Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Carriers & Bike Racks or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier

Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier can carry 2 bikes on 4x4s with a rear mounted spare wheel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.043 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
21 of 23(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
49 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good for Discovery TD5,
August 23, 2014
By RubyDooby1
from Preston, Preston, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fitted this with ease to my TD5 Land Rover 04 reg. Very good fit anfd felt secure throughout torrid 35 mile journey via back lanes in Trough of Bowland. Bikes never moved. Enough said.l"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Carrier,
July 26, 2014
By tigger1964
from Derbyshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just collected one of these this morning after struggling to fit our bikes into the back of my Suzuki Grand Vitara (like the one in the picture) having seen this I knew it would fit. Fitted and took the bikes on a 30 mile trip just to check it would be ok, took the front wheels off to ensure all lights and indicators could be seen, only slight downside with our bikes being full suspension I could not sit the centre bar onto both rubber rests but overcame this by lifting the bike a little higher on one end and resting on the suspension arm, I also attached a bungee cord around the bikes and attached to the frame just in case!! anyway stopped every 5 miles just to check everything was tight and guess what no need to worry, I even went off road on a old bumpy trail for a short distance, early days but from what I have seen so far would recommend for the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? CONGLETON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Carrier,
July 08, 2014
By Annie25
from Shrewsbury, Shropshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Had this fitted on to Freelander, took a little time to work out how to strap bikes on safely but once done very pleased holds our 2 bikes very well, will buy a locking device for bikes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SHREWSBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product easy to use,
April 26, 2014
By Knighthawk
from Newcastle
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy of use
"Purchased this cycle carrier about a month ago easy to set up covered over 500 miles with 2 adult bikes with no problems straps do need checking regularly. Their is some confusion about wheel size that it will fit I have a land rover discovery with 255x55x18 tyres and it fits over the wheel no problem."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
well made easy to use,
September 24, 2013
By suet123
from reading
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This bike carrier is great to use, folds well for storage would recommend"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? READING (OXFORD RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple to use and effective,
August 07, 2013
By Catnip
from Ross-Shire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The carrier is easy to fit and stays in place across rough roads in the highlands of Scotland. Longest distance so far has been a trip of 90 Miles. Stopped at regular intervals to check the carrier. Everything was secure at each check and remained so for the entire journey.
No frills but does exactly what I want."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent 4x4 bike rack,
July 29, 2013
By Jmcg72
from Leeds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy to put together, easy to fit, easy to load the bikes on, easy to secure. Easy to store as collapses down & fits in the back of your car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? KEIGHLEY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
spare wheel cycle carrier,
June 21, 2013
By kattoff
from banstead surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"got this 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier - took off the hob of the spare wheel and can now carry bikes on the rear mounted spare wheel, hold two large bikes.
Halfords staff fitted it ( at a charge) but easy to use and recommended
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? EPSOM
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect for 4x4 vehicles,
June 01, 2013
By Angus2207
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy loading and securing
Cons: securing with 2 bikes loaded
"Really easy to fit, practical carrier for 4x4's with spare on back door. Easy to load 2 bikes although need to make sure that straps are done as tightly as possible to avoid front wheels moving around. Probably best for shorter journeys but this is all we will want to do so ideal and good value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? MACCLESFIELD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sturdy,
January 31, 2013
By AskimEmz90
from Denbighshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this as i own a Mitsubishi shogun pinin and the spare wheel is off set, and wanted to take my bike and my friends bike away.
I have to say it is a fiddly thing to set up but once you know how it is really easy!
Study holding two adult bikes. easy to take on and off!
would definitely recommend if you have an offside spare wheel!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 3
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really good, but one small problem...,
June 01, 2011
By Sixty
from Leighton Buzzard
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: solid construction
Cons: no locking ring
"The rack works really well with a Land Rover Freelander, and on the move stays completely in place. However the one problem with it is that the way it is constructed means that you can't lock it to the car in any way - granted the bikes can be secured to the car, but it wouldn't take much for someone to pinch the carrier off of the wheel when parked up - meaning that you have to take it off and put it in the car itself when out on the bikes - not ideal, but still a good carrier."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Useful and well designed piece of kit,
May 16, 2011
By ivesy
from South East, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Sturdy construction, easy to use and good value for money. Folds flat quickly for easy storage. Overall it was a good purchase that fulfils its purpose efficiently."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with this purchase,
January 26, 2011
By Poppy11
from Dev, Englandon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: expensive
"My 1st purchase online from Halfords was easy to order & was ready to be collected at the till when I went to collect the next day. This 4x4 2 bike carrier fits my Freelander 2002 & is suitable to carry (30kg) an adult & child bike. Being a female & not very strong even I can fit & use this item. Purchased when on offer & feel that was enough to pay. A female friend already has this bike carrier & recommended it to me."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superb product,
November 20, 2010
By wildernessbiker
from Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very robust and simple, easy to load and unload
"I realy needed a cycle carrier; I go every weekend off into the moors and dales, the bikes can fit in the car with the wheels off but they get so muddy. This carrier is fantastic, secure, unobtrusive and easy to fit and operate. I cherish my bikes and am perfectly content to trust their safety to this first class product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bike rack,
November 16, 2010
By bmwk75s
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"up to the job but no more bit fidly to fit and messy to look at"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job brilliantly!,
July 07, 2010
By MegAndFloss
from Forest of Dean, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We purchased this bike carrier after months of maneouvering the bikes in and out of the back of our Freelander. It fits well and even without an attachment, we manage to get one ladies and one mens mountain bike on the carrier easily. As it was on offer at the time of purchase it was really good value aswell."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
value for money,
April 25, 2010
By boycie
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Purchased this cycle carrier at a reduced price and was very pleased with it . It required no assembly and was really easy to fit. would definately recommend this product, not to sure I would have purchased it at the full price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product,
December 14, 2009
By iiowu
from west mids
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"easy to fit,wouldnt be without it.
great service from staff at store
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Buy,
October 01, 2009
By DomsDad
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Got this at reduced price, and even though quite fiddly to fit, it does the job very well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords 4x4 Spare Wheel Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
September 21, 2009
By jpatie
from High Wycombe
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Fitted neatly onto a Honda CRV, the instructions were a little challenging but once on everything was fine. Transported 2 bikes over a thousand miles, the odd bounce but it is attached to a tyre. Tucked behind the car it didn't affect fuel consumption either."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>