Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier

The Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier is the safest way of transporting your bike with you.
Average Customer Rating:
3.899 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(99 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (99 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
46
3 stars
15
2 stars
3
1 star
6
84 of 98(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
82 Questions | 96 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value and easy to use,
January 08, 2014
By chasbo
from enfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the price
"We now have two of these and find them very easy to attach to the car and hold our bikes securely. Great price too!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value product but worthwhile,
January 05, 2014
By DanielMcF
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Cheap product and you very much get what you are paying for, however if a cheap and simple solution required then this is for you, would not recommend for regular use / prolonged trips due to the build quality but seems to work ok for short trips if the bike wont fit in the car and also cheaper than an on boot carrier."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? ST. ALBANS
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job,
September 24, 2013
By djh64
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"If you're looking for an affordable solution for occasional transport of bikes then this meets the needs.
Straightforward to fit and relatively easy to configure for a range of different bikes. Used it with no problem on an old Raleigh steel-framed road bike, a new aluminium framed cyclocross bike and a boy's mountain bike. Getting to work with a Ridgeway Hybrid bike took a lot of effort but worked in the end.
Holds the bikes securely once fitted
"
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BARKING
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money,
September 21, 2013
By Paddy99
from West Lothian
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This bike rack is easy to fix to the car. I only intend to use it locally and so far it has done the job."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LIVINGSTON
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap but well up to the job!,
September 20, 2013
By JohnnyKebab
from Leighton Buzzard
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I used this bike rack on a 1500 mile trip through France and it didn't miss a beat! The only thing I'd say it's missing is a lock. Apart from that it's great!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NOT FOR AERO BARS,
August 29, 2013
By Oly1
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: good quality item for the money
Cons: halfords poor advert description!
"Contrary to Halfords online advert - WILL THIS CARRIER FIT MY CAR? Providing your car already has roof bars Roof Mounted Cycle Carriers are quick and easy to fit...UNLESS YOU ARE AERO BARS!! These fit square bars ONLY. Come on Halfords you can do better than wasting customers time and money!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
-1point
11out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cheap and does the job,
August 10, 2013
By rickbat
from downham market
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap and does the job just like expensive ones
"got 2 of these they are cheap and easy to install, very secure and i swaped the original nuts that can be undone by hand with some b&q ones with washers."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WISBECH
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basic but solid,
August 02, 2013
By nai67
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: end caps didn't fit
"Easy to assemble and fit (although I couldn't get the end caps on) and fairly solid when the bike is attached. I've managed to drive hundreds of miles on everything from motorway to dirt tracks without a problem.
Yes it feels cheap and doesn't have locking brackets but at the price and for occasional use it's absolutely fine.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (QUEENS RD)
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin...,
July 25, 2013
By PhilQ
from Nottingham
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Simple product that performs its job. Running late when first used - ended up faster than would have liked down bumpy country lanes - carrier was completely fine. Just hoping it will last as components are pretty basic but not complaining for the money..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (VICTORIA RTL PK)
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Practical and good value for money,
July 13, 2013
By Andrew23
from Dundee
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to build following instructions. Practical and good value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money,
July 01, 2013
By bluekickers82
from Boston Lincs
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to install, fits nicely next to my roof box
"This is an excellent piece of kit if you just want to fix a cycle to your roof rack. It's easy to assemble and holds the cycle firmly in place so what more would you want?
Some people have moaned saying that there's no way to lock the bike to the roof which is true but how long do you want the bike to be up there for? If your that bothered then use your bike lock and connect it to your roof rack.
All in all I don't see the point in spending a small fortune on a similar product that may look a bit posher, but does the same job as this."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BOSTON
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basic but does the job and is value for money,
June 16, 2013
By Lee99N
from Watford
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cheap and secure
Cons: had to force over roof bars be careful if wide
"Secured the bike to my roof rack safely and relatively quickly. Instructions weren't great but it's simple enough to put together. I felt happy with the stability of the bike and drove nearly 600 miles without any issues.
The protective end caps to the "gutter" section that your wheels are sitting in, didn't fit at all.
If your roof bars are wide, this may not fit. I also added a few of my own washers to the securing nuts to spead the load (probably not necesary, but gave me peace of mind).
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value Roof Cycle Carrier,
May 20, 2013
By andisnaith
from york
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Does what it says on the tin, affordable cycle carrier, not as good as my 2 thule ones but not as expensive either."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? YORK
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value,
May 16, 2013
By OldGit60
from Dorset
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
"I fitted it to my Thule roof bars in Halfords car park, to take my new bike home. Just 10mm spanner required. It holds my, quite heavy, 20" mountain bike firmly in place with the two straps and one hand clamp."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? POOLE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier,
April 27, 2013
By RobJW6868
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Does what is should. Fits Halfords rectangular cross section roof bars no problem."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product.,
April 27, 2013
By stuart1979uk
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: hand tighten fastners
"i dont know why you would pay for the more expensive ones. If you dont need to lock your bikes up there and you have normal tubed frames look no further. Only down side is you have to build them(dont know about the more expensive ones) and it has knobs on the nuts to only hand tighten. I got some pliers and tighted them properly and they have been fine."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good buy,
April 11, 2013
By Swm1974
from Glasgow
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Wasn't sure about the "value" option as normally would take a branded alternative. However sturdy enough for a kids bike and now using regularly. About to buy a second."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BISHOPBRIGGS
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor quality,
January 12, 2013
By Dicktracy
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"on buying the rack found that you had to assemble the rack to suit a certain bike in length . Due to me using two different bike lengths found it annoying . Very flimsy construction , not very secure , no locking feature to secure your bike . If you go anywhere . Poor quality."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
How many cars: 2
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value budget option,
January 07, 2013
By ecurb1
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Quick to assemble, does the job. Alternatives were vastly more expensive."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality at a low price,
December 28, 2012
By WelshStig
from carmarthen
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality at a really low price, simple to fit, does the same job as the expensive ones
Cons: not a fan of the nuts moulded into plastic
"If you want High Quality then don't buy this one,
However..!!!
If you want Quality at a really affordable price, Then this is for you. In a Nutshell it does what it says - It holds a bike securely, What more do you want???
Simple to fit, well made, but I will be modifying the nuts moulded into plastic which you use to hand tighten the stirrup bolts which hold the carrier to the roof bars, with Locking nuts, however out of the Box a fantastic product that fits neatly, does what it says, and it's good value for money. Fully intend to go and buy a second one, to save cluttering the rear bike rack up.
Fitted onto the Halfords Value Rook bars 401, with no problems."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>