Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Pedals & Pegs or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black

The Shimano SPD-SL PDR 540 Road Pedals are ideal for entry level use with a wide pedal platform.
Average Customer Rating:
4.652 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (112 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
37
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
112 of 112(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 94 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Review 1 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pedals,
September 10, 2011
By Drsinky
from Falkirk , Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A very good pedal to suit any riding ability. Easy to fit and a wide range of shoes to choose from as well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First clipless pedal,
September 25, 2014
By Madmax123
from Suffolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, price
"Got these to go with my new road bike, first time I've had clipless pedas. Very impressed with the quality, and the price, (including cleats) was very competitive
Brought these online with Halfords click and collect service, couldn't fault that either."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LOWESTOFT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good,
September 22, 2014
By kyaw688
from Edgware, Greater London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good staff
"I been using this shimano pedal for many years I also recommend this item for every customer who are crazy about bike this is the part of the best pedals ever use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HENDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic piece of kit,
September 16, 2014
By Raffles85
from ilminster
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good strong material
Cons: no con great kit
"Brought cheaper online than instore. Great value and excellent quality.
Remember to take your foot out though or you will end up in the middle of the road with countless people laughing at you.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value for an entry level pedal,
September 14, 2014
By jc800
from North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value and easy purchase
"Reserved over the internet and collected the following day. Easy to fit. Good that it included the cleats to attach to my shoes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect starter,
September 12, 2014
By Velogorgon
from Preston, Preston, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good solid pedal for a starter, works spot on. Does the job."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent set of pedals,
September 02, 2014
By Nevglufc
from Bury, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"very easy to order online, collect in store and fit, fast adjustment and great addition to my bike, Definately recommend"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Pedals for beginners,
September 02, 2014
By GG1056
from Kenilworth, Kenilworth, Warwickshire CV8, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: does not come with the allen key to adjust tension
"Easy to fit to the bike - almost plug and play and very easy to adjust the tension. It does take some getting used to these pedals but they are the best value for the money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent,
September 01, 2014
By anotherrider
from Chippenham, Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"easy to fit, easy to clip out, I need more practice clipping in"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy Customer,
August 26, 2014
By ahappycustomer
from Sittingbourne, Sittingbourne, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very good and speedy service. The team in the shop were excellent in fitting the pedals and advising me of other products that would benefit me. I felt this was an excellent and honest sales serivce"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SITTINGBOURNE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Going extra mile,
August 23, 2014
By Wayneb71
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Reserved these pedals to pick up at Cramlinton store. Staff there were great. I am new to road biking so were very helpful when i asked questions regarding this item and others i had ordered.
Pedals are light and easy to fit. Need to get use to clipping and unclipping, i am sure that will come with time.
Overall very impressed with pedals and the excellent service from bike staff at Cramlington Halfords."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use,
August 21, 2014
By smudgesmith20
from Peterlee, County Durham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value for money
"Great value for money and easy to use an operate. I would recomend these pedals to anyone who is looking for a quick and easy way to upgrade their bike for long distance riding."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? HARTLEPOOL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product great value,
August 20, 2014
By reddevil7
from Penrith, Cumbria, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value and easy of use., cleats supplied
Cons: nothing to dislike
"My first clip in pedals and these are great. Easy to fit, got the hang of unclipping straight away. Cleats supplied with the pedals and at the price is a real bargain which was cheaper than other outlets. Good quality and look good in black. Would recommend if you are new to clip ins."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? PENRITH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price,
August 19, 2014
By Stra1907
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cleats included
"Great Price and a Great pedal for introduction to spd and cleats"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great pedals,
August 12, 2014
By Stuart311
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value
"Great value for money and well worth buying. Great service from the guys at Talbot Green."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect first clip in,
August 11, 2014
By hadgeuk88
from Nottingham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Solid entry level clip ins. put these on straight away and they feel really good quality. also decent for just commuting in trainers if not clipping in for a long ride."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (VICTORIA RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great price,
August 11, 2014
By John740
from Deal, Kent, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, ease of use
"I bought these pedals online and was surprised by the price which was a lot cheaper than other sites. The pedals, and the included cleats, are of good quality and were easy to fit to my entry level road bike. They are easy to use and I have had no problems removing my shoes when stopping my bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? DOVER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shimano Road Pedals,
August 10, 2014
By wall155
from Medway
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent value at internet price especially with a further 10% for British Cycling as well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? CHATHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value Pedals,
August 10, 2014
By Steerablegrunt
from Haywards Heath
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money, easy set up
Cons: sometimes takes me several pedal spins to clip in.
"First clip in road pedals for me, and they work great. A little adjustment to get set up, and they have been fine since. Got 25% off Shoes as well. Great Deal!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Economical,
August 10, 2014
By Pcvn214
from Derbyshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm new to this style of cycling and for a beginner these in my opinion are a good choice at this level"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>