Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting

Take your bikes wherever you fancy with the Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting.
Average Customer Rating:
4.093 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(334 Reviews) 326
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (334 reviews)
5 stars
138
4 stars
131
3 stars
38
2 stars
12
1 star
15
284 of 330(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
922 Questions | 944 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Review 1 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sturdy,
July 26, 2014
By Bigal76
from Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
"Great value for money it comes already assembled I just needed to put straps on and fit to shape of car. I've already done a couple of 60 mile round trips and it never budged a mm. Altogether a great cycle carrier"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use, robust design,
July 07, 2014
By Ankfer
from Somerset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"(on vauxhall zafira)
reasonably simple to install though altering angles of different arms not easy without second person.
higher lifting of heavier cycles won't suit all.
well constructed and keeps cycles in place.
make sure boot is packed first!!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MIDSOMER NORTON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job well.,
July 03, 2014
By Steveetsonvelo
from Birmingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: simplicity of setting up for my car, good solid feel when attached to the car., good price for the product.
Cons: one side clip coming loose.
"Didn't take too long to get the carrier set up for my Citroen C5. As it was my first time using a cycle carrier I stopped a couple of times to check all was secure before hitting the motorways. Did the journey from Birmingham to Whitby (North Yorkshire) with no problem. So all in all very happy with it, however one slight niggle was that one of the side clips came loose. I shall replace it with a strap and dumb bell set (available from Halfords) and will then have 100% faith in it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (BORDESLEY GREEN)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rear High Mount Cycle Carrier,
June 21, 2014
By Liz18
from Ware
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Unfortunately after having assembled this item for fitting to the car, an Audi A3, we discovered that contrary to instructions we could not fit the carrier as it was vital that it be hooked to a metal fixing and our car only has plastic on the back bumper and beyond."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? HERTFORD
-5points
5out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Will take 3 bikes,
May 31, 2014
By Strongmanjohn
from Hinckley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We had never used a bike carrier before and brought this from our local Halfords where the staff were very helpful. It did take our 3 bikes safely. An adult mans mongoose bike an adult ladies Raleigh and a 24 inch wheel girls bike.
As it was our first time we were a little nervous driving along and we stopped to make sure all was secure and it was.
Made a 30 mile round trip journey no problems and managed to bike 8 miles too.
Quicker to put together on way back. Allow 20 mins for packing up.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HINCKLEY
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bikes on a car,
January 18, 2014
By Thebishop001
from Barry
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Although this carrier was a bit complicated to first set up. Once you have done it once it it very easy to fit again. I have a 1990 Ford Escort Xr3i and was worried about the rear spoiler. This carrier easily fits over the spoiler no probs. It does seem a little flexy at around 40 mph but hey its high and carrying 40 kgs with 2adult bikes and a 24"kids bike. All in all very good for the price of £49 in the sale. Very happy and would definitely recomend as there is no need for trailer board or secon reg plate. Also will fit all for hatchbacks that I have the use off. Great product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BARRY DOCK
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value,
January 07, 2014
By Soup8
from Lisburn
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great value and excellent product..staff at lisburn were more than helpful"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LISBURN
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
High mount carrier,
January 02, 2014
By NickA3
from Esher Surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: fiddly to set up
"Brought for Audi A3.
Once you get your head around the instruction and attach the 6 straps I found it fairly straight forward to mount and adjust the supports to the correct position.
Easiest way is to attach top straps with a bit of play then adjust mounts. Then attach side and lower straps to tension..
One word of warning if fixing to rear glass on hatchback use the dumbells at the side as I had to which support the rack from inside the car and not the brackets which they show on the picture using a VW Golf..It's also a good idea to protect and paintwork using some rubber..
Last point after fitting bikes readjust strap as weight of bikes can cause some slack.. Overall good for the price,but not really suitable for 3 bikes
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? NEW MALDEN
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Budget cycle carrier,
December 29, 2013
By anotherrich
from East Sussex
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Good for the price but not the easiest to set up, took a bit of playing around with the straps to get it in place. Once fitted though it does the job perfectly well. Sure there are better carriers out there but cost several times more."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TUNBRIDGE WELLS
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well,
December 18, 2013
By ChirpyC
from England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdy feel.
Cons: alternate fittings as extras
"I found this rack for my bikes to be sturdy, simple to fit and quick to remove or refit. I liked the ability to swap hooks and dumbell fittings to cater for the glas on my tailgate. 2 additional dumbells inlufed would be great, but their availability as extrasis fair."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cycle carrier experience,
December 17, 2013
By iantydu
from south wales
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: simplicity of set up
Cons: length of straps
"We have been trying to find a suitable cycle carrier for our VW Eos for some time and came across this product by chance in the Newport (Gwent) store. Once you get over the 'our fitter isn't in today' response and you post a query on line to check compatibility this has proved to be a good purchase.
Set up is relatively easy although the side straps could have been a little longer to account for the strange boot set up on the Eos. The current side strap anchor points don't appear to be strong enough (the boot gulley fixing points and not the straps - I should add) and consistently come off during journeys. Other than that, the carrier is excellent value and has allowed us to transport our cycles to other cycle routes previously unavailable without the carrier
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality oviduct,
December 12, 2013
By Walter666
from Kirkcaldy
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: sturdy construction and good high level location
Cons: not sure it would be ok for 3 cycles
"Really good product at a great special offer or ice. A 3 cycle carrier but would only be happy using it fir 2."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? KIRKCALDY
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to fit,
December 07, 2013
By forester04
from ilkeston
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"quick and easy to fit. see to be well built.instructions easy to follow although a little smal.l"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ILKESTON
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says in its name,
December 07, 2013
By ay10
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bit tricky to fit first time but works well and holds bikes secure including during motorway driving."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-8points
4out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SIMPLY THE BEST,
December 04, 2013
By ABC01
from CENTRAL SCOTLAND
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: secure dumbell fittings at the top, good enough materials, easy to fold back under bed
Cons: none
"Going on holiday, Thule and Hollywood racks recommending not to put on to my A4 Avant Rear window spoiler. Their clips were simply not up to the job. Friend steps in at last minute with his Halfords one and it transferred straight over from his Golf.
The beauty of this bike carrier is the top straps with dumbells dropping inside the tailgate at the top. In other words, it provided total confidence with my road bike.
The dumbell fittings are what sold this carrier for me. I gave my friend his carrier back and went straight out and bought my own, despite the fact it won't be used until next summer.
So impressed. If you want your bike to stay aboard your car and you have any form of plastic spoiler, then the dumbells are your answer. Top-fitting clips just don't give the same confidence. Think about it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? FALKIRK
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good carrier sturdy,
October 19, 2013
By Philastra103
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: straps that hold the bikes
Cons: finding the holes on car to attach too
"A bit fiddly getting onto car but nice and sturdy straps hold the bikes and also the rubber supports the frame. Great service too as fitted onto car for me. Does what it says it does."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value, solid mount for a bike,
October 07, 2013
By Singlereed
from Surrey, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: reasonable price, solid, fits an octavia!
Cons: heavy & bulky, limited clearance for smaller bikes, cvould do with 'dumb bells' for side straps too, instructions
"Bought this for my 2012 Skoda Octavia hatchback. It isn't easy to find any boot mounted carrier that is recommended for this car due to the glass top edge of the hatch. This carrier gets round that by having 'dumb bell' style mounts on the strap that do not stress the glass. I'm not really sure if the hooks that attach to the side of the hatch are holding on to the glass or the metal beneath, it's hard to tell. Anyway, it took closer to an hour to assemble it carefully and a few minor adjustments got it to fit right. Note the levers can be 'unscrewed' to allow the ratchet mounts to turn - not mentioned in the instructions. It is a fairly weighty but solid rack and carried a heavy ladies bike on a reasonably long journey with no wobble at all. The rubber mounts on the top bars slide freely which doesn't totally inspire confidence but they didn't seem to move with the bike and red safety straps in place. Be aware the mounting bars are some distance apart and they barely fit between the down tube and front bracket of the medium sized ladies bike we have - might not accept a small bike. Recommended you assemble it and try it out before actually having to load up and go. As someone else said, mark it so that you know how to assemble next time. Overall, a good buy that did the job for a reasonable price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? REDHILL
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitting the cycle carrier,
October 06, 2013
By JT5658
from Northwich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just wanted to express my sincere thanks to Pete of the Northwich branch for his courtesy, helpfulness and professionalism in recently fitting my cycle carrier. He is a real credit to the branch and I think this is something that is worthy of recognition. Whilst penning this feedback, I should also like to thank the many other staff members who, over the years, have serviced and repaired my family's bicycles. What a pleasant and helpful set of people!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NORTHWICH
-6points
6out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
October 03, 2013
By Dank36
from Wiltshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Perfect for my saloon car, easy to install, perfect for what I needed, and matched up to the more expensive brands and in some cases it was better, as always Halfords staff in Trowbridge Wiltshire were very helpful and informative."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? TROWBRIDGE
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well, bargain at half price!,
October 02, 2013
By knightjj
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Slightly confusing instructions but not an issue putting it together.
I have used it on numerous occassions for long journeys (100+ miles) and it works a treat and both bikes feel secure. However not sure i would use it for 3 bikes.
Would recommend to anyone"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>