Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"

Carrera Fury 16" Mountain Bike has powerful Tektro Auriga hydraulic disc brakes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.409 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 of 22(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Review 1 for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How can you slate this bike,
February 19, 2010
By BikerX
from Maidstone, Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: forks, hydrualic disc brakes, decent sram gears, good looking bike!
Cons: tyres - upgrade to a decent set fr better traction
"I can't understand how people can right this bike off!!
I started down hill mountain biking about 9 months ago and had the fury recommended to me by an experienced down hiller, who himself started out on one. Since then I've bounced it off of every type of tree and rock imaginable, and it still runs as sweet as anything.
I mean, to be honest, the gear you get on it is amazing for the price. The SRAM X.7 rear mech is something you'll usually find on a premium full suspension bike, and the name 'rock shox' speaks for itself. All that and you still get a decent set of hydraulic disc brakes; perfect!
Just remember, theres a reason why Bike Radar (a website I'd trust with my life!) gave it 5 stars. If you want to start proper mountain biking, start with a fury!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fury X-C,
August 25, 2009
By Anonymous
from Midlands
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Bad points - the chain broke the 1st day I had it. A few months later I found that the Halford mechhanic (hah!) had not bothered to put the puncture coating I had paid for into the inner tubes. Also the wheel bearings were not greased or sealed, & the reatr one went west in 6 months.
But, once the teething problems have been sorted out, it is ace off road, or commuting in snow. I do some heavy off roading. & have every confidence in the bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great value bike,
July 21, 2009
By postman204
from Dewsbury, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value, great spec
Cons: no extras
"great bike for the spec on it, ordered it online with 20% discount. happy with the purchase."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
A bit of a rip off,
June 30, 2009
By fishy128765
from Ayr scotland
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: forks, brakes
Cons: everything esle
"this bike look good but my dad has one of the and its rubbish the only good parts are the brakes and the forks.i have a mongoose otero super with rockshock toras and a rockshock BAR airshock which cost the me 550 and it a much better bike.the furys back brake rubs with the rotor and slows the bike down I tried to fix it a few times but it still didn't work so we took it back to halfords in ayr and they fixed it when we got home we went for a cycle on some flat roads with the family and 5 mins in to the cycle it did the same thing ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Purchase,
June 26, 2009
By DazB
from Wigan
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good back to biking bike
Cons: seat is a little unforgiving
"After looking around for weeks for a mountain bike, I decided to go to halfords where I purchased the carrera fury. I purchased online and took advantage of the 20% off and free build. all I had to do was pick, pay, collect. EASY, very impressed with the bike and the service from wigan store."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolute class!!,
June 21, 2009
By Wellyboot
from Middlesbrough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent value for money, tunable forks, nice light frame
Cons: that saddle!
"Ordered the Fury after weeks of going through this site amongst others and narrowing the choice down to 3 - the others being the GT XC1 and the Boardman.
Guys in the Middlesbrough branch were fantastic and they advised me that for my needs the Fury was the best option. The top spec kit on the bike is second to none in its price bracket - the GT was a close second but lack of lock out forks and some lethal looking pedals finaly put me off!!! The Boardman was nice but a bit too flash.
I'm by no means an experienced rider but this bike will give me plenty of room to broaden my horizons :-) In the week i've had it i've clocked up a good few miles and not a single problem. The bike was put together realy well by the store staff and a simple run through of the kit on it ws really helpful - last bike was a grip shift.
Only two minor - and relatively inconsequential - grumbles: 1) the seat is a little uncomfortable, 2) a little adjustment was needed to the position of the right gear trigger was needed.
Really happy with my purchase, and even happier when i found out that i timed it perfectly as I saved 20% on the list price due to a special offer!!!
I would recommend this bike to anyone looking for a high spec bike for under £600."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Buy,
June 21, 2009
By Anonymous
from Kent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great forks, brilliant spec for the money
Cons: not the best rims availiable
"excellent forks for the money, work very well x country. excellent buy for someone getting into mountain biking and a excellent buy all round"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding value for money,
June 07, 2009
By sam3030
from Middlesbrough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A great bike for the money. With a really good fork that you wont find on similar priced bikes.The brakes are the comp version with the split clamps.Nice and light."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best bike i own!,
June 02, 2009
By MBRSAM
from lincolnshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: suspension, brake, value for money
Cons: frame is a bit heavy
"very good quality, friend on specialized also dubious due to smaller branded name,
was poorly built by mechanics.
would recommend!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality Product,
May 30, 2009
By Beginner
from North Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"In overall, very good looking bike, excelent for beginners who wants to fell a bit more professional. Improving quality of components especially front shock with feutures (adjustable travel). All in all, Carrera Fury is a bike for YEARS."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value all rounder,
May 26, 2009
By Weekendbikerboy
from West Sussex,
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good quality forks and brakes, good value for money
Cons: no bolt on mounting points for a front mud guard
"I bought the Fury after searching high and low on the internet for a bargain. It got close a couple of times with a Giant Terrago and a Scott sub 2 (I think). However whilst at Brighton's Bike Hut the Fury was pointed out as a good buy with quality components, Rock Shox Toro adjustabe travel forks with lock out, and the the hydraulic brakes looked of decent quality, and a bargain at £500. I left it for a few weeks and then the Fury was on sale with 20% off, so I couldn't resist. A lot of bike for £400! I was a little apprehensive after reading a review that suggested there was significant flex in the rear frame supports when carting an 11 stoner around, since I weigh in at around 17ish stone! However, I have not notice any adverse handling or flexing issues (not that I am down hilling over the rough stuff everyday).
I have stuck a pair of Continental Travel contacts on for the 70% on roading that I do, but found them only passable off road. No problem on the dry stuff and gentle tracks, but anything wet and the slip sliding starts. I will have to try deflating the tyres a bit, though will probably revert to the OEM tyres (that were also Continentals), to try real off roading. On road the bike is great and the slick sram systems work really well, though it took a bit of time to set up. The fork lockout works great and allows me to put all the power through the pedals rather than bouncing around on the front.
I had considered a hybrid machine, but there was nothing in my price range up to the job of doing a genuine on and off road job, and forget the C700's for off roading! So in the end a new mountain bike togged up for mainly road riding fitted the bill. I'd recommend anyone looking for a new bike to consider the Carrera range, I was pleasantly surprised, and unless you intend NEVER to go off road, stick to a hard tail mountain bike and dress it for the road with some semi-slicks. It will provide all-round fun, even if you need to the change the tyres for a wet session. Small price to pay for a dual use machine.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Fury 08,
May 26, 2009
By lmannin8
from Liverpool, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This bike is by far the best equipped and best performing bike in its price category rivalling offerings from better brand names costing almost twice as much. I've used it for a multitude of functions and it has performed well continually and surprises me by its capability every time."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A few teething problems, but value for money.,
May 26, 2009
By cjdaley
from Bolton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this ready assembled as it was a display model at my local Bolton store. I returned later in the day (bought online and got discount). Only on my first outing did I discover that the gears were out of alignment, there was rubbing on the front disk break and rear wheel was buckled causing horrible noise when braking. The chain even snapped first weekend. Returned the bike to the Warrington store and they fully repaired all the problems in a day and the bike is in excellent working order, really great to ride and good value for the price I paid."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent value,
May 26, 2009
By props09
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value for money
Cons: nothing to impair a great ride
"while looking for an upgrade to my supermarket special I had the good fortune to borrow a friends bike that had set him back over £1500, not having that kind of cash to splash after a bit of research and advice from local Halfords staff I purchased the Fury. Having now ridden the bike solidly for three weeks myself I can honestly say it has exceeded my expectations my friend has also used the bike and is amazed at its performance and value compared to his expensive ride"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great specced bike,
May 25, 2009
By BSFS
from surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Really good spec at this price mark. Rockshox forks, hydraulic discs, mavic rims and continental tyres for £400 (20% discount weekend, usually £500) even at full price it was the best spec i could find for my £500 budget.
Rides well (enjoying my fist bike with front) suspension. brakes are powerful and gears are smooth.
You get a free check up/tweak up after 6 weeks.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the best way to spend £500,
May 25, 2009
By manicbiker
from canterbury kent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value for money
Cons: cannot think of one
"this bike has been the best purchase ever!!
superb shocks great brakes and it just looks good.and it gets me out of the house from screaming kids and a screaming nutter of a wife!!!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike!!,
May 25, 2009
By carlrep
from wrexham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I needed a more serious bike after taking up mountain biking with a group of friends, and this bike has not let me down. The adjustable rock shox suspension can easily cope with rocky off road trails and gives a good ride when on road too. Have already covered around 200 miles on this bike and have not had any problems. Great bike for the price!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FURY @ Its best.,
May 25, 2009
By Harvey21
from Cambridgeshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The FURY is probably the best bike I've owned I think and I've had 3 Carrera's now, the brakes are awesome, suspension spot on for my kind of biking and it looks great."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
April 15, 2009
By MBRR
from Chorley, Lancs.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had the Carrera am Fury around 6 months now & have given it some serious batter off road.
It has excellent kit for the money - great forks, brakes & brill gearing.
The guys that I ride with were a bit dubious at first because it is not a Specialized or Marin etc but have really come round to the fact that this is a top bike with great spec.
I would deffo recommend this particular bike to anyone.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Fury Mens Mountain Bike 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Forks,
April 07, 2009
By greenphotos
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: rockshox tora forks, hdraulic disk brakes, light and strong
"Superb forks on this bike, which at the time was £399 on a special offer weekend.
Forks are Rock Shox Toras with Lockout, travel and preload adjustment - excellent stats for this price.
For the price it's a nice light weight and balanced bike.
Very good feel through the handle bars and inspires confidence. Hydraulic disk brakes, even though slightly budget ones are very responsive.
Good colour choice too makes this a stylish fun bike to ride.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>