Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Carriers & Bike Racks or
Choose a Category

Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier

The Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier is the safest way of transporting your bike with you.
Average Customer Rating:
3.991 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (112 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
50
3 stars
15
2 stars
3
1 star
6
96 of 110(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
82 Questions | 103 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superb value and perfectly adequate for the task,
September 13, 2014
By Slesa67
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent for task
Cons: none to mention
"Excellent purchase and done through Halfords own website, racks sourced and reserved for me to collect the next morning. Walked into store at white city by Trafford Centre and greeted with a happy/smiling member of staff.Many thanks again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bike rack,
September 02, 2014
By keithchief
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Ordered 2 of these bike racks unfortunately they where out of stock so they where replaced with there twin lockable bike rack sid chosen the cheaper option in the first place because of there good reviews so I was a little weary of the the one they had been replaced with because of some of the reviews they had received
I was extremely impressed with the alternative racks easy to fit and easy to fit the bikes in. Instructions where easy to follow and swapping locks around is quite simple
Everything was sturdy with very little play when on the move never felt there was any chance of it parting company with my roof rack
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value bike carrier,
August 27, 2014
By Dan13
from Banbury, Banbury, Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought 2 of these as very good value against other makes. Easy to put together but best to check everything with the bike on the floor then transfer to the roof bars once you know it is all fine for the bike.
The mounting to the bike frame can end up near the cogs (did with my two bikes anyway) but you can switch the bolt around so you have the wheel on the opposite side if you want.
Overall really pleased with these and no sign of any problems on the motorway or windy roads. As I have 2, I have left them bolted to the roof bars and then removed them all as a complete unit which should then speed up putting them back on when needed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
no-nonsense cycle carrier,
August 22, 2014
By FlyingDutchman
from Stratford-upon-Avon, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier is straight forward to fit robustly onto standard square roof bars. It is light weight due to use of thin steel sections. This also gives it some flexibility which does not give the product a high quality feel but it is fit for purpose."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STRATFORD UPON AVON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good value,
August 18, 2014
By Winston1888
from Matlock, Matlock, Derbyshire DE4, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money, sturdy, does the job
"Took our 7 year son's bike to Devon with no problems. First time we have used a roof mounted bike rack but vey impressed. Easy to put together. For the money, an excellent buy."
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
August 15, 2014
By Peter12345
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We used this roof rack to take 4 bikes to the French Alps. Easy to use and stable over a 1500 mile trip through France. Good value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value roof cycle carrier,
August 11, 2014
By Brownout
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: strong and light, good value
Cons: i'd always use a bungee cord at the very least to
"Much much lighter than the roof carrier I bought about 12 years ago, but strong and cheap. It was recommended in Cycling Weekly so I thought that was a good pointer to this basic but strong product. I have fitted anti-vib washers to all the bolts but there again I'm ultra cautious about hurtling up and down motorways with bikes on the top of the car. ( I usually put my bikes inside the car, but it was full for this trip so I needed a trustworthy and cheap carrier and this Halfords model was just what I needed). I also used a couple of bike locks to attach the bike to the carrier; you can't be too careful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (MAYPOLE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Budget price but a proper product,
August 10, 2014
By SarahO
from Leeds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We have two of these racks and two much pricier Thule racks. Admittedly the Thule ones lock, which these Value ones don't, but it is the Thule ones that are falling apart and needing to be replaced. We are replacing them with Halfords Value ones! They are a bit fiddly to assemble, and you will need some tools, but once done, they are great. I must admit when we take our roof bars off the car, we leave all the bike carriers attached and just leave it all as one unit. Then it goes back on as one unit - easy peasy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BATH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
August 09, 2014
By Phyl19
from Northern Ireland, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good quality
"I bought 2 of these, to carry 2 bikes on my roof. I have completed 2 round trips of approx 44 miles. Some of the roads I used were twisty and bumpy. Even on these roads the bikes stayed securely in place. Easy to assemble in the first instance, and fairly easy to set up for the bike.
I set the length and made sure the stay bar would attach to the bike correctly, on the ground before attaching carrier to the roof bars. Once initial setup complete, you just attach the bikes & go."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BELFAST (LESLEY RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
why pay more,
August 06, 2014
By correl
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Does the job , easy to fit and put together and bike is on and offin a minute. Spot on"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what it says on the tin !,
August 04, 2014
By craig72
from Fareham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cost, easy to put together, does the job
Cons: doesnt look as pretty
"I needed 3 of these for a recent camping trip where I wanted to take our bikes (2 x Adults and a Childs Mountain bike). I felt having roof carriers would be better than the rear carrier to allow access to the boot space easier. I looked at all the differing models and couldn't really justify the cost of the more expensive ones and the reviews for this product told me exactly what I needed to know.
The product is easy to put together, hold the bikes really firmly. it has no locking facility but if you have a bike lock then what's the problem.
As some of the reviews have stated the connection nuts are encased in a plastic which does the job really well but if concerned then can just be replaced with separate nuts etc.
I think this is a great product for the price and the cost of 3 x together was less then most of the more expensive versions so I am a happy bunny."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job at an excellent price,
July 30, 2014
By SwinleyMBX
from Berkshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price
"I wanted 3 bike carriers to fit to the top of a trailer tent carry rack.
These 'budget' ones from Halfords suited my needs and my price range - they'll only get used a couple of times a year, so I didn't want to spend a fortune!
They were easy to assemble, and our bikes were safe and secure.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Basic Bike Rack,
July 30, 2014
By Hector53
from Smarden, Ashford, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: pretty much everything
Cons: would prefer it produced in black
"Just put two of these together in preparation for a forthcoming holiday in France. Superb value for money! Encouragingly the threaded U bolts and tigheners which secure it to the roof bars are identical to those for the "basic" roof box I bought from Halfords 16 years ago, which is still doing sterling service to this day. Others on offer were better packaged and more aesthetically pleasing but did not seem to offer twice the product for twice or three times the price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value and easy to use,
January 08, 2014
By chasbo
from enfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the price
"We now have two of these and find them very easy to attach to the car and hold our bikes securely. Great price too!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value product but worthwhile,
January 05, 2014
By DanielMcF
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Cheap product and you very much get what you are paying for, however if a cheap and simple solution required then this is for you, would not recommend for regular use / prolonged trips due to the build quality but seems to work ok for short trips if the bike wont fit in the car and also cheaper than an on boot carrier."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? ST. ALBANS
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job,
September 24, 2013
By djh64
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"If you're looking for an affordable solution for occasional transport of bikes then this meets the needs.
Straightforward to fit and relatively easy to configure for a range of different bikes. Used it with no problem on an old Raleigh steel-framed road bike, a new aluminium framed cyclocross bike and a boy's mountain bike. Getting to work with a Ridgeway Hybrid bike took a lot of effort but worked in the end.
Holds the bikes securely once fitted
"
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BARKING
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money,
September 21, 2013
By Paddy99
from West Lothian
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This bike rack is easy to fix to the car. I only intend to use it locally and so far it has done the job."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LIVINGSTON
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap but well up to the job!,
September 20, 2013
By JohnnyKebab
from Leighton Buzzard
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I used this bike rack on a 1500 mile trip through France and it didn't miss a beat! The only thing I'd say it's missing is a lock. Apart from that it's great!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NOT FOR AERO BARS,
August 29, 2013
By Oly1
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: good quality item for the money
Cons: halfords poor advert description!
"Contrary to Halfords online advert - WILL THIS CARRIER FIT MY CAR? Providing your car already has roof bars Roof Mounted Cycle Carriers are quick and easy to fit...UNLESS YOU ARE AERO BARS!! These fit square bars ONLY. Come on Halfords you can do better than wasting customers time and money!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
+2points
15out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Value Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cheap and does the job,
August 10, 2013
By rickbat
from downham market
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap and does the job just like expensive ones
"got 2 of these they are cheap and easy to install, very secure and i swaped the original nuts that can be undone by hand with some b&q ones with washers."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WISBECH
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>