Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike

The Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike is an ideal road bike for those new to the sport of road cycling. With a lightweight aluminium frame, 16 speed Shimano STI shifters and Alloy double wall alloy rims with 700 x 25C road tyres
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 of 34(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Review 1 for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Value purchase,
January 11, 2012
By lastmanstanding
from Chester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value
" Chose the bike as it represented excellent value over other alternatives. Very easy to put together and set up. Seems to be very comfortable compared to my old road bike (albeit a little heavier). Very happy with my investment! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike,
January 10, 2012
By delliott22
from Bedfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" 1st road bike and extremely happy with the bike so far. Amazing value as bought through the sale. Very helpful staff at the Kettering branch. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike and great price,
November 13, 2011
By Sirl
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This bike is fast, handles well, and has had no problems. It's ideal, and I paid more for it than it costs now, so it is a great deal. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 3
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit for purpose,
October 11, 2011
By sexylegs1
from Weston super Mare
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: does what it says on the tin.
" Just returned to cycling at the age of 67 after a 40 year break. This bike does exactly what it says on the tin. Before purchase, I read all the feed back and the most common negative was the pedals. I have to say i do not find them a problem.
It would have been nice to have had a demo of the gear shift system, as when i took it out on my first ride, I could go up through the gears but had to phone the local branch to find out how to shift down the gears!!!! Things change a lot in 40 years
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good 1st road bike,
September 27, 2011
By TwismJJ
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this after years of mountain biking, excellent quality price after getting it durin extra 20% off carrera bikes. Only adjustments needed to buy where SPd pedals and more comfortable bar tape but bike is very fast and I'm loving getting out on the roads on this bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice starter bike,
April 30, 2011
By WandererTom
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good value for money
" The Virtuoso is a great no frills bike, perfect for me just starting my road cycling adventure! There are several things you'll want to upgrade straight away: The saddle is not very comfortable, the handlebars definitely need an extra layer of wrapping and, as other reviewers have mentioned, you'll want to swap the toe clips for some spd's pronto. After 2 weeks of riding at least 12 miles a day I'm still very happy with the performance. I've needed to adjust the brakes and re-index the gears but that's to be expected early on with any bike as the cables stretch. In conclusion, you'll still be gazing longingly at fancier machines but the Virtuoso will serve you well! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike,
October 15, 2010
By adam42
from Altrincham, Greater Manchester, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" My first road bike i have purchased and it is fantastic! Had it a couple of weeks now and I use it every week day for the 4 mile cycle to university, also use it at weekends for longer rides. fantastic bike, great buy! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice bike for the money,
August 31, 2010
By TB5505
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: very light aluminium frame
Cons: gear shift levers not very ergonomic
" Bought the carrera virtuoso after looking for bikes on the halfords website, reserved one that was in stock and collected it the same day. Bike performs well, reliable and frame is solid, although the quality of some of it's components, particularly the gear shifting mech is reflected in the price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Virtuoso,
August 14, 2010
By truckdriver
from cheshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: nice ride
Cons: pedals
" good bike could do with an extra low ratio gear for my low level of fitness,but this is not the bikes fault.Infact could not find any faults with bike,good speed, good gear change,could have done with better pedals.Just glad I got this bike.back on the road to fitness. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IT GOES LIKE A DREAM,
July 25, 2010
By GUYTECH
from scunthorpe
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I choose the bike online the night before,it was so quick and easy.I clicked to pay instore when i picked the bike up.It was assembled and ready when i got to the store at 6pm the next day.The staff knew what i needed to know about the bike and how to use it etc.He demonstrated the braking method and suggested i take the bike back in a few weeks to recheck everything was as needed for safety,ie the Brakes and gears
I will be using Halfords again for the Quality of service and staff.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cracking Bike!,
April 30, 2010
By Emjr
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Really wanted something I could get around the local country roads and this bike is perfect. You do need to change the pedals but you can get around adequately on the ones fitted once you remove the cages.
The bike also had a defective stem but the guys at Halfords Loughborough changed it over and gave the bike back to me on the same day. Well done to the bike team at Loughborough "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun, lightweight bike - minor flaws,
April 20, 2010
By calculus
from Bristol
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: light
Cons: pedals saddle.
" The Virtuoso is a 'value' sporty racer. It is satisfyingly lightweight, and runs _very_ freely.
The gear range is useful if slightly high for me. The shifters are snappy.
On the downside, the cage pedals were just what I wanted, but having no front 'lip', they are a pain to get into. The saddle does not adjust in tilt!!
I can only happily reach the brakes and shifters when my hands are on the brake shrouds, its a real strain when low on the handlebars.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent commuter/first timers bike,
April 10, 2010
By len75
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light and quick, easy to ride
Cons: peddles
" I am not an experienced cyclist and have really only had budget mountain bikes before, so my opinion may be limited in experience.
I was looking for a commuter bike for a 12 mile round trip to work.
I found this a really nice looking bike in the flesh which is what prompted me to buy it. It was well worth the money. Its quite light and from what I have seen comparing to others, a well spec'd bike. I rode it back to back against a friends £700 bike and the difference between the two is minimal. The brakes are fantastic and it moves quickly. It turns well and has good road grip.
As others have said, the pedals are a bit "annoying". Even though I have removed the straps the toe clips aren't the best. This is a minor gripe for the price really, but annoying enough to warrant a change to clipless pedals.
One thing to watch out for though is that being fairly novice, when picking the bike up, I was not told how to use the gears or that the tyres we're only inflated to 25 psi (rather then 100). This made for a slow first ride.
I have been riding it solidly for 3 weeks now and love it. The gears have started to be a bit clunky but i'm sure this is a bedding in issue and will be picked up and fixed on my 6 week inspection.
All in all it is a great bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carrera Virtuoso Medium,
April 09, 2010
By CambridgeRider
from Cambridge, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cheap, solid components, robust
Cons: poorly put together, handlebars not adjustable, cheap pedals
" Bike was assembled badly in the Cambridge store. Rear mudguard fell off on the way home, bell was broken and several caps were missing. MY ADVICE IS TO CHECK YOUR BIKE WITH A MAGNIFYING GLASS BEFORE YOU LEAVE THE STORE....TWICE.
However saying that all the faults were promptly fixed when I took the bike back.... it was just inconvenient.
The bike itself is a very good entry level road bike...soolidly built with relatively robust components that should last you a while. Id buy it if you are on a budget. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the bike i want it,
March 30, 2010
By nano23
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" the drive is superb, very nice road bike to take me anywhere i like "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
definately worth the buy,
March 10, 2010
By abstar
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" After a daily commute on a hybrid for a couple of years (Carrera Subway 1 Hybrid: a very decent bike) I’ve decided on this road bike after checking out the reviews. First of all the seat is not really suitable for women! The pedals are rubbish (toe clips catch on my laces when putting my foot in, which is interesting when starting from traffic lights) and the break handles are too far away for a woman’s hands reach. But these are all easily changeable therefore I’d definitely recommend this as its a decent light and quick bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Bike,
March 02, 2010
By MrBell
from Dalgety Bay
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: pedals
" The Carrera Virtuose is an excellent bike the only one down side i have found is the pedals. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Road Bike.,
February 28, 2010
By Westfield
from Salford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money. looks great
Cons: none
" Bought this bike in 2008 and cycled about 160 miles a week for about 5 months,before being knocked off it by a car and wrecking my bike and my knee.Operation on knee out of the way,decided on a Chris Boardman MTB sport so i could stick to the pavements away from silly motorists.Really missed my Carrera Virtuoso,so i have now bought my second Virtuoso and love it just as much.This bike is Fantastic,it absolutely flies.Ive put a pair of SPD pedals on and it goes like like a rocket. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First Road Bike,
February 27, 2010
By GazzaS
from Coventry
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought the bike following other recommendations on this website. Bike is light and is easy to ride. Pedals aren't great, but not as bad as others have made out. Just need to take the straps off. Rode to work and back (8 miles each way) yesterday. Much faster than a mountain bike, really got some pace going. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Virtuoso Medium Road Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice bike,
February 24, 2010
By 1980footymadbailey
from brombrough/merceyside
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" i got this bike a week ago been on it every day
if your thinking of get geting mtb dont bother until u been on this machine 20 25mph very easy cart wait untill weather picks up so can give good run seats not that bad wen u get used to it i took the plastic of pedals
other than that this bike is spot on i love it thank u halford i hat 2 sort gears out my self as halfords brombrough set up wrong just make sure if yor getting this bike all set up right of halfords before u take away thanks again halford top bike
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>