Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals

The Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Pedals are ideal for entry level use with a wide pedal platform.
Average Customer Rating:
4.623 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
30
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
85 of 85(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 81 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pedals,
September 10, 2011
By Drsinky
from Falkirk , Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A very good pedal to suit any riding ability. Easy to fit and a wide range of shoes to choose from as well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awsome,
July 21, 2014
By gottenwhee14
from manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light weight, strong and durable, easy to fit, easy to clip in and out, come with cleats, instructions are clear and easy to use, big enough platform to pust against
Cons: only 1 sided
"I brought these pedals to upgrade and try for the first time from riding platforms for years and I am impressed and I no longer have to fight to keep my feet in position and also not be bounced around and loose power and speed these increase speed and power as you have a full constant drive with each pedal stroke so you work all the muscle groups in your legs and it makes pedaling more efficient the pedals are easy to fit and easy to clip in and out of they are lightweight and seem strong and durable which I trust with shimano and they come with cleats"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (FORT)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good pedals - great value,
April 09, 2014
By Expieeater
from Derby
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: smooth running, great value
Cons: nothing really
"Bought these through click and collect. Easy to fit and they feel fine. You forget that they are there and that's a sign of smooth running pedals. The cleats clip in and out well, maybe a bit firm but I put that down to them being brand new, and I just wound the tension down to minimum.
If you're a budding Chris Froome you might want to pay double the price to save 50g weight, but I'm not and I'm happy with these.
Shopped around and Halfords seem to have the best price on these, as long as you do click and collect as I found the in-store price to be quite a bit higher."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WEST)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says on the tin!,
January 22, 2014
By shay07
from tyrone
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good value, perfect for a beginner, like me! Bought shimano spd shoes. Cant complain."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? COOKSTOWN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good alround use.,
January 04, 2014
By Wayne71
from Manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: complete kit in box
Cons: full of grease on opening
"Easy to fit and use. Cleats in box good to use although can be very stiff to release from pedal at first."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEIGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality good value,
January 04, 2014
By Oggy82
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good all round really great price and they included the cleats which i wasn't expecting"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano SDP-SL PDR,
January 03, 2014
By Rupert74
from Maidstone, Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
"Easy to fit with everything you need, easy to adjust, great value
Found on line collected in store
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
shimano spd sl pedals,
December 12, 2013
By ESOTERIC
from NUNEATON
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: feel and looks
"great Halfords service and great entry level pedal. A big step up from mountain bike spds - feel extra stability especially when climbing and standing. Generally more comfortable - a very worthwhile spend"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals,
December 03, 2013
By SuttonNose
from Sutton Coldfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great price, with cleats included. Good pedal for upgrading to from standard platform types. Would definitly recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON COLDFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Quality,
November 26, 2013
By jkr145
from England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy release
"Easy to clip into and release.Easy to adjust .Suitable for a novice"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (RIVERSIDE)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pedals,
October 27, 2013
By macca68
from kent england
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"these are my first pedals but they seem to good value for money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy set up,
October 24, 2013
By Mudge123
from Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to set up and use
"Setting these up was my main worry but this was very easy. Excellent instructions and only took 5 minutes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? CUMBERNAULD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shimano spd-sl pdr 540 pedal,
October 22, 2013
By rampager
from gloucester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, good quality, price
"great pedals easy to use and really good value for money at this price, would highly recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it's supposed to,
October 21, 2013
By PirateJonny
from Surrey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, ease of fitting
Cons: nothing yet
"The pedal work well, easy to fit with good clear instructions. There is an screw to adjust ease of clipping in and out.
I have only had them for a couple of weeks so cannot comment on durability etc, but for the price seem good value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WOKING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money, entry level pedals.,
October 18, 2013
By Anonymous
from Kingston upon Hull, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value
Cons: weight
"These are my first set of clipless pedals, so I don't have a lot to compare against but in my opinion, they're fantastic value for money.
They're what you'd expect from Shimano, a very solid design, they hold firm enough go give you confidence when you're pushing, but easy enough to disengage from when you stop. I've done a couple hundred miles on them so far and touch wood, I haven't fallen over yet!
The only negative I can think is that they're a touch on the heavy side, but then someone who's going to worry about the weight of their components probably isn't shopping in this price range anyway.
They come with cleats that are compatible with all your entry level Shimano trainers too, so they're a good match."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HULL (ST ANDREWS QUAY)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First set of clip less pedals,
October 18, 2013
By Chic2055
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy to set up. Quality product and value for money. First set of clip less pedals, I have found them very easy to use contrary to many suggestions of clip less pedals enevitably leading to a fall.
I'm training for my first triathlon and these pedals will be used for the race and my training. I would definitely recommend this product.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GLASGOW (SHETTLESTON)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano all the way,
October 08, 2013
By relaxingmocha59
from sunny northwales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is my 2nd set of SPD pedals,
yes i have 2 road bikes one set of road shoes and the feel that the SPD give is just out of this world,
the power transfer is like nothing i have ever felt before
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? RHYL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great price but some problems,
October 04, 2013
By djtdman
from lichfield
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap and best product
Cons: hard to remove feet in emergency
"These are great value for money they come with the kleets and are easy to use with their twist to release mechanism the only problem is if you need to stop quickly they make it hard as you need to remove atleadt one foot maybe two, otherwise you fall off sideways because your not moving or going to slow but they are great anyway"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? LICHFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shimano spd-sl pdr 540,
September 27, 2013
By markiow
from ryde isle of wight
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"a very well made and packaged item,just what one would expect from shimano.The pedals were easy to fit to the bike and have a solid quality feel to them and a durable black glossy finish.Full instructions were included for setting up and adjusting the release mechanism aswell as fitting the smart looking cleats.If you are thinking about entering the world of clipless pedals you really cant go wrong with these."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ISLE OF WIGHT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Bike Pedals
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beginners,
September 27, 2013
By CC94
from Fife
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, good quality
Cons: no choice of colour
"Excellent pedals for beginners and entry level, Easy to fit and Easy so get in and out of"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? KIRKCALDY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>