Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting

Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Average Customer Rating:
3.987 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(149 Reviews) 145
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (149 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
62
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
14
123 of 145(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
699 Questions | 685 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Review 1 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rear Mount Carrier,
December 02, 2011
By
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: stable, secure, average weight
Cons: doesn't fold completely flat
" Bought this as I got tired of loading my dirty MTB in the back of the car. Easy to set up at first use & even easier every other time you use it. Stable and secure even when traveling at 70MPH. Rubber coated "claws" prevent scratches when attached to the rear of car.
I personally use some extra bungie cord and foam between the bikes to secure them as the two straps attached in my opinion don't completely stop the bikes from moving around while being transported and thus causes the bikes to rub against each other.
The only main downfall I find is that it doesn't fold completely flat, so does create a storage issue, unless you completely dismantle the rack.
Overall a great product at a reasonable price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+60points
67out of 74found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Robust and The Best,
September 24, 2011
By
from Knutsford, Cheshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: robust
Cons: saloons limit it's capacity.
" Easy to assemble and quick to fit to car. It is capable of carrying up to 2 bikes safely on my saloon car. Suits me fine. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A quality cycle carrier,
August 24, 2015
By
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" In the past I've had experience of using flimsy cheap cycle racks and they are not worth the risk of loosing your cycles,damaging your car and at worst a danger to other road users.
So, after doing a bit of research I settled for the Halfords Exodus Rear High Mount 3.
The carrier came complete with simple to follow instructions that must be adhered to strictly for your particular model of car.
Once assembled the rack should be offered up to your car for fitting and I would advise help to lift carefully into place as it's easy to scratch your car (I did!)
Once fitted and adjusted according to the instructions the rack feels very secure and gives confidence in the product.
There is a big 'but', though. I fitted my rack and drove to a cycle shop to pick up two new adult male Hybrid cycles only to find that the cycles could not be mounted on the rack support arms as they are too far apart!!
It took me a long time to fit the cycles onto the rack and although they were safe they were not at all as I would have liked them.
I should not have recycled all the packaging so prematurely as I would definitely have returned the rack to Halfords. It puzzles me how they can manufacture such a good carrier that doesn't actually accept standard cycles.
To any potential buyers, this is a superb rack albeit a bit heavy and bulky to put in the back of your car, but do check the measurement available under your crossbar before you buy and get the Halford staff to check that against their rack measurements.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HORSHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitted and used,
August 20, 2015
By
from West Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Brought this following a recommendation.
Roy at Halfords fitted it. Did a very good job. Put the bike on and drove back home without any difficulty. I learned how to adjust it and take it on and off. Fits the bill. Cost £115
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value, easy to install,
August 17, 2015
By
from Dublin, Ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value, reassuringly stable, easy to install
Cons: hard to store when not in use, needed to purchase a few extra straps and bungees
" Ideally would have preferred a more expensive roof mounted solution but this did the job nicely for the price. "
Which Store did you visit? CARRICKMINES (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good but vague instructions,
August 05, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good product but vague instructions as to had tight to tighten the fixings. Also it will mark the paintwork if you are not very meticulous in cleaning car and rack "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says,
August 03, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product.
you can still open the boot when its on. good build quality. need to read the instructions corefully due to it fitting so many car models.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good quality bike carrier,
July 28, 2015
By
from Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, stable on windy journeys
" Just bought this at the last minute and it is great. It was very easy to fit to our car and seemed really sturdy, the bikes did not move at all when we drove the 250 miles to Wales on a windy day. Would have preferred it to be a bit higher up on the car but that is probably just the type of car we own. Would really recommend this product "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product,
July 28, 2015
By
from Runcorn, Halton, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Ordered bike carrier off the internet 11.30am, I also said that I would like them to fit it. One hour later, phone call from Halfords Speke asking when would I like to have it fitted. I said later that day would be great. Booked in for 3pm. Arrived at Speke, assistant said if we went for a walk/coffee around the shopping park the work would be complete in 45 minutes. Came back later and fitter explained how it worked, told me how to adapt it to another car and gave me the certificate. Can't ask for more than that "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SPEKE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 new bike ruined,
June 21, 2015
By
from York, York, York, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Bought the rack with two brand new bikes, assembled and seemed a little loose on the car checked the instructions and, put the bikes on and it seemed it fitted alot better and secure. 5 miles on a country road and it came off. Huge scratch on the car and £800 off new bikes ruined. Do not buy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A good rack ruined by a few cheap components,
May 31, 2015
By
from Midlands
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought one of these racks for a trip abroad. First outing a small plastic component snapped. its part of a cam fitting that pulls the rack tight onto the car. immediate thought is that i overtightened but i can assure you i didn't! After halfords replaced the component i noticed that it started to split again. unfortunately i was now in Belgium. Getting ready for the homeward journey the other side snapped too. this is a really good rack - but some of the crucial bits aren't up to the job. after spending 450 miles looking in the rear view mirror to see if my bikes are still there i'll be asking for a refund and going for the Thule equivalent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wasn't easy but once fitted it's TOP!,
April 04, 2015
By
from Burnley, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: strong, sturdy, easy to put bikes on
Cons: instructions are not correct for all cars.
" I fitted this to my Fiesta MK 7 the instructions in the manual are wrong it's just impossible to fit with the said instructions has to fiddle around and change which slot they had to go in, but after a few hours it's all set and excellent, took it on the motorway with 3 bikes and travelled at 70MPH very sturdy works fine! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BURNLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Beware on automatice opening boots.,
February 20, 2015
By
from East Sussex
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Paid to have this fitted & glad as it took Halfords team 45 mins.
Not the easiest to get bikes on as they need to be lifted high & I'm short.
2 weeks after fitting our boot wouldn't shut, took to garage who told me the weight of the bike rack had caused the mechanism to overwork & burn out. Cost us just under £400 to have a new one fitted.
Needless to say we have now removed the rack!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HASTINGS (BEXHILL)
-5points
5out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good purchase,
February 04, 2015
By
from Broadbridge Heath, Horsham, West Sussex RH12, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: needs additional ties
" I bought this rack after speaking with the staff at Halfords in Broadbridge Heath/Horsham who recommended it to me. They fitted it for me and made sure I knew how to fit and remove it myself. I have used it a number of times now and it carries my mountain bike very securely. The downside is is that I have a Voodoo Bizango which has a large frame and is too large for the Velcro strips to secure it in place. This is easily remedied with the use of additional bungee ties which ensures that bike is secure. I am very pleased with it and think that the staff at Halfords were excellent "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HORSHAM
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well made product,
January 24, 2015
By
from Derby, Derby, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I have only used the product twice so far, but it performed very well. It was stable and firm. No damage to car was seen. However the straps provided were not as good as I would have liked. However this is a small point and can be easily remedied. Overall very good buy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service was great,
January 06, 2015
By
from North London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Quite blown away by just how helpful and knowledgleable the staff were. They fitted the unit in minutes and also would not let me drive off until they were sure I knew how to assemble and disassemble.
They were great - really happy with the cycle carrier and bike we bought. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FRIERN BARNET
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nearly Good,
December 03, 2014
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: sturdy and secure, attaches well to the car
Cons: difficult to place bikes onto
" Overall this bike rack is extremely sturdy and easy to set-up. You have trust in it whilst driving which is obviously important.
Unfortunately it arrived with a broken part, which would have been picked up if the product was quality inspected before it left the factory. However I didn't find it until I'd built the whole thing and fitted it to the car. Too late to really take it back.
Somewhat surprising is that the pitch between the forks that hold the bikes is wider that one of my bike frames which is also from Halfords, so it sort of part sits on the rack (but is still secure) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? RUISLIP
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit and remove,
October 16, 2014
By
from Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" As a female and of small build I find this cycle carrier simple to handle. I am able to fit and remove with ease even though the carrier is made of tough material and very robust. The bikes are straightforward to secure and I am comfortable and confident when driving.
When the carrier is not in use it folds flat making it easy to store.
Overall a very good purchase.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good if fitted well, tricky to fit properly,
October 12, 2014
By
from Gloucestershire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the design principle
Cons: the build quality and instructions
" A bill for new pedals, bottom bracket and brake caliper were my reward for misreading the small font in the instructions. There are several model-dependent adjustments and one or two confusing or incomplete instructions like: "it may be necessary to pre-bend the metal brackets before fitting". My own fault perhaps but it's easy to get a setting wrong. I also found the plastic plates which the release levers push down against broke quickly and the plastic recesses in which the metal bolt ends are seated are too soft for their job.
If fitted well first time, without any over tightening then the carrier feels secure but a bit more should be invested in the quality of this product, it's adjustments and it's instructions.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STROUD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good idea, poor performance,
August 19, 2014
By
from Wales, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: fitted my car
Cons: good for only one bike
" Was really good with just one bike, with two bikes the straps weren't effective in keeping the bikes stable. We had to use padding to keep the bikes apart and extra straps to keep them secure. Would return this item if my husband hadn't ripped up the box. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? CAERPHILLY
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>