Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting

The Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting can carry up to 3 bikes on your journey.
Average Customer Rating:
4.056 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(125 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (125 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
57
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
10
106 of 122(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
637 Questions | 662 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Review 1 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rear Mount Carrier,
December 02, 2011
By Divan
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: stable, secure, average weight
Cons: doesn't fold completely flat
"Bought this as I got tired of loading my dirty MTB in the back of the car. Easy to set up at first use & even easier every other time you use it. Stable and secure even when traveling at 70MPH. Rubber coated "claws" prevent scratches when attached to the rear of car.
I personally use some extra bungie cord and foam between the bikes to secure them as the two straps attached in my opinion don't completely stop the bikes from moving around while being transported and thus causes the bikes to rub against each other.
The only main downfall I find is that it doesn't fold completely flat, so does create a storage issue, unless you completely dismantle the rack.
Overall a great product at a reasonable price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Robust and The Best,
September 24, 2011
By chal
from Knutsford, Cheshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: robust
Cons: saloons limit it's capacity.
"Easy to assemble and quick to fit to car. It is capable of carrying up to 2 bikes safely on my saloon car. Suits me fine."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
save money,
April 05, 2014
By matt159888
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Kept falling of our Santa fe.wouldn't hold secure then when tensioning it to secure it the plastic broke. Very poor wouldn't trust my expensive bikes on this at all! Disappointed as looking forward to a trip now no bikes not happy! Avoid!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great idea, but let down by the,
September 28, 2013
By Ianski
from Dorset
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of setup
Cons: does not flat pack easily, very bulky, easy to overtighten and break plastic
"Positives:
+ Really easy to set up (<10 mins)
+ Feels solid
+ Once set up, easy to get on/off
Negatives:
- Heavier than it looks
- If you park up and leave the car it would be easy to remove the entire unit, so you need to remove and secure it if you've got the bikes off and are going for a ride
- Very long when broken down (only just fits into boot of my estate car when I put the extendible feet back to smallest setting)
- Doesn't break down flat for storage unless you remove the thumb screw nuts (which does make taking off/setting up a little more of a hassle)
- Based on above two points, it loses the easy to put on/take off positive unless you dont need it to flat pack and have a bigger boot that mine
- The car list supplied in pack stops at cars around 2008 (eg. I have a 2013 estate, but last version referred to in paperwork is 2007 so you have to take a leap of faith)
Biggest watch out is step 8 of the instructions as it states "progressively tighten the levers" until solid. If you go a little too far then the plastic snaps (I will be back to Halfords for two replacement plastic parts)."
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? DORCHESTER
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job,
September 20, 2013
By Bobtk
from Cambridgeshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very happy with this product. Easy to fit , felt very sturdy on my vehicle ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An easy fit bike rack,
September 18, 2013
By Jessica831
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We bought it for carrying 2 adult bikes and 1 boy bike. It showed no problem at all. It is easy to fit on the car as well (5 minutes' job)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Eventually a good product.,
September 13, 2013
By SouthbourneSid
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: assembly instructions
"The assembly instructions left a lot to be desired, and confirming that the rack was suitable for my car was also hard work.
Now it's set up it's fine. It's easy to fix onto the car and to remove after use. Fixing the bike onto it was easy too.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good solid product,
August 17, 2013
By rolster
from Bournemouth
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought this to carry two adult and one child's mountain bike. The instructions were fairly easy to follow, but I still had some problems assembling it. That said,the carrier is very easy to use once you get the hang of fitting it to your car. It's on and off in a few minutes,and is much better than the strap carriers.
The only criticism I have is that mounting 3 bikes is quite a challenge-more a 2 bike carrier than a 3.
I would recommend it for it's ease of use.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? POOLE (RINGWOOD RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Check spec list before buying,
July 28, 2013
By gillybob
from Leeds
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: sturdy fit
Cons: can scratch underside of boot
"Was convinced I had checked that this would fit Audi A6 2.0 TDi Avant saloon..... but then found not list included in the packaging....aarghh! and product states only use on those makes / models listed in the spec sheet.
But I have used it - based on the A4 Avant saloon spec. Only had to change one of the settings from B to C.
Held 3 adult bikes (had to take off handle bars to fit)
Felt very sturdy and secure when fitted without the bikes.
Once bikes added it does add weight such that the clamps on the underside of the boot drop but was still secure.
Does scratch the underside of the boot - would recommend some better protection around these points.
Overall though sturdy product and would recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? GUISELEY
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid product, easy assembly...,
July 22, 2013
By Ironcap
from Falkirk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy assembly
Cons: none so far
"Fitted the cycle rack to a new 2013 Ford Focus with no issues at all. Set up time was a lot less than I expected with clear instructions.
Clamping system very easy to use and gave me confidence when driving.
Added extra protection using foam pipe insulation just in case.
"
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? FALKIRK
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
X3 downhill Mountain bikes on Audi A4 estate,
June 24, 2013
By DownhillDan
from Sutton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After hunting around for a cycle rack that would carry 3 full suspension mountain bikes we decided to take the plunge and buy this rack.
All 3 bikes fit on the carrier with sufficient space between the frames. We did remove wheels on 2 of them so it wasn't over loaded.
Very easy to assemble. Easy to fit to the car and even easier to remove.
One thing I did do was remove the rubber mounting blocks on the carrier and replaced them with 2 lengths of foam pipe insulation for added frame protection. Removed the Velcro straps from the rubber blocks to secure the bikes to the carrier.
WORKS LIKE A DREAM!!
Very impressed
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First bike rack ever bought,
June 23, 2013
By becstar
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Once worked out the instructions it was very easy to fit to my audi a3 hatchback. Would definitely recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not good,
June 12, 2013
By abc8910
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"A robust rear rack but unfortunately the number plate and tail/brake lights are partially obscured when bikes are loaded. Car is A3 Sportback. Therefore not strictly legal without lighting board and additional number plate. Returned to Halfords for full refund without quibble."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hyundai i30,
May 26, 2013
By number9scores
from cumbria
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"bought this for a rover 214 6yrs ago. have just bought kit 2 to fit it to Hyundai i30. followed instructions and used settings c,2,z. It doesn't fit. Are these incorrect instructions? Anyone else fitted it to i30?"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If Only,
May 20, 2013
By KanMac31
from Lanark
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"the cycle rack was excellent, only slight problem was that the rack did not fit my car. But hey-ho took it back and replaced it no problem. Who needs Marks and Sparks"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? LANARK
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good sturdy product,
April 21, 2013
By Penelope1414
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was really pleased with this product as we have two large cruiser bikes and this bike rack is the best so far. A tow bar was too expensive so we needed to find a rally strong rack that wouldn't damage the car or bikes. This is it!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHRISTCHURCH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier,
April 15, 2013
By Billie63
from S Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Found it a bite difficult to put on the car on my own, but when fixed on way verv stable"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CWMBRAN
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
wish I had all the kits,
April 05, 2013
By emptywallet
from cumbria
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this just before all the kits were supplied. Once I changed cars I had to buy another fixing kit. Ridiculously priced for a couple of bits of metal. Has "we saw you coming" written all over it. Please take care when fitting the clamps to the hatch as they will scratch paintwork if not covered."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WORKINGTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good,
February 23, 2013
By Mandy99
from Hampshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"No complaints, easy to assemble, instructions clear. I bought this to put my wheelchair on my car instead of wasting boot space. Loving it! It fits perfectly to car and chair very secure, just got some extra straps for peace of mind but not really sure we needed them. Drive very comfortable with this attached. Excellent buy and Halfords staff brilliant"
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike rack but not cheap.,
November 14, 2012
By Dave13
from stoke on trent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: fits to both of our cars a focus and ka
Cons: straps could be better.
"Instructions were not the easiest to follow. Once you have grasped this the rack is easy to get on and off the car. The bike feels secure however the straps provided could be better. Overall an excellant product which is not particularily cheap but is good quality and does exactly what it needs to."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
12345...7next>>