Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Carriers & Bike Racks or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting

Take your bikes wherever you fancy with the Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting.
Average Customer Rating:
4.103 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(379 Reviews) 371
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (379 reviews)
5 stars
159
4 stars
149
3 stars
40
2 stars
13
1 star
18
324 of 374(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
922 Questions | 953 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Review 1 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble, decent price,
January 31, 2015
By bongofury
from Tonbridge, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to assemble, strong and secure, good price, fits onto car with glass tailgate
" Easy to assemble, strong, secure and a very decent price. Fits well onto cars which have a glass tailgate. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TONBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does as described,
January 26, 2015
By Betty3
from Coventry, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good value for money
Cons: a tight fit for 3 bikes
" The product is sold as suitable for three bikes, however, it was difficult to get two adult bikes and a childs bike on the carrier. in the end the childs had to go on without the mounts. The main draw back is that i was supplied with an older version which clips on to the boot without any protection for the paintwork.
Bikes were secure with two additional straps.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High Mount Cycle Carrier,
January 26, 2015
By johnrd
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a well-built carrier with six securing points to instil confidence in the bikes being safely transported.
The high mounting position negates the need for a lighting board keeping costs down.
Well worth considering.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good,
January 22, 2015
By Leebus
from Somerset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: it sits up high, folds away nicely, easy to use once set up
Cons: straps to secure bike poor i bought extra, first time set up fiddly
" I ordered online but was advised to visit the store as they couldn't say if it would fit my car or not. A W reg. Peugeot 306 Gti hatchback, I was told due to the small spoiler on the top of the boot that it wouldn't fit. I bought it anyway and it fits perfectly without touching the spoiler. Make sure the rack sits well up, each joint is pre marked with locking positions. Ignore them and use some common sense.
It is a fiddle getting it set up first time, you need two pairs of hands for initial set up, once that's done it does the job fine. One person set up.
All it misses are some small patches of material or rubber to stop the metal side classp's and the other straps rubbing the paint work. I've made my own. For the price it's a good rack.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? WELLS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Right for the price,
January 20, 2015
By Andyhp
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" First thing you should do is check it before you leave the store. I reserved mine and it was put aside for my collection. I didn't check it (thinking they would of done that) until I got home and there were no straps inside and the frame was scratched like it had been used/dragged along the floor. After another trip I got a replacement and it seems ok. All you have to do is fit the straps and attach it to your car. Easy as that. I did notice where the plastic caps go in the end of the metal tubes has rust around all of them so it's certainly not the best out there but for £49 it's not bad. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3 bike mount rack,
January 19, 2015
By Mike6550
from Exmouth, Devon, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The assembly instructions could do with a bit of tweaking, as they were not clear, took a little working out. Other than that its exactly what we need and does what it says on the tin "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EXMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neat Product,
January 19, 2015
By stormyseadog
from Stratford-upon-Avon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good price
" Neat, well made and fir for purpose. Good for use on the yundai ix35 "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STRATFORD UPON AVON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rear High Cycle Mount,
January 18, 2015
By Claire40
from Kent, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value
Cons: side straps
" I already had one of these which needed replacing as it had been used practically every day and was simply worn out ! I shopped around but decided to get the same again as it is great value for money. I have transported 3 bikes before but it is a squeeze, it will comfortably carry 2 though. It is incredibly easy to fit although I do not like the straps which clip onto the side of the boot. I notice a previous review states that this design has changed but my purchase still has the side clips. Fortunately these are load baring, so not too much of a problem if they come undone ! This is the cheapest carrier I've found and having used one previously I'm more than happy to purchase the same again. If you want top performance and equipment, it will cost a lot more ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? CHATHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to set up and use...,
January 11, 2015
By MickMcG
from West Kilbride, Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I found the carrier very easy to set up and use. Good value for money.
Great not having to use a separate lighting board.
Be aware that you do have to lift the cycles pretty high to get them onto the carrier, so not suitable for anyone without enough upper body strength.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? IRVINE
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick and easy to fit,
January 10, 2015
By Benny81
from Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: adjustable to fit to most cars, easy to fit, easy to read instructions
Cons: my sons 16 " wheel dosent fit, can t open tail gate with rack on
" Great cycle rack, fits easily to the car only 6 straps ,feels secure ,the only con is my sons bike which has 16 " wheels dosent fit on it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
versatile,
November 11, 2014
By p1llm4n
from EX39, United Kingdom
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I bought this rack because it should fit various makes and models of cars. The first outing was in a 56 plate Zafira. Easy to follow instructions soon had it fitted and loaded with 3 bikes. It is sturdy and remained in place during the 150 mile trip. Second outing in a 52 plate micra and again it performed well. A great product at a superb price. I challenge you to find a better product cheaper. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BARNSTAPLE
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what you want it to,
November 04, 2014
By woodsy87
from North East
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I was originally looking at higher priced carriers just because I felt a bit uneasy about lower end products, however, I took a punt on this and I'm not disappointed.
Instructions are easy to follow along with the installation video on Halfords' website
The design has changed slightly (for the better) to that on the video. The top and bottom fixing straps are the same but the middle straps have been altered. Rather than clipping onto the side of your boot, a single strap travels around the inside of the boot and back out the other side to then fix onto the carrier. There are 2 benefits to this: firstly, you feel safer knowing the straps can't unclip, and secondly, your paintwork won't get damaged by the clips.
One gripe with the design is with the clips that hold the bike's top tube onto the carrier. Although they haven't even come close to coming undone, it just doesn't look very secure once clipped in. There is another strap which is used in addition to these though, Also, for peace of mind I bought an extra strap but it really isn't necessary.
In terms of practicality I easily attached 2 large bikes, a third may be a bit of a squeeze but haven't needed to try it yet. When not in use the rack can be folded pretty much flat and so is easily stored away.
Hit speeds of 70mph along the motorway and the rack didn't budge at all,
My fuel efficiency dropped by about 1mpg when using the rack which isn't too bad in my opinion.
All in all i'm very happy with it, does the job you want at an affordable price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SUNDERLAND
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not work!!!!!!!!!!!!!,
October 29, 2014
By Annoyed9
from Grantham
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: buckles and clips, strapping stretches at speed, frame deforms under tension
" The rubber coated side clips worn through to the metal after its first journey. They also kept coming off and had to stop six time through my journey, and that was with only two adult bikes! The bars the bikes mount to are too wide for female bikes and my adult male bike was just as tricky due to the gap between cross bar and top bar. The bar also has bare metal ends which scratched my bike when I lifted it on. After tightening it down the frame of the rack started to deform, yet when on the faster roads the pads which sit across the rear windscreen were hovering as the straps stretched and the clips slipped. I drive a 61 plate ford focus. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GRANTHAM
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GOOD BIKE RACK,
October 27, 2014
By DADDA
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: easy to fix
" GOOD BIKE RACKTake your bikes wherever you fancy with the Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bit Fiddly to Set Up, but does the job well.,
October 07, 2014
By Anonymous
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Title says it all really - Bit Fiddly to Set Up, but does the job well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike carrier,
October 04, 2014
By TeggyJ
from Leicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great for carrying the bikes. Easy to fit/unfit to car and to put bikes on. Bikes felt secure for travel. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MELTON MOWBRAY
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value for money,
October 01, 2014
By Wdavison796
from Armagh, Armagh, Armagh BT61, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: how it folds down compactly
" Excellent product, easy to assemble and does what it says on the tin! Holds two large bikes comfortably although we have not attempted to carry three as yet! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ARMAGH
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use,
September 30, 2014
By Keefbeez
from Norwich, Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Does exactly what it says on the box ! Easy to use, keeps bikes above the lights so no need for light board. Can't fault it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good value,
September 28, 2014
By Jules11
from Norwich
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Have to follow instructions to set up and it needs two people but once done, easy to use and remove/reattach to car as needed. Used it a few times and nothing has fallen off! Time will tell whether good value etc but at moment, very happy with my purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High Mount Bike Carrier,
September 26, 2014
By Freck2
from Guildford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good choice.
" I read several reviews of this product prior to visiting the Halfords Guildford shop. The staff further advised me and made interesting comparisons with other similarly priced and specced models. Still to test it out "in anger" but have done a dummy run on the car and it looks good. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>