Halfords Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier

The Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier is the safest way of transporting your bike with you.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
10
17 of 33(52%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier,
June 11, 2015
By
from Buckinghamshire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value
Cons: not the best
" Ok, these are not one of those posh brand cycle carriers for 3 times the price.
We are carrying the bikes on the car roof when towing our caravan, the bikes are both secure and stable when traveling and arrive without damage.
I would recommend this product to those who cannot bring themselves burn all that extra money on the posh stuff but do not want the cheapest and nastiest either. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DAVENTRY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
poor fitting locks,
June 08, 2015
By
from Sidcup, Greater London, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Bought nearly a year ago. I asked advice in the local halfords and was sold this carrier. Now going to be on my third lock, it does not line up when trying to lock it as my frame is for a road bike "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? ORPINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You get what you pay for,
March 19, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good price
Cons: poorly clamps
" I bought these for a up and coming trip to wales as a budget option.
They secure rather well to my roof bars but i wouldnt like to over tighten them as the plastic clamps look like they could snap easily.
I have large 2.5" tyres and these only just fit into the rails.
The straps provided are ok but ill be buying some more just incase.
The part which locks onto your down tube is secure but the tightening /locking lever feels very cheap and will probably break if over tightened. I took the bike out round my town over speed bumps and round bends to test it out and the bike stayed in solid.
Overall you get what you pay for here but hopefully they will do the job long enough until I either get a van or better racks
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GAINSBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lock quality poor,
November 15, 2014
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I should have read the reviews....
first time putting the bike, the lock came out of the handle. I returned and exchanged for the Thule FreeRide as other reviewers have done. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor quality and design, will pay more next time,
August 04, 2014
By
from Winchester, Winchester, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" I already own two Thule cycle carriers and although they're now 20 years old they still work as well as when new. I bought this Halfords model because it was all the shop had in stock and I needed to transport a 3rd bike the next day.
There's lots of feedback within these reviews on poor lock quality and mine broke too, in fact twice. Halfords were really helpful to replace the tumbler mechanism while we were on holiday in Devon (thanks Halfords Barnstable), but the locking mechanism in the carrier itself (the body) broke the next time I used it. When you've secured the bike tightly on the downtube 'arm' the lock can be really difficult to unlock and undo. The second problem was that the arm assembly creaked when the car moved from side to side due to the lateral strain (while the Thule models made no noise). I traced this to the locking part of the arm moving independently of the arm itself. It creaks when the lock is moving along the arm. It also means that the bike is not as steady as it could be and feels a little unsafe wobbling from side to side (although not a lot to be fair). The Thule model is rock solid in comparison.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WINCHESTER
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Save yourself some time and invest a bit more money first time,
June 23, 2014
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" We fitted these carriers on the roof without any problems, only when we tried to secure bikes on it it we realised that the quality was really bad, the locks were just awful, so we took it all off took it back and exchanged it for Thule 591 ones which worked like a dream. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You get what you pay for!,
May 18, 2014
By
from Edinburgh
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I have previously bought Halford's roof cycle carriers and I have been very happy with them. (I think they may be Thule ones with a Halford's label.) I bought these about a year ago and have found them difficult from the off. The lock is difficult to use and can be very stiff. Nearly had a bike stuck on the roof. It took ages to get it off. It doesn't seem to grip the frame securely and as a result the bikes always feel a bit shoogly. The clips that secure the wheels don't fit well and flap annoyingly if there is no bike on the roof. (I know you can just take them off and keep them in the car but...) Several of the exposed metal parts are now showing signs of rust. I would hope they could last longer than 10 months. I am going to buy a more expensive version (probably Thule) and would recomend that you spend a little more and get something that will last and be easier to use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (STRAITON)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible,
April 11, 2014
By
from London
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: poor quality, take too long to use
" I bought these carriers because I had previously bought Halfords cycle carriers and they were really good quality and value for money These new ones, however, are awful. I have used them twice now and the lock has broken on one already. They are much more difficult to use than the previous ones too. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? RUISLIP
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't last one year.,
March 24, 2014
By
from Salisbury, Wiltshire
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" These cycle carriers are not made well at all. After a few months the lock on one of them came out completely, and it was always a gamble whether or not my bike would stay on the roof. Save your money, and invest in a well made cycle carrier. Mine have been thrown into the recycling pile, as I never found the receipt for an exchange. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Practical bike carriers,
January 07, 2014
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Easy to use key locking design with reasonable security. A little fiddly to adjust initially but once set up putting on bars and securing bikes is straight forward. No problems at all. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRAWLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very disappointed,
January 06, 2014
By
from Oxfordshire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" Just fitted brand new cycle carrier to roof and the lock on both of the carriers has broken. No choice now but to take on holiday but its going straight back to halfords next saturday "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Robust and well up to the job,
December 24, 2013
By
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Easy to fit. Should last years. Surprsingly heavy, though. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good solid product,
October 06, 2013
By
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Product is good quality and keeps bikes stable on the roof when used. Easy locking system and straightforward to assemble. Would recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (WICKHAM RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't buy this product, poor security,
September 30, 2013
By
from Northampton
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Although I have used this bike mount for a number of journeys which has safely transported 3 bikes across the country, I must advise everyone don't waste your money. I have just had my newest mountain bike rock hopper stolen whilst it was attached to the bike rack on the roof of my car and very much LOCKED to it! The bike was stolen with no damage to the rack whatsoever. It's like they just pulled the bike of the rack. The bike was held tight as I had just driven 90 miles across England most if it motorway so I know it was locked in tight. So in terms of transporting your bike, great, but in terms of think it is safe on top of your car whilst you take your eyes of it for a minute, poor, poor, poor! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (WEEDON RD)
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made, easy to fit and gives security,
July 26, 2013
By
from Birmingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Instructions easy to follow. All the parts fitted well and assembly onto the roof bars is simple. Really pleased and is so much better than rear mounted strap carriers which don't truly fit securely. Thank you "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? MAYPOLE-BIRMINGHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
2 roof cycle carrier,
July 24, 2013
By
from fife
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" bought the twin pack as it was cheaper had to take one back and get a replacement as it wouldn't tighten up got it replaced no bother put them on the car went to take the bike off and the lock fell out "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ARBROATH
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor Quality,
July 16, 2013
By
from Manchester
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" These carriers are terrible and poorly assembled. The locks are flimsy and the first one broke on it's first use.
I have previously bought similar ones from Halfords - branded as Halfords but actually made by Thule and they were and are excellent but these are rubbish. Buy at your peril as mine will be going back shortly.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dont bother !,
July 15, 2013
By
from airdrie
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Decided to buy these even although reviews stated problems with the locks.
Shouldnt have bothered as both locks broke 1st time with 1 bike actually stuck on roof.
Returned to shop and the assitant could not free the bike either. Eventually got bike off, returned faulty goods and bought thule carriers instead ! Definately been worth the extra money.
Halfords should be checking these as many people have problems with the locks and luckily i had not started my journey.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? AIRDRIE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Buy,
July 15, 2013
By
from LONDON
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought one of these ages ago, just fitted it and used it a couple of times, good solid product recommended. "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CATFORD
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords 2 Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ok but not brilliant,
May 17, 2013
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Ordered through click and collect. Order wasn't ready when I went to collect although I allowed loads of time. However staff in store were excellent. Unfortunately the lock broke the first time we used the rack. We returned the rack and then the other lock broke. Now have complete new set but havent used it yet. Heres hoping. ..
On the plus side it is easy to use and fit.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>