Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Carriers & Bike Racks or
Choose a Category

Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier

The Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier lets you pop 2 bikes on the back of your car.
Average Customer Rating:
3.785 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (130 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
62
3 stars
22
2 stars
4
1 star
10
108 of 130(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
388 Questions | 384 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Stable and Value for Money,
September 06, 2014
By SpreedySteve
from Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Thanks to the staff at Halfords for helping me put this together, (i had thought it was ready assembled) so I could take my new bike home. Very stable and easy to use. However, you need to consider that a lighting board may be required as the brake and indicator lights maybe obscured and my car does not have a tow bar power point to fit one."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor instructions, left dent in boot lid,
August 27, 2014
By Smiffta
from Romford, Greater London, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Value product is the correct description for this. It's reflected in the assembly and fitting instructions and the quality of the materials used. It is a struggle to get two full sized adult bikes on the carrier and if you are lucky enough to there is a good chance you will damage your vehicle like I did."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ROMFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap but good product,
August 13, 2014
By Whiteblossom14
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good value
Cons: no security to lock your bike
"Good value for money. Only downside is you can't secure them to the rack so someone can't come along and steal your bike. Got fitted at halfords well worth shown how to do checks to make sure they are secure. May need extra number plate as it covers over your."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy fitting.,
August 08, 2014
By 1953Jeep
from Blackfordby, Swadlincote, Leicestershire DE11, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased this item to enable me to collect my new bike from the local Halfords store. It was easy to fit although not ideal for my car (2013 BMW320) as it does not have the requisite points to hook the bottom straps securely, this is a problem with the car more so than the carrier.
The carrier itself was very easy to assemble and fit to the car and holds the bike securely. It would benefit from a second set of straps to secure the wheels but that would be personal choice.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overpriced,
August 19, 2013
By spyderman
from Ipswich
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Simple to put the rack together but fiddly to secure it to the car (even if all the bits were there!!). Unfortunately the bike carrier was missing a couple of fasteners for the lower straps so it couldnt be securely attached to the car. Had to use bungee cords to hold it in place which were not ideal.
Solid but utilitarian in its construction and the materials used but you dont get a lot of end product for the price.
Only wanted a quick and cheap solution to carrying my daughters bike so for once skimped on cost. Wont do that again!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does the job!,
June 27, 2013
By L1000
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought last minute and was perfect.
Easily attached and felt secured even if just a basic range one!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
May 03, 2013
By Smudgesmith999
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to fit, quick and no frills. Good value for money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: More than 3
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent carrier,
April 21, 2013
By bob555555555555
from southampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light and compact, fits easlly, folds compact size, excellent price
"I bought this carrier at the last moment before we went on holiday, it is a very good quality carrier and fits easily to my Kia Sedona car, it also fits easily to my wife's ford focus. It stayed fixed firmly on a 100 mile trip, it is light and folds to a convenient size for storage. I highly recommend it over some of the more expensive carriers out there."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Strong and sturdy,
April 14, 2013
By Colkiss
from Thetford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've used this over the Easter weekend to take 3 adult bicycles and have driven for over 200 miles without any problems. Would definitely recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? THETFORD
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
efficient,
April 16, 2012
By nobiker
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I was most impressed by the the Halfords service and prompt delivery. The carrier was very good value though the instructions took awhile to decipher."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bike carrier,
April 14, 2012
By trevdav
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"little bit fiddly to put together .We tried to fit it in a rainstorm so not the best time to accurately how easy it is to fit to the car. we needed it to carry 14" childs bike so not able to comment on suitability for adult's bikes"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike Carrier,
January 09, 2012
By Jpkerr
from Motherwell, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was looking for a bike carrier to carry my bike and my grandsons. I decided on this carrier as it was a good price and only required a carrier for our two bikes.
Once assembled this can be fitted to my Citroen C5 in seconds. It holds both bikes very securley.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+15points
25out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
2 cycle carrier ?,
January 02, 2012
By Rileyroo
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Not a bad little carrier but to call it a 2 cycle carrier is stretching it a bit. Easy to put together and fit to the car (Rover 75 saloon) But can only just a fit a childs cycle on it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good advice,
October 27, 2011
By Foxxy12
from Reading
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My local Halfords shop was able to explain that the bike carrier I had chosen may have a problem with one of my cars. He explained the reasons and I do use it on both but only short journeys on good roads for the Mercedes CLK.
Excellent service and good instructions for mounting
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
costs me money,
September 06, 2011
By Buckm
from Farnborough, Hampshire
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: none
Cons: badly designed, cheaply made
"I thought this was decent until a massive failure of the device cost me a bike, the problem is that the rubber thing that the bikes sit on can just slide off the bar it's on, this meant that whilst driving along the motorway a bike "fell off!" the bars even though the bars were at a good angle, the clips failed because of the load put on them, and my mates bike was sent off down the motorway!, I gave him my bike as a replacement, mine only just survived only being held on by one bar. If you value your bikes do one of 2 things. 1, Adapt the bars so the the rubber mounts cannot just slide off, or 2, Don't bother buying it in the first place. I now need to buy a new bike, and a new bike carrier, It won't be this one!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+53points
54out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value cycle carrier,
August 21, 2011
By AFS123
from Staffordshire, England
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This carrier is absolutely awful and I would definitely not recommend it, You have to get on your hands and knees on concrete/mud or whatever your parked on to be able to attach the straps underneath the car which is really tricky, and the straps have to be tied round the bike and the worst thing is you can't open your boot when it's on so if you have babies or toddlers you cant get your pram out of the boot without taking it off which after you've spent 20-30 minutes putting it on isnt good."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+10points
17out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value - 1 snag,
May 25, 2011
By LG34
from Bolton, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good value, easily assembled
"Good value. Sturdy product, easy to assemble, and once you've used it a couple of times you'll be able to do it with your eyes closed.
The only snag I've found is that it says not to attach the hooks to the bumper... but I have nowhere else to attach them to. So make sure there is somewhere on the underside of the car where you can hook the two lower straps onto.
I drove 100 miles on the m/way up to the lakes last week, and it worked a treat. No problems.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fine,
May 15, 2011
By SnappY511
from Edinburgh
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price, carries two bikes, quick to take the bikes on and off.
"Does the job. No thrills, takes more than 10 mins to assemble but it worked."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor,
April 12, 2011
By gazbaker
from liverpool
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cons: everything
"Spend a little bit more and get a far better product, this is cheap and damaged my car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Value Rear Low Mount 2 Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
added extras,
February 16, 2011
By newcyclist
from wolverhampton, West Mids
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Went to buy this product has a novice cyclist, you need to be aware it is a legal requirement to use a lighting board with this item as your cycles will most likely cover your indicators your back lights and your brake lights. You will also need to put a duplicate number plate on the lighting board has your number plate will be covered. In total with the cycle rack and all the added extras you legally require you will be spending a lot more than the price of this item. "your choice""
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+56points
59out of 62found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>