Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Carriers & Bike Racks or
Choose a Category

Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting

Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Average Customer Rating:
3.993 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(135 Reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (135 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
60
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
12
113 of 132(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
699 Questions | 685 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Review 1 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rear Mount Carrier,
December 02, 2011
By Divan
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: stable, secure, average weight
Cons: doesn't fold completely flat
" Bought this as I got tired of loading my dirty MTB in the back of the car. Easy to set up at first use & even easier every other time you use it. Stable and secure even when traveling at 70MPH. Rubber coated "claws" prevent scratches when attached to the rear of car.
I personally use some extra bungie cord and foam between the bikes to secure them as the two straps attached in my opinion don't completely stop the bikes from moving around while being transported and thus causes the bikes to rub against each other.
The only main downfall I find is that it doesn't fold completely flat, so does create a storage issue, unless you completely dismantle the rack.
Overall a great product at a reasonable price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+54points
55out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Robust and The Best,
September 24, 2011
By chal
from Knutsford, Cheshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: robust
Cons: saloons limit it's capacity.
" Easy to assemble and quick to fit to car. It is capable of carrying up to 2 bikes safely on my saloon car. Suits me fine. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nearly Good,
December 03, 2014
By Arjpowell
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: sturdy and secure, attaches well to the car
Cons: difficult to place bikes onto
" Overall this bike rack is extremely sturdy and easy to set-up. You have trust in it whilst driving which is obviously important.
Unfortunately it arrived with a broken part, which would have been picked up if the product was quality inspected before it left the factory. However I didn't find it until I'd built the whole thing and fitted it to the car. Too late to really take it back.
Somewhat surprising is that the pitch between the forks that hold the bikes is wider that one of my bike frames which is also from Halfords, so it sort of part sits on the rack (but is still secure) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? RUISLIP
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit and remove,
October 16, 2014
By VezLou
from Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" As a female and of small build I find this cycle carrier simple to handle. I am able to fit and remove with ease even though the carrier is made of tough material and very robust. The bikes are straightforward to secure and I am comfortable and confident when driving.
When the carrier is not in use it folds flat making it easy to store.
Overall a very good purchase.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good if fitted well, tricky to fit properly,
October 12, 2014
By Sleepingpoliceman
from Gloucestershire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the design principle
Cons: the build quality and instructions
" A bill for new pedals, bottom bracket and brake caliper were my reward for misreading the small font in the instructions. There are several model-dependent adjustments and one or two confusing or incomplete instructions like: "it may be necessary to pre-bend the metal brackets before fitting". My own fault perhaps but it's easy to get a setting wrong. I also found the plastic plates which the release levers push down against broke quickly and the plastic recesses in which the metal bolt ends are seated are too soft for their job.
If fitted well first time, without any over tightening then the carrier feels secure but a bit more should be invested in the quality of this product, it's adjustments and it's instructions.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STROUD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good idea, poor performance,
August 19, 2014
By Bike99Halfords
from Wales, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: fitted my car
Cons: good for only one bike
" Was really good with just one bike, with two bikes the straps weren't effective in keeping the bikes stable. We had to use padding to keep the bikes apart and extra straps to keep them secure. Would return this item if my husband hadn't ripped up the box. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? CAERPHILLY
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does exactly what it says on the tin,
August 17, 2014
By Mavientes
from Aintree, Liverpool
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: carries 3 adult bikes, easy to set up, sturdy
Cons: instructions don't cover all cars, will need reg plate depending on make of car
" Ok first things first. Some people are saying it doesn't take 3 bikes, well that's a lie. This has taken my 3 full adult bikes with ease, 2 of which are full sus, it's just a matter of how you put them on, for example, loosen the handle bars and turn them, raise the saddle so it sits over/under the other bikes handle bar , rotate the cranks so they don't' clash etc etc. The instructions didn't cover my car (C4 Grand Picasso) so I had to mess about to get it right. If you have this car use kit 2 attached to the nearest hole, arm mech F and the feet on the highest setting. Also you will need a reg and light board. However the quality can not be denied, it has held my 3 bikes securely and well without any movement or damage, in fact it has taken all 3 to Cornwall and back an the motorway at speed with no issues at all and once you know your settings you can attach it to the car in 5 minutes. As the title says, once you've got it set up right, it does exactly what it's meant to do. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good well designed carrier that won't let you down but you pay for this with your time!,
August 07, 2014
By LondonB
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: firmly fixed on car, high level means lights are visible
Cons: poor quality of the fixing nuts, long time to disassemble
" this is a good bike carrier which fits very firmly onto the back of the car. the initial set up takes up to half an hour following the written instructions (you simply cannot fit it to your car without following the instructions). the plastic nuts should not be tightened too much or the internal metal nut starts to pull out of the plastic- that was the reason i gave a 4 for quality as it means they won't last. Fitting bikes takes a while longer as you work out what works best and doesn't obscure lights etc. i used extra straps in addiiton to the two red ones supplied as they are holding the bikes on and don't seem that strong. For flat storage, the carrier needs almost complete dis-assembly back to how it came in the box, which is disappointing, and means at least 15mins to get it ready for use again (and probably the paper instructions again).
Overall a rigid, reliable carrier with quite a bit of work to get it ready and to store it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value cycle rack,
August 04, 2014
By TCS40
from Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
Cons: cannot open boot with it on
" Relatively easy to fit and holds three bikes fairly comfortably. It feels more secure than I had expected with 6 straps holding it in place. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LUTON
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Second time lucky,
July 30, 2014
By Gregga
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: solid fit, easy to put on/take off
Cons: no locks included in design
" The first of these that I took home was faulty. One of the locating holes in one of the poles had not been drilled/stamped right through, so the bolt would not go in. I got the item changed very quickly and easily, the second not having the same problem.
Easy instructions to follow and quick to install/set up. So far I have only had 2x children's bikes on it but seemed very sturdy and solid on the car.
Handy that we can still use the boot with the rack on however without any included security features there is nothing to stop someone unclipping the rack and making off. For this price I would have expected a simple barrel lock in one of the closing handles. Other than that very please to have moved away from cloth straps! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This hasn't restored my faith in rear mount bike racks!,
May 26, 2014
By Anonymous
from Derby, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" I once bought a rear mount bike rack and it fell way short of expectations, but I felt given the reviews this would be different.
Despite the packaging saying for "all" makes/models of car, my car was not listed on the actual instructions which set the various positions of the rack. In spite of this, I felt there was enough adjustment to continue. Because of this, the first set up did take a good 20mins, with a few f's and jeff's along the way. Once on the car, it did feel very secure unlike another type I had once before. The assembly had left a few scratches on the car.
I was hopeful until I tried to get the bikes on. The box suggested it's capable of handling 3, I managed 1 and a half! No amount of manoeuvres, adjustment, orientation would see my 3 bikes on the rack at which point I gave up and will be returning for a refund soon. I'm going to go for a roof mounted option.
If you want 1 maybe 2 bikes on the back, and your car is listed on the instructions, then I can see why it might get reasonable reviews. For my application, this was pretty much useless. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WEST)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp,
April 23, 2014
By qbvm
from oxford
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Brought this last year - a bit tricky & the clamps didnt feel firm. Screwed on the clamp & went on holiday. Fitted it again at the weekend. Plate came off car & screws jammed - carrier now in bits - poor product dont buy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
save money,
April 05, 2014
By matt159888
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Kept falling of our Santa fe.wouldn't hold secure then when tensioning it to secure it the plastic broke. Very poor wouldn't trust my expensive bikes on this at all! Disappointed as looking forward to a trip now no bikes not happy! Avoid!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great idea, but let down by the,
September 28, 2013
By Ianski
from Dorset
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of setup
Cons: does not flat pack easily, very bulky, easy to overtighten and break plastic
" Positives:
+ Really easy to set up (<10 mins)
+ Feels solid
+ Once set up, easy to get on/off
Negatives:
- Heavier than it looks
- If you park up and leave the car it would be easy to remove the entire unit, so you need to remove and secure it if you've got the bikes off and are going for a ride
- Very long when broken down (only just fits into boot of my estate car when I put the extendible feet back to smallest setting)
- Doesn't break down flat for storage unless you remove the thumb screw nuts (which does make taking off/setting up a little more of a hassle)
- Based on above two points, it loses the easy to put on/take off positive unless you dont need it to flat pack and have a bigger boot that mine
- The car list supplied in pack stops at cars around 2008 (eg. I have a 2013 estate, but last version referred to in paperwork is 2007 so you have to take a leap of faith)
Biggest watch out is step 8 of the instructions as it states "progressively tighten the levers" until solid. If you go a little too far then the plastic snaps (I will be back to Halfords for two replacement plastic parts). "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? DORCHESTER
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job,
September 20, 2013
By Bobtk
from Cambridgeshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very happy with this product. Easy to fit , felt very sturdy on my vehicle . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An easy fit bike rack,
September 18, 2013
By Jessica831
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We bought it for carrying 2 adult bikes and 1 boy bike. It showed no problem at all. It is easy to fit on the car as well (5 minutes' job). "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Eventually a good product.,
September 13, 2013
By SouthbourneSid
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: assembly instructions
" The assembly instructions left a lot to be desired, and confirming that the rack was suitable for my car was also hard work.
Now it's set up it's fine. It's easy to fix onto the car and to remove after use. Fixing the bike onto it was easy too.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good solid product,
August 17, 2013
By rolster
from Bournemouth
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I bought this to carry two adult and one child's mountain bike. The instructions were fairly easy to follow, but I still had some problems assembling it. That said,the carrier is very easy to use once you get the hang of fitting it to your car. It's on and off in a few minutes,and is much better than the strap carriers.
The only criticism I have is that mounting 3 bikes is quite a challenge-more a 2 bike carrier than a 3.
I would recommend it for it's ease of use.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? POOLE (RINGWOOD RD)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Check spec list before buying,
July 28, 2013
By gillybob
from Leeds
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: sturdy fit
Cons: can scratch underside of boot
" Was convinced I had checked that this would fit Audi A6 2.0 TDi Avant saloon..... but then found not list included in the packaging....aarghh! and product states only use on those makes / models listed in the spec sheet.
But I have used it - based on the A4 Avant saloon spec. Only had to change one of the settings from B to C.
Held 3 adult bikes (had to take off handle bars to fit)
Felt very sturdy and secure when fitted without the bikes.
Once bikes added it does add weight such that the clamps on the underside of the boot drop but was still secure.
Does scratch the underside of the boot - would recommend some better protection around these points.
Overall though sturdy product and would recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? GUISELEY
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exodus Rear High Mount 3 Cycle Carrier Clamp Fitting
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid product, easy assembly...,
July 22, 2013
By Ironcap
from Falkirk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy assembly
Cons: none so far
" Fitted the cycle rack to a new 2013 Ford Focus with no issues at all. Set up time was a lot less than I expected with clear instructions.
Clamping system very easy to use and gave me confidence when driving.
Added extra protection using foam pipe insulation just in case.
"
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? FALKIRK
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>