Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Pedals & Pegs or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black

The Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Pedals are ideal for entry level use with a wide pedal platform.
Average Customer Rating:
4.672 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(125 Reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (125 reviews)
5 stars
85
4 stars
39
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
125 of 125(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 101 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Review 1 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pedals,
September 10, 2011
By Drsinky
from Falkirk , Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A very good pedal to suit any riding ability. Easy to fit and a wide range of shoes to choose from as well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent value,
November 16, 2014
By zesty288
from Bury, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent value, excellent quality
"Great product, excellent quality and cheaper than online auction sites, well impressed with the click and collect in 1 hour service"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black with cleats,
November 14, 2014
By Heliflyer
from WGC
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good quality, good value as cleats included
Cons: not enough product info
"Great product easy to fit and use . They need to add what model cleats come with this item in the advert. Its the Shimano SPD SL Floating Cleat"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WELWYN GARDEN CITY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black,
November 14, 2014
By ragie
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals are a first class entry level pedal having used them on my other bike all year covering around 2.500 miles .
When I decided to buy a new bike I did not hesitate when looking for new pedals.
They deliver a good comfortable ride over long or short distances easy to clip in and out and at a price that is very affordable.
I would recommend them to anyone looking to get started with clip in shoes.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
well worth buying,
November 03, 2014
By stravamamilmember
from west sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cost, quality, performance
Cons: none
"bought after previous reviews read were really good and im not disappointed ,
paid half price by reserving online!!
solid clip in and click only thing I would suggest is to loosen the release right off as the spring is very strong!! as I found out as i'd adjusted half way but couldn't release as chain came off on an uphill and wooooop down I went luckily only pride hurt lol.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT ENTRY LEVEL PEDALS,
October 29, 2014
By YNOT242
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently fitted these to my Boardman Carbon Racing Bike after a recommendation from a friend. Excellent value for the money & made even better with my money off voucher for buying a bike from Halfords too!
One word of advice though! Make sure you get the cleats set up correctly on your shoes or pay the price when cycling any distance. The pedal tensions are also very easy to adjust, so you won't have any problems when clipping in and out.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BLACKBURN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
New Pedals, do the trick.,
October 25, 2014
By Wiggo81
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought these to replace my previous Shimano SPD(MTB) pedals that had seen around 5000 miles on both MTB and road. Was happy with those, so stayed with Shimano.
Fitted them myself, easy. Found them a lot more efficient than the previous pedals, as they have a much bigger area of contact. For what I paid, can't complain, and nothing to complain about either."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
entry level road pedals,
October 22, 2014
By dpw77
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"To quote a famous advert "does exactly what it says on the tin""
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? SCARBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice pedals,
October 17, 2014
By Shoots57
from Southampton, Southampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great price, smooth action
"I bought these for my Boardman Hybrid Pro, which came with toe straps. The toe straps were a nuisance to get your foot in every time you stopped and started again. I reserved the Shimano road pedals at a brilliant price and collected them, the next day. What a difference they make. Once you get clipped in, your foot is held in the same position. You just have to remember to prepare to unclip when stopping. I like these so much, I bought another pair for my other bike"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WEST QUAY RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brillant pedals highly recomended.,
October 14, 2014
By oldblueeyes
from south wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fantastic price, good support, pleant of float, easy to use
"Brilliant pedals, irrespective of price. With plenty of support and float. Easy entry and exit too. The price makes them superb value for money, unless you want to very specifically minimise weight to the nth degree, why go for anything more expensive?"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My First Cleated pedals,
October 13, 2014
By Geebus87
from Kilmacolm, Inverclyde, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap, easy to clip into, easy to get out of, great for beginners
"These were my first ever pedals for using cleats and i was a little apprehensive about starting to use cleats. I had been cycling with toe straps for a few hundred miles and found them good when i was in them and on the move, but getting into (and out of) them was a pain!
When i first got these pedals and the shoes to work with them, it took me a few tries to get the idea on how to use them. But now, after a few weeks of commuting with them they have became second nature! which i never expected. Took me a while to realise that i could pedal with one foot to get some speed up before trying to get my other foot in, rather than almost falling over at traffic lights!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GREENOCK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great pedals.,
October 11, 2014
By bayley89
from Lincolnshire LN13, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: color
"What can you say, do the job perfectly and are simple for a first try on cleats."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? LOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value for money,
October 05, 2014
By dwilsoj
from Renfrewshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"As entry level pedals for my first road bike I am more than happy. Halfords price was competitive further discount when I purchased shoes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? PAISLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Small and neat pedal,
September 30, 2014
By blahdinlo
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the size, the colour
"These pedals are a little hard to get the hang off at first, but after a while your feet get used to them. Can be a little tricky getting your feet clipped onto the pedals"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? OMAGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First clipless pedal,
September 25, 2014
By Madmax123
from Suffolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, price
"Got these to go with my new road bike, first time I've had clipless pedas. Very impressed with the quality, and the price, (including cleats) was very competitive
Brought these online with Halfords click and collect service, couldn't fault that either."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LOWESTOFT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good,
September 22, 2014
By kyaw688
from Edgware, Greater London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good staff
"I been using this shimano pedal for many years I also recommend this item for every customer who are crazy about bike this is the part of the best pedals ever use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HENDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic piece of kit,
September 16, 2014
By Raffles85
from ilminster
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good strong material
Cons: no con great kit
"Brought cheaper online than instore. Great value and excellent quality.
Remember to take your foot out though or you will end up in the middle of the road with countless people laughing at you.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value for an entry level pedal,
September 14, 2014
By jc800
from North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value and easy purchase
"Reserved over the internet and collected the following day. Easy to fit. Good that it included the cleats to attach to my shoes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect starter,
September 12, 2014
By Velogorgon
from Preston, Preston, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good solid pedal for a starter, works spot on. Does the job."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent set of pedals,
September 02, 2014
By Nevglufc
from Bury, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"very easy to order online, collect in store and fit, fast adjustment and great addition to my bike, Definately recommend"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>