Halfords Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier

The Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier is a good value bike carrier that is mounted directly on to the back of your car.
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (126 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
61
3 stars
22
2 stars
3
1 star
10
105 of 126(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overpriced,
August 19, 2013
By spyderman
from Ipswich
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Simple to put the rack together but fiddly to secure it to the car (even if all the bits were there!!). Unfortunately the bike carrier was missing a couple of fasteners for the lower straps so it couldnt be securely attached to the car. Had to use bungee cords to hold it in place which were not ideal.
Solid but utilitarian in its construction and the materials used but you dont get a lot of end product for the price.
Only wanted a quick and cheap solution to carrying my daughters bike so for once skimped on cost. Wont do that again!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does the job!,
June 27, 2013
By L1000
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought last minute and was perfect.
Easily attached and felt secured even if just a basic range one!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
May 03, 2013
By Smudgesmith999
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to fit, quick and no frills. Good value for money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: More than 3
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent carrier,
April 21, 2013
By bob555555555555
from southampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light and compact, fits easlly, folds compact size, excellent price
"I bought this carrier at the last moment before we went on holiday, it is a very good quality carrier and fits easily to my Kia Sedona car, it also fits easily to my wife's ford focus. It stayed fixed firmly on a 100 mile trip, it is light and folds to a convenient size for storage. I highly recommend it over some of the more expensive carriers out there."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Strong and sturdy,
April 14, 2013
By Colkiss
from Thetford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've used this over the Easter weekend to take 3 adult bicycles and have driven for over 200 miles without any problems. Would definitely recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? THETFORD
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
efficient,
April 16, 2012
By nobiker
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I was most impressed by the the Halfords service and prompt delivery. The carrier was very good value though the instructions took awhile to decipher."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bike carrier,
April 14, 2012
By trevdav
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"little bit fiddly to put together .We tried to fit it in a rainstorm so not the best time to accurately how easy it is to fit to the car. we needed it to carry 14" childs bike so not able to comment on suitability for adult's bikes"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike Carrier,
January 09, 2012
By Jpkerr
from Motherwell, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was looking for a bike carrier to carry my bike and my grandsons. I decided on this carrier as it was a good price and only required a carrier for our two bikes.
Once assembled this can be fitted to my Citroen C5 in seconds. It holds both bikes very securley.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
2 cycle carrier ?,
January 02, 2012
By Rileyroo
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Not a bad little carrier but to call it a 2 cycle carrier is stretching it a bit. Easy to put together and fit to the car (Rover 75 saloon) But can only just a fit a childs cycle on it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good advice,
October 27, 2011
By Foxxy12
from Reading
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My local Halfords shop was able to explain that the bike carrier I had chosen may have a problem with one of my cars. He explained the reasons and I do use it on both but only short journeys on good roads for the Mercedes CLK.
Excellent service and good instructions for mounting
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
costs me money,
September 06, 2011
By Buckm
from Farnborough, Hampshire
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: none
Cons: badly designed, cheaply made
"I thought this was decent until a massive failure of the device cost me a bike, the problem is that the rubber thing that the bikes sit on can just slide off the bar it's on, this meant that whilst driving along the motorway a bike "fell off!" the bars even though the bars were at a good angle, the clips failed because of the load put on them, and my mates bike was sent off down the motorway!, I gave him my bike as a replacement, mine only just survived only being held on by one bar. If you value your bikes do one of 2 things. 1, Adapt the bars so the the rubber mounts cannot just slide off, or 2, Don't bother buying it in the first place. I now need to buy a new bike, and a new bike carrier, It won't be this one!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+50points
50out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value cycle carrier,
August 21, 2011
By AFS123
from Staffordshire, England
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This carrier is absolutely awful and I would definitely not recommend it, You have to get on your hands and knees on concrete/mud or whatever your parked on to be able to attach the straps underneath the car which is really tricky, and the straps have to be tied round the bike and the worst thing is you can't open your boot when it's on so if you have babies or toddlers you cant get your pram out of the boot without taking it off which after you've spent 20-30 minutes putting it on isnt good."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+10points
16out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value - 1 snag,
May 25, 2011
By LG34
from Bolton, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good value, easily assembled
"Good value. Sturdy product, easy to assemble, and once you've used it a couple of times you'll be able to do it with your eyes closed.
The only snag I've found is that it says not to attach the hooks to the bumper... but I have nowhere else to attach them to. So make sure there is somewhere on the underside of the car where you can hook the two lower straps onto.
I drove 100 miles on the m/way up to the lakes last week, and it worked a treat. No problems.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fine,
May 15, 2011
By SnappY511
from Edinburgh
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price, carries two bikes, quick to take the bikes on and off.
"Does the job. No thrills, takes more than 10 mins to assemble but it worked."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor,
April 12, 2011
By gazbaker
from liverpool
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cons: everything
"Spend a little bit more and get a far better product, this is cheap and damaged my car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
added extras,
February 16, 2011
By newcyclist
from wolverhampton, West Mids
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Went to buy this product has a novice cyclist, you need to be aware it is a legal requirement to use a lighting board with this item as your cycles will most likely cover your indicators your back lights and your brake lights. You will also need to put a duplicate number plate on the lighting board has your number plate will be covered. In total with the cycle rack and all the added extras you legally require you will be spending a lot more than the price of this item. "your choice""
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+53points
56out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value,
November 10, 2010
By johns24
from derbyshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great bike rack for the money after you have got it mounted !!!!
works well bike held on a treat
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chahna,
October 23, 2010
By Chahna
from London, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy assembly
Cons: major parts not labelled with the direction they, should face during assemebly
"Very easy to assemble and to fix to the car. However there was one part which should be labelled 'this side up' or something similar as it fits any way but only one way is correct. I attached it back-to-front, and had to start again when I realised."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good purchase,
October 09, 2010
By Lad123
from Plymouth
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to fix it but diffcult to put on my car's boot for the first time. Happy with overall"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
instructions r ok to follow,
October 07, 2010
By brad247
from walsall birmingham england
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"very good well worth the money very happy with it ;-)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
12345...7next>>