Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board

Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board displays your rear lights, reflectors and your number plate.
Average Customer Rating:
4.122 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
18
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
1
36 of 39(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Review 1 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality,
November 17, 2014
By ThemanwhofelltoEarth
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This cycle carrier lighting board is good quality, and does the job. I bought it to replace a previous Halford lighting board that lasted 15 years, and only gave up because I damaged the lead. I expect at least the same lifetime from this new one... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STAINES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cycle rack trailer board,
October 23, 2014
By Anthony9999
from St. Helens, Merseyside
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cable is just the right length
Cons: reflectors are a bit poor
" The board is just what I needed. Its not too wide for the rack. The cable is just the correct length so that your not trying to wrap it around things to hide the extra. I would defo buy another if I needed to from Halfords. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Back light did not work,
September 05, 2014
By Marty22
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Rear light bulb was faulty no more to say but review was too short "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? HERNE BAY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
completely satisfied,
September 02, 2014
By W3KLR
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight construction, ready assembled, price
" I am delighted with the cycle carrier lighting board, its ready assembled and all i have had to do is tie it to my cycle carrier and plug it in and thats it. I shopped around and i found this to be the best design for my purposes and the best priced. "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BROMLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chuffed lights indicated on panel,
September 01, 2014
By stovies
from Scotland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" first class item at a great price,well chuffed with it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? EAST KILBRIDE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cycle carrier lighting board,
August 30, 2014
By sippy11
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Read the other reviews. This is a good product. Reg plate is not included. If you choose to fix plate by screws slide off end plate so that you can ensure that the screws don't catch internal wires. Fixing hardware to bike carrier is not included. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money,
August 20, 2014
By Tigger4t
from Biggleswade, Central Bedfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money, lightweight, well made
Cons: eyeholes too small to pass a bungee hook through
" The board is well made, lightweight and good value for money. I would recommend this as a good purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BIGGLESWADE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not used in earnest yet but seems a good enough product,
May 24, 2014
By Pauley2
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light, sturdy enough, good value, much cheaper than the thule
" On the basis you get what you pay for this seems good value. Checked straight out of the box on the car socket and before drilling the number plate holes - all the bulbs worked fine - they look like standard automotive bulbs, so shouldn't be difficult to replace if needed - wattages should be written on the base of the bulb. If you want to make sure you miss the cables inside when drilling the holes, then remove the two end caps temporarily, initially drill hole through one side only and carefully look down inside from one end with a lamp shining through the hole - if a cable is likely to get hit then move it with a long screwdriver/BBQ skewer, then drill right through other side. Easy. Then replace end caps - some glue might be a good idea in case they pop off. You can loop a thin bungey cord through the holes to hang it. Number plate was another £18 in Halfords and they made it up in about 3 minutes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adequate,
May 20, 2014
By NickC
from Colchester
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: no instructions or information
" Had to fiddle with the bulbs on one side to get them to work. No fittings or instructions for fixing a number plate to it or what type of bulbs to buy if you wanted spares. Advised to by Halfords to drill some holes and use bolts for fixing the plate. No idea where to drill though as there is no indication as to where the wires run. Cable is a reasonable length. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Essential item for cycle carriers,
December 01, 2013
By Dasower
from Halifax West Yorks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Have the Light Board fitted to carrier, took 2 mins to attach and connect, easily stowed in vehicle when not in use and works a treat. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HALIFAX
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board,
November 28, 2013
By Donald2
from WEYBRISGE, Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This has proved excellent.
I paricularly like the two holes through which the board can be attached to my bicycle.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BYFLEET
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works Fine,
October 21, 2013
By ukuleleplayer
from Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this to attach to a tow-ball bike carrier. Seems fine - could have had better fixing facility. Stall at Boston store were excellent - friendly and helpful. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BOSTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bike Tail Board,
August 09, 2013
By simonfitz
from Haywards Heath
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: size
Cons: no space for sticker
" Last minute purchase for a trip to France so reserved & picked up on same day. It is an ideal size for a bike rack (we have a high level Thule tow bar 3 bike model). You'll also need some bungee or cord to thread through the eyelets to secure it onto the rack. I also suggest you use some insulation tape to secure the plastic end covers as we lost ours quite quickly on a previous one. My one criticism is that there is not enough space to display a GB sticker (the one on the car is hidden behind the bikes). There are two reflectors so I guess you could remove one for the sticker. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board,
August 05, 2013
By Steve2805
from Dewsbury
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: reasonable price
Cons: number plate not included.
" Beware, there is no number plate on the lighting board. It wasn't till I got it home that I saw on the box that number plate isn't included. Too late then. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-31points
1out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Light board,
August 03, 2013
By Anonymous
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good quality product this, very easy to use and with simple, clear instructions. Getting the number plate in store at the same time was very useful as well, if you need one I'd recommend that as well "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems to fit the bill,
July 09, 2013
By polis
from Herefordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Haven't used this board on the road yet but works when plugged into the car. Nice and lightweight and I would have been unable to build one for the money. A word of CAUTION when fitting a number plate. If you use nuts and bolts likme me then beware the wireing for the lights is along the centre of the board. Thankfully I thought about this and was able to place the holes to miss the wires. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRYNMAWR
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does exactly what it's supposed to.,
June 28, 2013
By Carbon9
from Manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value
" Cycle Carrier Lighting Board is exactly as described and does just what it's supposed to.
These are available on the internet slightly cheaper at other retailers but by the time you've got the cost of postage on top they come in at the same price, so buy it it Halfords, you can collect same day and have somewhere to go back to just in case anything goes wrong. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin,
June 17, 2013
By Dunlop25
from Burgesshill
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Having bought a tow bar mounted bike rack, i needed a lighting board, this was one of the only products that i could find with holes pre drilled to accomodate fixing it to the bikes. It was no more expensive than other generis lighting boards that i would have had to adapt. Works well "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin...,
May 30, 2013
By oldfeller
from Hampshire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: short lead eases loading & unloading of bikes
Cons: the holes for securing board to the cycle carrier
" A perfectly adequate lighting board for light use. The two holes (presumably for securing board to carrier) are of little use and most will be using 'bungie' cords with hooks that are too large for the holes. Otherwise, it does what it says on the box. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? EASTLEIGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Cycle Carrier Lighting Board,
May 18, 2013
By Husky99
from Yorks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting
" Great product does exactly as described. Easy to use and store. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>