Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting

Take your bikes wherever you fancy with the Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting.
Average Customer Rating:
4.109 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(386 Reviews) 378
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (386 reviews)
5 stars
162
4 stars
153
3 stars
40
2 stars
13
1 star
18
330 of 380(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Review 1 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent productat an amazing price.,
March 01, 2015
By
from Doncaster, Doncaster, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: extra security straps, quick release adjustment.
Cons: velcro holding straps for the frame.
" The rack took about 15 minutes to set up and once fitted was really secure. The two bikes I was carrying came loose on the trip home due to high winds and leaving the wheels on, but the rack straps held them on so I could pull over on the motorway hard shoulder and sort them out. The rack itself stayed secure and saved me from a costly loss.
Great price for a fantastic piece of equipment.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ROTHERHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effective,
February 28, 2015
By
from North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Took a bit of working out how to fit it, but once fixed on it was study and steady. A good buy.
P.S. anyone with glass at the edge of their tailgate - as opposed to metal - may not be able to fit this model. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money,
February 25, 2015
By
from Dunstable, Central Bedfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
" After looking for a bike rack for some time decided to go with this one as it has good reviews! not disappointed very easy to use and very sturdy had 3 bikes on it a few times now no problems highly recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value product,
February 23, 2015
By
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price and quality
" Bought this as looking for a relatively inexpensive Bike carrier for occasional use.
I found the instructions very easy to follow and fitting myself was incredibly simple and speedy.
The quality considering the price of the product I considered to be excellent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
superb product,
February 23, 2015
By
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I paid extra to have this fitted first time and it was well worth it...i also took pictures so that on subsequent occasions i could use them for reference. ..its sturdy ...ample for my three boys bmx bikes...only downside you cannot lock it so we take combination locks to secure bikes when leaving them unattended on the car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CUMBERNAULD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick and easy to put on,
February 21, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great purchase, secure
Cons: bit fiddle for smaller bikes
" This is a really good quality bike rack that fits most cars, only niggle is that the two bars that your bike drops on to are a little wide, ok for 20 inch frames and bigger but makes it a bit fiddly for the smaller bikes. Very secure and you can be assured they will not come off. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a bike carrier,
February 16, 2015
By
from Coventry, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: once set up easy to use
Cons: instructions not very good
" Took a couple of minutes to work out but once I did it's simple to fit and seems quite secure "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (ORCHARD RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble, decent price,
January 31, 2015
By
from Tonbridge, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to assemble, strong and secure, good price, fits onto car with glass tailgate
" Easy to assemble, strong, secure and a very decent price. Fits well onto cars which have a glass tailgate. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TONBRIDGE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does as described,
January 26, 2015
By
from Coventry, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good value for money
Cons: a tight fit for 3 bikes
" The product is sold as suitable for three bikes, however, it was difficult to get two adult bikes and a childs bike on the carrier. in the end the childs had to go on without the mounts. The main draw back is that i was supplied with an older version which clips on to the boot without any protection for the paintwork.
Bikes were secure with two additional straps.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High Mount Cycle Carrier,
January 26, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a well-built carrier with six securing points to instil confidence in the bikes being safely transported.
The high mounting position negates the need for a lighting board keeping costs down.
Well worth considering.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good,
January 22, 2015
By
from Somerset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: it sits up high, folds away nicely, easy to use once set up
Cons: straps to secure bike poor i bought extra, first time set up fiddly
" I ordered online but was advised to visit the store as they couldn't say if it would fit my car or not. A W reg. Peugeot 306 Gti hatchback, I was told due to the small spoiler on the top of the boot that it wouldn't fit. I bought it anyway and it fits perfectly without touching the spoiler. Make sure the rack sits well up, each joint is pre marked with locking positions. Ignore them and use some common sense.
It is a fiddle getting it set up first time, you need two pairs of hands for initial set up, once that's done it does the job fine. One person set up.
All it misses are some small patches of material or rubber to stop the metal side classp's and the other straps rubbing the paint work. I've made my own. For the price it's a good rack.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? WELLS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Right for the price,
January 20, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" First thing you should do is check it before you leave the store. I reserved mine and it was put aside for my collection. I didn't check it (thinking they would of done that) until I got home and there were no straps inside and the frame was scratched like it had been used/dragged along the floor. After another trip I got a replacement and it seems ok. All you have to do is fit the straps and attach it to your car. Easy as that. I did notice where the plastic caps go in the end of the metal tubes has rust around all of them so it's certainly not the best out there but for £49 it's not bad. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3 bike mount rack,
January 19, 2015
By
from Exmouth, Devon, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The assembly instructions could do with a bit of tweaking, as they were not clear, took a little working out. Other than that its exactly what we need and does what it says on the tin "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EXMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neat Product,
January 19, 2015
By
from Stratford-upon-Avon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good price
" Neat, well made and fir for purpose. Good for use on the yundai ix35 "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STRATFORD UPON AVON
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rear High Cycle Mount,
January 18, 2015
By
from Kent, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value
Cons: side straps
" I already had one of these which needed replacing as it had been used practically every day and was simply worn out ! I shopped around but decided to get the same again as it is great value for money. I have transported 3 bikes before but it is a squeeze, it will comfortably carry 2 though. It is incredibly easy to fit although I do not like the straps which clip onto the side of the boot. I notice a previous review states that this design has changed but my purchase still has the side clips. Fortunately these are load baring, so not too much of a problem if they come undone ! This is the cheapest carrier I've found and having used one previously I'm more than happy to purchase the same again. If you want top performance and equipment, it will cost a lot more ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? CHATHAM
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to set up and use...,
January 11, 2015
By
from West Kilbride, Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I found the carrier very easy to set up and use. Good value for money.
Great not having to use a separate lighting board.
Be aware that you do have to lift the cycles pretty high to get them onto the carrier, so not suitable for anyone without enough upper body strength.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? IRVINE
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick and easy to fit,
January 10, 2015
By
from Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: adjustable to fit to most cars, easy to fit, easy to read instructions
Cons: my sons 16 " wheel dosent fit, can t open tail gate with rack on
" Great cycle rack, fits easily to the car only 6 straps ,feels secure ,the only con is my sons bike which has 16 " wheels dosent fit on it "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
versatile,
November 11, 2014
By
from EX39, United Kingdom
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I bought this rack because it should fit various makes and models of cars. The first outing was in a 56 plate Zafira. Easy to follow instructions soon had it fitted and loaded with 3 bikes. It is sturdy and remained in place during the 150 mile trip. Second outing in a 52 plate micra and again it performed well. A great product at a superb price. I challenge you to find a better product cheaper. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BARNSTAPLE
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what you want it to,
November 04, 2014
By
from North East
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I was originally looking at higher priced carriers just because I felt a bit uneasy about lower end products, however, I took a punt on this and I'm not disappointed.
Instructions are easy to follow along with the installation video on Halfords' website
The design has changed slightly (for the better) to that on the video. The top and bottom fixing straps are the same but the middle straps have been altered. Rather than clipping onto the side of your boot, a single strap travels around the inside of the boot and back out the other side to then fix onto the carrier. There are 2 benefits to this: firstly, you feel safer knowing the straps can't unclip, and secondly, your paintwork won't get damaged by the clips.
One gripe with the design is with the clips that hold the bike's top tube onto the carrier. Although they haven't even come close to coming undone, it just doesn't look very secure once clipped in. There is another strap which is used in addition to these though, Also, for peace of mind I bought an extra strap but it really isn't necessary.
In terms of practicality I easily attached 2 large bikes, a third may be a bit of a squeeze but haven't needed to try it yet. When not in use the rack can be folded pretty much flat and so is easily stored away.
Hit speeds of 70mph along the motorway and the rack didn't budge at all,
My fuel efficiency dropped by about 1mpg when using the rack which isn't too bad in my opinion.
All in all i'm very happy with it, does the job you want at an affordable price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SUNDERLAND
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Strap Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not work!!!!!!!!!!!!!,
October 29, 2014
By
from Grantham
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: buckles and clips, strapping stretches at speed, frame deforms under tension
" The rubber coated side clips worn through to the metal after its first journey. They also kept coming off and had to stop six time through my journey, and that was with only two adult bikes! The bars the bikes mount to are too wide for female bikes and my adult male bike was just as tricky due to the gap between cross bar and top bar. The bar also has bare metal ends which scratched my bike when I lifted it on. After tightening it down the frame of the rack started to deform, yet when on the faster roads the pads which sit across the rear windscreen were hovering as the straps stretched and the clips slipped. I drive a 61 plate ford focus. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GRANTHAM
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>