Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml

Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml cetane booster & detergent adds up to 4 cetane numbers to diesel
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
62 of 66(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Review 1 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Doesn't do miracles but it's still good stuff,
September 14, 2014
By kylegxo
from Teesside
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: smoother running, better cold start drive, slightly improved mpg, treats a good amount of full tanks, easy to pour in tank
Cons: doesn't help as much for premium diesel users, very strong smell if you spill a bit, bottle leaked somehow in my boot
"I used this when I first got my 1.9 JDT to give it a clean out, I've noticed from other reviews online that it's the people that use supermarket fuel that get the most benefit.
I use vpower diesel so that's probarly why this hasn't really done anything huge however I have noticed smoother running, smoother drive when cold in the morning, and a couple extra mpg, I never get smoke so I can't comment on that.
Personally I would reccomend a bottle, if your thinking of getting fuel additive, this is definatly the best one.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STOCKTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another Great Product Great Price,
September 11, 2014
By srobson24
from Tow Law, Bishop Auckland, County Durham DL13, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have an old focus tddi (2004) 189k and what a difference it has made I could feel it straight away double dose 1st time, work out the cost of other products against lead in brands a treatment costs 35p per tank!!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? DURHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best product I've used,
August 21, 2014
By Advisor7598
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Don't waste your money buying other products from local garages. I've used other products and wasted a lot of money for my BMW 520d M Sport and unfortunately they did nothing to help. This cleaner done the job and the power and performance of the turbo is back. Definatly recommend this product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? MILE END ROAD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml,
August 06, 2014
By Charlie08
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It was recommended by one of the engineers I work with and I used it on my lads freelander after I service it. I've not driven it be he says after a few days he notice that it was more responsive when he put his foot down."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Doesn't really do much,
April 20, 2014
By Anonymous
from Carlisle
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: stinks, awkward to use, no detectable effect
"I got this for my '08 Golf GT TDi to keep it running smoothly. I have had no detectable change in performance or fuel economy. I do use BP ultimate diesel in conjunction with this which could be classed as overkill. I wasn't very impressed when I found the same product and size for half the price online, so I shall not be buying this in store from now on. Could be useful for older diesels."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CARLISLE
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing Product,
April 06, 2014
By haroon180
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: actually effective, easy to use
Cons: don't let it touch your hands
"I have a 2001 Peugeot 406 2.0D which was giving me below average mileage and I was encountering sporadic injector problems.
I always thought that additives were a myth but after quite a bit of research, I changed my mind, and after further research, chose this product.
I cannot tell you how happy I am with MDPE. Injector problems have gone, pick has gone up, exhaust has cleaned up and most importantly I am getting amazing mileage.
To get a perspective, I do deliveries on weekends. Hectic stop and run drives. I fill 20 liters and I get over 180 miles (and never less). That should be 41 mpg on rough urban run. (I add 25 ml of MDPE to it)
I consistently get above 60 mpg on a motorway, albeit, I hardly drive above 65-70 mph.
I cannot recommend this product strongly enough. I am going through my fourth bottle and cannot be happier."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cured misfire,
January 23, 2014
By Matlot
from Plymouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy dosage bottle
Cons: a bit smelly if left in the car
"Freelander TD4 Auto.With a slight misfire and eratic tick over.
After changing the fuel filter and adding this product the mis fire is cured.The Haynes manual advises to try a cleaner before condemning an injector. Added to that the car is more responsive to the throttle .
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml,
January 03, 2014
By WOLF44
from WEST YORKSHIRE
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I WAS TOLD BY MY GARAGE THAT MY VWGOLF DIESEL TURBO WOULD NEED NEW TURBO APPROX 800POUNDS.SOMEONE TOLD ME TO TRY MILLERS DIESEL POWER ECOMAX . I THOUGHT I WILL GIVE IT A GO. A FEW SHOTS OF MILLERS AND YOU COULD FEEL THE POWER IMPROVE AND GRADUALLY AFTER A MONTH THE TURBO WAS WORKING AGAIN NOT CUTTING OUT ON ACCLERATION.BEST 8POUNDS SPENT CONGRATULATIONS TO MILLERS GOOD PRODUCT JUST KEEP GIVEN A SHOT EVERY KNOW AND THEN TO KEEP DEPOSITS BIULDING UP ETC FROM THE BIO FUEL THEY ADD TO DIESEL."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DEWSBURY
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appears to work well,
December 07, 2013
By Harry513
from Bognor Regis
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The wife's diesel Ford Focus had developed a sporadic 'stutter' whereby the engine appeared to 'cough' for a millisecond and then pick up again and continue perfectly. The car is 4 years old and done around 40k in milage. There was nothing on the dashboard to suggest an electrical fault, so I thought of fuel.
Bought some Millers Diesel Power Ecomax and it appears to have solved the problem and the engine now runs perfectly for hundreds of miles. May be a coincidence, may be this produck cleaning the injectors etc. I don't know, but it gets the thumbs up from me!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BOGNOR REGIS
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Car running better,
November 22, 2013
By Anonymous
from Bicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy use, clear instructions
"I have used other products similar to this, I found that this product seems to be better as the symptoms seem to be less frequent so I feel this product meets it's claims I will buy this again"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BICESTER
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Liquid Magic,
November 18, 2013
By GrowingOldDisgracefully
from Worcestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My Volvo D5 goes like a dream on this stuff. Definitely noticeable when I've forgotten to put it in."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? EVESHAM
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Product - Cleaned Engine - By Matt - Lowry Centre to Carlisle,
November 15, 2013
By Matt0Lowry0Carlisle
from Carlisle
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quick to work
"I was recently at a business meeting at the Lowry Centre in Manchester and my company car had been suffering with an unresponsive throttle and engine. This product was recommended and I took the car up to Carlisle the next day. In the short burst from the Lowry centre to Carlisle the car was as good as it has ever driven. Thank you Halfords for this great product - A must for all car users."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (FORT)
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
October 18, 2013
By Danvanman
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Made my van run better almost instantly, improved power and engine noise."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BOSTON
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Definately increased my mpg,
October 11, 2013
By ChrisW99
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this from Halfords in January when I got my first diesel car. I have been getting 48mpg on average through the year.
The bottle ran out so I have had a couple of tanks without it, and my mpg has dropped to 43-44. Coincidence? I doubt it, another bottle needed soon!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
55MPG in my 3.0Tdi Audi A6 quattro! Amazing results :O),
September 06, 2013
By MarkTM
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: available in 5lt sizes, easy to add
Cons: doesn't smell that nice, no dosage instructions on 5lt
"Now some would swear by using superfuels and pay in excess of £1.50pl. I prefer to use supermarket fuel when they run a voucher offer and can pay as little as 87ppl (yep have had 50ppl off), typically though typically 10ppl off
My quattro has an 80l tank so take it along with 2 or 3 jerry cans and get the full discount off 100l. Well worth it IMO.
Now I should point out that I've actually gauged my fuel usage from top up and also that my car has been remapped for economy. So without Millers I'll achieve 49MPG and on the same journey in the same temps at the same average speed and duration with Millers it will deliver 53-56 MPG, so on average 10% better. I've even managed 950 miles on a single tank!
So effectively am getting Prius type economy out of an executive barge with permenant AWD
Now I should say at this point I gauge my results based on long journeys with no stops, so for instance Somerset to Glasgow 400 miles. So doubtless I will see the VERY best results, others with town driving built in may not see the increased benefits but I do.
Also courtesy of a recent 6 points on my license (my first in over 30yrs of driving) I will not exceed speed limits for fear of losing my license.
I must be doing something right as some on my marques forum don't get anywhere near my economy even with a 2.0Tdi :O)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
so far, so good,
August 18, 2013
By mickthehat
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My pug 306HDI was cutting out during driving, mechanics guessed the injectors were faulty. Chucked half of this bottle in to the tank and so far no stalls... hope it clears whatever was blocking the fuel flow. The car now goes like a stabbed rat when you boot it to. Overall, happy so far!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
How many cars: 1
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
August 17, 2013
By Brooster
from Highland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
"Initially used it in my 4.2 TD Landcruiser, didn't really expect much, but on a 200 mile journey I could feel the engine gain in performance [it was good before even better now] but the difference in fuel consumption is amazing! I now use it in my 170 TDI Quattro and can also see and feel the difference. Amazing product"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1.9cdti problems gone,
July 28, 2013
By russcan
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Nightmare problems all the time with egr, boost pressure sensors millers solves all this and gives amazing performance honestly best money I have spent on this car and trust me its alot turns tesco diesel into shell nitro"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE UNDER LYME
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth getting,
July 21, 2013
By Dave20570
from Corfe Mullen
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Has very much improved the performance of my car after just a couple of weeks, and has enough in the bottle to last a couple of months, would definitely recommend if you diesel car is feeling a bit sluggish, or non responsive."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? FERNDOWN
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No complaints.,
June 28, 2013
By JT2013
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this on the advice of my mechanic to clean the injectors on my diesel engine. I have no idea what this means, but I bought it anyway.
The engine seemed less laboured almost immediately, though apparently it takes 200 miles to really notice the difference.
The use coincided with a service, but I've been very happy with it. Good price and lasts a while."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BROMLEY
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>