Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Halfords Tubular Dog Guard

Make sure your dog doesn`t distract you with its cuteness with the Halfords Tubular Dog Guard.
Average Customer Rating:
3.494 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
28
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
14
54 of 79(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
68 Questions | 70 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Review 1 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Failed within minutes,
October 19, 2014
By Sian23
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I have recently bought a Ford Mondeo Estate for my 1 year old English Bull Terrier to travel in.
My partner and I fitted the guard together and made it as sturdy as possible but it still felt a tad wobbly. Either way we were excited and decided to put the dog in the back and head off on a tester journey. Before we could even drive away, I looked back to see my dog lean on the guard and the whole thing fell back on top of him. Within seconds he was sitting on my lap in the front seats.
I will be taking it back for a refund and buying a more expensive car specific Dog guard.
I do believe this dog guard would have been ok for smaller dogs that wouldn't mess with the guard."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (SELLY OAK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to fit, readily adjustable,
October 08, 2014
By Jazz77
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quick and easy to fit, flexibility, good value for money
Cons: horizontal tubular bars can be wobbly
"The instructions were clear and enabled me to fit it myself in about 15 minutes to a fairly large 4x4. The tubular frame had to be extended almost to their full width limit, which left them a little bit wobbly, and after a while they started to rattle against the side windows. I tied the frame to the rear headrests for added security, as our boisterous dog might otherwise have dislodged the vertical supports."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A reasonable and cheaper option,
October 04, 2014
By Stewart39
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: doesnt need rear seat head rests for fitting
Cons: takes a bit of effort to get a good secure fit
"A lightweight piece of metal that has plenty of means of adaptation to number of different vehicles. Fits fairly securely but I think a bigger animal may be able to pull it out of position if determined. I bought it for a one off use and didn't want to spend a great deal. I suited my needs very well but may not be substantial enough for greater needs. Don't buy if like things to be as simple as possible."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? SEVENOAKS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
decent enough,
September 21, 2014
By smurfyx
from Londonderry, Londonderry, Derry, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"this product was fairly priced, and of a decent quality.
I chose to install it myself, it would be handier with 2 people doing it as it is a little flimsy.
once i got it installed it was loose, so i cable tied it to my headrests for extra stability
so far it holds up well to 2 german shepherds.
Would recommend - as a starter guard anyway."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? LONDONDERRY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value for the price,
September 16, 2014
By spudy1
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This product is good value but is a little flimsy .it holds in place nicely when you eventually set it up properly. The extending pieces do move in and out a little to freely but I don't think it's to much of a problem .overall not to bad I would recommend it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BLETCHLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dog Guard,
August 25, 2014
By JMLea
from Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"We have two cocker spaniels and within about 10 mins of setting off, one of the dogs had worked out how to push the end bars back and jump through to the back seat. On all occasions we have used the guard (even with only the less active dog in the boot) the guard has fallen down half way through the journey (Halfords fitted it on one of the occasions) Wouldn't recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? MARKET HARBOROUGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect!,
August 23, 2014
By Libs78
from Wallsend, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the extendable bars vary the width of the guard, the price
"Having read some reviews I was a bit dubious but I needed a dog guard and had to start somewhere so I bought this one. One of the cheaper ones on the market but it fits my car so why pay more, right?
I paid to have a member of staff fit it to be sure it was done correctly and so he could show me how to do it. Well worth the money, it was well fitted and he was able to answer my questions. It does begin to rattle a little after driving around, going over bumps, just general driving but it's easily tightened up and it's not like it rattles every 5 mind. I used it for a 700 mile round trip and it was perfect, it stayed upright, didn't loosen, was easily able to cope with my dog wriggling round and peering between the bars and kept her safe. Got back from our trip about a week ago and it's still in place no problem.
Would recommend
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? NORTH SHIELDS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mad dog,
June 16, 2014
By sally62
from Welford, Northampton, Northamptonshire NN6, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We borought this dog guard for a very excitable gsd keeps him secure in back, we had to get extender as we have a Toyota Rav and tied it on with cable ties so it does not move,the only down side I wish the metal was abit stronger as he has bit it and bent it but I know thats because he has issues in the car but would still recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? MARKET HARBOROUGH
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Acceptable fit for Vectra C,
March 31, 2014
By menyheart
from Ipswich
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have a Vectra C hatchback (2008). I was afraid first as there is not much roof space left above the back seat, but the dog guard fits in the last inch of the roof edge fine. Once you secure it and tighten up the legs to support should do the trick. Unfortunately I had to fully lower the headrests as otherwise this would not have worked at all, so bear in mind for the comfort of the back seat passengers"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (SUFFOLK RTL PK)
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Drop your guard!,
January 01, 2014
By DanTheChimp
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: minimal look, unobtrusive, sturdy enough
Cons: none for the price
"A bit fiddly to hold in place and secure to the floor/roof at the same time, but took less than 10mins to put together and secure. Worked a treat though, even the pooch was impressed! Pretty sturdy once in place, and the bars don't disrupt vision out the back window. Not sure how much it would hold if you have a particularly feisty/clumsy large dog. Clever adjustable bars means should fit most cars. Great stuff!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dog barrier,
November 04, 2013
By Markkibb
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: staff in store very good
"All ok needs a bit of tape to secure tubular frame and untwisting extn poles very difficult good service from half ores store manager as usual"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Tubular Dog Gaurd,
October 29, 2013
By batman17
from england
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very easy to use
"`I found this dog gaurd very easy to fit to back of my ford focus and with the ext-able arms covered the back nicely so my dog couldn't jump over it. i also found the visabltiy through it great and no problems on removing it. yes i would recommend it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
October 22, 2013
By ISkye
from Portree
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easily assembled and fitted, this dog guard is proving very useful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dog guard,
October 20, 2013
By DMH60
from Wiltshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Does what it says on the packet. Good value as it was on offer. A little tricky to tighten the legs. A second pair of hands is helpful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great service, great product,
October 05, 2013
By 65stype
from Worcestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My wife reserved this dog guard on line for me to collect. I got phone call from the store to let me know it was ready to collect and when I arrived it was there waiting for me. PERFECT SERVICE !!! It makes such a change for things to all work out as they are supposed to without any hassle. It was easy to fit the dog guard in the back of our 2001 Mondeo estate and it works perfectly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BROMSGROVE
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A very safe pooch,
September 30, 2013
By d007
from Wigan
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have used this a few times now with my border collie, it fitted perfect with out any extensions in my bmw X1."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHPORT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Halfords tubular dog guard,
September 28, 2013
By Kevin8
from West midlands
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: unable to secure properly in car
"Very poorly designed guard will not fit into my mondeo and my dog Labrador simply knocks it out of the way maybe ideal for smaller dogs or needs a radical redesign"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use . Brilliant product!!,
September 25, 2013
By emsie08
from cumbria
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I found this dog guard easy to put in the car, side bars adjust to perfect fit of the car. I traveled 350 miles with a ( inquisitive ) puppy and he had not been in the car much before and i felt confident that he would be contained in the boot. i had no issues with this product and highly recommend it!!!!!! good value compared to others on the market!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? BARROW IN FURNESS
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Rubbish,
September 19, 2013
By Boomerang123
from Kilmarnock
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: none
Cons: hard to fit
"Lasted 5 min then fell down. May be the way I fitted it but quite difficult to fit"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? KILMARNOCK
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Tubular Dog Guard
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tubular Dog Guard,
September 18, 2013
By Reg107
from Belfast
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this dog guard to keep my two dogs secure in the back boot area.The guard was very easy to assemble, only took 5-6 minuets. The Guard is solid,and does a great job in keeping both my often wet dogs secure in the boot area.
I would certainly recommend this item.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BELFAST (LESLEY RTL PK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>