Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Disklok Steering Lock (Silver) Small

Disklok Steering Lock (Silver) Small is a great deterrent as it`s hard to remove without the key.
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Disklok Steering Lock (Silver) Small
Review 1 for Disklok Steering Lock (Silver) Small
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good deterrent but can leave mark on soft leather,
September 12, 2014
By hsingh
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: size, good detterent
Cons: price, leaves a mark
"Looks large and cumbersome to start off with but isn't once fitted and serves as a good deterrent on my Audi A6. I put 2 x pillow cases on my steering wheel however as it does leave a mark on the steering wheel otherwise (especially where the bar locks into position). This is even though there is inner velvet lining all the way around. Overall happy with the purchase even if the price is a bit steep."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Disklok Steering Lock (Silver) Small
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must have security device,
August 24, 2014
By Badger828
from Stafford, Stafford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: build quality, toughness
Cons: cost, weight
"Although the Disklok is bigger than your steering wheel and can be cumbersome you do get used to putting it on and off. It can leave small dents in your steering wheel but they soon disappear, don't put it on too tight so it can still spin and these marks are minimal anyway. No longer do I worry as much about my pride and joy with this steering lock fitted. Wish the price was a little lower but you get what you pay for I suppose. It's a relatively small investment for something so valuable in our lives."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? STAFFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Disklok Steering Lock (Silver) Small
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
25 Mins to remove with basic hand tools,
March 22, 2014
By Farway
from U.K
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Managed to securely fit to my cars steering wheel only to realise the next morning I didn't have the keys. I managed to break it bit by bit off using an adjustable spanner and screw driver... the AA laughed at me when I made the initial call. It does seem secure, it is a deterrent for your average pick pocket thief but most definitely NOT un-stoppable."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Disklok Steering Lock (Silver) Small
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Expensive purchase,
February 08, 2014
By JLH1978
from Enfield
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Expensive for what it is but if its the best on the market I guess its to be expected. It definitely is secure! Be careful if you have a leather steering wheel though because this has left deep indentations on mine which will not come out. Not very impressed because the damage will now end up costing me a lot more."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Disklok Steering Lock (Silver) Small
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
disklok,
January 07, 2014
By bigbrownbear2
from derby
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just got this for our motorhome nice piece of kit and easy to use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Disklok Steering Lock (Silver) Small
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product,
April 19, 2013
By Kat1981
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This product was a tad fiddly to start but I'm used to it now. It does as exactly as it says on the box. Found it a bit expensive compared to other steering locks, however I do feel that my car is secure whilst it is in place."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Disklok Steering Lock (Silver) Small
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Disclok - Excellent,
March 11, 2013
By TTTransport
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I use Discloks on all my private and company vehicles and wouldn't use any other device. Some people say they are too heavy and large to use easily, but once you get in to the habit of using Disclok every time you leave your vehicle it becomes second nature. Criminals put a lot of effort in to their activities, but with very little effort you can thwart them simply by using one of these - If they know they can't steer the vehicle, they won't bother attempting to steal it and will move on to someone elses vehicle."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? LICHFIELD
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Disklok Steering Lock (Silver) Small
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great visible deterrent. Awkward to fit/remove.,
February 19, 2013
By Muffinspeaches
from Ringwood
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the visual impact of the product
Cons: slightly awkward to fit and remove on my car
"Overall this is a good product but can be a pain to fit or remove and could mean not always bothering to fit it. Very heavy duty and sturdy would hopefully make a potential thief go on to an easier target. Price is a little high for the simplicity of the design."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: More than 3
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Disklok Steering Lock (Silver) Small
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent lock,
January 08, 2013
By Daz11111
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fits steering wheel easy and provides great peace of ,ind"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Disklok Steering Lock (Silver) Small
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
December 10, 2012
By Gary32D
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Well made and looks the part.
Fits my defender (with a non standard steering wheel).
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Disklok Steering Lock (Silver) Small
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Can mark your steering wheel,
December 10, 2012
By E92M3
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is a good product for enhancing the security of your vehicle, however if you have a soft leather steering wheel, you will find the disklok will leave indentation marks in the steering wheel.
I would recommend covering the steering wheel in a cloth of some sort before putting the disklok on. This is what I do and I don't get the indentations anymore."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Disklok Steering Lock (Silver) Small
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bulky but effective,
December 01, 2012
By Defenderblack
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: bulky heavy
Cons: effective
"To secure a Defender this is a good deterrent but is heavy and bulky to carry. Anything to slow the crook has to be worthwhile. i use in conjunction with other anti theft devices."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Disklok Steering Lock (Silver) Small
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mine lasted 10 years,
November 21, 2012
By Wheeltapperandshunter
from Bradford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: solid construction, simple to lock and unlock
Cons: a bit awkward to handle, quite heavy but needs to be
"I bought this product from Halfords about 10 years ago.
It has just given up the ghost this week.
I would thoroughly recommend this product as a deterrent.
Easy to use, but can be a bit awkward to put on and remove.
It is quite heavy but that is due to the solid build.
But overall a very well made and reliable piece of security equipment. I will definitely be buying another one.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Disklok Steering Lock (Silver) Small
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Awkward but effective,
November 14, 2012
By Nimrud
from North Herts
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: deters thieves
Cons: awkward to fit and remove, awkward to store when not in use
"Having just bought a new car which might be attractive to thieves, I decided to invest in a Disklok. I can only say it is effective since no-one has tried to steal the car yet! At a fraction of a percentage of the cost of the car it is worth the money. However, it is awkward to fit and remove. You cannot do it while sitting in the driver's seat so you get wet if it's raining. Have not (yet) got the storage bag, so it slides around the boot or the rear footwell when not in use making a bumping noise."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Disklok Steering Lock (Silver) Small
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
October 19, 2012
By mikey76
from West Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdy feel
Cons: a bit cumbersome to get on and off.
"It took a few goes to get used to using the lock as it's a bit on the heavy side but then so it should be to do it's job properly. However, I soon got used to it and use it all the time. It's a bit of a problem knowing where to keep it in the car when not in use, it usually slides around on the back seat. I bought a carry case for it which would probably solve the problem but I've never got round to using it. A bit expensive but much better than having the car stolen so worth every penny."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Disklok Steering Lock (Silver) Small
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits where other wheel locks don't,
April 26, 2011
By BelfastHalfords
from Belfast
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fits where others dont, best security available
Cons: fairly expensive, bulky
"I bought this as other steering wheel locks didn't fit my style of wheel.
I drive a hot hatch and want to protect it as much as possible, this lock seems to top all the security reviews in its type.
Biggest issue for me is that its bulky and not as handy to fit on and off as the more traditional 'bar' locks. A trade off for the enhanced security I suppose."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
+34points
38out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Disklok Steering Lock (Silver) Small
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Car Security on a budget,
March 07, 2011
By LaverdaLin
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Fiddly to use at first, but persever its worth it.
Is a real deterrant when car is parked, it fully covers the steering wheel. A bit heavy to lift if you keep it in the rear mat wells.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.