards that i would have had to adapt. Works well"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin...,
May 30, 2013
By oldfeller
from Hampshire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: short lead eases loading & unloading of bikes
Cons: the holes for securing board to the cycle carrier
"A perfectly adequate lighting board for light use. The two holes (presumably for securing board to carrier) are of little use and most will be using 'bungie' cords with hooks that are too large for the holes. Otherwise, it does what it says on the box."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? EASTLEIGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board,
May 18, 2013
By Husky99
from Yorks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting
"Great product does exactly as described. Easy to use and store."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Trailer light board,
May 17, 2013
By Camperclark
from Epping
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Item is as described but we were unable to use it straight away as the store had no products to make a number plate - we were on our way on holiday."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not bad for the price,
March 21, 2013
By Stu2984
from Telford
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"There are slightly cheaper out there but at least on my doorstep any issues its easy to take back.
Seems fine for the price and no better or worse than any of the others. Will see how it is at the end of the sumnmer after its had some bad weather abuse"
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lighting board,
March 03, 2013
By Rugby7
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Seemed good quality but was not suitable for my car"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy-peasy,
July 25, 2012
By lollapalooza
from Bideford, DEVON
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The lightboard was easy to attach and use and has meant that we could safely transport our bikes from Devon to Northumberland with no hassle. An excellent ppiece of low cost kit!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK but needed some work,
July 23, 2012
By Getshorty
from Thame, Oxfordshire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Bought this for bike carrier use. Looked fined. When I first tried it, one brake light not working. Took out both bulbs and reinserted them - worked fine. Would have hoped this sort of thing was checked during manufacture."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I wanted,
May 06, 2012
By Bikerboy50
from Livingston, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: maybe feels a little feeble
"Does exactly what it says on the tin, perfect size easy to use and very good value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY,
January 30, 2012
By Stationmaster
from Northampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money, quality
Cons: none to date
"After surfing the net for a light board to attach to rear of car when carrying two bikes I came across this board which was the best value by far and works well with nothing else to buy other than the number plate. Highly recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>