Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Carriers & Bike Racks or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting

Take your bikes wherever you fancy with the Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(360 Reviews) 352
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (360 reviews)
5 stars
152
4 stars
139
3 stars
39
2 stars
13
1 star
17
306 of 355(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
922 Questions | 952 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Review 1 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High Mount Bike Carrier,
September 26, 2014
By Freck2
from Guildford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good choice.
"I read several reviews of this product prior to visiting the Halfords Guildford shop. The staff further advised me and made interesting comparisons with other similarly priced and specced models. Still to test it out "in anger" but have done a dummy run on the car and it looks good."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for the price.,
September 23, 2014
By LRF34
from England, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: instructions
"Overall good product for the price. The instructions were really difficult to follow. We ended up just ignoring the instructions and simply followed the picture on the box which worked out fine. We have used it twice so far and the bikes stayed put in the car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (ARNOLD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gets the Bikes from A to B,
September 15, 2014
By PopaT
from Wolverhampton, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, solid design
Cons: difficult to thread cycle straps, high carrage caused noticable wind resistance.
"A solid cycle carrier and easy to fit to the car. Used for 2 cycles, 3 might be very tight. Red straps to hold the cycles were difficult to thread through the buckle. Good purchase."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WOLVERHAMPTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked a treat,
September 12, 2014
By Cheryl71
from Coventry, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good price, fits securely, lightweight
Cons: nothing to prevent stealing bike
"Decided to buy a carrier the day before a holiday in order to take my bike to Devon. Reserved this item online and collected within 3 hours. Which was great. After reading all the reviews I was expecting a lot of swearing and cursing as I attempted to fit it to hubby's car. Honestly had this on the car within 20 minutes. Once all the straps were tensioned it was fixed solid, no movement. I would recommend starting with the top straps and working your way down to the bottom ones. Then when all fixed in place giving them all one last tug and tying the loose ends (this gave me extra peace of mind that the straps weren't going to somehow loosen in transit) Bike was held very securely for the 400 miles round trip, even on the motorways travelling at between 65-70 ;o) mph. My only worry is that a potential thief would only need to snip the straps and he/she has themselves a bike and a carrier with minimal effort. Other than that, I have no hesitation in recommending this product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (FOLESHILL RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fittng,
September 12, 2014
By hippocherry
from Darwen
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"On my own trying to fit this with the dumbbells to protect the glass was difficult initially, the instruction were good to guide you through the process. Once assembled from flat it is easy to fit to the car but enjoy taking my bike on adventures"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SPEKE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Don't use on BMW X3,
September 07, 2014
By ChrisMin
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: good value, will no doubt work perfectly on the right car
Cons: not for every car
"I bought this as it was our first cycling holiday and I didn't want to spend hundreds of pounds on a tow bar and a tow bar cycle mount. Being that this mount is meant to fit most cars I can understand that it won't it every car perfectly but I wish I now hadn't used it on my my BMW X3 (2007)
When the Halford's assistant fitted it (and he was very helpful!) he did note that the straps which run over the top of the car (which drop into the boot when it is open) did pull on my boot spoiler when he applied down pressure to the rack and to be honest I did acknowledge this but got around it by placing a leather chamois on the spoiler to spread the pressure over a larger area. (In hindsight this probably should have been my first warning!) Moving on... I fitted 3 adult bikes to the rack (and just a heads up: the ladies bike with diagonal crossbar is very awkward to fit onto the forks of the rack) and we set off to our destination. Unfortunately when we reached our destination I noticed that the chamois was working very well but the pressure from the two black cushioned rollers at the bottom of the rack that rest on the bumper had left two nice big roller shaped dents in it. In addition one of rubber grips which hold the bike frames had slipped down the fork at the top of rack the and the side of the handle bars had rubbed against the roof of the car and rubbed all the paint off. Long story short I wouldn't recommend using this on an X3
"
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEW MALDEN
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good bike carrying solution,
September 01, 2014
By Petethe8eat
from Bournemouth
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good value solution for carrying 3 bikes without a trailer. Take care to make sure it doesn't cover the rear lights. Mounting instructions could have been clearer but we got there in the end. It takes us about 15 minutes to mount on the car and fit all 3 bikes"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHRISTCHURCH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for our trip down south,
September 01, 2014
By Tay1964
from Liverpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy of installation
"We recently went for a holiday to from Liverpool to Somerset area and had three bikes on the carrier, it work perfectly. I found that removing pedals helped in positioning the childrens bikes.
Easy to fit and remove, although it does not allow access to the boot.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Strong, safe and reasonable,
August 30, 2014
By Mike67
from Oxfordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value
Cons: metal hooks
"The carrier was easy to set up and adjust to fit our estate car, even with full glass window. The metal hooks to fit on the boot top frame need to be securely in place and can move, so tightening straps is essential. However, we loaded three bikes and travelled on holiday and all very successful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great purchase,
August 30, 2014
By K555
from bideford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very pleased with my purchase. I had difficulty fixing it onto my car, so decided to go for the easier option of getting Halfords to fit it for me. So pleased I did! The man went through it step by step and made it look extremely easy. I felt much better knowing it was put on by someone who knew exactly what he was doing and I now feel confident to do it myself next time. Had read other reviews about the cycle carrier moving slightly etc etc, but I can honestly say the man rocked and pulled at mine once fitted, and it did not budge an inch. So proper fitting is obviously the answer."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BARNSTAPLE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product at a great price,
August 28, 2014
By Ld85
from Northamptonshirr
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This worked very well in my vw touran. Great fit and easy to fit and take off in a matter of minutes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? CORBY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy piece of kit,
August 25, 2014
By Cricketfool
from Dorset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting, sturdy construction
Cons: adds to overall height of car
"This product has impressed me. It was no problem getting it to fit my Toyota Yaris and easy to put our 2 hybrid bikes on. Once the bikes are strapped on they are very secure and don't move around during driving."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHRISTCHURCH
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tricky to mount but good quality,
August 25, 2014
By hmat
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the easy fix on the car
Cons: unfolding the carrier
"It won't take a lot of time to mount on the car, the tricky bit being unfolding the carrier. But once in shape it is very easy to mount on the car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubber strap,
August 24, 2014
By hippo1958
from Street somerset England
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"rubber strap to fix bike to carrier, split on first time using
no very expressed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superb bike carrier,
August 23, 2014
By RLKAY
from Lincolnshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, good solid product, keeps everything secure
"Bought this to fit my skoda fabia as both myself and my husband cycle a lot. It fits perfectly and feels really solid. It was really easy to install and I am happy that the bikes are very secure. I couldn't be happier."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BOSTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Halfords Essentials 3 bike high rear mount bike rack,
August 21, 2014
By Richard1949
from Bicester, Bicester, Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: cannot open the boot with the bike rack in positio
"Unfortunately I would NOT recommend this rack.
Although sturdy and effective once it is correctly positioned, it is a nightmare to set up and also requires adjustment every time you open the boot once mounted. It also needs initial partial assembly, even though it claims to come fully assembled.
The worst feature are the dumbells that hold the top straps in position as they need to be lowered manually every time the boot is opened to ensure they are not caught in the boot seal when reclosing the boot - it would be much better if they had fitted grips for use at the top, as well as at the bottom."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BICESTER
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terrific Bike Carrier & Customer Service - Bicester Branch & Click & Collect,
August 19, 2014
By SJC43
from Brackley, Northamptonshire NN13, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple and easy to use, great value for money, good build quality
"If you’re looking to take anything from one to three bikes on a short local journey or a longer trip for a holiday, this cycle carrier is an essential investment. It fits a our coupe and hatchback and our friends estate and is quick and easy to attach. I really like the inclusion of the Glass Screen fitting kit and the fact it folds down for simple storage in the car or on the wall between uses.
The instructions to set it up were clear and concise and only the straps needed to be attached. 6 or 7 minutes after starting to attach it and I was surprised how easily it held our three bikes (2 x adults and 1 x childs) and the build quality, (which is excellent).
This bike rack is a blend of great value and functionality at a competitive price and it can carry three bikes without breaking sweat."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BICESTER
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
August 17, 2014
By Katnip84
from North Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Initially tricky to set up, the plastic ratchets don't work so well, boyfriend had to dismantle to sort. Once sorted and fitted to car (Toyota yaris) seemed sturdy and easy to fit. As others have suggested we will use dumb bells on the side of boot as it's glass and the hooks easily pop off. Not yet travelled with it but overall a good product I feel."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Served the purpose,
August 13, 2014
By NewToBikeRacks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After purchasing a cheaper bike rack, fitting it and feeling unsure. Brought this was easy to fit and also was so much more secure than the other. felt 100% confident in this. I would definatly say you get what you pay for."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works great, but poor quality straps let it down,
August 12, 2014
By TrickyB2000
from Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: poor quality straps
"I have used this a few time for travelling 25 miles with 2 adult bikes on the back of my Scenic. As other reviews have stated, the straps do noticeable slip, and therefore tying a knot in them seems to solve this. The bottom straps frequently came loose from the car, I found that purchasing an additional strap and dumb-bell set from Halfords and securing them in the boot solved this (a tip I got from another reviewer also)
The frame is very study, easy to use and doesn't take long to assemble (especially if you have a helper). However, the poor quality straps really let this product down."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MAIDENHEAD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>