Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Halfords Tubular Dog Guard

Make sure your dog doesn`t distract you with its cuteness with the Halfords Tubular Dog Guard.
Average Customer Rating:
3.493 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
13
48 of 71(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
64 Questions | 66 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Review 1 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Acceptable fit for Vectra C,
March 31, 2014
By menyheart
from Ipswich
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have a Vectra C hatchback (2008). I was afraid first as there is not much roof space left above the back seat, but the dog guard fits in the last inch of the roof edge fine. Once you secure it and tighten up the legs to support should do the trick. Unfortunately I had to fully lower the headrests as otherwise this would not have worked at all, so bear in mind for the comfort of the back seat passengers"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (SUFFOLK RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Drop your guard!,
January 01, 2014
By DanTheChimp
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: minimal look, unobtrusive, sturdy enough
Cons: none for the price
"A bit fiddly to hold in place and secure to the floor/roof at the same time, but took less than 10mins to put together and secure. Worked a treat though, even the pooch was impressed! Pretty sturdy once in place, and the bars don't disrupt vision out the back window. Not sure how much it would hold if you have a particularly feisty/clumsy large dog. Clever adjustable bars means should fit most cars. Great stuff!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dog barrier,
November 04, 2013
By Markkibb
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: staff in store very good
"All ok needs a bit of tape to secure tubular frame and untwisting extn poles very difficult good service from half ores store manager as usual"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Tubular Dog Gaurd,
October 29, 2013
By batman17
from england
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very easy to use
"`I found this dog gaurd very easy to fit to back of my ford focus and with the ext-able arms covered the back nicely so my dog couldn't jump over it. i also found the visabltiy through it great and no problems on removing it. yes i would recommend it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
October 22, 2013
By ISkye
from Portree
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easily assembled and fitted, this dog guard is proving very useful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dog guard,
October 20, 2013
By DMH60
from Wiltshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Does what it says on the packet. Good value as it was on offer. A little tricky to tighten the legs. A second pair of hands is helpful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great service, great product,
October 05, 2013
By 65stype
from Worcestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My wife reserved this dog guard on line for me to collect. I got phone call from the store to let me know it was ready to collect and when I arrived it was there waiting for me. PERFECT SERVICE !!! It makes such a change for things to all work out as they are supposed to without any hassle. It was easy to fit the dog guard in the back of our 2001 Mondeo estate and it works perfectly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BROMSGROVE
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A very safe pooch,
September 30, 2013
By d007
from Wigan
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have used this a few times now with my border collie, it fitted perfect with out any extensions in my bmw X1."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHPORT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Halfords tubular dog guard,
September 28, 2013
By Kevin8
from West midlands
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: unable to secure properly in car
"Very poorly designed guard will not fit into my mondeo and my dog Labrador simply knocks it out of the way maybe ideal for smaller dogs or needs a radical redesign"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use . Brilliant product!!,
September 25, 2013
By emsie08
from cumbria
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I found this dog guard easy to put in the car, side bars adjust to perfect fit of the car. I traveled 350 miles with a ( inquisitive ) puppy and he had not been in the car much before and i felt confident that he would be contained in the boot. i had no issues with this product and highly recommend it!!!!!! good value compared to others on the market!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? BARROW IN FURNESS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Rubbish,
September 19, 2013
By Boomerang123
from Kilmarnock
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: none
Cons: hard to fit
"Lasted 5 min then fell down. May be the way I fitted it but quite difficult to fit"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? KILMARNOCK
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tubular Dog Guard,
September 18, 2013
By Reg107
from Belfast
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this dog guard to keep my two dogs secure in the back boot area.The guard was very easy to assemble, only took 5-6 minuets. The Guard is solid,and does a great job in keeping both my often wet dogs secure in the boot area.
I would certainly recommend this item.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BELFAST (LESLEY RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value for money.,
September 16, 2013
By Mike666
from East Lothian
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: adjusts well
Cons: cannot use parcel shelf when not in use
"THIS IS GOOD PRODUCT. Adjusts well and will fit most cars. I reserved online on received a discount."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (STRAITON)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it's ment to,
July 14, 2013
By Sjblissboy
from New forest
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Difficult to adjust hight but generally ok and does what it needs to do"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHRISTCHURCH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vauxhall zafira 2010,
May 25, 2013
By Anna231180
from Nottingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really pleased brought a few far more expensive that received too reviews they were USELESS however this guard fits well is right and safe VERY IMPRESSED!!!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? ILKESTON
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
poor quality tubular joins,
February 17, 2013
By DogLover5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: joints are exceptionally weak, whole assembly shakes/unstable, rubber bushes keep dropping off, very cheap metal poor quality, poor design
"I purchased this after reading the package details in-store, took it home and assembled it firstly on flat ground then in the rear of my estate car. In both situtations it fell to pieces, principally where the bottom half joins the top half. This joint is almost non-existent and one slight nudge meant it all fell apart. Had I tried a road journey it would not have gone far, even without a dog.
I returned to the store, and exchanged for the Advanced mesh guard,. Two assistants said the tubular guards are awful, whilst saying the mesh guard works perfectly. I agree. One week and several journeys have demonstrated the mesh is solid, complies with trade descriptions and store assistant comments, and does the job.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
How many cars: 2
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well,
February 09, 2013
By Loverman69
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought this dog guard for my Nissan tino - it fits well but can get a little loose over time but does the job for me.
I'd recommend to others as was good value compared to other shops.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not very good,
November 10, 2012
By Alison1
from Milton Keynes
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"We asked a halfords employer to fit this dog guard in our car, he managed to fit it together just. Once he had assembled it in the car, he moved it with one hand and it collapsed completely, useless item to be used in the car. We ended up buy a more expensive make and model which we are very pleased with. And thanks to the halfords man for all his help, he won't be recommending it to anybody either!!!!!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords rubular dog guard,
November 06, 2012
By suzcross
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"very good for miney, just have to check regulary as does loosen through time, but styl is a lot better than the original straight legs, fit much better now.
would buy again when required
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They didn't tell me it was used before,
October 30, 2012
By MsDee
from Belfast
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to asemble
Cons: plastic pads are flimsy
"This is an excellent product, it was very easy for me to install and I am 8 months pregnant!. It is perfect for our springer, and he has adapted very well to it.
I paid full price for this and they didn't even tell me it was a used product. and I didn't think of checking, baby brain!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1234next>>