Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black

The Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Pedals are ideal for entry level use with a wide pedal platform.
Average Customer Rating:
4.696 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(148 Reviews) 148
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (148 reviews)
5 stars
104
4 stars
43
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
148 of 148(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 101 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Review 1 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pedals,
September 10, 2011
By Drsinky
from Falkirk , Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" A very good pedal to suit any riding ability. Easy to fit and a wide range of shoes to choose from as well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great!,
April 27, 2015
By Anonynon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Generally good - the only thing I would say is:
Don't have the pedal on the very lowest release tension because your foot can unclip when you are just normally riding.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano PDR-540 SPD Road Pedals Black,
April 27, 2015
By HowieB
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: new store layout
Cons: nothing
" I have this pedal on my road bike and after purchasing a new TT bike,didn,t want to swap them.Halfords came up with the best price and were in my local shop ready to pick up,the next day.It seems Halfords have now got the edge in good quality cycle equipment.Meybe this is due to Boardmans input,whom I may say was a member of my club some years ago.After his name,"Boardman" now owned by Halfords,there can only be one way to purchase good quality equipment...Well done Halfords I say.And I may say the staff there are second to none when customer service is required. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SPEKE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good pedals, poor halfords,
March 18, 2015
By JB10176
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The product is great for a first set of pedals. The only issue I had was halfords itself, they were £10 cheaper on their website for reserve and collect but they couldn't give me them in store at that price so I had to stand in store reserve them on my phone and then they could sell them to me at that price! Crazy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pedals,
March 15, 2015
By GJ38
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great entry level pedals, good quality, has improved my time by five minutes over ten miles. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? NEWMARKET
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black,
March 13, 2015
By AndyS123
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent product from a quality brand and at a price which represents exceptional value "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pedals,
March 04, 2015
By Leeann25
from Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very easy to fit onto the bike. Very sturdy good value for money. Easy to use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product,
March 01, 2015
By thom1982
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent spd sl pedal, price
" spd sl >flat pedals
shimano > look
£20 >£45
Easy decision. Excellent product. Would highly recommend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? SHELDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Pedals,
February 11, 2015
By Chriswks
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent beginners pedal at a fantastic price! (Bearing in mind cleat comes with it) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great clipless pedals,
February 10, 2015
By vamp75
from cumbria
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: bargain
" Great pedals, ideal for winter or am introduction to clipless pedalling, price at the time was the cheapest in the UK. Comes with floating cleats to get you started. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great pedals,
February 07, 2015
By fozbear
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
" As i am new to road cycling l didnt no what pedals to buy . But the reviews on the pedals was good so on that i bought them .
It was easy to find cycle shoes to go with these pedals . They are a great buy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? SELBY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the upgrade,
January 28, 2015
By Andrew960
from Warrington, Warrington, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, easy to set up
" Was not sure if changing pedals would make much difference, but cycling with these and some budget road shoes has made a massive difference. Pedals are well made and very easy to clip in and out of as I was worried it would be hard to get used to. If you are thinking of getting these you won't be disappointed "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product Great Price,
January 27, 2015
By IanM1
from East Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: competitive price and good quality
" The pedals are excellent quality and represent great value for money. I carried out a lot of research prior to purchase and could not find any pedals to match them. The cleats were a perfect match for my shoes and have a reassuring click when locked. I would recommend these pedals for all levels of rider. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BEVERLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano SPD road pedals,
January 25, 2015
By Callum14
from Northern Ireland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sleek look quality.
Cons: nothing
" The pedals are very good quality and would suit riders from beginning to pro.Very good value for money! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRAIGAVON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pete on Shimano PDR540SPD-SL,
January 22, 2015
By BluPeter2
from Altrincham Cheshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Got a pair of these on both my Boardman Team Carbon & my Bianchi Impulso and they are brilliant at entry level and beyond. Unless you are a "ooh I must have carbon everything freak" you probably wont need anything else, and what a bargain. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the box.,
January 20, 2015
By Anonymous
from Pontypridd, Rhondda Cynon Taff, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very good and can't be beaten for value. Don't see why I'd pay for the higher models? "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? PONTYPRIDD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano Road Pedals,
January 17, 2015
By Steve128
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: high quality, easy to fit, very clear instructions
" Very pleased with this product. Well made and a stylish design. Gives confidence to the rider as the standard of these pedals are very high. Supplied with cleats and fixings, instructions are easy to follow so fitting is very simple also good safety tips when riding with them. Makes such a difference to the riding efficiency you wonder how you managed before, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the job,
January 14, 2015
By MC1973
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a great product at a fantastic price. Well done Halford! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MIDSOMER NORTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
New to cleats,
January 11, 2015
By Russ25
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is my first road bike, so first set of cleats, easy to fit and comfortable to wear. Ordered on click and collect and got the on the same day. So no excuses not to get out ride "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first clipless pedals,
December 30, 2014
By nellynic
from Sunderland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought these to try clipless pedals and found them excellent. Bought online so got a decent price as well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SUNDERLAND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>