Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml

Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml cetane booster & detergent adds up to 4 cetane numbers to diesel
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
13
3 stars
9
2 stars
0
1 star
0
74 of 80(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Review 1 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Millers Diesel Power Ecomax,
July 24, 2015
By
from Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: a dosage measuring gizmo is part of the container.
" Having purchased a second-hand, low mileage diesel saloon car recently, I noticed a somewhat lumpy idle although the engine ran very well in all other respects.
I added one dose of Millers Diesel Power Ecomax at the next fill-up and I believe there was an immediate, significant improvement which has been sustained. It is early days and I look forward to adding another dose at the next fill-up but I am very satisfied with this product so far. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MARCH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keeps injectors clean and smooth,
July 23, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have been using the product for nearly two years and on diagnostic testing the injectors are within their original tolerances not bad for a 12 year old engine. Using cruise control on Mways and keeping to 65mph my 2litre engine returns between 48 to 52 mpg. So all in all an excellent product just wish there more two for one deals :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a convert,
June 29, 2015
By
from Belfast, Belfast, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use squeeze measure works a treat.
Cons: it's a smelly liquid!
" I first used this in my 2010 2.4D5 Volvo XC60 a few months ago. I never believed in fuel additives until now, After only one dose I noticed a difference in the well known lumpy D4 engine. Recently I ran out of additive and went a few tanks without any, it was then I realised the difference it was making. Not only to MPG, 3-4 MPG improvement through town, but also the running and the DPF regeneration frequency. I have no science to prove it but I can tell you from my experience I'm converted to it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? LISBURN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Slightly worse fuel economy,
June 26, 2015
By
from Wales, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: reasonable price
Cons: smells awful
" Used this in my Renault Scenic 1.5dci and noticed no difference at all other than my car became a couple of miles per gallon worse .
The smell from it was unbearable no matter how I tried , I couldn't get rid of it .,that is until the post office totalled my car and I got a new one :)
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LLANTRISANT
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ignore insructions...,
January 24, 2015
By
from Daventry, Daventry, Northamptonshire NN11, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: clever filling system
Cons: it smells!!
" For first use - slip in at least three measures of the detergent.
It will take a few hundred miles to feel the difference!
I put in a Mondeo 2.0 TDci - no problems with a twelve year olde engine. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DAVENTRY
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Millers Diesel Power Ecomax,
January 10, 2015
By
from Eastleigh Hampshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I add this product every time I fill up with diesel(max capacity).It keeps the injectors clean, gives my Sportage 4x4
smoother acceleration and slightly more M.P.G. excellent product
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EASTLEIGH
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says,
January 07, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: it does what it says
Cons: cost
" good product, does what it says, better than other leading brands. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not sur!!,
January 04, 2015
By
from Llandudno
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I read many reviews for Millers Diesel power Ecomax which were all excellent. Halfords have just asked me to review the product but maybe this is a too soon as i have not noticed much improvement as yet. I initially used a double dose around 200 miles ago as i was getting a large puff of blue smoke on start up with some reviews suggesting Millers would rectify this but this is still occurring. reviews also suggested smoother acceleration along with a quieter engine but i have not noticed any difference. Also, the price in Halfords is at least 50% more than you can get it for on the internet. Not convinced as yet!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LLANDUDNO
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it did something.,
January 03, 2015
By
from Camberley, Surrey, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I've bought this product as a recommendation from a friend, but I used it after doing some basic maintenance on my car (change diesel filter, clean EGR valve, etc).
I must say the engine is running smother and I did notice an slight increase on miles per gallon.
On the plus side you get enough product fro up to 10 uses, it's good if you have more then just 1 diesel car or if you want to use it multiple times.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CAMBERLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
super,
December 27, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" this stuff works a treat,my astra van sounds better and goes better.fuel economy is improved aswell. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used on three different engines now, Wow!.,
November 20, 2014
By
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I've used this on three different engines now, the first being a 1.5 litre diesel engine fitted to my narrowboat following recommendations on a canal forum. The moment it hit the injectors, the change was obvious and dramatic, the engine ran more smoothly, more quietly, and subsequently smoked far less on start-up. Then I put some in my truck, a Renault Magnum 500 Dxi and again the results were startling, I've owned it for over two years and it's pulling better than it has ever done, fuel consumption has improved from 7.3 mpg to 7.9 mpg. Then I put some in my Rover 75, which has the BMW 2.0 litre diesel engine and again performance has improved beyond all recognition. This is definitely worth the money and then some. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing in a bottle!!!!,
October 31, 2014
By
from Portsmouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: works very well
Cons: why didn't i notice this stuff earlier!
" As usual the reserve online and collect service was smooth and as for the Millers I wouldn't use anything else. The engine is quieter, smoother and more economical with this fantastic fuel cleaner. I've clocked up over 150k using this stuff and can't recommend it enough. For any first time user's be aware that it can take up to 200 miles to work through the fuel system but you once it's at the injectors you will know as the car feels amazing. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says,
October 30, 2014
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have used one full tank of fuel and notice the difference already. Much less smoking and more power uphill. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SWANSEA
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Don't spill it anywhere,
October 16, 2014
By
from Casvegas
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: definitely quietens engine, very slight mpg improvement, less visible fumes under hard acceleration
Cons: smell...do not spill!
" As title suggests do not spill it anywhere especially on your car boot carpet. The smell is awful and you'll never get shut of the smell if spilt.
Regards performance I've seen a very slight improvement in mpg and the engine is definitely quieter than without. Under hard acceleration as with all diesels this will improve how much visible fumes your exhaust belches out
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Doesn't do miracles but it's still good stuff,
September 14, 2014
By
from Teesside
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: smoother running, better cold start drive, slightly improved mpg, treats a good amount of full tanks, easy to pour in tank
Cons: doesn't help as much for premium diesel users, very strong smell if you spill a bit, bottle leaked somehow in my boot
" I used this when I first got my 1.9 JDT to give it a clean out, I've noticed from other reviews online that it's the people that use supermarket fuel that get the most benefit.
I use vpower diesel so that's probarly why this hasn't really done anything huge however I have noticed smoother running, smoother drive when cold in the morning, and a couple extra mpg, I never get smoke so I can't comment on that.
Personally I would reccomend a bottle, if your thinking of getting fuel additive, this is definatly the best one.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STOCKTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another Great Product Great Price,
September 11, 2014
By
from Tow Law, Bishop Auckland, County Durham DL13, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have an old focus tddi (2004) 189k and what a difference it has made I could feel it straight away double dose 1st time, work out the cost of other products against lead in brands a treatment costs 35p per tank!!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? DURHAM
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best product I've used,
August 21, 2014
By
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Don't waste your money buying other products from local garages. I've used other products and wasted a lot of money for my BMW 520d M Sport and unfortunately they did nothing to help. This cleaner done the job and the power and performance of the turbo is back. Definatly recommend this product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? MILE END ROAD
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml,
August 06, 2014
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" It was recommended by one of the engineers I work with and I used it on my lads freelander after I service it. I've not driven it be he says after a few days he notice that it was more responsive when he put his foot down. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Doesn't really do much,
April 20, 2014
By
from Carlisle
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: stinks, awkward to use, no detectable effect
" I got this for my '08 Golf GT TDi to keep it running smoothly. I have had no detectable change in performance or fuel economy. I do use BP ultimate diesel in conjunction with this which could be classed as overkill. I wasn't very impressed when I found the same product and size for half the price online, so I shall not be buying this in store from now on. Could be useful for older diesels. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CARLISLE
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing Product,
April 06, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: actually effective, easy to use
Cons: don't let it touch your hands
" I have a 2001 Peugeot 406 2.0D which was giving me below average mileage and I was encountering sporadic injector problems.
I always thought that additives were a myth but after quite a bit of research, I changed my mind, and after further research, chose this product.
I cannot tell you how happy I am with MDPE. Injector problems have gone, pick has gone up, exhaust has cleaned up and most importantly I am getting amazing mileage.
To get a perspective, I do deliveries on weekends. Hectic stop and run drives. I fill 20 liters and I get over 180 miles (and never less). That should be 41 mpg on rough urban run. (I add 25 ml of MDPE to it)
I consistently get above 60 mpg on a motorway, albeit, I hardly drive above 65-70 mph.
I cannot recommend this product strongly enough. I am going through my fourth bottle and cannot be happier. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>