Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Silicone Lubricant 400ml

Halfords Silicone Lubricant for use on weather strips, mouldings, trim, rubber doors & window seals.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Silicone Lubricant 400ml
Review 1 for Halfords Silicone Lubricant 400ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Silicon Lubricant,
March 21, 2014
By Bmwsfx
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this a couple of days ago as I had an electric window that stayed down once lowered, I thought I would have to replace the mechanism, expensive as it was a BMW X5, I squirted this Halfords Silicone Lubricant down both channels of the window, ran the window up and down a few times, now it's fixed! This stuff is great, it lubricates window rubbers, door hinges, and most moving parts, metal, plastic or rubber, unlike normal oil, this doesn't perish rubber so is great for window tracks etc."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BLACKFEN
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Silicone Lubricant 400ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product,
December 14, 2013
By gupbran
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: works as described
Cons: no cons
"value for money worked well on my car.Wish i had bought it sooner"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? OLDHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Silicone Lubricant 400ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product,
December 10, 2013
By Billbow
from south glos
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I reqire this because one of my car windows was sticking in the channel, this lubricant immediately solved the problem.
My local store bid not stock the item so I ordered using click & collect & within half an hour the item was available in my local store,!st class service.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? YATE
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Silicone Lubricant 400ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Much better value,
June 24, 2013
By kohulan24
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Much better value for money and highly recommendable...!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Silicone Lubricant 400ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for tired seatbelts,
March 20, 2013
By scoobiemandan
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: does what it says on the tin
"Bought this on a recommendation. We have been having issues with the seatbelts in the family car not retracting.
Spray this stuff down both sides of the entire length of the belt (trim removal required) and the problem is resolved.
Be warned though, this will make everything it comes into contact with very slippery indeed so make sure it doesn't get on the cars pedals/steering wheel etc."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BEXHILL, HASTINGS
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Silicone Lubricant 400ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Silicone Lubricant,
January 27, 2013
By Shopper2013
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent product at a good price - performs exactly as stated on the container."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Silicone Lubricant 400ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product, more than does the job,
November 24, 2012
By Ernie46
from Berkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had two sticking rear electric windows in my Nissan Qashqai. The motors really struggled to get them closed and I was worried the motors would overheat or get damaged. I lowered the windows and then squirted Halfords Silicone lubricant in the runners. I then ran the windows up and down 3 - 4 times. Perfect. Job done in 1 minute. The cheapest car repair I've ever done!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Silicone Lubricant 400ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant stuff!!,
January 12, 2012
By hastingsmum
from Hastings
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make Fiat
"I love this stuff. Used it on my seat belts as they were detracting as they should and now they run as smooth as ever before...."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Silicone Lubricant 400ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rubbers on the car,
August 16, 2010
By Mike13
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It keeps the rubbers on the car to last longer and not spilt"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Silicone Lubricant 400ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Magic in a can,
June 27, 2010
By mikevti7650
from Hemel
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This stuff is amazing, it has helped restore and is prolonging the life of the rubber roof/door seals on my Honda CRX saving me a fortune in replacement seals."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Silicone Lubricant 400ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nothing to touch it!,
March 12, 2010
By JB380
from Stamford (area)
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: completely safe
Cons: none really!
"This product although being excellent for a variety of automotive uses, like in my own particular case being lightly sprayed on my vehicles sliding door rubbers every month to eliminate their tendency to stick, plus of course the uses mentioned by the other reviewer, but however it is also unsurpassed for use on electrical / electronic equipment, as unlike some of the other electrical cleaners including even WD40, this product has virtually no reaction with plastics as is used in a variety of switches etc thereby eliminating the commonly experienced effect of a switch turning sticky in operation after cleaning, something that can happen with some other products.
Another thing it works great on is stopping rotary type volume controls on audio equipment from crackling when turned, as a quick blast in the small aperture where the leads enter the pot completely eliminates a crackly control for months."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Silicone Lubricant 400ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords own brand silicon spray,
May 02, 2009
By skrappy
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: protects against corrosion and is cheap!!!
Cons: dont let it get on your tyres or brakes
"Halfords should send samples of this product to motorbike magazines to test. I use my motorbike through the winter and NOTHING I have tried has come close to keeping corrosion at bay than Halfords OWN BRAND silicon spray. I spray this stuff on my engine AND EXHAUST MANIFOLD, and it lasts for weeks at a time, oil based products (WD40 etc) burn off or evaporate the first time your engine gets hot at the very most it "cooks" on warm engine parts turning "unsightly" brown. Silicon is naturally Heat resistant and DOES NOT attract dust. NOTHING I have tried is as good as this and I've tried most things (including other brands of silicon spray) I'd pay £15 a tin for this stuff never mind £4. P.s it also helps to prevent rubber hoses from rotting. I want some free samples if I see this stuff in bike mags. DO NOT LET THIS STUFF NEAR YOUR TYRES OR BRAKES!!!!!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Halfords Silicone Lubricant 400ml
Based on 1 ratings-only review
RatingOverall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5