Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting

Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Average Customer Rating:
3.851 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
29
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
8
56 of 70(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
699 Questions | 685 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Review 1 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rear Mount Carrier,
December 02, 2011
By
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: stable, secure, average weight
Cons: doesn't fold completely flat
" Bought this as I got tired of loading my dirty MTB in the back of the car. Easy to set up at first use & even easier every other time you use it. Stable and secure even when traveling at 70MPH. Rubber coated "claws" prevent scratches when attached to the rear of car.
I personally use some extra bungie cord and foam between the bikes to secure them as the two straps attached in my opinion don't completely stop the bikes from moving around while being transported and thus causes the bikes to rub against each other.
The only main downfall I find is that it doesn't fold completely flat, so does create a storage issue, unless you completely dismantle the rack.
Overall a great product at a reasonable price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+66points
75out of 84found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Robust and The Best,
September 24, 2011
By
from Knutsford, Cheshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: robust
Cons: saloons limit it's capacity.
" Easy to assemble and quick to fit to car. It is capable of carrying up to 2 bikes safely on my saloon car. Suits me fine. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+7points
14out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money product,
June 12, 2016
By
from Manchester, Manchester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price, ease of build
Cons: can damage paint if clamped straight onto boot lid
" If you watch the video on halfords website first before you put the bike rack together it makes the build process much easier.
The bike rack seems very secure when tightened down but i feel there should be some sort of paint protective device included as my paintwork has become damaged on the boot lip above the bumper where the rack has clamped up.
I have since purchased some door edge protectors to clamp down onto for the next time I use it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ASHTON UNDER LYNE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality bike rack,
June 03, 2016
By
from Wallasey, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Robust and well designed. Easy to assemble and very quick to load bikes. A great product and much improved from my previous cycle carriers. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin,
March 26, 2016
By
from West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Fairly easy to assemble with good instructions.
Fits a wide range of vehicles.
It is well made and sturdy when fitted to the vehicle.
My only concern is the plastic coated clips which attach the rack to the vehicle, the plastic coating is very thin making it easy to scratch the vehicle.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not high enough to avoid lights and reg plate,
March 22, 2016
By
from Cheshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This looks like a great rack, but didn't work on our Seat Alhambra/Galaxy/Sharan because it doesn't sit high enough up to avoid the lights and number plate. We would therefore have needed to use a separate lighting board. It also hung a long way back off the car which we weren't too happy with. Probably fine on other cars. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rear cycle mount,
March 13, 2016
By
from colchester, essex, uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Experience product, once I'd got my head around the fitting instructions and understood the principles of how it was to fit I was on my way.
It wasn't the easiest to fit on my own but was achievable.
Fitting and securing the bikes was easy and had no problems with 3 bikes.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CLACTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exodus high bike carrier,
November 18, 2015
By
from Dublin, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: universal fit multiple cars
Cons: bit awkward for storage
" Great universal product fits both our cars and very different models. Plus point still able to open boot of car with bike carrier and bike staying secure. Number plate and lights not obstructed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CARRICKMINES (ROI)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great design,
November 15, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The instructions were easy to follow and although it took me about 45 ins to fit, I am sure others would find it takes less time. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says,
October 29, 2015
By
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Although this is a bit of a beast to set up the first time it's a good bike carrier. After first use it's straightforward. It feels solidly fixed on the hatchback and the bike is secure. It folds fairly flat after use.The setting up instructions for a 06-13 Nissan Note are not quite correct. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (SELLY OAK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Happy with this product,
September 02, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good build, can be fitted quickly and easily after initial set
Cons: can be easily taken off my car by anyone
" This is a good value product, seems of sturdy build, good instructions for fitting, fits a wide variety of cars. I'm happy with it.
I was lucky my bike fit onto it, it seems designed for large bikes and I had to hook it on by the seatstays but it goes on rock solid so I don't mind that.
I'd be a little worried about security as this can be removed from my car in just a few seconds without needing access to the car, this is handy for me but also for thieves.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A quality cycle carrier,
August 24, 2015
By
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" In the past I've had experience of using flimsy cheap cycle racks and they are not worth the risk of loosing your cycles,damaging your car and at worst a danger to other road users.
So, after doing a bit of research I settled for the Halfords Exodus Rear High Mount 3.
The carrier came complete with simple to follow instructions that must be adhered to strictly for your particular model of car.
Once assembled the rack should be offered up to your car for fitting and I would advise help to lift carefully into place as it's easy to scratch your car (I did!)
Once fitted and adjusted according to the instructions the rack feels very secure and gives confidence in the product.
There is a big 'but', though. I fitted my rack and drove to a cycle shop to pick up two new adult male Hybrid cycles only to find that the cycles could not be mounted on the rack support arms as they are too far apart!!
It took me a long time to fit the cycles onto the rack and although they were safe they were not at all as I would have liked them.
I should not have recycled all the packaging so prematurely as I would definitely have returned the rack to Halfords. It puzzles me how they can manufacture such a good carrier that doesn't actually accept standard cycles.
To any potential buyers, this is a superb rack albeit a bit heavy and bulky to put in the back of your car, but do check the measurement available under your crossbar before you buy and get the Halford staff to check that against their rack measurements.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HORSHAM
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitted and used,
August 20, 2015
By
from West Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Brought this following a recommendation.
Roy at Halfords fitted it. Did a very good job. Put the bike on and drove back home without any difficulty. I learned how to adjust it and take it on and off. Fits the bill. Cost £115
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value, easy to install,
August 17, 2015
By
from Dublin, Ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value, reassuringly stable, easy to install
Cons: hard to store when not in use, needed to purchase a few extra straps and bungees
" Ideally would have preferred a more expensive roof mounted solution but this did the job nicely for the price. "
Which Store did you visit? CARRICKMINES (ROI)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good but vague instructions,
August 05, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good product but vague instructions as to had tight to tighten the fixings. Also it will mark the paintwork if you are not very meticulous in cleaning car and rack "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says,
August 03, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product.
you can still open the boot when its on. good build quality. need to read the instructions corefully due to it fitting so many car models.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good quality bike carrier,
July 28, 2015
By
from Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, stable on windy journeys
" Just bought this at the last minute and it is great. It was very easy to fit to our car and seemed really sturdy, the bikes did not move at all when we drove the 250 miles to Wales on a windy day. Would have preferred it to be a bit higher up on the car but that is probably just the type of car we own. Would really recommend this product "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product,
July 28, 2015
By
from Runcorn, Halton, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Ordered bike carrier off the internet 11.30am, I also said that I would like them to fit it. One hour later, phone call from Halfords Speke asking when would I like to have it fitted. I said later that day would be great. Booked in for 3pm. Arrived at Speke, assistant said if we went for a walk/coffee around the shopping park the work would be complete in 45 minutes. Came back later and fitter explained how it worked, told me how to adapt it to another car and gave me the certificate. Can't ask for more than that "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SPEKE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 new bike ruined,
June 21, 2015
By
from York, York, York, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Bought the rack with two brand new bikes, assembled and seemed a little loose on the car checked the instructions and, put the bikes on and it seemed it fitted alot better and secure. 5 miles on a country road and it came off. Huge scratch on the car and £800 off new bikes ruined. Do not buy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
-3points
6out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A good rack ruined by a few cheap components,
May 31, 2015
By
from Midlands
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought one of these racks for a trip abroad. First outing a small plastic component snapped. its part of a cam fitting that pulls the rack tight onto the car. immediate thought is that i overtightened but i can assure you i didn't! After halfords replaced the component i noticed that it started to split again. unfortunately i was now in Belgium. Getting ready for the homeward journey the other side snapped too. this is a really good rack - but some of the crucial bits aren't up to the job. after spending 450 miles looking in the rear view mirror to see if my bikes are still there i'll be asking for a refund and going for the Thule equivalent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>