Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier

The Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier is the safest way of transporting your bike with you.
Average Customer Rating:
4.016 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (126 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
54
3 stars
17
2 stars
4
1 star
6
107 of 122(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
82 Questions | 107 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
buy these!!!!!!,
July 13, 2015
By Rossco73
from Scotland, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap and work!!!
" Friend loaned me 2 of these to go from Scotland to Dawlish and his roof box, no bother to fit and cruised down there above the average speed limit!!!! None, nil, absolutely no problems AT ALL..... great stuff, off to buy my own now I've tried his for sure!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? GALASHIELS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cheap and cheerful,
June 27, 2015
By Dairyworker
from Frome, Frome, Somerset BA11, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the cost
Cons: use of glorified wing nuts.
" A lightweight carrier that easily coped with my young daughters bicycle. It was easy to assemble and the instructions were reasonably clear although the diagrams were rather small. The main beam (V channel) comes in two parts that must be bolted together using the coach screws and Nylock nuts supplied. You are instructed to tighten the nuts to 6Nm. They seem to think everyone has access to a torque wrench. The clamping arm is then secured to the main beam using coach head bolts and "handwheels" Again you are instructed to tighten to 6Nm. They also say "This operation is important. The cycle may fall from the carrier if this is not adhered to." If it is as important as they say (it is!) why on earth do they not use a Nylock nut instead of the handwheels (glorified wing nuts). Similarly the carrier is secured to the roof bars using U shaped bolts and hand wheels. This arrangement is OK for occasional use but if the carrier is to be used regularly then I would recommend the handwheels are replaced with proper nuts. Apart from these problems the product does what is says on the tin. "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? FROME
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value Cycle Carrier,
June 11, 2015
By CW61
from Southampton, Southampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: rugged., value for money
" This product is superb value for money. I fitted it to my car and drove 700miles without any problems at all. Rock solid and easy to fit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WINCHESTER RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords value roof rack,
March 14, 2015
By Jones74
from Northumberland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought two of these after reading the reviews and am very pleased with them, I drove from Newcastle to Penrith via Hartside on the A686 in very high winds and had no problems, glad I did not spend the extra on more expensive ones. They were easy to fit but you will need to check them a short way into your journey to make sure everything is tight. I would recomend these if you are on a budget or don't transport your bike on a regular basis.
The racks were mounted on Thule roof bars and feet onto a 07 Seat Leon Hatch.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? CRAMLINGTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Falling apart after 5 days,
January 15, 2015
By Tallmarkb59
from Huntingdon, Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Fitted two of these last Sunday. Within five days one of the cycle frame clamp adjustment knobs made a bid for freedom and disappeared down the fast lane of the A14 near St Ives.
Not very happy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (SUFFOLK RTL PK)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good and Cheap,
January 14, 2015
By Spinksj
from Lichfiles
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good product, fixings are easy. Took a while to set them up, but done it twice now and it takes less than 20 minutes to put three of these on the roof rack "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LICHFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier,
January 05, 2015
By Bendysock
from Chester, Chester, Cheshire West and Chester, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cheap price, simple design, light and well finished, easy to attached bike
Cons: more clearance for fixings to get it tight, would be difficult for higher vehicles (4x4s)
" Great price compared to equivalent from top brand. Reasonably easy to assemble (instructions could be clearer). The main rail comes in 2 pieces and there is a cross piece as well.
Its a bit fiddly to attach bike as there could be more clearance for the fixings to make it easier to get things tight.
Bit worried at first as bike is held upright by a single clamp on an angled brace which attaches to the down tube near the bottom bracket. As long as you stop after approx. 0.5 hours to tighten it, you should have no issues.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great way to transport your bike,
November 09, 2014
By makaroo
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have a toyota rav4, so rear bike rack was going to be an expensive problem. Have fitted this one have easily transported bike up and down long motorways. Important to remember you are adding a lot of height to your car, and it takes much more physical effort to lift up and fit bike into frame. The frame is surprisingly well made for its cost and bike is well supported well everything is tightened up. The can be some wobble from front wheel and forks at higher speed. I fitted extra strap for price of mind...just remember the added vehicle hight, you cannot park in a multistorey carpark...well you can but bike will be removed at entrance!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product does exactly what it says it does at a reasonable price.,
November 07, 2014
By Roofrailsboy
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product that does what it needs to and doesn't cost the earth. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Purchase,
October 23, 2014
By FJW72
from Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value
Cons: no locking mechanism
" This is what it says. A Value roof mount cycle carrier. It works and bikes are secure. Drove to Oban at the weekend and back with 3 bikes on the roof. Great. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (STRAITON)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple functional no frills just work,
October 17, 2014
By AccessoryReviewer
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple, effective, really good value, stable & strong
Cons: a bit fidly geting spacing right
" Really good purchase, I want to transport bikes infrequently so wanted soemthing that was stable and secure this carrier really fits the bill, not sure why anyone would need to buy a more expensive version. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Basic but does the job,
October 03, 2014
By Flipsixty4
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: value fot money
" Expect no frills. This is a simple bike carrier. Fairly easy to fit and OK for the price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BRIXTON
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great rack and a great price,
September 27, 2014
By Willbow
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality for price
" This does exactly what it should do for a fraction of the price of the branded versions. I bought the rack to transport a bike alongside a roof box when we went on holiday. I was working to a budget and was amazed to find this rack at half the price of anything else available. I wasn't expecting much despite the other good reviews but the rack performed brilliantly. It got us 150 miles on motorway and A roads without incident. When we arrived it was a doddle to remove. My bike has a slightly triangular cross section but the clamp held it firmly and securely. It's a shame that there is no way of locking the rack to the roof bars or the bike to the rack but at this price it's not something you should expect. The only down side is that the nuts are slightly awkward to screw due to their shape and the raised side of the base of the rack. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not the safest way to transport your bike,
September 22, 2014
By Ian1964
from chorley
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" A strange review title for something I rate, you just have to remember that you are now driving a 3 metre high vehicle.
I drove onto a car park with no height restriction and completely forgot to check. Result ? as you would expect. nothing ! then I took my car off a car park with a 2 metre restriction and my bike parted from the carrier,pretty much what could be expected.
The point is its easy to forget. The good thing is ive driven a few thousand miles at speeds well in excess of what is considered safe with heavy mtbs (3) and as long as you shake the bike and retighten after a short distance it stays put. At least I didnt wreck an expensive roof mount
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superb value and perfectly adequate for the task,
September 13, 2014
By Slesa67
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent for task
Cons: none to mention
" Excellent purchase and done through Halfords own website, racks sourced and reserved for me to collect the next morning. Walked into store at white city by Trafford Centre and greeted with a happy/smiling member of staff.Many thanks again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bike rack,
September 02, 2014
By keithchief
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Ordered 2 of these bike racks unfortunately they where out of stock so they where replaced with there twin lockable bike rack sid chosen the cheaper option in the first place because of there good reviews so I was a little weary of the the one they had been replaced with because of some of the reviews they had received
I was extremely impressed with the alternative racks easy to fit and easy to fit the bikes in. Instructions where easy to follow and swapping locks around is quite simple
Everything was sturdy with very little play when on the move never felt there was any chance of it parting company with my roof rack
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value bike carrier,
August 27, 2014
By Dan13
from Banbury, Banbury, Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought 2 of these as very good value against other makes. Easy to put together but best to check everything with the bike on the floor then transfer to the roof bars once you know it is all fine for the bike.
The mounting to the bike frame can end up near the cogs (did with my two bikes anyway) but you can switch the bolt around so you have the wheel on the opposite side if you want.
Overall really pleased with these and no sign of any problems on the motorway or windy roads. As I have 2, I have left them bolted to the roof bars and then removed them all as a complete unit which should then speed up putting them back on when needed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
no-nonsense cycle carrier,
August 22, 2014
By FlyingDutchman
from Stratford-upon-Avon, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier is straight forward to fit robustly onto standard square roof bars. It is light weight due to use of thin steel sections. This also gives it some flexibility which does not give the product a high quality feel but it is fit for purpose. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STRATFORD UPON AVON
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good value,
August 18, 2014
By Winston1888
from Matlock, Matlock, Derbyshire DE4, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money, sturdy, does the job
" Took our 7 year son's bike to Devon with no problems. First time we have used a roof mounted bike rack but vey impressed. Easy to put together. For the money, an excellent buy. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
August 15, 2014
By Peter12345
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" We used this roof rack to take 4 bikes to the French Alps. Easy to use and stable over a 1500 mile trip through France. Good value. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>