Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycling Parts Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Shimano Deore 9 Speed Rapidfire Gear Shifter Set

The Shimano Deore 9-Speed Rapidfire Gear Shifter Set is a complete shifter and cable set.
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Shimano Deore 9 Speed Rapidfire Gear Shifter Set
Review 1 for Shimano Deore 9 Speed Rapidfire Gear Shifter Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin (or acket),
August 29, 2014
By Hoppit
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Have not fitted these as they were bought as spares (cheap price) but I do have the exact same 9 speed shifter already fitted and works fine as with most Shimano bike stuff. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? CREWE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano Deore 9 Speed Rapidfire Gear Shifter Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
August 15, 2014
By dickychan
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Slick shifting, last for ages, bargain price. Don't bother going up the range, just get Deore. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano Deore 9 Speed Rapidfire Gear Shifter Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
August 12, 2014
By Col6
from Worcester, Worcester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value
" Great product, excellent value for money and a great cheap upgrade for any serious mountain bike owner "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano Deore 9 Speed Rapidfire Gear Shifter Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
deore shifter,
August 11, 2014
By toyong72
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good value for money........ and the product work very well......................... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano Deore 9 Speed Rapidfire Gear Shifter Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
shamano,
August 09, 2014
By sirrom69
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product and fantastic price. I would recommend it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano Deore 9 Speed Rapidfire Gear Shifter Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bargain for the spares box,
August 06, 2014
By Anonymous
from Plymouth, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: bargain price
" 9 speed Shimano stuff is getting harder to find, and as I have several bikes running 3 x 9 gear setups the chance to pick up some clearance parts at knock-down prices was too good to miss - these shifters will go into the spares box for future use. Packaging was a bit battered (not a problem), and the handlebar clamp screw was missing on one of the shifters, but as I have spares this wasn't a problem either. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano Deore 9 Speed Rapidfire Gear Shifter Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bargain,
August 05, 2014
By Voost
from w-s-m
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: work well, cheap on offer
Cons: no more left in stock :(
" Bought these to replace a broken set of shifters, they work great. And at the price they were on offer were a mega bargain! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WESTON SUPER MARE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano Deore 9 Speed Rapidfire Gear Shifter Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
top piece of kit,
August 03, 2014
By keith47
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: came with new cables and ease of fitting
Cons: none
" bought to replace a broken set easily fitted and came with new cables have done over 100 miles since fitting and had no problems at all. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano Deore 9 Speed Rapidfire Gear Shifter Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
July 26, 2014
By Kawasaki79
from Folkestone, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great shifter set, identical to LX, XT, SLX. No real difference & a great price from Halfords online!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FOLKESTONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano Deore 9 Speed Rapidfire Gear Shifter Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality and value,
December 14, 2013
By Garo123
from Cambridge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
Cons: none
" Used these as replacement shifters on a mountain bike. They are easy to fit and set up, and work really smoothly.mmthey suit a 9 speed bike "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano Deore 9 Speed Rapidfire Gear Shifter Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accurate fast gear changes,
December 03, 2013
By Skellycyp
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: performace
Cons: not available individually
" Bought these shifters to replace a previous generation Deore shifter that broke. Unfortunately had to buy a pair as not available individually. Came supplied with cables and outers, fitting was without incident. Overall a good quality, sturdy product giving swift accurate gear changes. Recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FRIERN BARNET
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano Deore 9 Speed Rapidfire Gear Shifter Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good basic shifters that feel solid,
January 26, 2013
By sdp101
from Oxfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I needed a new set fairly quickly after breaking one. Got these with a 20% off promotion, then a further 10% off for being a British Cycling member, so got a good deal on them and paid pretty much the same as the usual big online cycle shops were selling them for. They have a nice quiet solid feel when changing gear and so far haven't missed a beat.
Got them fitted and set up within an hour, cables look of decent quality as well (stainless steel if I remember correctly). The only thing that might be an issue for some is that it only came with three lengths of outer cable, and you often need 4 lengths. As I'd only recently put new gear cables on I re-used the existing outers and have kept the new ones as spares. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano Deore 9 Speed Rapidfire Gear Shifter Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decent shifters at a sensible price,
May 26, 2009
By mattfitnotfat
from Fleet, Hampshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought these as a direct replacement for a set I managed to damage; the fact that I bought the same item as a replacement should be endorsement enough :-) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.