Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Pedals & Pegs or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black

The Shimano SPD Pedals-SL PDR 540 Road Pedals are ideal for entry level use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.686 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(191 Reviews) 191
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (191 reviews)
5 stars
136
4 stars
52
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
185 of 186(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 101 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Review 1 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pedals,
September 10, 2011
By
from Falkirk , Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" A very good pedal to suit any riding ability. Easy to fit and a wide range of shoes to choose from as well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+10points
15out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dependable pedals,
July 25, 2016
By
from Shropshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Now up to 4 sets dotted around the stable, never had a issue, plain, simple, dependable. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good entry level road pedal,
July 16, 2016
By
from West Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good build, looks fine if you are worried about that sort of thing, good value for money entry level road pedal. Ideal for me, why pay more unless your a road racing enthusiast who has to have the lightest top of the range models. Looks like it will last well, but at this price can always replace several times before you get near cost for top of range ones. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Entry LEvel SPD-SL,
July 15, 2016
By
from West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: comes with cleats, good value
" This is a good value set of pedals. Comes with the cleats as well. I am not going to win any races ... just enjoy some touring and long distance rides so perfect for my needs. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BRADFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good price and easy to use!,
July 10, 2016
By
from Wombwell
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, easy to use
" Anyone considering these go ahead and spend the money!
Worked great with my Muddyfox shoes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (CORTONWOOD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good quality for the price.,
July 08, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the quality and service from halfords
" I viewed these pedals online and pressed the clock and collect. Wow what service I got. I had a phone call within minutes of placing my order to say that they where ready. Thank you so much halfords. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good entry level pedals,
July 02, 2016
By
from South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Was a bit wary about using clips after the horror stories that I've herd but they are very easy to clip out of and if anything I've found it more difficult to clip back in!
I don't think that you will find any better value for money pedals than these. I use them with FLR shoes.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (HARBOROUGH HILL)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
v good,
June 28, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" this is excellent value, works really well, easy to use. Much cheaper than elsewhere and you get the cleats included in the price, which is excellent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CLIPS,
June 18, 2016
By
from Gainsborough, Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" SOLID PAIR OF ENTRY LEVEL PEDALS.GOOD QUALITY DECENT PRICE. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent entry level pedals,
June 05, 2016
By
from Blackburn with Darwen, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent value
Cons: nothing at this price
" This is my third pair of 540's from Halfords. I wore one pair out after three years but they gave great service whilst fitted to my Boardman carbon road bike. They're easy to adjust and always give a secure feeling once you're locked in. I would recommend these to anyone buying their first pair of cleated pedals. They're excellent quality and easy on the wallet too. "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BLACKBURN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great pedals - just the job!,
May 08, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, great range of adjustment, easy to fit, comes with cleats, look smart on the bike
Cons: none
" Great pedals for the normal average rider, easy to fit, great range of adjustment to enable you to get used to them and "click out" easy. They look smart on the bike and the cleats (which are included) where easy to fit on my shoes. These pedals where price matched with Internet retailers so they where great value for money - well recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use,
May 07, 2016
By
from York
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: secure and safe
" As a novice I found these very easy to use. I can clip in and out with ease when I remember. (Won't be doing that twice). Easy to fit and feel secure. I would recommend these for anybody wanting to try clips for the first time. I won't go back to normal pedals now. I often stand up on my pedals and the clips feel very secure and safe. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? YORK
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Top dolla,
May 01, 2016
By
from Plymouth, Plymouth, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good quality product and decent price. Just got my first pair of shoes, cleats added and off I went. Sketchy stuff, I can't get out of the clips very well. Haa. But yeah, great product no faults "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano PDR-540 SPD Road Pedals,
April 27, 2016
By
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: how easy it is to clip into after stopping, robust, very smooth bearings
" Great looking pedals, installed easily and the bearings run so smoothly, feels like they will last for ages. I use mine for commuting and distance riding and I like the fact that the pedal automatically hangs down, ready for your foot to clip back in when setting off again. Definitely scored a great deal here as they were half the price for the same pedals from the other bike shops around me. Very happy indeed. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TWICKENHAM (KING STREET)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value,
April 25, 2016
By
from Gidea Park, Romford,
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: plenty of adjustment for click in and out
" These pedals are great value for the money the only difference I can see between these and the more expensive Shimano Altegra is the weight
Look great and adjust clip in and out
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ROMFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shimano spd pedals,
March 22, 2016
By
from Kilmarnock, Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality andprice
Cons: nothing
" Great product well made easy to fit and great price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? KILMARNOCK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow what a difference,
February 23, 2016
By
from Middlesbrough, Middlesbrough, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, looks good, great price, cleats included
" Having thought about transferring to cleats for some a while now I finally took the plunge and purchased these pedals purely on their reviews and wow what a difference it makes.
I was a little worried that I would not be able to unclip properly and would be totally embarrassed at junctions after having to pick myself up however after the very easy installation of the pedals I sat next to my fence and steadied myself and clipped in and out about 20 times and it was relatively easy.
I have just returned from a 15 mile ride with these pedals and I was able to release very easily.
If you are considered the transfer over just do it and I would highly recommend these pedals as they are very easy to use and there will be no going back now.
I also bought the Shimano ro88 shoes to go with the pedals which the shop priced matched from another retailer great service from all the guys in the Cleveland retail park. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MIDDLESBROUGH (CLEVELAND RTL PK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First venture into cleats,
February 20, 2016
By
from Hinckley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product, just what I needed. Not only that, but the staff instore were excellent when helping to change from the pedals to this product, both in verbally and in physically changing them for me. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HINCKLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome value for money,
February 07, 2016
By
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I don't usually write reviews but this one is worth it. This product is worth buying because it is cheap and works a treat. It does the job as a novice (like myself) and once you get used to clipping in and unclipping they are a lot more sturdy and easy to use compared to hybrid pedals. Recommended with equivalent shimano shoes. Works a treat. Remember when you first get the pedals to turn the tightness down all the way making it easier to remove your foot especially if you are not used to using them (I've fallen a couple of times because I'm not used to clipped pedals. All in all worth a buy and helps with cycling longer and with more power! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WHETSTONE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano pd-r540,
January 22, 2016
By
from Rochdale, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent value
Cons: none..
" I have this pedal on all my road bikes..had no problems great value for what is supposed to be an entry level pedal...still have my first set on my winter bike for 3 years..5000 plus miles.. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>