Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting

Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Average Customer Rating:
3.979 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(145 Reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (145 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
61
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
14
120 of 142(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
699 Questions | 685 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Review 1 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rear Mount Carrier,
December 02, 2011
By Divan
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: stable, secure, average weight
Cons: doesn't fold completely flat
" Bought this as I got tired of loading my dirty MTB in the back of the car. Easy to set up at first use & even easier every other time you use it. Stable and secure even when traveling at 70MPH. Rubber coated "claws" prevent scratches when attached to the rear of car.
I personally use some extra bungie cord and foam between the bikes to secure them as the two straps attached in my opinion don't completely stop the bikes from moving around while being transported and thus causes the bikes to rub against each other.
The only main downfall I find is that it doesn't fold completely flat, so does create a storage issue, unless you completely dismantle the rack.
Overall a great product at a reasonable price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+61points
67out of 73found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Robust and The Best,
September 24, 2011
By chal
from Knutsford, Cheshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: robust
Cons: saloons limit it's capacity.
" Easy to assemble and quick to fit to car. It is capable of carrying up to 2 bikes safely on my saloon car. Suits me fine. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says,
August 03, 2015
By philmash
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product.
you can still open the boot when its on. good build quality. need to read the instructions corefully due to it fitting so many car models.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good quality bike carrier,
July 28, 2015
By alibee07
from Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, stable on windy journeys
" Just bought this at the last minute and it is great. It was very easy to fit to our car and seemed really sturdy, the bikes did not move at all when we drove the 250 miles to Wales on a windy day. Would have preferred it to be a bit higher up on the car but that is probably just the type of car we own. Would really recommend this product "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product,
July 28, 2015
By EldonG
from Runcorn, Halton, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Ordered bike carrier off the internet 11.30am, I also said that I would like them to fit it. One hour later, phone call from Halfords Speke asking when would I like to have it fitted. I said later that day would be great. Booked in for 3pm. Arrived at Speke, assistant said if we went for a walk/coffee around the shopping park the work would be complete in 45 minutes. Came back later and fitter explained how it worked, told me how to adapt it to another car and gave me the certificate. Can't ask for more than that "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SPEKE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 new bike ruined,
June 21, 2015
By Ben1305
from York, York, York, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Bought the rack with two brand new bikes, assembled and seemed a little loose on the car checked the instructions and, put the bikes on and it seemed it fitted alot better and secure. 5 miles on a country road and it came off. Huge scratch on the car and £800 off new bikes ruined. Do not buy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A good rack ruined by a few cheap components,
May 31, 2015
By AndyS73
from Midlands
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought one of these racks for a trip abroad. First outing a small plastic component snapped. its part of a cam fitting that pulls the rack tight onto the car. immediate thought is that i overtightened but i can assure you i didn't! After halfords replaced the component i noticed that it started to split again. unfortunately i was now in Belgium. Getting ready for the homeward journey the other side snapped too. this is a really good rack - but some of the crucial bits aren't up to the job. after spending 450 miles looking in the rear view mirror to see if my bikes are still there i'll be asking for a refund and going for the Thule equivalent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wasn't easy but once fitted it's TOP!,
April 04, 2015
By Anonymous
from Burnley, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: strong, sturdy, easy to put bikes on
Cons: instructions are not correct for all cars.
" I fitted this to my Fiesta MK 7 the instructions in the manual are wrong it's just impossible to fit with the said instructions has to fiddle around and change which slot they had to go in, but after a few hours it's all set and excellent, took it on the motorway with 3 bikes and travelled at 70MPH very sturdy works fine! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BURNLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Beware on automatice opening boots.,
February 20, 2015
By Jo74
from East Sussex
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Paid to have this fitted & glad as it took Halfords team 45 mins.
Not the easiest to get bikes on as they need to be lifted high & I'm short.
2 weeks after fitting our boot wouldn't shut, took to garage who told me the weight of the bike rack had caused the mechanism to overwork & burn out. Cost us just under £400 to have a new one fitted.
Needless to say we have now removed the rack!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HASTINGS (BEXHILL)
-3points
5out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good purchase,
February 04, 2015
By karyn37
from Broadbridge Heath, Horsham, West Sussex RH12, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: needs additional ties
" I bought this rack after speaking with the staff at Halfords in Broadbridge Heath/Horsham who recommended it to me. They fitted it for me and made sure I knew how to fit and remove it myself. I have used it a number of times now and it carries my mountain bike very securely. The downside is is that I have a Voodoo Bizango which has a large frame and is too large for the Velcro strips to secure it in place. This is easily remedied with the use of additional bungee ties which ensures that bike is secure. I am very pleased with it and think that the staff at Halfords were excellent "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HORSHAM
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well made product,
January 24, 2015
By Frogeen
from Derby, Derby, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I have only used the product twice so far, but it performed very well. It was stable and firm. No damage to car was seen. However the straps provided were not as good as I would have liked. However this is a small point and can be easily remedied. Overall very good buy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Service was great,
January 06, 2015
By Andrewj123
from North London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Quite blown away by just how helpful and knowledgleable the staff were. They fitted the unit in minutes and also would not let me drive off until they were sure I knew how to assemble and disassemble.
They were great - really happy with the cycle carrier and bike we bought. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FRIERN BARNET
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nearly Good,
December 03, 2014
By Arjpowell
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: sturdy and secure, attaches well to the car
Cons: difficult to place bikes onto
" Overall this bike rack is extremely sturdy and easy to set-up. You have trust in it whilst driving which is obviously important.
Unfortunately it arrived with a broken part, which would have been picked up if the product was quality inspected before it left the factory. However I didn't find it until I'd built the whole thing and fitted it to the car. Too late to really take it back.
Somewhat surprising is that the pitch between the forks that hold the bikes is wider that one of my bike frames which is also from Halfords, so it sort of part sits on the rack (but is still secure) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? RUISLIP
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit and remove,
October 16, 2014
By VezLou
from Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" As a female and of small build I find this cycle carrier simple to handle. I am able to fit and remove with ease even though the carrier is made of tough material and very robust. The bikes are straightforward to secure and I am comfortable and confident when driving.
When the carrier is not in use it folds flat making it easy to store.
Overall a very good purchase.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good if fitted well, tricky to fit properly,
October 12, 2014
By Sleepingpoliceman
from Gloucestershire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the design principle
Cons: the build quality and instructions
" A bill for new pedals, bottom bracket and brake caliper were my reward for misreading the small font in the instructions. There are several model-dependent adjustments and one or two confusing or incomplete instructions like: "it may be necessary to pre-bend the metal brackets before fitting". My own fault perhaps but it's easy to get a setting wrong. I also found the plastic plates which the release levers push down against broke quickly and the plastic recesses in which the metal bolt ends are seated are too soft for their job.
If fitted well first time, without any over tightening then the carrier feels secure but a bit more should be invested in the quality of this product, it's adjustments and it's instructions.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STROUD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good idea, poor performance,
August 19, 2014
By Bike99Halfords
from Wales, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: fitted my car
Cons: good for only one bike
" Was really good with just one bike, with two bikes the straps weren't effective in keeping the bikes stable. We had to use padding to keep the bikes apart and extra straps to keep them secure. Would return this item if my husband hadn't ripped up the box. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? CAERPHILLY
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does exactly what it says on the tin,
August 17, 2014
By Mavientes
from Aintree, Liverpool
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: carries 3 adult bikes, easy to set up, sturdy
Cons: instructions don't cover all cars, will need reg plate depending on make of car
" Ok first things first. Some people are saying it doesn't take 3 bikes, well that's a lie. This has taken my 3 full adult bikes with ease, 2 of which are full sus, it's just a matter of how you put them on, for example, loosen the handle bars and turn them, raise the saddle so it sits over/under the other bikes handle bar , rotate the cranks so they don't' clash etc etc. The instructions didn't cover my car (C4 Grand Picasso) so I had to mess about to get it right. If you have this car use kit 2 attached to the nearest hole, arm mech F and the feet on the highest setting. Also you will need a reg and light board. However the quality can not be denied, it has held my 3 bikes securely and well without any movement or damage, in fact it has taken all 3 to Cornwall and back an the motorway at speed with no issues at all and once you know your settings you can attach it to the car in 5 minutes. As the title says, once you've got it set up right, it does exactly what it's meant to do. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good well designed carrier that won't let you down but you pay for this with your time!,
August 07, 2014
By LondonB
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: firmly fixed on car, high level means lights are visible
Cons: poor quality of the fixing nuts, long time to disassemble
" this is a good bike carrier which fits very firmly onto the back of the car. the initial set up takes up to half an hour following the written instructions (you simply cannot fit it to your car without following the instructions). the plastic nuts should not be tightened too much or the internal metal nut starts to pull out of the plastic- that was the reason i gave a 4 for quality as it means they won't last. Fitting bikes takes a while longer as you work out what works best and doesn't obscure lights etc. i used extra straps in addiiton to the two red ones supplied as they are holding the bikes on and don't seem that strong. For flat storage, the carrier needs almost complete dis-assembly back to how it came in the box, which is disappointing, and means at least 15mins to get it ready for use again (and probably the paper instructions again).
Overall a rigid, reliable carrier with quite a bit of work to get it ready and to store it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value cycle rack,
August 04, 2014
By TCS40
from Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
Cons: cannot open boot with it on
" Relatively easy to fit and holds three bikes fairly comfortably. It feels more secure than I had expected with 6 straps holding it in place. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LUTON
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Second time lucky,
July 30, 2014
By Gregga
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: solid fit, easy to put on/take off
Cons: no locks included in design
" The first of these that I took home was faulty. One of the locating holes in one of the poles had not been drilled/stamped right through, so the bolt would not go in. I got the item changed very quickly and easily, the second not having the same problem.
Easy instructions to follow and quick to install/set up. So far I have only had 2x children's bikes on it but seemed very sturdy and solid on the car.
Handy that we can still use the boot with the rack on however without any included security features there is nothing to stop someone unclipping the rack and making off. For this price I would have expected a simple barrel lock in one of the closing handles. Other than that very please to have moved away from cloth straps! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>