Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting

Take your bikes wherever you fancy with the Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting.
Average Customer Rating:
4.094 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(329 Reviews) 321
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (329 reviews)
5 stars
135
4 stars
130
3 stars
38
2 stars
12
1 star
14
280 of 325(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
884 Questions | 924 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Review 1 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bikes on a car,
January 18, 2014
By Thebishop001
from Barry
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Although this carrier was a bit complicated to first set up. Once you have done it once it it very easy to fit again. I have a 1990 Ford Escort Xr3i and was worried about the rear spoiler. This carrier easily fits over the spoiler no probs. It does seem a little flexy at around 40 mph but hey its high and carrying 40 kgs with 2adult bikes and a 24"kids bike. All in all very good for the price of £49 in the sale. Very happy and would definitely recomend as there is no need for trailer board or secon reg plate. Also will fit all for hatchbacks that I have the use off. Great product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BARRY DOCK
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value,
January 07, 2014
By Soup8
from Lisburn
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great value and excellent product..staff at lisburn were more than helpful"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LISBURN
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
High mount carrier,
January 02, 2014
By NickA3
from Esher Surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: fiddly to set up
"Brought for Audi A3.
Once you get your head around the instruction and attach the 6 straps I found it fairly straight forward to mount and adjust the supports to the correct position.
Easiest way is to attach top straps with a bit of play then adjust mounts. Then attach side and lower straps to tension..
One word of warning if fixing to rear glass on hatchback use the dumbells at the side as I had to which support the rack from inside the car and not the brackets which they show on the picture using a VW Golf..It's also a good idea to protect and paintwork using some rubber..
Last point after fitting bikes readjust strap as weight of bikes can cause some slack.. Overall good for the price,but not really suitable for 3 bikes
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? NEW MALDEN
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Budget cycle carrier,
December 29, 2013
By anotherrich
from East Sussex
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Good for the price but not the easiest to set up, took a bit of playing around with the straps to get it in place. Once fitted though it does the job perfectly well. Sure there are better carriers out there but cost several times more."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TUNBRIDGE WELLS
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well,
December 18, 2013
By ChirpyC
from England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdy feel.
Cons: alternate fittings as extras
"I found this rack for my bikes to be sturdy, simple to fit and quick to remove or refit. I liked the ability to swap hooks and dumbell fittings to cater for the glas on my tailgate. 2 additional dumbells inlufed would be great, but their availability as extrasis fair."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cycle carrier experience,
December 17, 2013
By iantydu
from south wales
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: simplicity of set up
Cons: length of straps
"We have been trying to find a suitable cycle carrier for our VW Eos for some time and came across this product by chance in the Newport (Gwent) store. Once you get over the 'our fitter isn't in today' response and you post a query on line to check compatibility this has proved to be a good purchase.
Set up is relatively easy although the side straps could have been a little longer to account for the strange boot set up on the Eos. The current side strap anchor points don't appear to be strong enough (the boot gulley fixing points and not the straps - I should add) and consistently come off during journeys. Other than that, the carrier is excellent value and has allowed us to transport our cycles to other cycle routes previously unavailable without the carrier
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality oviduct,
December 12, 2013
By Walter666
from Kirkcaldy
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: sturdy construction and good high level location
Cons: not sure it would be ok for 3 cycles
"Really good product at a great special offer or ice. A 3 cycle carrier but would only be happy using it fir 2."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? KIRKCALDY
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to fit,
December 07, 2013
By forester04
from ilkeston
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"quick and easy to fit. see to be well built.instructions easy to follow although a little smal.l"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ILKESTON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says in its name,
December 07, 2013
By ay10
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bit tricky to fit first time but works well and holds bikes secure including during motorway driving."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SIMPLY THE BEST,
December 04, 2013
By ABC01
from CENTRAL SCOTLAND
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: secure dumbell fittings at the top, good enough materials, easy to fold back under bed
Cons: none
"Going on holiday, Thule and Hollywood racks recommending not to put on to my A4 Avant Rear window spoiler. Their clips were simply not up to the job. Friend steps in at last minute with his Halfords one and it transferred straight over from his Golf.
The beauty of this bike carrier is the top straps with dumbells dropping inside the tailgate at the top. In other words, it provided total confidence with my road bike.
The dumbell fittings are what sold this carrier for me. I gave my friend his carrier back and went straight out and bought my own, despite the fact it won't be used until next summer.
So impressed. If you want your bike to stay aboard your car and you have any form of plastic spoiler, then the dumbells are your answer. Top-fitting clips just don't give the same confidence. Think about it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? FALKIRK
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good carrier sturdy,
October 19, 2013
By Philastra103
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: straps that hold the bikes
Cons: finding the holes on car to attach too
"A bit fiddly getting onto car but nice and sturdy straps hold the bikes and also the rubber supports the frame. Great service too as fitted onto car for me. Does what it says it does."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value, solid mount for a bike,
October 07, 2013
By Singlereed
from Surrey, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: reasonable price, solid, fits an octavia!
Cons: heavy & bulky, limited clearance for smaller bikes, cvould do with 'dumb bells' for side straps too, instructions
"Bought this for my 2012 Skoda Octavia hatchback. It isn't easy to find any boot mounted carrier that is recommended for this car due to the glass top edge of the hatch. This carrier gets round that by having 'dumb bell' style mounts on the strap that do not stress the glass. I'm not really sure if the hooks that attach to the side of the hatch are holding on to the glass or the metal beneath, it's hard to tell. Anyway, it took closer to an hour to assemble it carefully and a few minor adjustments got it to fit right. Note the levers can be 'unscrewed' to allow the ratchet mounts to turn - not mentioned in the instructions. It is a fairly weighty but solid rack and carried a heavy ladies bike on a reasonably long journey with no wobble at all. The rubber mounts on the top bars slide freely which doesn't totally inspire confidence but they didn't seem to move with the bike and red safety straps in place. Be aware the mounting bars are some distance apart and they barely fit between the down tube and front bracket of the medium sized ladies bike we have - might not accept a small bike. Recommended you assemble it and try it out before actually having to load up and go. As someone else said, mark it so that you know how to assemble next time. Overall, a good buy that did the job for a reasonable price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? REDHILL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitting the cycle carrier,
October 06, 2013
By JT5658
from Northwich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just wanted to express my sincere thanks to Pete of the Northwich branch for his courtesy, helpfulness and professionalism in recently fitting my cycle carrier. He is a real credit to the branch and I think this is something that is worthy of recognition. Whilst penning this feedback, I should also like to thank the many other staff members who, over the years, have serviced and repaired my family's bicycles. What a pleasant and helpful set of people!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NORTHWICH
-6points
4out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
October 03, 2013
By Dank36
from Wiltshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Perfect for my saloon car, easy to install, perfect for what I needed, and matched up to the more expensive brands and in some cases it was better, as always Halfords staff in Trowbridge Wiltshire were very helpful and informative."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? TROWBRIDGE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well, bargain at half price!,
October 02, 2013
By knightjj
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Slightly confusing instructions but not an issue putting it together.
I have used it on numerous occassions for long journeys (100+ miles) and it works a treat and both bikes feel secure. However not sure i would use it for 3 bikes.
Would recommend to anyone"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords High Mount carrier,
October 02, 2013
By souly
from yorkshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Customers have to realize that this is a Fits All cycle carrier,time has to be taken to adjust this to fit your particular make of car (about an hour for Nissan Micra) just follow the instructions and illustrations.
Once this had been done and rack was fitted it performed excellent and held 2 M.T.B. cycles very securely for a fortnights trip from Yorkshire to Penzance. It took about 5 - 10 mins. to load onto car and remove once set up, can be folded easily using ratchet clamps i marked them so it was easy to unfold and lock for use.Has paid for itself just on one trip.Also no need for lighting board and has the benefit of being able to fit any future car i purchase, geat product!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier,
September 30, 2013
By FirstTimeReviewer
from Ireland
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: price (when on sale). quality, ease of use., decent quality for price, no need for light board or number plate
Cons: i can't fit 3 adult bikes on it., black rubber mounts not the most secure, blocks you rear window.
"Got this when on sale so it was pretty good value.
Can be tricky getting the plastic brackets to line up with each other, other than that it's very easy to attach to the car and quite secure when it is.
As yet I have not been able to fit three bikes to the rack. Two seems to be the limit, for adult bikes anyway.
One other thing is the black rubber mounts that the bike actually sits on. These mounts do not seem particularly secure and look like they could slip off. I tend to tie some string from a bar on the rack to the mount just to make sure they won't slip.
Overall, when purchased while on sale this carrier seems to be fairly good quality and value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CARRICKMINES (ROI)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value,
September 26, 2013
By madeupname
from Bo'ness
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value
Cons: lock seems unavailable for purchase
"Great value item, I looked at items twice the price before giving this a go. Took about 20 minutes of setting up, but not too difficult. Only used to carry one bike but I would agree with other reviewers that I would hesitate to put 3 adult bikes on it. I even forgot to strap the top tube on one trip and the additional red frame straps kept it in position.
One complaint would be that the box mentions an additional lock you can buy, but this is not on the Halfords website. If i can't buy it here then where can I buy it?
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CUMBERNAULD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier,
September 24, 2013
By Topcat57
from Leicester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have recently used this item for the first time and was extremely pleased with the ease of installation and the overall stability of the rack. It held two fairly heavy adult off road bikes very well and the high mounting profile meant that the rear lighting clusters and number plate were not obscured. (Fitted to Ford Mondeo 5 Door Hatchback 2013 Edition)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value, fitted fine on '05 Ford Fiesta,
September 20, 2013
By ac176
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is the first bike rack we've bought and it did the job well for us.
It took us quite a lot of time to get it set up, and it's definitely a 2-person job but the instructions were OK and we managed to fit it OK.
Getting our two adult bikes on took a bit of effort and I'm not sure we'd have got three bikes on. Once they were on they seemed secure.
It fitted on our Ford Fiesta without obscuring the lights of number plate.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LLANDUDNO
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
12345...17next>>