Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard

The Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard helps to ensure safety for your pet whilst travelling.
Average Customer Rating:
4.469 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(390 Reviews) 379
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (390 reviews)
5 stars
239
4 stars
119
3 stars
16
2 stars
8
1 star
8
368 of 387(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
222 Questions | 274 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Review 1 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dog Guard,
December 09, 2014
By Anonymous
from Harrogate, North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to put up. Effective. Does not impact on boot space. Highly recommended "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just the job!,
December 04, 2014
By Chad238
from Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I had seen an older version of the same product which prompted me to buy.
After a couple of minutes deciding how wide to make it (adjustability very good) it went together without fuss and is perfect for my needs.
Good product, competitive price, no more needs to be said.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Other hobbies: Boating
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mesh dog guard,
November 17, 2014
By birddee
from Poole, Poole, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" brilliant product,not bulky as i thought it would be and so easy to install and to remove,check this one out first,if your thinking of buying one "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? FERNDOWN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product has no redeeming features.,
November 12, 2014
By HarryG42
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" This product is not fit for purpose. The clips designed to attach the main frame to rear headrests are difficult to adjust and subsequently to remove (one arrived broken and had to be exchanged). The system "designed" to attach the side panels does not work, and cannot possibly work, if the panels are to be used to their full, or even partial, extent because the fittings are designed to clamp to thin mesh squares and take no account of the outer thicker frame. Even the Halfords in house fitter could not get to grips with the fitting of this product and had to resort to (poor) substitute fittings. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Boating
Which Store did you visit? FARNHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Product,
October 31, 2014
By Mum123Mum
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Really pleased with this, it does the job perfectly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does exactly what it says it will,
October 16, 2014
By lorraine77
from California, Falkirk, Falkirk FK1, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very easy to fit and remove if needed, no tools required and is very secure without taking up any boot space etc with extra poles "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? FALKIRK
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor fittings,
August 01, 2014
By IndianaJones65
from England, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the actual guard, fitting is easy
Cons: fittings so flimsy, snap when you secure the fittings snap !
" The guard is great idea but the fittings are very flimsy ..any exertion and the "Hooks" snap ...unfortunately.
Trying to ensure secure fit mine snapped almost immediately...so am stuck with a guard and no fittings
would like to purchse fittings but no one appears to be able to help !!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? DURHAM
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dog destroyed it,
July 21, 2014
By Lorrikin99
from Lanark, South Lanarkshire ML11, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: halford's fitted for free, staff were lovely
Cons: fittings too flimsy, has made a mark in my headrest
" Bought this for my border collie pup, unfortunately while we were stuck in traffic on the motorway my pup chewed the fittings managed to get the side bit off and chewed through my seat belt. For this dog guard to work the quality of the fittings would have to be far better. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dacia Duster,
May 04, 2014
By Superpan
from Waterlooville
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simplicity
" After reading some reviews I thought I would pay for the fitting service so I could make sure it fitted my Dacia Duster. It did.
Although it can be fitted by one person, two makes it a lot easier!
The dogs can now sit in the back without hanging their front legs over the rear seats! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WATERLOOVILLE
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good idea fixings a bit poor,
March 30, 2014
By NathanC
from south wales
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, click and collect
Cons: poor quality fittings, a little expensive for what you get
" much better than the normal guards. but the fixings are poor quality. the tightning nut comes away from screw and for the money the hooks could have some sort of metal in them. however has stopped dog jumping about. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? PONTYPRIDD
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No problems,
February 27, 2014
By Lofty32
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: free fitting by store
" Ordered this on-line and collected in store which fitted it for free in my Mazda 6 Estate with no problems. Our large dog does lean against it and it stay in place. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product, easy to fit..does its job!,
January 03, 2014
By Emmajoy85
from Lisburn
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
Cons: price
" I have found this a very sturdy, effective and easy to fit pet guard. I had no problem fitting it to my head rests and have had no issues over the past couple of weeks since purchase. The only negative I would gave is that it is perhaps a little over priced in comparison with other pet guards. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? LISBURN
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesn't fit all cars and too expensive,
January 01, 2014
By Mollymoomoo
from UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" Bought this product after reading past reviews, and suggestion that universal fitting. Not impressed at all. Mesh was bent when removed from box. Did not fit our audi A6 estate with brackets included so had to use cable ties strapped to the cars retractable cargo net. Not ideal, but no time to return product. Also far too expensive for some painted metal mesh and plastic brackets. I can only suggest that you check and have the guard fitted by Halfords before committing to purchase. Disappointed as usually find Halfords products good. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Response from Halfords:By Halfords Product TeamJanuary 07, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the product was not suitable for your vehicle. The product has been designed to be universal throughout the majority of cars, however there are occasional shapes which do not fit perfectly and this is why we advise using our free fitting service for the guards which will guarantee that the product is suitable for use in your vehicle before leaving the store. You may also return the product to your nearest store for a full refund.
Review 14 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
grand c-max,
December 19, 2013
By greg70
from hants
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" i bought this for my grand c-max and it was very easy to fit and now i have a small dog that can't jump over into the car, i got the cheaper dog guard first but it was not suitable for my car "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? WATERLOOVILLE
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
December 16, 2013
By Jim1976
from Bristol
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: works well, quick to install/remove, good fit: covers gap well
Cons: little bit dear (but not excessively)
" This worked well in my Mitsubishi Lancer Estate. It is quick to release if I need to fold the rear seats down.
Quality is reasonably good. I added a couple of cable ties to hold the side panels tighter and stop them rattling.
My Jack Russell is unable to squeeze past the guard, and he's really lively. So all-in-all, a good buy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fits an '05 Scenic,
November 03, 2013
By brickwall
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The fitting looked fairly easy but free fitting was included so I took halfords up on that. fits an 05 Scenic well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Which Store did you visit? BRIGHTON
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Item,
November 02, 2013
By gordf
from bedfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" reserved online & fitted free all in an hour & half, great service, keeps our dog safe, wouldn't know it's in the car no rattles ect very strong. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product, excellent service,
October 26, 2013
By nasus616
from Angus
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is quite an expensive dog guard but the benefits are well worth it. There are no legs in the boot for my two mad dogs to knock over so I have to stop and fix it with the danger of the dogs escaping the car in a dangerous location. Instead the guard is very securely fitted to the head rests and cannot be moved by the mutts. It is well designed and very strong making a safer car. Halford's young gentleman who fitted it for me was super, he couldn't have been more helpful and had it fitted in a few minutes. Great. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ARBROATH
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best one available,
October 14, 2013
By Sarah007
from Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I have already tried and failed with a cheaper alternative. Although I found this product more expensive than I expected, I was extremely happy with the quality. All others have been flimsy and fall over if the dog interferes with the guard. This one has been a better fit and more secure all round. Should have brought this one in the first instance. Added bonus to have it fitted for free at the shop, although I had to ask the fitter to use the added brackets for holding the side bits of the frame on giving it extra rigidity. He had suggested that I could put them on later if I felt it necessary. Overall comment; excellent product, recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Advanced Mesh Headrest Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product but a little expensive,
September 17, 2013
By Amanda47
from Merseyside
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Good product and does the job of keeping the dog in the boot space. Reasonably straight forward to assemble.
I feel that it is a little over priced for what it is.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>