Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Pedals & Pegs or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black

The Shimano SPD Pedals-SL PDR 540 Road Pedals are ideal for entry level use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.669 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(163 Reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (163 reviews)
5 stars
114
4 stars
46
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
161 of 162(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 101 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Review 1 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pedals,
September 10, 2011
By Drsinky
from Falkirk , Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" A very good pedal to suit any riding ability. Easy to fit and a wide range of shoes to choose from as well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for the price,
July 27, 2015
By Googie61
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price quality
Cons: slightly heavy
" I ordered through click and collect. Luckily the store assistant checked the product because they had put the wrong pedals aside for me. Slightly heavy but great for the price and appear good quality too. Significantly cheaper than similar product in cycles UK. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Road bike essential,
July 22, 2015
By HomerLegend65
from Romford, Greater London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: essential accessory, safe acceleration
Cons: clipping out/in
" Ideal extra for road bike ...
Needed a couple of trips to get use to clipping in & out of pedals ... But it comes with confidence!
Now happy accelerating safely at will!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shimano pedals,
July 12, 2015
By Gazz46
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Like these peddles because cleats give a lot more coverage on peddles for balance.The peddles also are enclosed so won't lose the end dust covers!On the negative side they could of been a few grams lighter. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spd sl,
July 12, 2015
By Bjl1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: nothing yet
" Swapped to these when i picked up my new bike as disliked the pedals that were fitted have had no problems and got them at a discount easy to clip into and out of them and have improved the way the bike behaves buy some but make sure your cycling shoes can take the cleats "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beginner - Excellent,
July 06, 2015
By iamrick
from Llanelli, Carmarthenshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I am new to cycling and after doing my research i decided to go for the Shimano PDR-540. I wanted something i could learn and adapt to as i haven't used cleats before. It is still early days but for the price i 100% beleive i made the correct decision. Would highly recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LLANELLI
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good product, damaged packaging,
July 04, 2015
By Gillo
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good price, good product
Cons: damaged packaging, possibly ex display
" The pedals are fine and good value. But the packaging was damaged and the colour on the cleats was faded. l suspect they may have been a return or ex display. That bit was disappointing. I would have asked for money off, but someone else collected them from the store for me. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON COLDFIELD
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Top product,
June 27, 2015
By MTG69
from Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good performance.
" Top product for the price. Really performed well and durable. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? SUNDERLAND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality,
June 17, 2015
By Bujorionut
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I been using this product for a bit the only negative is clapping in when you set of "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap as chips but an excellent start into clipless cycling!,
June 16, 2015
By MissyR76
from Airdrie
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value for the price
Cons: cleats are easy wearing
" I bought these to go with my new road bike and shoes! Happy as a pig in muck as they are bulletproof and easy to get in and out of. I suggest you buy cleat covers also as the cleats themselves are prone to wear (as are all cleats) when hitting the cake shops :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? AIRDRIE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Click pedal Virgin,
June 15, 2015
By Bazza73
from Co Tyrone
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cost effective, great for entry level
" These pedals are great, I'm no cycle buff but the original Carreras pedals had to go. Well impressed. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? CRAIGAVON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black,
June 11, 2015
By IAJ1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good value, no problems whatsoever. No need to pay more in my opinion. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TROWBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit, great quality, great value,
June 11, 2015
By Essbee
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: goog quality good value
Cons: would like more grip on non-cleat side
" I accidentally bought some 'full on' SL clips when I bought a pair of road shoes to supplement my MTB shoes, not realising there were 2 Shimano clip styles. I bought new pedals rather than going back to MTB cleats and was really impressed by these. 5 minutes to fit and really easy to use when adjusted to the the loosest setting. On the loosest setting, I haven't had any problems with coming unclipped, even when standing up on the pedals. They feel like a really good product for the price. I would prefer them to be more grippy on the non-clipped side, to make starting off easier, but that's a minor issue which possibly applies to all SL pedals. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STAINES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Pedals,
June 11, 2015
By N523NAD
from Wimbledon, United Kingdom
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Brilliant pedals for entry level...this is doing my knee a lot of good and it has increased my speed as well. I don't know what I was doing without them, please always check and order online as its always cheaper and prompt transaction on collection from your nearest store. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Broken cleat on 2nd outing,
June 07, 2015
By caffp7783
from West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Bought this to go on Boardman bike for a triathlon. Went out with them for the first time on Friday and seemed ok. Got to the cycling leg of the triathlon two days later (2nd time of using) and one of the cleats broke upon clipping my foot in and so was unable to stand throughout the hilly part of the race. Must have only got 100 meters when it broke and is irreparable as the plastic has snapped clean through. Really disappointed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano SPD - PDR 540 Road Pedals,
April 28, 2015
By PSmith58
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great value pedals at a great price (£17.57) that also came with cleats, so I bought a spare set. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (SELLY OAK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great!,
April 27, 2015
By Anonynon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Generally good - the only thing I would say is:
Don't have the pedal on the very lowest release tension because your foot can unclip when you are just normally riding.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano PDR-540 SPD Road Pedals Black,
April 27, 2015
By HowieB
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: new store layout
Cons: nothing
" I have this pedal on my road bike and after purchasing a new TT bike,didn,t want to swap them.Halfords came up with the best price and were in my local shop ready to pick up,the next day.It seems Halfords have now got the edge in good quality cycle equipment.Meybe this is due to Boardmans input,whom I may say was a member of my club some years ago.After his name,"Boardman" now owned by Halfords,there can only be one way to purchase good quality equipment...Well done Halfords I say.And I may say the staff there are second to none when customer service is required. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SPEKE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good pedals, poor halfords,
March 18, 2015
By JB10176
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The product is great for a first set of pedals. The only issue I had was halfords itself, they were £10 cheaper on their website for reserve and collect but they couldn't give me them in store at that price so I had to stand in store reserve them on my phone and then they could sell them to me at that price! Crazy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pedals,
March 15, 2015
By GJ38
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great entry level pedals, good quality, has improved my time by five minutes over ten miles. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? NEWMARKET
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>