Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08

The Carrera Gryphon V-Spec 54cm Performance Hybrid has SRAM SX4 16 speed gearing, Tektro Alloy V brakes and 7005 aluminium semi-compact frame
Average Customer Rating:
4.158 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
32 of 38(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Review 1 for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Bike for the money,
August 08, 2011
By RICII
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great looks, very light, extremly fast
"I must have spent a good hour or so going through the bikes on offer before choosing this one. However I have not owned a hybrid, the bike I usually go for is mountain. It’s really lightweight at around 11KG, looks great, and blimey its fast! I have now used this bike every day since buying it to commute a 7 Mile round trip, at first the seat was a little painful, but that’s stopped now! I'm quite a well built 90KG man, but that is not a problem for this bike!
It tends to lean more towards a road bike than a mountain, as the wheels are so thin and the bike is very light. I was a little apprehensive about the amount of gears, (16) at first, but they are well spaced and I have not had to get off and push it up any hills, and when going down hill I was amazed at the speed of it. Did I say it's fast?!
I think as long as you don't go jumping off kerbs, doing stunts and the like this bike will last well. I have no regrets in buying and would definitely recommend. IMHO it beats any of the other bikes in this price range and certainly gives the more expensive a run for their money, I love it!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value for Money,
July 30, 2011
By Spinners1961
from Port Talbot
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent value for money, good gears and brakes, decent build quality
Cons: steel chainset
"After a few years away from cycling I was looking for a bike to regain some fitness. I tried a 'supermarket' full suspension MTB (like a boat anchor on wheels) before seeing this good-looking hybrid in store and after doing some homework decided that it offered excellent value for money. I had hoped to come away with the bike fully built but as the store was busy I had to take away a boxed version - no problem really and after seeing a bike on display with the fork reversed (not twisted around but actually on backwards) I felt I'd had a lucky escape. Anyway, out of the box was fine and I only added some Shimano MTB pedals before getting out on the road.
I've ridden MTB's before so the upright position didn't seem to be problem and confers good vision and relaxed riding. The aluminium frame is stiff and you feel that your power goes into forward motion (unlike that bobbing boat anchor - lol) and the roads I'm currently riding on have some bad areas but the ride didn't feel as harsh as I might of expected. The ride quality would have been even better if genuine 28c tyres were fitted as the advertised 28c tyres fitted to this bike are closer to 23c or 25c but no punctures! At this point I must add that the wheels are strong and coped with my 17 stone without complaint and after six weeks they are round and true.
The 8-speed SRAM gears are excellent. I prefer Gripshift but these push-push levers work well and the drive train is only let down by a heavy steel chainset although that works well enough. The V-Brakes work fine and haven't needed any attention so far - in fact, the entire bike hasn't seen an allen key or a spanner since the day it came out of the box.
I'm regularly riding this bike on an 8.5 mile road loop that sees me use almost every gear and it handles just fine. In particular, there is one very steep downhill with a right-hand bend and almost immediately a left-hand bend and it carves through this really well and the second-half of my ride is pancake flat before a gradual incline that can be hammered in the big-ring and this bike really responds! I haven't taken it off-road yet but I can't see it being a problem except for those narrow tyres.
In summary, an excellent value for money bicycle for commuting, fitness and leisure."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 3
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pleasantly surprised,
July 23, 2011
By Anonymous
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looks superb, great handling and speed, lightweight, excellent value, stylish commuter bike
Cons: handelbars: you'll need bar ends
"After having my much loved Marin Larkspur stolen I decided to go for something a little racier but decidedly cheaper. The Gryphon may not be as comfy as the Marin but it's certainly sexier. After I had bar ends fitted the ride was much easier and I am now able to power along with the slicker gearing. Fantastic value for money. it looks and rides like a bike twice it's price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
really nice bike,
May 30, 2011
By leos01
from Terminal 5 Heathrow Airport
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Nice bike for the price,great ride.good handling.need the gears adjusting slightly overall.superb."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike!!!,
April 01, 2011
By redhom94
from tamworth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fast, light
"i have had road bikes before so this time i decided to try a hybrid bike, best bike i have brought so far, fast - smooth - very light, ive seen some of the other reveiws about the wheels being weak, im 16.8 stone and so far have had no problems."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good Value bike,
March 14, 2011
By Andyblr
from Morecambe
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: none
"I Bought this bike recently and it has been great. its very light and the thin road tyres make a big difference on the road compared to mountain bike tyres. The brakes are excellent and gears superb. The gears are slick and enable easy climbing of gradients. Had a drink carrier fitted and mudguards by the shop."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
6 month commuter,
March 06, 2011
By whizzard
from southampton, uk.
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lightweight quick good styling
Cons: wheels wheels wheels.
"I've had this bike for 6 months, commuting all through the winter about 15 miles a day and recreation at weekend too.
Have read other reviews and surprised no-one has had any issues with the wheels.
within the first 3 weeks i returned to halfords to true up both wheels 4 times, and even replaced the rear wheel due to a spoke snapping. the rear wheel buckled again.i'm not overweight by the way, nor do i jump off kerbs etc... got so fed up, i bought different wheels from a specialist shop. apart from the front derailleur seizing due to harsh road conditions over the winter, no other problems.
overall decent bike for the money, just be prepared to cough up for new wheels."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great on roads, trails and bike paths,
February 15, 2011
By ChrisH01
from Liverpool
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great turn of speed, lightweight, versatile
Cons: slightly uncomfortable (can be overcome cheaply)
"Bought this bike as a replacement for a similar value Mountain Bike.
Used it about 4 times and its a noticeable difference already - mainly for better.
Would recommend to anyone looking for reasonable value cycle to be used on bike paths, road and trails - this is ideal.
Stick to the mountain bike for anything more off road.
Although this will handle muddy tracks no trouble, the mountain bike is more comfortable
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good choice for commuting,
January 31, 2011
By Sputnik1210
from East Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: small profile tyres, lightwieght
"I chose this bike for the lightwieght frame as well as the choice of road tyres. The bike is much lighter than a standard MTB or other Hybrid bikes.
In practice, the low wieght makes it zip around the roads, cutting as many as 10 minutes off a 35 minute commute, with no extra effort required
a good choice in place of a road bike proper, and a lot more comfortable (once you get adjusted)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike,
January 16, 2011
By Fossfire
from Bedford,England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this bike as I already had a reasonable mountain bike and wanted a road bike.I am not into competative biking but still wanted something with a bit of pace.I have had many racing bikes over the years but drop handle bars are not the most comfortable thing when on long rides.The straight handle bars of the Gryphon coupled with the smooth and easy to operate thumb shift gears make this bike ideal for me.Pacey as well.Great purchase."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decent Hybrid at a Good Price,
January 04, 2011
By Anonymous
from West Sussex, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gearing ratios, comfortable
Cons: nothing so far
"Used the Reserve and Collect service, it was excellent. Ordered the bike on line for the price I wanted, then went along to the store and paid.
The bike itself it very good. I use it as a daily commuter, only racked up a few trips so far, but for the money you can’t fault it. It was going to cost me more to fix my old bike than buy this.
I do 80 miles a week and it is comfortable, no problems in that department.
I looked around for a while at various different makes and models, and I am glad I choose this. I went for the road bike gearing as I didn’t like the road bikes passing me every day. Not any more!
Get one, you won't be sorry."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hybrid a Winner,
October 15, 2010
By MicSussex
from East Sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light but tough, fast
Cons: slight gear change issue
"Fantastic value for money, the Gryphon V-Spec delivers a speedier, easier ride than my previous mountain bike and is versatile too. Having had the bike for two weeks, I have covered around 100 miles without issue, with this bike you certainly get more than you pay for!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Purchase,
October 15, 2010
By Paulie1980
from Swindon, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great price, great for road use
Cons: lots of quick release e.g. easy steal
"This was my first bike in around ten years, I was looking for something to use on the roads but didn't want an all out road bike. After doing a lot of research I was hard pushed to find better value for money, great ride comfort gears and brakes good and all for a good price. great for the run to the shops"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carrera gryphon hybrid bike,
October 08, 2010
By teamfinnish
from lincoln
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value light weight semi racing bike, good handalbars offering a range of positions
Cons: none
"The bike was a sucsess and good value for money performing just as well as other hybrid bikes in halfords which were bizzarly £100 more and had the same simple functions. I would strongly recommend it as it offered a range of positions and its lightweight performance and thin tires made hill climbing easy and riding as a whole without the need of getting used to like a racing bike would."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent purchase,
October 06, 2010
By Outro
from kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight, nippy, very good breaks, sticks to the road well
Cons: pedals become super slippy the second they get wet
"I have had this bike almost two years and covered well in excess of 2000 miles on it, I commute 12 miles every day and have never had any problem with this bike. As long as this bike is well maintained I have found it just keeps on going. I frequently do long rides on this bike and I find it easy to keep an average of around 18mph. Its easily paces much more expensive bikes and is a pleasure to ride. I would defiantly recommend this bike to anyone from a novice just starting out riding to an experienced rider that just needs a run around bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Get it right!,
September 28, 2010
By Danman1
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light and fast
Cons: hard ride
"after doing 10 miles my bike developed a annoying squeeking noise. Took it back and the boys at halfords lubed it up, not sure where! Anyway I took it out again and after 10 miles the same noise was present. Halfords are gonna replace the bike for me and i'll see how i get along with it. Apart from that no complaints. light and fast bike. I'm so hoping i have no probs when i take the new one for a spin as i like the bike and dont want 2 change it!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my bike!,
April 20, 2010
By becci1
from Romsey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great to ride, light weight, makes cycling uphill a breeze!, excellent value for money
Cons: not very comfortable at first, bit of a harsh ride for your arms
"I bought this bike 6 months ago, as i was fed up trying to cycle my heavy mountain bike up hills on my daily commute. Its made such a difference, i can cycle up any hill now! The only thing i hated at first was the very hard ride, as not having suspension was a big shock, and roads arent as smooth as they should be! it has hurt my arms a few times, but guess thats a downside for road bikes.
This bike is very light weight which means you accelerate quickly. its so much quicker than my mountain bike.
I bought the bike for my 10 mile daily commute, and its perfect for that as well as long leisure road rides, although i didnt find it very comfortable at first, and its taken a while to get used to it.
Its really good value, especially compared to others i looked at which were out of my price range.
Several people have complimented it too as its a smart looking bike.
had no problems other than with gear changing, which i think is just due to the cables stretching, so hoping to get that fixed next week."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cheap but effective,
March 29, 2010
By grimmer
from Edinburgh
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cheap, handles ok
Cons: didn't come in a larger size
"Lighter and easier to handle than I expected in this price bracket. I looked at various other bikes in the same price range and nothing came close.
Time will tell how long the components last, one of the reason I took out Halfords cover for repairs etc. but fingers crossed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Commuter Bike,
March 20, 2010
By SJN123
from Macclesfield, Cheshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent value for money
"Had the bike for a week and done about 50 miles with no problems. No setup issues, gear change, brakes etc are spot on so well done Halfords.
This has road bike performance without the drops at a great price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Gryphon V-Spec Performance Hybrid Bike Large 08
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good stuff,
February 27, 2010
By Marius
from Southampton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very fast bike
Cons: more of a road bike than a hybrid as it's claimed
"Thanks to a combination of a web offer, a carrera discount and the cycleToWork scheme, I got this very cool bike at a really good price!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>