Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hammerite Rust Remover Gel 750ml

Hammerite Rust Remover Gel specially developed for the safe removal of rust from metal items.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
7 of 10(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hammerite Rust Remover Gel 750ml
Review 1 for Hammerite Rust Remover Gel 750ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Uneffective,
August 26, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I bought this product thinking that I would apply the get on the rusty surfaces and that scrubbing them would remove it, as simply s this.
Not at all, in order to get results you need to apply, brush, apply, brush, apply again, brush again, apply all over again, and brush brush brush... at the end there is so much brushing and scrubbing going on that the product is not even needed!
I found soaking the item into apple cider vinegar far more effective, soaking overnight achieved far better results than this product.
A waste of money... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hammerite Rust Remover Gel 750ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hammerite rust remover,
August 17, 2015
By
from ashington
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I bought this to remove the rust from brake discs from standing on garage forecourt for months.
didn't do much at all left for 15-30 minutes used wire brush then ended up using wire wheel attachment on drill.
wouldn't recommend at all . ended off using it to clean my hands cos think it was just swarfega.
also bought hammerite black for my brake calipers and that was brilliant... Just so nobody thinks I've got it in for hamerite "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CRAMLINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hammerite Rust Remover Gel 750ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
December 21, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: non drip
" Used this on a heavily rusted oil sump. as it's a gel it doesn't drip, useful when working under a car. If you are patient and follow the instructions you will have a great metal surface to work from. I would use again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hammerite Rust Remover Gel 750ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not a one stop treatment,
September 19, 2014
By
from Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: i prefer a one application product.
" Whilst the product is effective, it takes a few applications plus washing off before a top protective coat can be applied. This can be more time consuming. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (BALNAGASK RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hammerite Rust Remover Gel 750ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Powerful product,
March 08, 2014
By
from Clevedon, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: a gel not a liquid, power
" Used with care this product does remove surface rust on tools and auto parts. Excellent, I'll use it again "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CLEVEDON
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hammerite Rust Remover Gel 750ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effective and easy to use,
September 19, 2013
By
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, good value
" Bought because it was the only place I could reserve/buy and collect the next day but the product is great. Using on the rusty bits of a narrowboat, some of whch are quite rusty and weird angles but the product goes on nicely and seems to be doing the trick, although I gues stime will tell. Have applied more than once on some areas, but this was the same with the other products I've been using and I guess is the same with all of them. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hammerite Rust Remover Gel 750ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best price around - FineProduct,
September 16, 2013
By
from stoke on trent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" second tub purchased from halfords as i have quite a bit of rust to tackle. Used Hamerite rust remover off and on over the last 25 years and has always done the job for me "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (HANLEY)
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hammerite Rust Remover Gel 750ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin!,
October 25, 2012
By
from Cannock
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fast working, ease of use
" I'm in the middle of the restoration of a 1977 car which has some rust on the wings and sills. After wire brushing the area to remove the worst of rust i painted on the Hammerite Rust Remover Gel and left it for 20 minutes. I then rinsed the area and the rust was nearly completely gone. I repeated this and it left me with clean metal i could work with. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hammerite Rust Remover Gel 750ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
do's what it saids,
October 08, 2010
By
from london
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" good product Hammerite Rust Gel Remover removes rust in 2-3 hours "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+8points
14out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hammerite Rust Remover Gel 750ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
August 29, 2010
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
" Used on my motorbike frame and center stand, most of the rust goes after 2 coats, then used a toothbrush sized rust brush to help remove the rest "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+40points
44out of 48found this review helpful.