Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Balance Bikes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Wooden Balance Bike

The Wooden Balance Bike is an elegant wooden balance bicycle specifically designed to develop balance and riding ability.
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 of 14(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Wooden Balance Bike
Review 1 for Wooden Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BALANCE BIKE,
June 12, 2010
By JIMBOE
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"LOOKS GOOD: NOT YET TESTED BY 2 YEAR OLD GRANDDAUGHTER..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wooden Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality product,
May 06, 2010
By pgreenwo71
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Recommended by friends & family as excellent first bike - learn how to balance. Wish we'd bought one for our oldest to help transition off stabilisers.
Good quality product - a little big for a 2 year old but he'll grow into it
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wooden Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike,
November 16, 2009
By Nools
from Nottingham, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We recently bought this wooden balance bike for our 2 year old.
Putting it together should be very straightforward but we found that the hole for the metal bar to go through which attaches the front section to the main bike was not straight so had to do a bit of DIY to increase the diameter of the hole. Other than that, it took a matter of minutes to put together.
Our 2 year is tall for her age (95th centile for height) and she is just about tall enough for it at lowest seat setting. My 4and a half year old is way too tall for it though so would not reommend buying it for a 5 year old as per the advertised age range. The 2 year old loves it and now wants to go out on her bike every day regardless of the weather. She is getting the hang of propelling herself forward on it and is streets ahead of her sister at the same age on balance and confidence with the bike. Would definitely recommend it!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wooden Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
perfect Christmas present!,
November 07, 2009
By elsafan
from South Yorkshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was very pleased with this purchase, my granddaughter will love it and it will be perfect exercise for her weakened leg."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wooden Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great purchase,
September 02, 2009
By diamondeyes
from south east
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"would recommend brilliant way to help balance and stability before a proper bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wooden Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 happy bunnies!!! That's our son, Mum & Dad!!,
July 07, 2009
By JJ26
from London, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Well what can I say. This bike is fantastic. We bought it for our 2 and a half yr old and he absolutely loves it. Its amazing how quick you can see the development of balance and co ordination and he even has given a demo in the park to another litttle friend - after having it for only 2 weeks. He wont even sit on his trike any more!!!! Great "Big boy pressie" . Great value for money, fantastic for physical development & a real head turner in the park."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wooden Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scary estimated delivery time.,
June 23, 2009
By simmonsm
from Pinner, London, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The estimated delivery time was 2 weeks which was after my son's birthday. It actually arrived in about 3 days!
Tops!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wooden Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what a little boy wanted for his birthday,
June 21, 2009
By lulubelle
from Bristol England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdy well built, good design
Cons: can't get him off it
"I bought this balance bike for my grandson's birthday, it was what he asked for and although I had some doubts, it has proved to be a wonderful outdoor activity plaything. I particularly like that it is made of wood but has colourful red trims and more than anything goes like a rocket !! All in all a great success !"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wooden Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent Purchase,
June 18, 2009
By bozo
from N3, London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: does the job
Cons: pricey
"I purchased this for my 2.5 year old and it was actually too big for him and he is a big child for his age. I think this would suit a 3 year old at least. It is a decent bike though however fairly dear for what it is."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wooden Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor build quality,
June 15, 2009
By CiciUK
from Leeds
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: halfords customer service
Cons: poor quality control, poor build quality
"We had been recomended to purchase a balance bike by friends and found this one at Halfords. The bike arrived in about 3 days which was good. There is minimal assembly required but when attaching the handle bar it was evident that one of the holes for the screws was too big meaning it was impossible to tighten one side correctly. We emailed Halfords who contacted us to arrange delivery of a replacement front wheel assembly. This arrived within a couple of days, on assembly of the new part although the holes for the handle bar are correct the steering pin will not locate due to the hole being drilled in the wrong place (about 3mm out of centre). This is just poor build quality / quality control and given that the bike is for young children I cannot recommend the bike and will not be purchasing this make again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wooden Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Balance Bike,
June 09, 2009
By Martynhr
from Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this balance bike for my 3 year old's birthday in March along with a normal pedal bike with stabilisers. She alternated between her pedal bike and balance bike for a while and just the other day I noticed she could ride along on the balance bike with her feet off the floor.
So i took her stabilisers off her pedal bike to see what would happen. She is now 3 years and just 3 months old and she can ride the pedal bike without stabilisers!
Totally amazing!!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wooden Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A clever way to learn to ride,
May 27, 2009
By Anin
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My little boy had this bike for his 3rd birthday. The delivery and service was excellent - plus the lady I spoke to gave me the top tip of putting it together as soon as possible in advance to check that all the bits were there (they were and it's really easy to assemble). He was not very keen on trying to peddle anything much prefering foot power so this was a great idea for him and he just loves it. He was a little bit uncertain how to do it at first but now he whizzes along like anything and is experimenting with taking his feet off the ground for longer and longer so he's learning how to balance in a very subtle none scary way, it's a very clever idea. The only downside with this bike is that the seat is very hard and after he's been on a while he complains that his bottom hurts but he gets in lots of play before then and in comparison to other balace bikes this is great value for money. Since it's only a learner bike I'd rather pay less for the balance bike and more for the proper bike once he's learnt his balance. He's figured out how to pedal now on a friends bike and is already hankering after the next one..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wooden Balance Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the best way to learn to ride a bike,
June 19, 2008
By yatesy
from somerset
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Balance bikes have been very popular on the continent for a number of years as a very simple approach to teaching children the art of balance. I have witnessed a number of children, including my grand children develop balance and confidence at very early ages and progress rapidly to pedal bikes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
About Me: Cycling is a leisure activity with friends or family
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Wooden Balance Bike
Based on 1 ratings-only review
RatingOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5