Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover

The Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover is designed to cover the entire rear area of your car so that when you do take your pet out on your travels with you, there will be no hairs, mud etc that will get onto your car.
Average Customer Rating:
4.476 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 21(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Review 1 for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of my better buys!,
October 27, 2013
By Doon
from Gloucester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: large enough to cover whole back seat
Cons: price
"Better than I expected having been disappointed in the past with similar items. Covers the whole back seat area protecting it from dogs hairs, mud and other dog related mess. Very easy and quick to fit and remove. Prevents dogs from slipping into the wheel well adding to their feeling secure. Securing straps are strong and fully adjustable as required. Flexible enough to be used in other areas (e.g. rear area of my estate car) if required. Whilst I thought the price was a little high it has proved to be excellent value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality,
October 24, 2013
By Bottlodog
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easily fitted
"Easily fitted or removed. Fits our mkIII mondeo, perfectly Prevents the dogs from tumbling into the footwell !
Can't recommend highly enough
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PRODUCT DOES EXACTLY WHAT I WANTED.,
July 13, 2013
By LSTAR
from GLOUCESTER
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Having a big car with leather seats I found that the usual types of car seat cover skidded all over the place when our big Golden Labrador jumped in, which disconcerted him.
So I bought the Halfords Rear Seat "Hammock" cover which fulfilled my requirements well.
The only criticisms I have are that it would have been improved by having pull down tie tapes UNDERNEATH the bottom front edge and more of a grip surface underneath.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHELTENHAM
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rear Hammock,
May 31, 2013
By Mario5
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The hammock is totally water proof, it is durable and protects the seat from dog hairs, along with tools when I carry them.
It is easy to install within minutes and is easy to dismantle .
I would thoroughly recommend this product.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hammock Rear Seat Car Cover,
January 23, 2013
By Coln
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: does the job
"The clips haven't broken and the cover is certainly big enough for my large saloon car (Sonata 2l diesel) and my 52 kilo Rhodesian Ridgeback. Had it for 3 weeks now. I have wasted money on cheaper elasticated covers (which were not big enough) and other types of cover in the past that never did the job. This product certainly does do the job. I'll clean the mud and debris off the rear seats from past failures in the Spring."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a pet owners delight,
December 01, 2012
By sash4
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: none
"After many years of struggling to keep my rear seat free of dog hairs, I purchased this item to find, it not only does the job, but keeps my dog safe. No more falling forwards when needing to emergency break. Up to now, no problem with fastening ties and easy to unzip for passengers."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dog hammock,
November 09, 2012
By pamlet
from Fife Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Does what it is meant to do....
strong.
Keeps car clean from wet,soggy dog!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bigger would be better.,
October 27, 2011
By DS15
from Somerset
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: too small, expensive
"Desciption states covers whole seat.
Even in a Rover 200 this cover will not reach the top of the back rest and still allow access to the seat belts.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value, shame about the clips,
July 06, 2010
By Frills
from Surrey, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: hardwearing material, easy to fit
Cons: weak clips, lack of colour chioce
"So if you've read a few of the other reviews here you'll find that the clips breaking is mentioned quite a lot. I read the reviews and decided to buy it anyway, and guess what? The clips broke the other day (a few weeks after purchase).
Having said that, it's not the end of the world as it's easy to just tie the straps together and completely negate the need for the clips althogether, not very convenient though if you're likely to be removing the cover regulalry, I admit..
Despite the clips, this really is the best product that I've come across for what I need - I have a coupe so ordinary seat covers don't fit as the rear chairs don't fold down. Add together expensive leather seats and two springer spaniels and you end up with a recipe for a light wallet, a wet neck and a mouthful of hair. This product solves all of these issues for a modest price and minimal fitting effort.
My only critisism (aside from the clips) is the colour. Garden green does clash somewhat with racing red... but then, what do they care? They're only dogs."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
animal seat cover,
June 18, 2010
By dino2387
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The best one i've found and the dogs love it very easy and secure"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dog car hammock,
June 10, 2010
By BELLNORM
from Nottingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Overall this is a very good product, easy to fit. I bought this product and on the first time of using one of the clips broke, took it back to store and it was replaced . I suggest that the clips should be much more robust as this is the only part of the hammock which lets it down badly. Withh such weak clips if you have to brake suddenly I'm sure the clips would break again ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the expense,
May 27, 2010
By amby
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Its a bit expensive but was really easy to fit and kept my cream car seats clean. Very hard waring."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Useful but not perfect,
May 15, 2010
By itchyfeet
from east sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good for one small well behaved dog, material does stop hairs getting through
Cons: fixings not strong enough for two fidgety dogs, zip needs method to prevent accidental opening
"This seat cover is probably aimed at one well behaved dog. I have two large dogs, one of whom doesn't settle in the car, and within seconds of using, one of the clips had broken. The dogs managed to stretch the ties to pull the cover down from the front head rests, and rest their chins on the upper edge. This made the middle zip open, so hairs got underneath. Also hairs get in the slits where the seatbelt fixings on their harnesses go."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really Pleased with this product,
April 26, 2010
By Bells81
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have just got a labradoodle puppy and our boot is not really going to be big enough when he gets fully grown and I wanted to start as I mean to go on. This hammock seat cover is just what I needed. I had seen ones that only cover the seat but had heard that these are more dangerous in a crash (as the dog can fall into the foot well). it also helps to keep the car clean. It is really easy to fit and adjust and can be really easily converted to accomidate a passenger in the back as well. Great all round!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handy Hammock!,
February 05, 2010
By thisismynickname
from Suffolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Putting one of these in the car has helped the long legged greyhound relax whilst travelling.
Until purchasing (and installing) the hammock he wouldn't lie down preferring to travel standing up - obviously a touch dangerous and probably illegal! But with the perceived extra space he can't fall down into the footwells.
Now he's a happy pooch in the handy hammock!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value,
December 28, 2009
By Lou11
from cheshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"recently got new car so wanted something to cover the back seat when taking the dogs out. Really easy to use, so simple to put in place & remove. Would definitely recommend"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Idea,
December 08, 2009
By Lilly17
from Sussex England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The hammock fits fine in my Golf, it stops the footwells getting full of hair and it is easy to hoover out."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
October 01, 2009
By edith
from coldingham berwickshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I found this product of excellent quality and it works very well even in my 3 door car because of the excellent catches which secure the hammock to the headrest. I can thoroughly recommend it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple and effective,
July 03, 2009
By Gumbo
from Scotland
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: simple and effective
Cons: quality of fasteners
"This is a good, simple and effective solution to keep your back seats clean. It's very easy to fit and remove in under a minute. One of the clip fasteners broke on the first day but this was proabably my fault for not leaving enough slack in the adjustment (fixed very easily). Recommended!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Rear Hammock Car Seat Cover
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very useful,
May 26, 2009
By strebor
from Cornwall
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: keeps dog safer, dog can't get through to the front
Cons: needs a 3rd fastening strap, headrest covers would be good
"This hammock is easy to fit, though it would be good to have a fastening strap in between the other two so you can attach to the 3rd headrest on the rear seat. Also would like to be able to buy separate headrest covers to stop them getting covered in dog hair. It's useful to have the zip so you can either have a passenger in the rear or put down one of the seats, but when it's closed it stops the dog getting through to the front of the car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
12next>>