Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml

Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml cetane booster & detergent adds up to 4 cetane numbers to diesel
Average Customer Rating:
4.618 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
13
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
0
71 of 76(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Review 1 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ignore insructions...,
January 24, 2015
By Thundermoor
from Daventry, Daventry, Northamptonshire NN11, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: clever filling system
Cons: it smells!!
" For first use - slip in at least three measures of the detergent.
It will take a few hundred miles to feel the difference!
I put in a Mondeo 2.0 TDci - no problems with a twelve year olde engine. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DAVENTRY
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Millers Diesel Power Ecomax,
January 10, 2015
By Anonymous
from Eastleigh Hampshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I add this product every time I fill up with diesel(max capacity).It keeps the injectors clean, gives my Sportage 4x4
smoother acceleration and slightly more M.P.G. excellent product
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EASTLEIGH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says,
January 07, 2015
By hamster92
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: it does what it says
Cons: cost
" good product, does what it says, better than other leading brands. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not sur!!,
January 04, 2015
By stan1239
from Llandudno
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I read many reviews for Millers Diesel power Ecomax which were all excellent. Halfords have just asked me to review the product but maybe this is a too soon as i have not noticed much improvement as yet. I initially used a double dose around 200 miles ago as i was getting a large puff of blue smoke on start up with some reviews suggesting Millers would rectify this but this is still occurring. reviews also suggested smoother acceleration along with a quieter engine but i have not noticed any difference. Also, the price in Halfords is at least 50% more than you can get it for on the internet. Not convinced as yet!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LLANDUDNO
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it did something.,
January 03, 2015
By JSilva
from Camberley, Surrey, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I've bought this product as a recommendation from a friend, but I used it after doing some basic maintenance on my car (change diesel filter, clean EGR valve, etc).
I must say the engine is running smother and I did notice an slight increase on miles per gallon.
On the plus side you get enough product fro up to 10 uses, it's good if you have more then just 1 diesel car or if you want to use it multiple times.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CAMBERLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
super,
December 27, 2014
By harold79
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" this stuff works a treat,my astra van sounds better and goes better.fuel economy is improved aswell. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used on three different engines now, Wow!.,
November 20, 2014
By PXR5
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I've used this on three different engines now, the first being a 1.5 litre diesel engine fitted to my narrowboat following recommendations on a canal forum. The moment it hit the injectors, the change was obvious and dramatic, the engine ran more smoothly, more quietly, and subsequently smoked far less on start-up. Then I put some in my truck, a Renault Magnum 500 Dxi and again the results were startling, I've owned it for over two years and it's pulling better than it has ever done, fuel consumption has improved from 7.3 mpg to 7.9 mpg. Then I put some in my Rover 75, which has the BMW 2.0 litre diesel engine and again performance has improved beyond all recognition. This is definitely worth the money and then some. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing in a bottle!!!!,
October 31, 2014
By AGS306
from Portsmouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: works very well
Cons: why didn't i notice this stuff earlier!
" As usual the reserve online and collect service was smooth and as for the Millers I wouldn't use anything else. The engine is quieter, smoother and more economical with this fantastic fuel cleaner. I've clocked up over 150k using this stuff and can't recommend it enough. For any first time user's be aware that it can take up to 200 miles to work through the fuel system but you once it's at the injectors you will know as the car feels amazing. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says,
October 30, 2014
By LouT
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have used one full tank of fuel and notice the difference already. Much less smoking and more power uphill. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SWANSEA
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Don't spill it anywhere,
October 16, 2014
By Squeeky22
from Casvegas
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: definitely quietens engine, very slight mpg improvement, less visible fumes under hard acceleration
Cons: smell...do not spill!
" As title suggests do not spill it anywhere especially on your car boot carpet. The smell is awful and you'll never get shut of the smell if spilt.
Regards performance I've seen a very slight improvement in mpg and the engine is definitely quieter than without. Under hard acceleration as with all diesels this will improve how much visible fumes your exhaust belches out
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Doesn't do miracles but it's still good stuff,
September 14, 2014
By kylegxo
from Teesside
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: smoother running, better cold start drive, slightly improved mpg, treats a good amount of full tanks, easy to pour in tank
Cons: doesn't help as much for premium diesel users, very strong smell if you spill a bit, bottle leaked somehow in my boot
" I used this when I first got my 1.9 JDT to give it a clean out, I've noticed from other reviews online that it's the people that use supermarket fuel that get the most benefit.
I use vpower diesel so that's probarly why this hasn't really done anything huge however I have noticed smoother running, smoother drive when cold in the morning, and a couple extra mpg, I never get smoke so I can't comment on that.
Personally I would reccomend a bottle, if your thinking of getting fuel additive, this is definatly the best one.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STOCKTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another Great Product Great Price,
September 11, 2014
By srobson24
from Tow Law, Bishop Auckland, County Durham DL13, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have an old focus tddi (2004) 189k and what a difference it has made I could feel it straight away double dose 1st time, work out the cost of other products against lead in brands a treatment costs 35p per tank!!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? DURHAM
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best product I've used,
August 21, 2014
By Advisor7598
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Don't waste your money buying other products from local garages. I've used other products and wasted a lot of money for my BMW 520d M Sport and unfortunately they did nothing to help. This cleaner done the job and the power and performance of the turbo is back. Definatly recommend this product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? MILE END ROAD
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml,
August 06, 2014
By Charlie08
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" It was recommended by one of the engineers I work with and I used it on my lads freelander after I service it. I've not driven it be he says after a few days he notice that it was more responsive when he put his foot down. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Doesn't really do much,
April 20, 2014
By Anonymous
from Carlisle
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: stinks, awkward to use, no detectable effect
" I got this for my '08 Golf GT TDi to keep it running smoothly. I have had no detectable change in performance or fuel economy. I do use BP ultimate diesel in conjunction with this which could be classed as overkill. I wasn't very impressed when I found the same product and size for half the price online, so I shall not be buying this in store from now on. Could be useful for older diesels. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CARLISLE
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing Product,
April 06, 2014
By haroon180
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: actually effective, easy to use
Cons: don't let it touch your hands
" I have a 2001 Peugeot 406 2.0D which was giving me below average mileage and I was encountering sporadic injector problems.
I always thought that additives were a myth but after quite a bit of research, I changed my mind, and after further research, chose this product.
I cannot tell you how happy I am with MDPE. Injector problems have gone, pick has gone up, exhaust has cleaned up and most importantly I am getting amazing mileage.
To get a perspective, I do deliveries on weekends. Hectic stop and run drives. I fill 20 liters and I get over 180 miles (and never less). That should be 41 mpg on rough urban run. (I add 25 ml of MDPE to it)
I consistently get above 60 mpg on a motorway, albeit, I hardly drive above 65-70 mph.
I cannot recommend this product strongly enough. I am going through my fourth bottle and cannot be happier. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cured misfire,
January 23, 2014
By Matlot
from Plymouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy dosage bottle
Cons: a bit smelly if left in the car
" Freelander TD4 Auto.With a slight misfire and eratic tick over.
After changing the fuel filter and adding this product the mis fire is cured.The Haynes manual advises to try a cleaner before condemning an injector. Added to that the car is more responsive to the throttle .
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml,
January 03, 2014
By WOLF44
from WEST YORKSHIRE
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I WAS TOLD BY MY GARAGE THAT MY VWGOLF DIESEL TURBO WOULD NEED NEW TURBO APPROX 800POUNDS.SOMEONE TOLD ME TO TRY MILLERS DIESEL POWER ECOMAX . I THOUGHT I WILL GIVE IT A GO. A FEW SHOTS OF MILLERS AND YOU COULD FEEL THE POWER IMPROVE AND GRADUALLY AFTER A MONTH THE TURBO WAS WORKING AGAIN NOT CUTTING OUT ON ACCLERATION.BEST 8POUNDS SPENT CONGRATULATIONS TO MILLERS GOOD PRODUCT JUST KEEP GIVEN A SHOT EVERY KNOW AND THEN TO KEEP DEPOSITS BIULDING UP ETC FROM THE BIO FUEL THEY ADD TO DIESEL. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DEWSBURY
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appears to work well,
December 07, 2013
By Harry513
from Bognor Regis
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The wife's diesel Ford Focus had developed a sporadic 'stutter' whereby the engine appeared to 'cough' for a millisecond and then pick up again and continue perfectly. The car is 4 years old and done around 40k in milage. There was nothing on the dashboard to suggest an electrical fault, so I thought of fuel.
Bought some Millers Diesel Power Ecomax and it appears to have solved the problem and the engine now runs perfectly for hundreds of miles. May be a coincidence, may be this produck cleaning the injectors etc. I don't know, but it gets the thumbs up from me!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BOGNOR REGIS
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Millers Diesel Power Ecomax 500ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Car running better,
November 22, 2013
By Anonymous
from Bicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy use, clear instructions
" I have used other products similar to this, I found that this product seems to be better as the symptoms seem to be less frequent so I feel this product meets it's claims I will buy this again "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BICESTER
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>