Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black

The Shimano SPD Pedals-SL PDR 540 Road Pedals are ideal for entry level use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.676 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(173 Reviews) 173
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (173 reviews)
5 stars
122
4 stars
48
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
171 of 172(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 101 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Review 1 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pedals,
September 10, 2011
By
from Falkirk , Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" A very good pedal to suit any riding ability. Easy to fit and a wide range of shoes to choose from as well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano pd-r540,
January 22, 2016
By
from Rochdale, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent value
Cons: none..
" I have this pedal on all my road bikes..had no problems great value for what is supposed to be an entry level pedal...still have my first set on my winter bike for 3 years..5000 plus miles.. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value,
January 15, 2016
By
from Reading, Reading, Reading, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent value, quick collection available
" Needed some pedals to replace mine after they were damaged when someone knocked me off. Compared all the prices with the usual online retailers and Halfdords were spot on and I could walk round to collect them from my place of work. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? READING (OXFORD RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3rd pair of these, can't go wrong at the price,
December 30, 2015
By
from Bedlington, Northumberland, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, value, comes with cleats
Cons: last a year on average, bit heavy (so am i)
" I've had 3 pairs of these for my spd sl cleats, over about 3 years. First pair seized up with winter use. Second pair were on my summer bike and unexpectedly broke at the rear hinge a few weeks back but after 100's of hard summer miles and events. I've just bought my latest pair - for 20 odd quid I don't mind paying for new ones once a year on average. I'm a heavy, all conditions cyclist. I've considered buying more expensive pedals, but with heavy use, I'm worried I break them too! And another plus point - they come with cleats that are 12 quid to buy separately. Great value, I'll keep buying. Black look really good. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRAMLINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shimano spd sl,
November 19, 2015
By
from Widnes
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great pedals for a bargain price and excellent service from Widnes branch again "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pdr 540 pedals,
November 07, 2015
By
from Worthing, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" these pedals are brilliant value for money,they are good intro to clipless pedals,not only that but you get a set of cleats with them which would normally cost almost the price of the pedals on their own !!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Standard Entry Level Road Pedals,
October 12, 2015
By
from Wales UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great first time road bike pedals.
" These are my first road bike pedals. I found it bit difficult getting used to the clips especially engaging and disengaging but found when peddling they were great for extra pressure. Would certainly recommend them with the Shimano shoes I bought - first roan bike shoes. Great. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pedals,
September 23, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great pedals and cleats to boot. Find hard to beat on price too. Just the job "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shimano pedals,
August 22, 2015
By
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Purchased these Shimano pedals after recommendation Halfords St. Helens. Excellent product, excellent service! Recommend store fit if you havent changed pedals before. Used with Shimano shoes could not be more pleased. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good cost/value,
August 18, 2015
By
from Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" happy with the product, no issues at all; shoes clip in / out very easily "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shimano pedals,
August 17, 2015
By
from Stevenage
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Strong conscrution but still lightweight. Very happy with purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
August 03, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fantastic value
Cons: might be too heavy for the sky train wannabes
" This is the second entry level Shimano SL pedal I have bought. The previous ones lastest for many years and were only replaced as they were looking a bit scruffy to be put on my new bike.
Considering the pedals include the cleats, this item is fantastic value.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for the price,
July 27, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price quality
Cons: slightly heavy
" I ordered through click and collect. Luckily the store assistant checked the product because they had put the wrong pedals aside for me. Slightly heavy but great for the price and appear good quality too. Significantly cheaper than similar product in cycles UK. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Road bike essential,
July 22, 2015
By
from Romford, Greater London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: essential accessory, safe acceleration
Cons: clipping out/in
" Ideal extra for road bike ...
Needed a couple of trips to get use to clipping in & out of pedals ... But it comes with confidence!
Now happy accelerating safely at will!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shimano pedals,
July 12, 2015
By
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Like these peddles because cleats give a lot more coverage on peddles for balance.The peddles also are enclosed so won't lose the end dust covers!On the negative side they could of been a few grams lighter. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spd sl,
July 12, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
Cons: nothing yet
" Swapped to these when i picked up my new bike as disliked the pedals that were fitted have had no problems and got them at a discount easy to clip into and out of them and have improved the way the bike behaves buy some but make sure your cycling shoes can take the cleats "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beginner - Excellent,
July 06, 2015
By
from Llanelli, Carmarthenshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I am new to cycling and after doing my research i decided to go for the Shimano PDR-540. I wanted something i could learn and adapt to as i haven't used cleats before. It is still early days but for the price i 100% beleive i made the correct decision. Would highly recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LLANELLI
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good product, damaged packaging,
July 04, 2015
By
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good price, good product
Cons: damaged packaging, possibly ex display
" The pedals are fine and good value. But the packaging was damaged and the colour on the cleats was faded. l suspect they may have been a return or ex display. That bit was disappointing. I would have asked for money off, but someone else collected them from the store for me. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON COLDFIELD
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Top product,
June 27, 2015
By
from Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good performance.
" Top product for the price. Really performed well and durable. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? SUNDERLAND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality,
June 17, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I been using this product for a bit the only negative is clapping in when you set of "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>