Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Carriers & Bike Racks or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting

Take your bikes wherever you fancy with the Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting.
Average Customer Rating:
4.095 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(349 Reviews) 341
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (349 reviews)
5 stars
147
4 stars
134
3 stars
39
2 stars
12
1 star
17
296 of 345(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
922 Questions | 952 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Review 1 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy piece of kit,
August 25, 2014
By Cricketfool
from Dorset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting, sturdy construction
Cons: adds to overall height of car
"This product has impressed me. It was no problem getting it to fit my Toyota Yaris and easy to put our 2 hybrid bikes on. Once the bikes are strapped on they are very secure and don't move around during driving."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHRISTCHURCH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tricky to mount but good quality,
August 25, 2014
By hmat
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the easy fix on the car
Cons: unfolding the carrier
"It won't take a lot of time to mount on the car, the tricky bit being unfolding the carrier. But once in shape it is very easy to mount on the car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubber strap,
August 24, 2014
By hippo1958
from Street somerset England
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"rubber strap to fix bike to carrier, split on first time using
no very expressed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superb bike carrier,
August 23, 2014
By RLKAY
from Lincolnshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, good solid product, keeps everything secure
"Bought this to fit my skoda fabia as both myself and my husband cycle a lot. It fits perfectly and feels really solid. It was really easy to install and I am happy that the bikes are very secure. I couldn't be happier."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BOSTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Halfords Essentials 3 bike high rear mount bike rack,
August 21, 2014
By Richard1949
from Bicester, Bicester, Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: cannot open the boot with the bike rack in positio
"Unfortunately I would NOT recommend this rack.
Although sturdy and effective once it is correctly positioned, it is a nightmare to set up and also requires adjustment every time you open the boot once mounted. It also needs initial partial assembly, even though it claims to come fully assembled.
The worst feature are the dumbells that hold the top straps in position as they need to be lowered manually every time the boot is opened to ensure they are not caught in the boot seal when reclosing the boot - it would be much better if they had fitted grips for use at the top, as well as at the bottom."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BICESTER
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terrific Bike Carrier & Customer Service - Bicester Branch & Click & Collect,
August 19, 2014
By SJC43
from Brackley, Northamptonshire NN13, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple and easy to use, great value for money, good build quality
"If you’re looking to take anything from one to three bikes on a short local journey or a longer trip for a holiday, this cycle carrier is an essential investment. It fits a our coupe and hatchback and our friends estate and is quick and easy to attach. I really like the inclusion of the Glass Screen fitting kit and the fact it folds down for simple storage in the car or on the wall between uses.
The instructions to set it up were clear and concise and only the straps needed to be attached. 6 or 7 minutes after starting to attach it and I was surprised how easily it held our three bikes (2 x adults and 1 x childs) and the build quality, (which is excellent).
This bike rack is a blend of great value and functionality at a competitive price and it can carry three bikes without breaking sweat."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BICESTER
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
August 17, 2014
By Katnip84
from North Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Initially tricky to set up, the plastic ratchets don't work so well, boyfriend had to dismantle to sort. Once sorted and fitted to car (Toyota yaris) seemed sturdy and easy to fit. As others have suggested we will use dumb bells on the side of boot as it's glass and the hooks easily pop off. Not yet travelled with it but overall a good product I feel."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Served the purpose,
August 13, 2014
By NewToBikeRacks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After purchasing a cheaper bike rack, fitting it and feeling unsure. Brought this was easy to fit and also was so much more secure than the other. felt 100% confident in this. I would definatly say you get what you pay for."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works great, but poor quality straps let it down,
August 12, 2014
By TrickyB2000
from Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: poor quality straps
"I have used this a few time for travelling 25 miles with 2 adult bikes on the back of my Scenic. As other reviews have stated, the straps do noticeable slip, and therefore tying a knot in them seems to solve this. The bottom straps frequently came loose from the car, I found that purchasing an additional strap and dumb-bell set from Halfords and securing them in the boot solved this (a tip I got from another reviewer also)
The frame is very study, easy to use and doesn't take long to assemble (especially if you have a helper). However, the poor quality straps really let this product down."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MAIDENHEAD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike Carrier.,
August 10, 2014
By TheTraveller21
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The bike carrier I purchased really worked well but I couldn't really get the third bike on properly. I've used it three times already & will continue to use it. Thanks."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy and fit for purpose cycle carrier,
August 10, 2014
By Dewy71
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: secure feel, ease of use
"Purchased this to go on the back of a Mondeo Estate for general use and for when towing a caravan. Worked exactly as I hoped. It clears the number plate, is very sturdy, and is easy to fit to the car. Have used it several times now and have been very pleased. Comes with all the straps, and rack is very secure when tightened, although I did use one or two extra to secure bikes to rack."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRIBBS CAUSEWAY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cycle carrier,
August 09, 2014
By aidy2
from Armagh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Going on holidays 5 year old son wanted to take bike to wales, so went down to halfords got 3 bike carrier. Price was good after you have fitted it once and have straps in place. takes about 20 mins, its easy to use. Only down side is you cant open boot of car when bikes are in place so make sure you have supply's in front of your car for your journey."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ARMAGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Needs better straps.,
August 07, 2014
By Mark2274
from Coventry
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: adjustable frame
Cons: poor straps
"The frame is excellent, easy to fit and adjust. But as I was told by the assistant in the store, the straps are useless!! We drove just 3 miles before the frame had moved away from the car. I would suggest that once you have tightened the straps, put a few knots in the excess length to avoid the strap slipping through the clasp. Or buy some different straps."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (ORCHARD RTL PK)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Versatile, tidy and easy to setup,
August 04, 2014
By Jathomas1996
from Exeter, Exeter, Devon, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: look, no obstruction to mirrors, easy, safe
Cons: instructions (read carefully)
"It's a small is tidy rack, my bike is pretty big but always a pain fitting onto ravks so i dont see it as a problem, it still works. Bikes are secure, boot still opens and was a 10 minute installation! Works like a charm on my Peugeot 206 Hatchback."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great!,
August 03, 2014
By Nic1111
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Was easy to assemble and held all three bikes very securely."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sturdy,
July 26, 2014
By Bigal76
from Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
"Great value for money it comes already assembled I just needed to put straps on and fit to shape of car. I've already done a couple of 60 mile round trips and it never budged a mm. Altogether a great cycle carrier"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use, robust design,
July 07, 2014
By Ankfer
from Somerset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"(on vauxhall zafira)
reasonably simple to install though altering angles of different arms not easy without second person.
higher lifting of heavier cycles won't suit all.
well constructed and keeps cycles in place.
make sure boot is packed first!!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MIDSOMER NORTON
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job well.,
July 03, 2014
By Steveetsonvelo
from Birmingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: simplicity of setting up for my car, good solid feel when attached to the car., good price for the product.
Cons: one side clip coming loose.
"Didn't take too long to get the carrier set up for my Citroen C5. As it was my first time using a cycle carrier I stopped a couple of times to check all was secure before hitting the motorways. Did the journey from Birmingham to Whitby (North Yorkshire) with no problem. So all in all very happy with it, however one slight niggle was that one of the side clips came loose. I shall replace it with a strap and dumb bell set (available from Halfords) and will then have 100% faith in it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (BORDESLEY GREEN)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rear High Mount Cycle Carrier,
June 21, 2014
By Liz18
from Ware
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Unfortunately after having assembled this item for fitting to the car, an Audi A3, we discovered that contrary to instructions we could not fit the carrier as it was vital that it be hooked to a metal fixing and our car only has plastic on the back bumper and beyond."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? HERTFORD
-4points
8out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Will take 3 bikes,
May 31, 2014
By Strongmanjohn
from Hinckley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We had never used a bike carrier before and brought this from our local Halfords where the staff were very helpful. It did take our 3 bikes safely. An adult mans mongoose bike an adult ladies Raleigh and a 24 inch wheel girls bike.
As it was our first time we were a little nervous driving along and we stopped to make sure all was secure and it was.
Made a 30 mile round trip journey no problems and managed to bike 8 miles too.
Quicker to put together on way back. Allow 20 mins for packing up.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HINCKLEY
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>