Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Performance Parts or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Ripspeed Universal Air Filter

Universal air filter with inverted vector cone from Ripspeed.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Review 1 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not bad!,
September 24, 2013
By
from Huddersfield
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: induction noise, recirc valve noise, washable
Cons: bit pricey for quality
" Bought one if these second hand on an auction site. The lad had it on his Punto 1.0 for a week but took it off due to increase in fuel consumption.
Slapped it on my Volvo S60 and its made the turbo wake up! Spools up about 500rpm fast, makes a great induction noise and the recirc valve is very loud now. (Im still a child really!)
Better quality than the cheapo auction site stuff but still not in the same league as the market leaders when it comes to filtration. Still would recommend to people. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great,
July 24, 2013
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" bough his to replace a 'no mark' air filter that was on my car before I bought It but I put a cherry bomb on it :) so I dont get much benefit out of the sound but my fuel is being saved and my throttle response is better
I have a yaris 1.0l vvti lowered by 10 ml =D "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? FRIERN BARNET
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Air filter,
May 09, 2013
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the sound quality
" Quality filter, good on price and sounds great! Easy to fit. All in all a quality product for a small price! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? READING (WINNERSH)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fiat Punto MK2 (1.2 8v),
April 15, 2013
By
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Purchased this product after having issues with the Ripspeed mushroom air filter. This air filter makes a satisfyingly deep rumble when accelerator is fully applied and begins to sound more 'sporty' higher up the rev count. Like any small engine car, Punto 1.2's make very little noise and purchasing this universal air filter has really made my car sound great ... always head turns!
Pros: looks great, sounds amazing, easy to fit, universal.
Cons: Encourages heavy acceleration; consequently decreasing fuel consumption lol. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NEW MALDEN
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ripspeed airfilter,
February 27, 2013
By
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Surprisingly although ripspeed are not quite there when competing against the more well known and more expensive brands.. They have certainly attained an equal standard. The filter is identical to the K&N equivalent and does exactly the same job as the other leading brands, for me with regards to price and quality they have beaten the opposition hands down. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? ORPINGTON
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Filter - sound great,
February 18, 2013
By
from bournemouth
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: sound and ease of fit
Cons: maybe needs an induction kit to feed cold air.
" Does what its meant to. Looks good and sounds good in my mgf. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing,
January 13, 2013
By
from England London plaistow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality
" After reading the reviews on here I went out and bought one for my ford focus 1.6 zetec 16v auto 2000 - very simple to install after watching a few videos o YouTube, it took me about 20mins to indtall and took it straight of the box and fitted it onto the intake tube with the airflow sensor still attached, didn't remove the box that was there already do the cone is now sitting in the previous box. Started the car and record it a few times and the sound that came out was music to my ears, the revs sound really sporty and when I took it for a drive the deep grunt that was comin out of the engine was a sound to hear, it shifts to 0-50 faster and from 50-70 more faster then it did before and the sound is amazing I have noticed it shifting to higher gears faster "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Surprisingly Good!,
September 15, 2012
By
from South Coast, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: makes your car sound sporty, looks good in the engine bay, decent quality and build, adds a little bit more power (depending on engine), will fit most cars without modifications
Cons: can increase fuel consumtion
" I've been looking for a new air filter for my car (1.25 Ford Fiesta). After shopping around the internet and seeing the good reviews that this product has recieved, i decided to go for it. First impressions were better than i anticipated. The quality and look of the product is good. It was really easy to install, even a complete novice could fit it without any hassle. At first i was a bit sceptical about the results, after starting my engine, all sounded and felt the same as before. However, after taking it for a spin i noticed that after reaching around 2500rpm - 3000rpm the engine came alive and started to make a satisfying deep rumble which got louder as i went faster and revved the engine higher. I also noticed a slight increase in acceleration (only slight). I haven't noticed much difference in fuel consumption, although this will vary from car to car. Overall im happy with this product and would reccomend to anyone looking to upgrade their air filter or make there car sound sporty. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sweet,
May 11, 2012
By
from W. Yorks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very nice, Makes my vectra c sound great and also pull's alot faster, can't fault it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Buy,
July 03, 2011
By
from bolton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great Product, Fantastic Looks Good And Sound Good, I Was Quite Shocked When The Engine Just Roared, If You Want One This Is The One. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Does not fit,
January 29, 2011
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap easy to install sounds good
Cons: less bhp than a standard air filter
" This did not fit my mk1 Saxo VTR. There was not enough clearance to get the rubber fitting and the cone on with the jubilee clip.
Shame as i know this would have sounded great as it did on my 106.
Also this will make ur car have less BHP than the standard airfilter as it sucks in hot air from the engine bay not cool air as an induction kit would. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ripspeed Universal Air Filter
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
review,
October 31, 2010
By
from stafford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style/Appearance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: awsome engine sound
" installed this onto my 05 ford focus 1.6 zetec. at first i dint think it was going to make much difference to the sound of the cars but i was amazed when i took it out for a spin. it give it an amazing roar to the engine. fitting the filter was really really easy to do took me about 20 max to fit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.