Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier

The Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier is the safest way of transporting your bike with you.
Average Customer Rating:
3.296 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
15 of 26(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
53 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible,
April 11, 2014
By ProfJ
from London
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: poor quality, take too long to use
"I bought these carriers because I had previously bought Halfords cycle carriers and they were really good quality and value for money These new ones, however, are awful. I have used them twice now and the lock has broken on one already. They are much more difficult to use than the previous ones too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? RUISLIP
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't last one year.,
March 24, 2014
By steph79
from Salisbury, Wiltshire
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"These cycle carriers are not made well at all. After a few months the lock on one of them came out completely, and it was always a gamble whether or not my bike would stay on the roof. Save your money, and invest in a well made cycle carrier. Mine have been thrown into the recycling pile, as I never found the receipt for an exchange."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Practical bike carriers,
January 07, 2014
By ML66
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to use key locking design with reasonable security. A little fiddly to adjust initially but once set up putting on bars and securing bikes is straight forward. No problems at all."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRAWLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very disappointed,
January 06, 2014
By Bradders47
from Oxfordshire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Just fitted brand new cycle carrier to roof and the lock on both of the carriers has broken. No choice now but to take on holiday but its going straight back to halfords next saturday"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Robust and well up to the job,
December 24, 2013
By JOH32
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to fit. Should last years. Surprsingly heavy, though."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good solid product,
October 06, 2013
By Chris731
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Product is good quality and keeps bikes stable on the roof when used. Easy locking system and straightforward to assemble. Would recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (WICKHAM RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't buy this product, poor security,
September 30, 2013
By Securityispoor
from Northampton
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Although I have used this bike mount for a number of journeys which has safely transported 3 bikes across the country, I must advise everyone don't waste your money. I have just had my newest mountain bike rock hopper stolen whilst it was attached to the bike rack on the roof of my car and very much LOCKED to it! The bike was stolen with no damage to the rack whatsoever. It's like they just pulled the bike of the rack. The bike was held tight as I had just driven 90 miles across England most if it motorway so I know it was locked in tight. So in terms of transporting your bike, great, but in terms of think it is safe on top of your car whilst you take your eyes of it for a minute, poor, poor, poor!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (WEEDON RD)
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made, easy to fit and gives security,
July 26, 2013
By Ian82
from Birmingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Instructions easy to follow. All the parts fitted well and assembly onto the roof bars is simple. Really pleased and is so much better than rear mounted strap carriers which don't truly fit securely. Thank you"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? MAYPOLE-BIRMINGHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
2 roof cycle carrier,
July 24, 2013
By eckyboy
from fife
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"bought the twin pack as it was cheaper had to take one back and get a replacement as it wouldn't tighten up got it replaced no bother put them on the car went to take the bike off and the lock fell out"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ARBROATH
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor Quality,
July 16, 2013
By Murphy77
from Manchester
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"These carriers are terrible and poorly assembled. The locks are flimsy and the first one broke on it's first use.
I have previously bought similar ones from Halfords - branded as Halfords but actually made by Thule and they were and are excellent but these are rubbish. Buy at your peril as mine will be going back shortly.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dont bother !,
July 15, 2013
By tara120
from airdrie
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Decided to buy these even although reviews stated problems with the locks.
Shouldnt have bothered as both locks broke 1st time with 1 bike actually stuck on roof.
Returned to shop and the assitant could not free the bike either. Eventually got bike off, returned faulty goods and bought thule carriers instead ! Definately been worth the extra money.
Halfords should be checking these as many people have problems with the locks and luckily i had not started my journey.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? AIRDRIE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Buy,
July 15, 2013
By Overlord
from LONDON
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought one of these ages ago, just fitted it and used it a couple of times, good solid product recommended."
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CATFORD
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ok but not brilliant,
May 17, 2013
By cozzalou
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Ordered through click and collect. Order wasn't ready when I went to collect although I allowed loads of time. However staff in store were excellent. Unfortunately the lock broke the first time we used the rack. We returned the rack and then the other lock broke. Now have complete new set but havent used it yet. Heres hoping. ..
On the plus side it is easy to use and fit.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Does what it says,
April 11, 2013
By si26
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: sturdy and secure
Cons: stiff lock
"Bought these carriers for myelf and a friend. Nice and sturdy when the bike is mounted but initially had a lot of problems with the lock stickkng. Took a lot of wd40 to sort out!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It did the job,
February 27, 2013
By Anonymous
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"If I'd have bought this product full price I'd have been proper proper sulking. Fortunately it was 30 quid off, so it was one of the cheapest racks available. The lock broke on first use, but the rack holds the bike much more securely than the other racks I have."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top VFM, easy to use,
November 12, 2012
By tallboy69
from Bath
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Right from the online reservation to using the cyle carriers in earnest, it was a very easy operation and carried though without any hassle or issues whatsoever.
The Halford's staff were knowledgable and polite, and fitted the carrier in 15 mins.
Getting the bikes up on the roof is the hardest part as I have a high SUV (Santa Fe), but that's my problem though.
Very sturdy and well built fixings make the journey alot less stressful as oppsoed to using a rear cycle carrier which I've never really trusted.
All in all, a well made and easily operated system that should last for years.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HALFORD ADVANCE TWO ROOF CYCLE MOUNT EASY, AND EXCELLENT VALUE,
October 28, 2012
By MOODYBLUES26
from MIDHURST, WEST SUSSEX
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, excellent value for money
"Bought this following other reviews - not disappointed - easy to setup and use. much cheaper than well known brands. Excellent value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
How many cars: 2
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ideal.,
April 25, 2011
By SAG000
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: build and price
"I needed a rooftop option and these were very well priced (added bonus buying them during a promotion).
The build quality seems strurdy and well put together and all easily fitted to my existing Thule roofbars.
My only gripe, and this may fade with time, is the bike clamp locking mechanism. The clamp seems to allow you to tighten it until really secure but then the lock won't turn; it seems as though the clamp is over rotated. The lock turns once you release it a couple of turns - not too many as the bike seems less secure. Either way, the bikes (3) have remained securely on the car on the several long and winding trips I have made . A good buy and well worth your consideration.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value,
February 22, 2011
By Darrenanony123
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My first experience of roof based cycle racks, but very positive compared to "boot carriers".
Hardest thing is getting the bikes on the roof of an XC90 as it is quite tall. But they are quite easy to fit once up. Motorway use is no problem.
Other reviews seem to have issue with the locks but they work fine for me."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cycle carrier,
October 17, 2010
By a1cyclist
from stoke-on-trent.England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: lock clips are a bit weak
"excellent bit of kit. Easy to fit and adjust. Quick removal when required."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
12next>>