Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

SRAM MRX Comp 6 Speed Gear Shifter

The SRAM MRX Comp 6 Speed Gear Shifter is compatible with Shimano rear derailleurs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for SRAM MRX Comp 6 Speed Gear Shifter
Review 1 for SRAM MRX Comp 6 Speed Gear Shifter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product,
August 24, 2014
By jumbuckman
from Keighley, Keighley, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit and set up, positive shifting
"I found this product an extremely easy to fit and set_up replacement for a faulty shifter.one great feature of this product is that you do not have to to move it from the bars or take it apart should you ever need to replace the cable_superb"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? KEIGHLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SRAM MRX Comp 6 Speed Gear Shifter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SRAM MRX Comp 6 Speed Gear Shifter,
August 06, 2014
By Kelly77
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am extremely happy with my purchase of this product following the failure of the previous gearshifter on my bike. This was fitted for me by a friend who found this relatively easy. Once fitted then each of the gears needed to be adjusted and my bike now works better than it did before"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BASILDON (HERON RTL PRK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SRAM MRX Comp 6 Speed Gear Shifter
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SRAM MRX Comp 6 Speed shifter,
October 09, 2013
By Jondad
from Bedfordshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Needed to change this on my sons bike. Easy to find and reserve system at Halfords worked perfectly. Pretty straightforward to fit and now works fine on my sons bike. Only downer was that it was not in stock at my local branch so ha to travel a bit further to get it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? LUTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SRAM MRX Comp 6 Speed Gear Shifter
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to install gear shifter,
September 14, 2013
By Panther1967
from Essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to set up and works with sram and shimano
Cons: it is a grip shifter
"Bought this gear shifter to repair a childs bike which had a cheap and nasty grip shifter fitted. Was easy to fit, came with full instructions and cable already attached, and if you need to change the cable you don't need to take it apart."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? RAYLEIGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SRAM MRX Comp 6 Speed Gear Shifter
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice, but beware...,
March 01, 2013
By Andyslowrider
from Chippenham, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: easy to install, easy to adjust, convenience of instant availability in store
Cons: be careful to choose the correct model.
"I bought this to replace a broken shifter on my son's bike. It was nice and easy to fit and easy to adjust, although like most indexing systems takes a little patience to fine tune for smooth changes.
Can be found cheaper online, but very convenient to be able to check stock on line and collect from store the same day.
A cautionary note: according to the instructions with the shifter, there are three slightly different versions of the SRAM Comp shifter, each offering a different amount of gear travel per click in order to match different rear gear mechanisms. It was just luck that this MRX version of the shifter matched my son's bike, so I suggest either doing a bit of research before purchasing or checking that Halfords will accept it back if it's not the right variant."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SRAM MRX Comp 6 Speed Gear Shifter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gear Shifter,
April 17, 2012
By trailbiker
from Staffs
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: better gear selection
Cons: she wants me to change the otger now
"This shifter was just whay I was looking for and does a much better job than the original. It was for my partners bike and she finds it a lot lighter to change gear now."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SRAM MRX Comp 6 Speed Gear Shifter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job well,
April 12, 2012
By Ajoy
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Exactly as reported by others, used this to replace a stiff changer on a silverfox bike for my small son that I was expecting to ease up with use but it never did. This one is perfect and moves freely from day one and easy to fit and price is good."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SRAM MRX Comp 6 Speed Gear Shifter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
just the job,
March 17, 2012
By rayray7511
from Annan, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is an excelent product of a high quality at a low price and i would recomend it to anyone."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SRAM MRX Comp 6 Speed Gear Shifter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect item,
April 23, 2011
By MrWebhead
from Ipswich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Perfect replacement for a broken gear shifter. Easy enough to put on bike. Excellent"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SRAM MRX Comp 6 Speed Gear Shifter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replacement item,
March 01, 2011
By KevRaven
from Barwell - Leics
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: works better/ easier
Cons: none
"Works better than the originally fitted gear changer. Easier to operate for my partner"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SRAM MRX Comp 6 Speed Gear Shifter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great gear shifter,
November 02, 2010
By mumofaactiveboy
from lincoln
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"excellent item better than the one muddyfox had fitted to the terrible bike we bought via a local supermarket the shifter we bought from halfords is excellent value for money and i would rate it with the dearer versions as being on par with them....thank you halfords for the great service i reserved on line got a txt with confirmation within seconds and item was waiting for me when i went to local store to collect it fantastic service A**********"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SRAM MRX Comp 6 Speed Gear Shifter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good purchase,
August 06, 2010
By moodyblues
from york
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"easy to fit and set up and to set up.it was good value ofr money,getting me back on the road."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SRAM MRX Comp 6 Speed Gear Shifter
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
revo shift,
June 20, 2010
By vulcan678
from oxford england
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"good value easy to fit and set up a good replacement gear shift"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SRAM MRX Comp 6 Speed Gear Shifter
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does what it should,
April 26, 2010
By Aant636
from Birmingham
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased the product to replace the existing SRAM changer on an Apollo SU550,
which had seized, I went for the cheapest and have to say that the action is smoother than the original to the point where I am considering changing the other side to improve the action on that change, worth the money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for SRAM MRX Comp 6 Speed Gear Shifter
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
RatingOverall Rating 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5