Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Performance Parts or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Ripspeed Universal Air Filter

Universal air filter with inverted vector cone from Ripspeed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.739 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
22 of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Review 1 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not bad!,
September 24, 2013
By VolvoSteve
from Huddersfield
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: induction noise, recirc valve noise, washable
Cons: bit pricey for quality
"Bought one if these second hand on an auction site. The lad had it on his Punto 1.0 for a week but took it off due to increase in fuel consumption.
Slapped it on my Volvo S60 and its made the turbo wake up! Spools up about 500rpm fast, makes a great induction noise and the recirc valve is very loud now. (Im still a child really!)
Better quality than the cheapo auction site stuff but still not in the same league as the market leaders when it comes to filtration. Still would recommend to people."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great,
July 24, 2013
By seanie18
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"bough his to replace a 'no mark' air filter that was on my car before I bought It but I put a cherry bomb on it :) so I dont get much benefit out of the sound but my fuel is being saved and my throttle response is better
I have a yaris 1.0l vvti lowered by 10 ml =D"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? FRIERN BARNET
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Air filter,
May 09, 2013
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the sound quality
"Quality filter, good on price and sounds great! Easy to fit. All in all a quality product for a small price!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? READING (WINNERSH)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fiat Punto MK2 (1.2 8v),
April 15, 2013
By Jay1994
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased this product after having issues with the Ripspeed mushroom air filter. This air filter makes a satisfyingly deep rumble when accelerator is fully applied and begins to sound more 'sporty' higher up the rev count. Like any small engine car, Punto 1.2's make very little noise and purchasing this universal air filter has really made my car sound great ... always head turns!
Pros: looks great, sounds amazing, easy to fit, universal.
Cons: Encourages heavy acceleration; consequently decreasing fuel consumption lol."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NEW MALDEN
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ripspeed airfilter,
February 27, 2013
By markh7373red
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Surprisingly although ripspeed are not quite there when competing against the more well known and more expensive brands.. They have certainly attained an equal standard. The filter is identical to the K&N equivalent and does exactly the same job as the other leading brands, for me with regards to price and quality they have beaten the opposition hands down."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? ORPINGTON
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Filter - sound great,
February 18, 2013
By martb
from bournemouth
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: sound and ease of fit
Cons: maybe needs an induction kit to feed cold air.
"Does what its meant to. Looks good and sounds good in my mgf."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing,
January 13, 2013
By Sweetvibes
from England London plaistow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality
"After reading the reviews on here I went out and bought one for my ford focus 1.6 zetec 16v auto 2000 - very simple to install after watching a few videos o YouTube, it took me about 20mins to indtall and took it straight of the box and fitted it onto the intake tube with the airflow sensor still attached, didn't remove the box that was there already do the cone is now sitting in the previous box. Started the car and record it a few times and the sound that came out was music to my ears, the revs sound really sporty and when I took it for a drive the deep grunt that was comin out of the engine was a sound to hear, it shifts to 0-50 faster and from 50-70 more faster then it did before and the sound is amazing I have noticed it shifting to higher gears faster"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Surprisingly Good!,
September 15, 2012
By SWCC
from South Coast, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: makes your car sound sporty, looks good in the engine bay, decent quality and build, adds a little bit more power (depending on engine), will fit most cars without modifications
Cons: can increase fuel consumtion
"I've been looking for a new air filter for my car (1.25 Ford Fiesta). After shopping around the internet and seeing the good reviews that this product has recieved, i decided to go for it. First impressions were better than i anticipated. The quality and look of the product is good. It was really easy to install, even a complete novice could fit it without any hassle. At first i was a bit sceptical about the results, after starting my engine, all sounded and felt the same as before. However, after taking it for a spin i noticed that after reaching around 2500rpm - 3000rpm the engine came alive and started to make a satisfying deep rumble which got louder as i went faster and revved the engine higher. I also noticed a slight increase in acceleration (only slight). I haven't noticed much difference in fuel consumption, although this will vary from car to car. Overall im happy with this product and would reccomend to anyone looking to upgrade their air filter or make there car sound sporty."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sweet,
May 11, 2012
By 1BadBoi
from W. Yorks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very nice, Makes my vectra c sound great and also pull's alot faster, can't fault it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Buy,
July 03, 2011
By Bu11et
from bolton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great Product, Fantastic Looks Good And Sound Good, I Was Quite Shocked When The Engine Just Roared, If You Want One This Is The One."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Does not fit,
January 29, 2011
By DanBoy
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap easy to install sounds good
Cons: less bhp than a standard air filter
"This did not fit my mk1 Saxo VTR. There was not enough clearance to get the rubber fitting and the cone on with the jubilee clip.
Shame as i know this would have sounded great as it did on my 106.
Also this will make ur car have less BHP than the standard airfilter as it sucks in hot air from the engine bay not cool air as an induction kit would."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
review,
October 31, 2010
By Anonymous
from stafford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: awsome engine sound
"installed this onto my 05 ford focus 1.6 zetec. at first i dint think it was going to make much difference to the sound of the cars but i was amazed when i took it out for a spin. it give it an amazing roar to the engine. fitting the filter was really really easy to do took me about 20 max to fit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noise,
September 11, 2010
By Alcatelpunto
from Chippenham, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: amazing sound, fits a fiat punto
Cons: bodged it on and comes loose sometimes.
"I thought this air filter was ideal. I drive a Fiat Punto SX 60. It originally had a phat panel filter on top of the engine block. I took the actual filter fabric out of the panel filter box. Then stuck the cone filter on the end of the hose attached to the panel filter box. So i basically have an empty box after the air is filtered. It causes the noise from the air filter to echo. There are tunnels near my college and i took the car through there ragging it in 2nd gear. Between 3,000 rpm and 4,500 rpm it sounds amazing.... next investment massive exhaust system.
Overall increases power, MPG and sounds stunning. I am an Agricultural student and have no money so its a brilliant part for the money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value,
September 10, 2010
By Anonymous
from Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very stylish adds up a bit of power to engine cause it sucks more air faster than a stock air filter, and thats why it sounds nice satisfied with ripspeed"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
for such a small mod, it makes a huge difference,
August 08, 2010
By Jamesinnit
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: decent price, small mod big result
Cons: the price of k and n cleaning fluid
"quality air filter, makes the car abit nippier and sounds massive
it says to check it every 5000 miles but i found that it sounds huge for the first few thousand but it got quieter after about 2000, just needs cleaning with the overpriced filter solution or changing to sort it out tho.
sounds rly sporty despite only being used on a tiddler of an engine
not to bad on your fuel consumption either, you'll only burn more because itl sound so good you'll put your foot down more to hear it ;)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW,
July 04, 2010
By craigz
from Exeter, Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: just great
Cons: none!!!!
"Well i have put this on my 1.3i Ford Ka Collection and wow there is no noise till i hit 3000rpm then it sounds awesome it also goes like WOW!! Didnt take me long to fit it there is a bit of issue with room in the ka but i have managed to get it between the engine and battery but does fit no extra pipes needed for it....Also helps alot with hills.. Just got to is get my induction hose correctly placed.."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
REVIEW FOR FITTING ON CORSA C!!,
June 27, 2010
By Lee7892
from Burton upon trent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap, nice sound, increased throttle response, head-turning rumble.
Cons: no extension piping supplied but isnt needed, halfords refuse to fit air filters
"I bought this product skeptical of it's benefits and how it would fit for my car (A Vauxhall Corsa C 1.0L) and i must say, after fitting it (2 minute job) i am amazed by how good this filter it really is! its a fairly big filter and i have enough clearance in the engine bay between that and the bonnet, so no worries of the thing being damaged by being slammed on by the bonnet. It makes a lovely burbling noise when revved (doesn't really require much revs, this changes from car to car) and makes the car feel slightly more responsive and gives a slick under-the-bonnet look. Overall, £30 is half of what i would pay for this product, forget K&N overpricing and go Ripspeed!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant,
April 26, 2010
By sumo1
from luton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i found this product really good made the car sound really beefy brilliant"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Filter, but...,
February 17, 2010
By Nooty
from South West England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Extremely easy and quick to fit, sounds great, and adds a bit more power to your car. But be careful when fitting it to an older small engined car, as my 1.2 clio's coil pack blew a few miles after putting it on. But dont get me wrong, this is a really good filter for the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great purchase,
January 12, 2010
By powerovercomfort95
from northern ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: its really cheap too
Cons: doesant come with any piping
"i bought this nice air filter because it is as good as the k&n version it depends on the car to what performance upgrade it delivers but the sound is perfect and gives it a nice spoty exhaust note (my recomendations) first of all if you have a car like the vauxhall corsa you are in luck becausethe air filter sits nicely down the wheel arch when the air box is removed but if you dont have a car where it can get a nice natural feed of cold air i recomend that you get a nice shiny peice of metal or hrome and give it a nice heat sheild and a cold air feed from front of bumper is ideal if you have mesh and you can get great feed from this website i cant remember the cost but it dosent look horrible either i would say you do the work keep the filter clean and you can get a good 15-20 bhp outta it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
-10points
1out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>