Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard

The Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard helps to ensure safety for your pet whilst travelling.
Average Customer Rating:
4.477 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(384 Reviews) 373
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (384 reviews)
5 stars
236
4 stars
117
3 stars
16
2 stars
8
1 star
7
363 of 381(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
222 Questions | 274 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Review 1 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor fittings,
August 01, 2014
By IndianaJones65
from England, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the actual guard, fitting is easy
Cons: fittings so flimsy, snap when you secure the fittings snap !
"The guard is great idea but the fittings are very flimsy ..any exertion and the "Hooks" snap ...unfortunately.
Trying to ensure secure fit mine snapped almost immediately...so am stuck with a guard and no fittings
would like to purchse fittings but no one appears to be able to help !!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? DURHAM
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dog destroyed it,
July 21, 2014
By Lorrikin99
from Lanark, South Lanarkshire ML11, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: halford's fitted for free, staff were lovely
Cons: fittings too flimsy, has made a mark in my headrest
"Bought this for my border collie pup, unfortunately while we were stuck in traffic on the motorway my pup chewed the fittings managed to get the side bit off and chewed through my seat belt. For this dog guard to work the quality of the fittings would have to be far better."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dacia Duster,
May 04, 2014
By Superpan
from Waterlooville
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simplicity
"After reading some reviews I thought I would pay for the fitting service so I could make sure it fitted my Dacia Duster. It did.
Although it can be fitted by one person, two makes it a lot easier!
The dogs can now sit in the back without hanging their front legs over the rear seats!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WATERLOOVILLE
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good idea fixings a bit poor,
March 30, 2014
By NathanC
from south wales
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, click and collect
Cons: poor quality fittings, a little expensive for what you get
"much better than the normal guards. but the fixings are poor quality. the tightning nut comes away from screw and for the money the hooks could have some sort of metal in them. however has stopped dog jumping about."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? PONTYPRIDD
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No problems,
February 27, 2014
By Lofty32
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: free fitting by store
"Ordered this on-line and collected in store which fitted it for free in my Mazda 6 Estate with no problems. Our large dog does lean against it and it stay in place."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product, easy to fit..does its job!,
January 03, 2014
By Emmajoy85
from Lisburn
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
Cons: price
"I have found this a very sturdy, effective and easy to fit pet guard. I had no problem fitting it to my head rests and have had no issues over the past couple of weeks since purchase. The only negative I would gave is that it is perhaps a little over priced in comparison with other pet guards."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? LISBURN
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesn't fit all cars and too expensive,
January 01, 2014
By Mollymoomoo
from UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Bought this product after reading past reviews, and suggestion that universal fitting. Not impressed at all. Mesh was bent when removed from box. Did not fit our audi A6 estate with brackets included so had to use cable ties strapped to the cars retractable cargo net. Not ideal, but no time to return product. Also far too expensive for some painted metal mesh and plastic brackets. I can only suggest that you check and have the guard fitted by Halfords before committing to purchase. Disappointed as usually find Halfords products good."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Response from Halfords:By Halfords Product TeamJanuary 07, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the product was not suitable for your vehicle. The product has been designed to be universal throughout the majority of cars, however there are occasional shapes which do not fit perfectly and this is why we advise using our free fitting service for the guards which will guarantee that the product is suitable for use in your vehicle before leaving the store. You may also return the product to your nearest store for a full refund.
Review 8 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
grand c-max,
December 19, 2013
By greg70
from hants
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i bought this for my grand c-max and it was very easy to fit and now i have a small dog that can't jump over into the car, i got the cheaper dog guard first but it was not suitable for my car"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? WATERLOOVILLE
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
December 16, 2013
By Jim1976
from Bristol
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: works well, quick to install/remove, good fit: covers gap well
Cons: little bit dear (but not excessively)
"This worked well in my Mitsubishi Lancer Estate. It is quick to release if I need to fold the rear seats down.
Quality is reasonably good. I added a couple of cable ties to hold the side panels tighter and stop them rattling.
My Jack Russell is unable to squeeze past the guard, and he's really lively. So all-in-all, a good buy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fits an '05 Scenic,
November 03, 2013
By brickwall
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The fitting looked fairly easy but free fitting was included so I took halfords up on that. fits an 05 Scenic well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Which Store did you visit? BRIGHTON
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Item,
November 02, 2013
By gordf
from bedfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"reserved online & fitted free all in an hour & half, great service, keeps our dog safe, wouldn't know it's in the car no rattles ect very strong."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product, excellent service,
October 26, 2013
By nasus616
from Angus
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is quite an expensive dog guard but the benefits are well worth it. There are no legs in the boot for my two mad dogs to knock over so I have to stop and fix it with the danger of the dogs escaping the car in a dangerous location. Instead the guard is very securely fitted to the head rests and cannot be moved by the mutts. It is well designed and very strong making a safer car. Halford's young gentleman who fitted it for me was super, he couldn't have been more helpful and had it fitted in a few minutes. Great."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ARBROATH
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best one available,
October 14, 2013
By Sarah007
from Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have already tried and failed with a cheaper alternative. Although I found this product more expensive than I expected, I was extremely happy with the quality. All others have been flimsy and fall over if the dog interferes with the guard. This one has been a better fit and more secure all round. Should have brought this one in the first instance. Added bonus to have it fitted for free at the shop, although I had to ask the fitter to use the added brackets for holding the side bits of the frame on giving it extra rigidity. He had suggested that I could put them on later if I felt it necessary. Overall comment; excellent product, recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product but a little expensive,
September 17, 2013
By Amanda47
from Merseyside
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Good product and does the job of keeping the dog in the boot space. Reasonably straight forward to assemble.
I feel that it is a little over priced for what it is.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dog guard,
September 07, 2013
By JoandRocco
from West Yorkshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: doesn't restrict vision
Cons: the full price.
"I reserved this online to collect in my local store and found it was in the sale and free fitting. Within 2 minutes of ordering Halfords were on the phone asking when we wanted it fitting and could go immediately, so we did. The gentleman who was to fit it asked us our breed of dog and how old. Chocolate Labrador, ages 5 months pup. He put the guard into my vauxhall corsa (59 plate) he was concerned when my pup got older and bigger he would be able to get his head I between the car and guard and suggested fittings the extension to which I agreed. He did this with the best customer service and was so professional. It was heavy raining and howling wind he didn't bother. The actual guard fits fab, strong enough for the pup and we've been out in the car serval times to get the pup used to being in the boot, and had no problems. It fits well, there is little noise from it and I'm happy my pup can travel safely in the car with me. Easy to fit it did look fiddley but with free fitting why would you do it yourself . I recommend and it's always better to get it in the sale :)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? KEIGHLEY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesome,
August 01, 2013
By Bean36
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"So glad I paid that bit extra after reading poor product reviews on cheaper dog guard. This dog guard is awesome and easily to other vehicles my 6 month old puggle puppy is now a very happy traveller loves the freedom of the hatchback and looking out of the window. I can drive with ease knowing sure I safe and my son is now back in the front, everyone is happy again :-))"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Versatile & easy to fit,
July 31, 2013
By xylonic
from Surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"An ideal product to keep your pet in the right place. It is very easy to fit and the additional shaped sections make it easy to adjust it for width. It can be moved between cars very easily."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dog guard,
July 30, 2013
By AlanJR
from Isle of Wight, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the best product we have found in this range.
Having just acquired a Mercedes B180 we were pleased to find that it fitted very easily and has solved our problems with regard to dog security."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT IOW
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No good for a large car,
July 23, 2013
By Portinari
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have a 4x4 and this was way too small with too many gaps for my dogs to get through -it's a good design but perhaps halfords could make a larger version?"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what it says!,
July 22, 2013
By Scrapheap61
from Suffolk England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A bit of a fiddle to fit so had my son help(well I actually helped him)but fits well and is solid, it keeps my two dogs contained and doesn't move at all."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LOWESTOFT
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>