Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Pedals & Pegs or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals

The Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Pedals are ideal for entry level use with a wide pedal platform.
Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(103 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (103 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
34
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
103 of 103(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 81 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pedals,
September 10, 2011
By Drsinky
from Falkirk , Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A very good pedal to suit any riding ability. Easy to fit and a wide range of shoes to choose from as well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Going extra mile,
August 23, 2014
By Wayneb71
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Reserved these pedals to pick up at Cramlinton store. Staff there were great. I am new to road biking so were very helpful when i asked questions regarding this item and others i had ordered.
Pedals are light and easy to fit. Need to get use to clipping and unclipping, i am sure that will come with time.
Overall very impressed with pedals and the excellent service from bike staff at Cramlington Halfords."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use,
August 21, 2014
By smudgesmith20
from Peterlee, County Durham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value for money
"Great value for money and easy to use an operate. I would recomend these pedals to anyone who is looking for a quick and easy way to upgrade their bike for long distance riding."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? HARTLEPOOL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product great value,
August 20, 2014
By reddevil7
from Penrith, Cumbria, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value and easy of use., cleats supplied
Cons: nothing to dislike
"My first clip in pedals and these are great. Easy to fit, got the hang of unclipping straight away. Cleats supplied with the pedals and at the price is a real bargain which was cheaper than other outlets. Good quality and look good in black. Would recommend if you are new to clip ins."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? PENRITH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price,
August 19, 2014
By Stra1907
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cleats included
"Great Price and a Great pedal for introduction to spd and cleats"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great pedals,
August 12, 2014
By Stuart311
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value
"Great value for money and well worth buying. Great service from the guys at Talbot Green."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect first clip in,
August 11, 2014
By hadgeuk88
from Nottingham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Solid entry level clip ins. put these on straight away and they feel really good quality. also decent for just commuting in trainers if not clipping in for a long ride."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (VICTORIA RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great price,
August 11, 2014
By John740
from Deal, Kent, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, ease of use
"I bought these pedals online and was surprised by the price which was a lot cheaper than other sites. The pedals, and the included cleats, are of good quality and were easy to fit to my entry level road bike. They are easy to use and I have had no problems removing my shoes when stopping my bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? DOVER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shimano Road Pedals,
August 10, 2014
By wall155
from Medway
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent value at internet price especially with a further 10% for British Cycling as well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? CHATHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value Pedals,
August 10, 2014
By Steerablegrunt
from Haywards Heath
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money, easy set up
Cons: sometimes takes me several pedal spins to clip in.
"First clip in road pedals for me, and they work great. A little adjustment to get set up, and they have been fine since. Got 25% off Shoes as well. Great Deal!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Economical,
August 10, 2014
By Pcvn214
from Derbyshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm new to this style of cycling and for a beginner these in my opinion are a good choice at this level"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great,
August 07, 2014
By Stew1234
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm new to cycling and bought my Boardman Sport through cycle to work. Bought these online and picked up in store (as half the price) and the guys at the store helped me attach them to the bike. Real plus is that they come with cleats as well!!
Definitely recommend"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WANDSWORTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals,
August 06, 2014
By Bagginz
from Ormskirk, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent value for money, Easy to set up and use very comfortable."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ORMSKIRK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product easy on the wallet,
August 04, 2014
By Jason13
from Lisburn
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"These are my first clip in pedals I've purchased and they do the job, easy fitting and easy to use and compared to the other prices I seen it was as I've said easy on the wallet"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? LISBURN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really pleases,
August 04, 2014
By Anonymous
from Walsall, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very happy with my new pedals and cleets. Easy to fit and really easy to clip in and out of. Even when adjusted to minimum strength I've had no problems with slipping.
Good value for money, ideal first pair of clip in pedals
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WALSALL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good pedals,
August 03, 2014
By saloondrifter
from Blackburn, Blackburn with Darwen, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"As a first time user of clip in pedals they took a bit of getting use to, but after a bit of practice I am very pleased with them, easy to get in and out of and I seem to able to get a bit more out of my bike than without them.
Would recomend to anybody wanting to try this type of pedal for the first time.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BLACKBURN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for confident riders,
July 30, 2014
By kingkob125
from King's Lynn, King's Lynn, Norfolk PE30, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy clip in, strong platform, very stable
Cons: unclipping procedure
"First time on this type of pedal. Really nice with simple lock in procedure. Only downside is the amount of twist to unclip yourself sometimes alters, but this is only a minor detail."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
July 28, 2014
By DAVEATMEG
from Boston, Boston, Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything, great value
"Really pleased with these pedals. Great value as they included cleats as well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BOSTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great entry level peddle,
July 28, 2014
By madd71
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"First time of using cleats. Easy to put on and set up. Excellent for first time."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awsome,
July 21, 2014
By gottenwhee14
from manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light weight, strong and durable, easy to fit, easy to clip in and out, come with cleats, instructions are clear and easy to use, big enough platform to pust against
Cons: only 1 sided
"I brought these pedals to upgrade and try for the first time from riding platforms for years and I am impressed and I no longer have to fight to keep my feet in position and also not be bounced around and loose power and speed these increase speed and power as you have a full constant drive with each pedal stroke so you work all the muscle groups in your legs and it makes pedaling more efficient the pedals are easy to fit and easy to clip in and out of they are lightweight and seem strong and durable which I trust with shimano and they come with cleats"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (FORT)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>