Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player

Ripspeed DVD733B single DIN 3" in-dash DVD, MP3 CD tuner in-dash multimedia centre.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
19
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
52 of 55(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Review 1 for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't go wrong!,
March 21, 2011
By CarsandMusic77
from Port Talbot, Wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value for money, powerful
Cons: not the best looking
"Plays Dvd's in good quality, but went for this model rather than the 7'' flip out screen as it is a more powerful unit being 4x50w instead of the 4x40w the larger 7'' flip out screen version packs.
At the end of the day its the music power and quality I use it for, I have this unit hooked up to 4 240w Pioneers 6x8's (6x9’s would not directly fit my car) and a 1600w Vibe CBR 12'' Active Evo sub, and it Roars!
I would highly recommend this unit as there are many features which this unit boasts, it looks good with neon blue lighting but the actual unit does look a little plasticy but you would not care at all if it's living In a Ford like mine is!
An overall great product in my eyes and at this price you really can’t go wrong!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great purchase,
March 08, 2011
By boyzee1234
from Devon England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: screen resolution
Cons: none
"amazing price for the technology that the radio has, quick and easy reservation."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended but does have a few drawbacks,
March 07, 2011
By tmo1972
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I managed to pick one of these up cheaply as an end of line product. I think this has now been replaced with the nicer looking 732b? Anyway...This is a really great car entertainment system. Sound quality is impressive and there is a vast array of connectivity at the back.
Outputs are: line level outputs for front and back amps plus subwoofer( 5 in total). Composite Video in. Rear view camera in. 2x video out. Fly lead for USB stick. There is also a lead to connect to the handbrake switch (-ve)which you can disable to allow you to watch video on the move. And a reversing light connection (+ve) The unit will switch to reversing camera automatically if you connect the cable. At the front there is 3.5mm jack for an external player (iPod) and under the flap is the SD card reader and CD/DVD tray. The DVD and SD card will play Divx + MP4 format video which is good as well as MP3 obviously. All in all, it's excellent - the DVD player keeps the kids amused on long journeys.
Now for the downsides.
1] The RDS/EON processor in this is awful. It really struggles sometimes to get a lock on the strongest radio station signal (like when listening to Radio 1 etc), especially when your on the motorway. The TP (traffic) alert feature is badly affected by the RDS processors inability to lock onto a strong signal.
2] The DVD playback is a lot quieter than the radio. So if you're watching a DVD and then switch to the radio - remember to lower the volume first!
3] If you have an SD card inserted, the unit will always default to playback from this when you power the unit on. Also, it doesn't remember the last played track - it always starts from the beginning.
Apart from that, it's great.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player,
March 04, 2011
By vicike
from Edinburgh, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Firstly received used product, changed to the new one later. This one seems ok."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dvd733 head unit,
February 23, 2011
By AlfaPowerV6
from n. ireland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Fantastic head unit packed full of functionality with grate sound and really looks the part. You may have to buy facia panel as I did to make it fit into the dash."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
what's it got - it's got the lot,
February 13, 2011
By seannotshaun
from Skelmersdale, Lancashire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: versatility, display, sound
Cons: amount of wiring bits n piecesmaking it a squeeze
"Bought this to replace my old stereo which was playing up - bought it cos fancied using SD cards and USB sticks instead of filling the car with CD's. Bit of a squeeze fitting it due to the amount of wiring bits n pieces but did manage to get it all in to my Fiat Multipla after a bit of DIY and removing a bit of the rear part of the dash enclosure. Fitting was an absolute doddle, space issues aside.
Plays well, easy to use, display is very good and sound is great - I am very happy with it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best product i have bought as in car entertainmen,
February 13, 2011
By stoneyboy
from norfolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this unit has it all, its got a good dvd player and super crisp screen, radio is good and so is the cd player, you can also plug in an external device because there is a usb socket and an aux input on the head unit. the sound quality is brilliant and i will and have recommended this product to my mate. thanks halfords for bring me another quality product!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good purchase,
February 13, 2011
By 32lees
from west midlands
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sd card reader, dvd player, reverse camera, remote control
Cons: took ages to install as so many wires out the back, very plasticy
"really good for the price. Good quality picture and sound. I like the sd card reader in particular. was hard to install because of the amount of wires at the back, but once in you forget about that."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
clear little picture,
February 09, 2011
By navara
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i needed new cd in car player, popped by halfords as i do every wed early eve, as my 2 and 9 yr old example bikes , cars and scooters etc.the ripspeed tv screen caught my eye for a few weeks. i eventually purchased this on line and picked up in store next day. This way i saved my self a £50 , few days later when i had time the guy at stockport branch fitted dvd, great picture,, great sound and very pleased with price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Kit, Excellent Service,
January 30, 2011
By DomKJ
from Burnley, Lancs
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Product is first class and the service/fitting was first class.
Easy to use stereo with lots of features. One small annoyance is the bright blue screen when using an AUX cable, the AV screen is bright blue and I havent found a way of changing this."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth purchasing it,
January 17, 2011
By Evan40
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this stereo which never regret it buyin it does what it described also very good when connected with subwoofer great sound DVD player awesome give it five star for everything..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ripspeed DVD733,
January 17, 2011
By Wolf69
from Yorkshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great vfm
Cons: doesn't show the clock when playing sd's, other than that none considering the price paid.
"Bought this as my JVC had died and wouldn't play MP3s/CD reliably any more, saw this on offer on the Halfords site and decided to give it a go. A bit of a tight squeeze due to all the cables at the back (3 Vid outs, plus numerous other connections made it a tight squeeze in a Defender dashboard, but not impossible). Once fired up it works well, has a good sound although the radio reception is a bit twitchy and has a tendency to wander on TA seek mode, though that might be due to the aerial I have so I'm not calling the unit. SD card input works well, but I'd prefer it to restart where it left off rather than from the beginning, that might be a setting though, so, again, I'm not calling the unit until I get it sorted how I want it. Appears to play DVD's (originals as well as back-ups) well, with no jumping, even in something as rough as a Land Rover.
Sound is good, on a par with most I've heard, not up with Blaupunkt, but more than acceptable considering the cost of the unit (it was half price after Xmas)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amazin purchase,
January 17, 2011
By Vikkih
from Sheffield
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Brill sound n pic easy to install n keeps my kids well amused n they're in their late teens"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little unit,
January 16, 2011
By Twiglett
from Swindon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good with a reversing camera
Cons: screen v small for watching dvd's
"Brought this in the sale and it is a good unit (maybe a bit plastic but okay for the price). Was easy to install and screen works well with a reversing camera, though you will probably find the screen a bit small for watching DVD's. Gives a decent sound with plenty of base and get a good surround sound when watching a DVD. Overall an inexpensive all rounder."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value,
January 13, 2011
By tmas
from cambridge
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"so good being able to watch dvds in the car, great quality visually and audibly 5 *'s"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Xmas pressie..,
January 05, 2011
By LadyJF
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I brought this as a Christmas present for my husband & he loves it. I've seen this in action..... the picture & sound quality is great. Good purchase at a great price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great DVD headunit at a great price,
January 03, 2011
By Toze33
from Plymouth, england
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I wanted a replacement head unit for the DVD player in my mercedes ml to run alongside the existing mercedes head unit, purely so I could check the kids were watching what I thought they were. This was better than I thought it would be qt a great price, much better than the more expensive similar one on sale. A great buy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sterio,
September 06, 2010
By stuu
from falkirk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good value for money, play's dvd's
Cons: wont play anything on my iphone, the fitting carried out was of low standard
"this is a great product although the fitting was really poor even though i payed for it, when i got the fitting done they ripped out my old aerial without replacing it which meant i had to do without a radio and to this day its the same, they didnt re-wire the radio either so it wont save pre-sets.
final downside is that they had on the site that it was made for ipod, this was removed from the site a week ago which is a little disapointing but its a quick fix to get a cheap mp3 player and put music on that instead.
to the plus points, the screen which is only 3 inches is very clear watching DVD's and the sound quality is exceptional.
i'd say exercise caution when buying this device, you should look and see if it will fit properly in your car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the box,
May 24, 2010
By djGraham
from Thatcham Berks
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compact, good features for money, easy to set up
Cons: none!
"I have a camper van and needed to update the single radio cassette player , this product solved my problem of how to get a complete AV solution and it fitted straight in the same single radio slot, job done. The dvd screen is hooked up to a tv in the rear bed area and my reversing camera linked in to the screen with no problems, i now have a MP3,CD and DVD player with remote control.
There are better prettier units out there but for the price this takes some beating
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ripspeed DVD733B DVD/CD/MP3 Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
free fit cool,
May 20, 2010
By munchy
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"very nice bit of kit also a nice young man to fit it (youngman) im getting old,"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>