Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black

The Shimano SPD Pedals-SL PDR 540 Road Pedals are ideal for entry level use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.678 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(180 Reviews) 180
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (180 reviews)
5 stars
127
4 stars
50
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
177 of 178(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 101 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Review 1 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pedals,
September 10, 2011
By
from Falkirk , Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" A very good pedal to suit any riding ability. Easy to fit and a wide range of shoes to choose from as well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Top dolla,
May 01, 2016
By
from Plymouth, Plymouth, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good quality product and decent price. Just got my first pair of shoes, cleats added and off I went. Sketchy stuff, I can't get out of the clips very well. Haa. But yeah, great product no faults "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano PDR-540 SPD Road Pedals,
April 27, 2016
By
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: how easy it is to clip into after stopping, robust, very smooth bearings
" Great looking pedals, installed easily and the bearings run so smoothly, feels like they will last for ages. I use mine for commuting and distance riding and I like the fact that the pedal automatically hangs down, ready for your foot to clip back in when setting off again. Definitely scored a great deal here as they were half the price for the same pedals from the other bike shops around me. Very happy indeed. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TWICKENHAM (KING STREET)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value,
April 25, 2016
By
from Gidea Park, Romford,
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: plenty of adjustment for click in and out
" These pedals are great value for the money the only difference I can see between these and the more expensive Shimano Altegra is the weight
Look great and adjust clip in and out
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ROMFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shimano spd pedals,
March 22, 2016
By
from Kilmarnock, Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality andprice
Cons: nothing
" Great product well made easy to fit and great price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? KILMARNOCK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow what a difference,
February 23, 2016
By
from Middlesbrough, Middlesbrough, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, looks good, great price, cleats included
" Having thought about transferring to cleats for some a while now I finally took the plunge and purchased these pedals purely on their reviews and wow what a difference it makes.
I was a little worried that I would not be able to unclip properly and would be totally embarrassed at junctions after having to pick myself up however after the very easy installation of the pedals I sat next to my fence and steadied myself and clipped in and out about 20 times and it was relatively easy.
I have just returned from a 15 mile ride with these pedals and I was able to release very easily.
If you are considered the transfer over just do it and I would highly recommend these pedals as they are very easy to use and there will be no going back now.
I also bought the Shimano ro88 shoes to go with the pedals which the shop priced matched from another retailer great service from all the guys in the Cleveland retail park. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MIDDLESBROUGH (CLEVELAND RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First venture into cleats,
February 20, 2016
By
from Hinckley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product, just what I needed. Not only that, but the staff instore were excellent when helping to change from the pedals to this product, both in verbally and in physically changing them for me. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HINCKLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome value for money,
February 07, 2016
By
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I don't usually write reviews but this one is worth it. This product is worth buying because it is cheap and works a treat. It does the job as a novice (like myself) and once you get used to clipping in and unclipping they are a lot more sturdy and easy to use compared to hybrid pedals. Recommended with equivalent shimano shoes. Works a treat. Remember when you first get the pedals to turn the tightness down all the way making it easier to remove your foot especially if you are not used to using them (I've fallen a couple of times because I'm not used to clipped pedals. All in all worth a buy and helps with cycling longer and with more power! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WHETSTONE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano pd-r540,
January 22, 2016
By
from Rochdale, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent value
Cons: none..
" I have this pedal on all my road bikes..had no problems great value for what is supposed to be an entry level pedal...still have my first set on my winter bike for 3 years..5000 plus miles.. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value,
January 15, 2016
By
from Reading, Reading, Reading, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent value, quick collection available
" Needed some pedals to replace mine after they were damaged when someone knocked me off. Compared all the prices with the usual online retailers and Halfdords were spot on and I could walk round to collect them from my place of work. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? READING (OXFORD RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3rd pair of these, can't go wrong at the price,
December 30, 2015
By
from Bedlington, Northumberland, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, value, comes with cleats
Cons: last a year on average, bit heavy (so am i)
" I've had 3 pairs of these for my spd sl cleats, over about 3 years. First pair seized up with winter use. Second pair were on my summer bike and unexpectedly broke at the rear hinge a few weeks back but after 100's of hard summer miles and events. I've just bought my latest pair - for 20 odd quid I don't mind paying for new ones once a year on average. I'm a heavy, all conditions cyclist. I've considered buying more expensive pedals, but with heavy use, I'm worried I break them too! And another plus point - they come with cleats that are 12 quid to buy separately. Great value, I'll keep buying. Black look really good. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRAMLINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shimano spd sl,
November 19, 2015
By
from Widnes
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great pedals for a bargain price and excellent service from Widnes branch again "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pdr 540 pedals,
November 07, 2015
By
from Worthing, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" these pedals are brilliant value for money,they are good intro to clipless pedals,not only that but you get a set of cleats with them which would normally cost almost the price of the pedals on their own !!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Standard Entry Level Road Pedals,
October 12, 2015
By
from Wales UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great first time road bike pedals.
" These are my first road bike pedals. I found it bit difficult getting used to the clips especially engaging and disengaging but found when peddling they were great for extra pressure. Would certainly recommend them with the Shimano shoes I bought - first roan bike shoes. Great. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pedals,
September 23, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great pedals and cleats to boot. Find hard to beat on price too. Just the job "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shimano pedals,
August 22, 2015
By
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Purchased these Shimano pedals after recommendation Halfords St. Helens. Excellent product, excellent service! Recommend store fit if you havent changed pedals before. Used with Shimano shoes could not be more pleased. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good cost/value,
August 18, 2015
By
from Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" happy with the product, no issues at all; shoes clip in / out very easily "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shimano pedals,
August 17, 2015
By
from Stevenage
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Strong conscrution but still lightweight. Very happy with purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
August 03, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fantastic value
Cons: might be too heavy for the sky train wannabes
" This is the second entry level Shimano SL pedal I have bought. The previous ones lastest for many years and were only replaced as they were looking a bit scruffy to be put on my new bike.
Considering the pedals include the cleats, this item is fantastic value.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shimano PDR-540 SPD Pedals-SL Road Pedals Black
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for the price,
July 27, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price quality
Cons: slightly heavy
" I ordered through click and collect. Luckily the store assistant checked the product because they had put the wrong pedals aside for me. Slightly heavy but great for the price and appear good quality too. Significantly cheaper than similar product in cycles UK. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>