Halfords Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier

The Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier lets you pop 2 bikes on the back of your car.
Average Customer Rating:
3.812 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
21 of 29(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money,
March 15, 2016
By
from Rochdale, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Assembly was straightforward. The recommended weight limit is 45 kg. I have electric bikes that are 25 kgs each so I inserted stainless steel pipes I into the top rails to take the extra weight. A couple of holes to drill and it's perfect for my needs. The frame fits onto the tail gate of my Nissan Navaro and the straps stay firmly in place. I've done a few 150 mile journeys and the bike remained completely stable with no movement of the securing straps, furthermore the sponge padding is thick enough to protect the vehicle body work, the frame also has good rubber straps to fasten the bikes in place. Highly recommended. "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent,
March 05, 2016
By
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: excellent
" I am very happy with products and offers. And very cheap price with good quality thanks "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reasonable but does not feel secure,
January 16, 2016
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: cheap
Cons: security hooks
" I have a VW Golf. This product fits but just does not feel secure. The straps which secure the lower arm have very small hooks, these need to be larger. However I drove for 6 hours and the bike didn't end up on the motorway!- although I was nervous!!
Spend a bit more and you'll get more is my advice
Overall a reasonable product just don't expect too much "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Is what it says on the box.,
January 09, 2016
By
from Wiltshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a good little bike carrier. We used is on our Hatchback SUV and it was fine, on the one trip we bought it for. It's sold in design and flexible enough to fit most shapes of vehicle. We got it for £25, which I was in the sale but I think better are available for it's full price.
It has two weaknesses;
1. There are no instructions as such, just pictures on the box, which you can figure out the fitting from.
2. The lower mountings need to fit to something more substantial than plastic body panels. You need to roll around underneath your vehicle, in order to locate a solid mounting point.
These points are quite trivial, as I said, it's a great and safe bicycle carrier.....just be sure it's priced accordingly.
"
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? DONCASTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple and effective product.,
July 11, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple to use
" Bought this bike carrier a couple off weeks ago and it fulfills all my needs perfectly. It's easy to build up and handy to use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bicycle Carrier,
May 01, 2015
By
from Waterford, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" When assembled it is easy to put on and take off of the car, it holds 2 bikes easily, but the only issue I have is that it comes unassembled and it was horrible to try and put together. It took myself and a male friend 50 minutes to assemble it properly. It would nearly be better for Halfords to charge €10 more on the item and have it pre assembled for the customers. But a very good product that is sturdy and reliable. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? WATERFORD (ROI)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
***** MAZDA5,MAZDA5 *****,
October 12, 2014
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money, did what it was supposed to do
Cons: better pictures
" I put Mazda5 in caps in title to make it stand out to my fellow Mazda5 drivers, bought this in a Halford's shop in Waterford, Rep of Ireland. I carried my bike all the way to a little Island off the coast of Scotland without any bother at all. It was easy to assemble as long as you take a few minutes to make sure all the parts are there & read instructions. I DID NOT need a lighting board, but i did need to remove my reg plate & attach to the bike so it was fully visible. A few people mention that there is no way of locking the bike to the carrier but a cheap lock did the job for me. I locked the front wheel in straight position with a few cable ties to stop it moving about also i wrapped the pedal to stop it damaging bumper when it moved about (not that it moved much),Another small suggestion i would make, is to put some insulating tape to bumper under ratchet straps to stop any friction marks that might occur, overall though this is a great little item for the money i paid. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Stable and Value for Money,
September 06, 2014
By
from Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Thanks to the staff at Halfords for helping me put this together, (i had thought it was ready assembled) so I could take my new bike home. Very stable and easy to use. However, you need to consider that a lighting board may be required as the brake and indicator lights maybe obscured and my car does not have a tow bar power point to fit one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor instructions, left dent in boot lid,
August 27, 2014
By
from Romford, Greater London, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" Value product is the correct description for this. It's reflected in the assembly and fitting instructions and the quality of the materials used. It is a struggle to get two full sized adult bikes on the carrier and if you are lucky enough to there is a good chance you will damage your vehicle like I did. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ROMFORD
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap but good product,
August 13, 2014
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good value
Cons: no security to lock your bike
" Good value for money. Only downside is you can't secure them to the rack so someone can't come along and steal your bike. Got fitted at halfords well worth shown how to do checks to make sure they are secure. May need extra number plate as it covers over your. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy fitting.,
August 08, 2014
By
from Blackfordby, Swadlincote, Leicestershire DE11, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I purchased this item to enable me to collect my new bike from the local Halfords store. It was easy to fit although not ideal for my car (2013 BMW320) as it does not have the requisite points to hook the bottom straps securely, this is a problem with the car more so than the carrier.
The carrier itself was very easy to assemble and fit to the car and holds the bike securely. It would benefit from a second set of straps to secure the wheels but that would be personal choice.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overpriced,
August 19, 2013
By
from Ipswich
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Simple to put the rack together but fiddly to secure it to the car (even if all the bits were there!!). Unfortunately the bike carrier was missing a couple of fasteners for the lower straps so it couldnt be securely attached to the car. Had to use bungee cords to hold it in place which were not ideal.
Solid but utilitarian in its construction and the materials used but you dont get a lot of end product for the price.
Only wanted a quick and cheap solution to carrying my daughters bike so for once skimped on cost. Wont do that again!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+8points
15out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does the job!,
June 27, 2013
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought last minute and was perfect.
Easily attached and felt secured even if just a basic range one!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
May 03, 2013
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Easy to fit, quick and no frills. Good value for money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: More than 3
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent carrier,
April 21, 2013
By
from southampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light and compact, fits easlly, folds compact size, excellent price
" I bought this carrier at the last moment before we went on holiday, it is a very good quality carrier and fits easily to my Kia Sedona car, it also fits easily to my wife's ford focus. It stayed fixed firmly on a 100 mile trip, it is light and folds to a convenient size for storage. I highly recommend it over some of the more expensive carriers out there. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
+15points
23out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Strong and sturdy,
April 14, 2013
By
from Thetford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I've used this over the Easter weekend to take 3 adult bicycles and have driven for over 200 miles without any problems. Would definitely recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? THETFORD
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
efficient,
April 16, 2012
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I was most impressed by the the Halfords service and prompt delivery. The carrier was very good value though the instructions took awhile to decipher. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bike carrier,
April 14, 2012
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" little bit fiddly to put together .We tried to fit it in a rainstorm so not the best time to accurately how easy it is to fit to the car. we needed it to carry 14" childs bike so not able to comment on suitability for adult's bikes "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike Carrier,
January 09, 2012
By
from Motherwell, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I was looking for a bike carrier to carry my bike and my grandsons. I decided on this carrier as it was a good price and only required a carrier for our two bikes.
Once assembled this can be fitted to my Citroen C5 in seconds. It holds both bikes very securley.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+16points
26out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
2 cycle carrier ?,
January 02, 2012
By
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Not a bad little carrier but to call it a 2 cycle carrier is stretching it a bit. Easy to put together and fit to the car (Rover 75 saloon) But can only just a fit a childs cycle on it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-1point
7out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>