Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Vanquish Medium Road Bike

The Carerra Vanquish Medium Road Bike has an ultra light 7005 aluminium frame with double butted tubes with carbon fibre fork, Shimano Tiagra/Sora 18 speed gearing and Tektro R730 dual pivot brakes
Average Customer Rating:
4.133 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Vanquish Medium Road Bike
Review 1 for Carrera Vanquish Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better spec than the newer one!,
February 15, 2012
By richy111
from Belfast UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, groupset, carbon forks
Cons: limited stock
"This is a first class bike for beginners, if you can get your hands on it of course! The stock is so limited at the moment i had to travel 200 miles round trip to get it. The spec is so much higher than on the newer vanquish with tiagra shifters and rear derailleur and a sora front mech. The carbon forks are an added bonus too, another thing the newer bike does NOT have. Everything about it is much better. Only gripe is the rubbish pedals, which i quickly changed for shimano spd's. Thats it though!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Vanquish Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent buy!!,
February 08, 2012
By Hairyeyeball
from Letchworth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: very limited stock
"This bike was an absolute barain!!
The ride is smooth and gear changes are great.
A lot lighter and and frame build quality was far better than I expected.
Took it on a 30 mile ride straight from the store and was very impressed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Vanquish Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value for the money,
January 12, 2012
By Buktabilly
from Heage
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: carbon fork, shimano tiagra shifters
Cons: bit dull in colour!
"If you are not into BRAND NAMES, for the price this bike is great value for money.
Key benefits are the Carbon forks, Shimano Tiagra Shifters and Sora gears most of which would normally be found on a much higher priced bike.
Looking forward to doing my John O'Groats to Lands End charity ride now in June!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Vanquish Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My best bike so far,
January 09, 2012
By SamNG41
from Immingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my first road bike and so far I haven’t been disappointed. First thing I noticed is the bike is extremely light! I could hardly move my mountain bike after experiencing this bike. The components included make the bike extremely good value. The gear range is sufficient and changes are smooth and accurate. The brakes are easy to adjust and provide plenty of stopping power. There are plenty of brazed on fittings including mudguard and pannier rack eyelets and fittings for two bottle cages. I can’t really comment on the pedals as I use SPD-SLs but I would imagine most people would prefer flats without toe clips and straps. Personally, I don’t see this as much of a problem as pedals can be changed very easily. One issue I’ve found is, whilst the paintwork looks great, it seems to chip quite easily. I found this when I was fitting mudguards but, luckily, the areas where the paint has come away are hidden by the guards and the brake callipers.
Overall, the bike is fantastic both in value and performance and should last plenty of miles.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Vanquish Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good buy.,
July 03, 2011
By OilyDog
from Crawley
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bike has good parts on it and it rides great the only problem was the build.The front tyre was the wrong way round,two of the back spokes were hitting the rear mech and the seatpost was not greased even though it had been ticked as greased on the build form but once i sorted these few things out it has turned out a great bike for the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Vanquish Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nearly a year on....,
April 25, 2011
By ededed
from West Yorkshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: outstanding value for money, does everything you would want
Cons: somehow lacks the 'spark'
"I've tried to write reviews twice in the past, but failed because I mentioned competitors. It's just as well, since having had the bike for a longer period of time, I feel that I can write a much better review. So here's hoping third time's the charm.
The main theme that dominiates when talking about this bike is that it represents stonking - and I really mean unbelievable - value for money. Halfords advertises this bike as being sold with Tiagra/Sora, which is still class-leading for the price I paid for it (end of season sumer discount). But - get this - my bike was equipped with 105 (shifters and mechs) which is one tier above Tiagra and another above Sora. Granted, I only got the shifters and mechs, but still that's outrageous spec for the price. Note also the wheels, found also on much more expensive bikes.
On paper at least this bike is astounding value for money. And it is a massive step up from my previous bike. It's really smooth, quiet - humming gently - and stable at high speeds - its relatively upright position made me feel like I was sitting on an armchair, at 30 mph! Thanks to that carbon fork, the front end is really light, allowing for precise and minutely adjustable handling: although that means that when you're off the saddle, you have to grip hard on the bars to make sure it doesn't move all over the place. Its aluminium frame means it's also really stiff - but this is also noticeable on really rough roads. So laterally stiff, but not necessarily vertically compliant. But provided you don't cycle like you're doing Paris-Roubaix, it's a pretty competent mile muncher. In terms of the looks, despite the red, it's a pretty understated design, but a nice design all the same. Overall, this feels like a serious, quality bike.
In terms of the negatives...Build and assembly quality could definitely be improved. One of the plugs for the handlebars came off when I got home (and the other is off as well), the front reflector has also fallen off, and the paint has come off near the seatpost area. Also, the seat tube was not lubricated on sale, which I now think is a bit strange. I agree with those who criticise the pedals - they really are awful, and I got a cramp after a 13 mile ride in my right foot. Worse still, the rear derailleur is already out of tune, so I get a lot of mis-shifting. This is potentially agonizing when I'm going uphill. And the brakes, while essentially fine, just don't have that 'bite' that allows you to really commit yourself.
Having owned this bike alongside others, I also have to say that this bike isn't really aggressive enough for me. It's probably because of that upward sloping stem, but it just doesn't feel 'racy' or 'involving' enough. However, the flipside of this more upright position is that this bike would be fantastic for beginners: even my mum, who is about a good few inches shorter than me, could have a go on the medium frame, which leads me to mention another advantage of this bike: its downward sloping top tube or 'compact' frame design would mean that it can accommodate a wide range of riders.
I'm sure that the problem I mentioned could be rectified by buying an aftermarket stem - putting this with my other bike side by side (a 58cm bike) the handlebars are about 2 inches higher than the other one's - but I feel that this bike doesn't quite have that something it would take to engage someone like me. No doubt, it's extremely competent, and essentially ticks all the boxes, so I would recommend it to any beginner, but perhaps not the aggressive road racer, or to someone who's looking for a really involving ride. Still a serious, 'proper' road bike, though."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 3
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Vanquish Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 month review,
July 15, 2010
By art1
from kilmarnock scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, resposive
Cons: paint work, pedals
"Had bike for 1 month & happy so far. Covered many miles and find bike responsive compared to virtuoso I have. Paint work is fragile and pedals that come with it are more of a token gesture also allow you to ride bike home after purchase. They definetely need changed. Find the bike to be smooth through gears and so far I am happy with it as I tend to punish my bikes and no problems so far."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Vanquish Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vanquish - A Great Bike,
February 24, 2010
By Marin123
from Wendover
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I was really pleased with my 2008 Vanquish bike. The bike itself has some great components, slightly let down by the rather heavy stem, seatpost and saddle though.
The pedals really aren't good at all and I'd recommend that you swap them a decent set of spds as soon as possible. Had problems getting the pedals off due to a lack of grease in the threads but the team at Hemel Hempstead were great at helping out and removing them for me in minutes
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Vanquish Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good bike,
October 24, 2009
By Streamlinez
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a bike with apsulate performance i can say it handles well and does take a while to get used to but when you know it inside out its a bargain! It has a good range of gears so great for climbing and for sprinting on straights, even as a youth pro racer i can say ive reachd a good 45 mph on straight on High gearz.
The only negative thing i can say (hand on heart) the quality can be fustrating at times - The paint easily rubs off, the chain snapped on my first day!!!, the parts can fail. It took me quite a while to get sorted (month). But other than that its great i have still gt the bike and would recommend it!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Vanquish Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fast and Enjoyable to ride,
September 28, 2009
By dikkief
from Doncaster
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light and fast
Cons: not to keen on non standard pedals
"Bought a 2007 vanquish in the clearance sale.
Feels stable and solid. Good range of gears make hill climbing more bearable. Reasonably light and high average speeds can be achieved on flattish terrain.
There seems to be a stigma associated with riding a Carrera as if they are inferior to other brands. I can't really find fault with my Vanquish
and I am verry happy with it. At the clearance price it represented excellent value for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Vanquish Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cheap components,
September 03, 2009
By jonny20
from Dorset
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: cheap, nice to ride, light, good drivetrain
Cons: budget components, not reliable
"Initially i loved it. It was not set up at all (breaks rubbed, gears were way off), take it to a proper bike shop to get it done properly, but it was my first road bike, and i enjoyed riding it.
However it doesn't take long to find out that most of the components are very bad.
The seat clamp and chain broke. The BB is worn after 2 months, and there are lots of suspicious creaks. The paint is very fragile! Don't be fooled by the Tiagra rear mech like i was! Perhaps the only decent component, but that eventually broke because of everything else.
It may be that i didn't do enough maintenance, but i had issues from the start, and was only riding for four months before things started breaking.
Not recommended for anything but a gentle commute. Spend a wee bit more and get a Boardman, Trek, or other more reliable makes.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Vanquish Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Vanquish problems,
August 25, 2009
By laverdabru5
from Midlands
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light agile.
Cons: more puntures in a week than my atb or hybrid has
"Well, I love the bike. Since equipping it with muguards & panniers I have used it for commuting, touring & shopping. BUT I have never had so many impact punctures in 40 years of cycling. The double wall structure of the wheels may prevent spoke ends puncturing the inner tubes...But despite using various liners & tape, I continually get holes on the inside of the tube. So, I will probably sell it on."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Vanquish Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent bike,
July 09, 2009
By stuwey
from watford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"bought this bike in december as my first bike. Since then I have found it difficult to match its spec elsewhere for under £900,
I would recommend it to anyone.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Vanquish Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First Class bike,
March 31, 2009
By steve1235
from london
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight, price
Cons: not a brand label
"I purchased this bike for some serious training, and i have found this bike to be on par with my actual race day bike. It's very light, very smooth, and an absolute joy for commuting to work on as well.
I would recommend this to anybody as an ideal starter/itermediate bike, or as a second training bike, or just as a commuter.
The components are normally found on a bike twice as expensive and the finish is also mighty impressive. Well done Carrera!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Carrera Vanquish Medium Road Bike
Based on 1 ratings-only review
RatingOverall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5