Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large

David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit with resin, hardener, glass fibre, mixing cup & protective gloves
Average Customer Rating:
4.731 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 26(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Review 1 for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
September 17, 2014
By S1M0N26
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Product was exactly what was required, don't mix too much resin as dependant on hardener mix it can set very fast!! Click and collect service at hereford branch was spot on too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will definately get more!,
May 30, 2014
By SmeagolSlayer
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: convinient, many uses, great for beginners, easy to use, fairly priced
Cons: could have an xl version
"I used this for the first time a few months ago to repair the body on my bike, and need I say I was impressed. What I loved the most is I didn't have to go around shopping for every piece of kit since it's already in one box. It's plain convinience! Though I'd prefer an even larger box, this will do, as I now want to use this to create my cosplay. It's worth using undoubtedly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fibreglass kit,
October 18, 2013
By Angurugu
from cairns Queensland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This was exactly what I needed I could havebought the smaller kit but I will use the extra.
I also tried to buy some 25mm m5 bolts but the shop only had packets of mixed bolts.. to get what I wanted I had to buy 3 packets and would havebeen left with a lot of bolts I didnotneed soI went elswhere for bolts.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TONBRIDGE
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large,
July 15, 2013
By lordalfie
from Coventry
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, price
"Excellent product which reinforced the material around a crack in a motorcycle mudguard. Easy to use and with great results. Saved me a small fortune."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not bad,
April 16, 2013
By Stedra67
from Portsmouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy to use. Have used other products and this is no better or no worse"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHICHESTER
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
April 02, 2013
By Mark2001
from Derby
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It does exactly what it says on the box .Excellent quality at a very keen price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent kit for the money,
March 29, 2013
By popladdy
from Durham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: plenty of matting in kit, fast curing
Cons: could do with a couple of pairs of gloves
"Done exactly what i wanted,modified dashboard on car to fit aftermarket radio/cd player.This kit was also a lot cheaper from Halfords than my local car accessory shop.so top marks to Halfords and Davids fibreglass kit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Good Fibre Glas Kit!,
March 26, 2013
By SpartanKid
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this kit to repair a kit car i was renovating, and i must say that it included everything i need to get the job done! Deffinatly use again if i needed another fibre glass kit!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
grat for the price,
February 20, 2013
By ender
from didcot
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"kit is really easy to use, and halfords offers it for the best price"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sorted out my problem at a small cost and very pleased with results,
December 26, 2012
By ktuk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, great results
Cons: no cleaner/solvent in the kit
"I had never used fibreglass before I purchased this kit, which I did upon discovering a rust hole on my car. As it wasn't in a load supporting area I was reluctant to spend on getting it welded and this kit was just what I needed. I always thought there was a lot of skill needed for fibreglassing, while I don't doubt there are very skilled people out there I was surprised at what I was able to achieve. I've since patched two more rust holes and have hardly used any of the materials. I would recommend doing a practice run a piece of scrap if you haven't used fibre glass before."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
first time user's experience,
December 22, 2012
By peterthereluctantdiyer
from leicestershire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: really strong when fully cured
Cons: too much fibre not enough resin gloves & brush
"I used this to repair a crack in a plastic shower tray. It was the first time that I have used glass fibre. I did eventually manage to repair it, but I found it very difficult to use in my specific situation. Specifically, you need good external access to the item that you are reparing. I had restricted access and had to apply my repair from underneath the tray with limited clearance; this made it difficult to apply as my strips of fibre glass either stuck to the provided gloves or fell off. I also found that you only have about 4 minutes to apply the fibre glass before it suddenly became too hard. Only a single pair is provided with a single brush - need more."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
davids fibre glass,
November 24, 2012
By belcourt1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very much and did.
It so easy to use fast drying good quality."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eezie Peezie,
October 29, 2012
By powerfulheart
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I reserved daves fibre glass klt and picked it up within the hour.
The kit includes all you need to make sturdy repairs successfully. Fibre glass matting-fibreglass resin-hardener-mixing bowl-mixing stick-dabbing brush.If its a big repair get the larger size of the two it saves a few bob.Plenty of good instructions on the box
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mend With Glass Fibre,
May 14, 2012
By Geronimo99
from Sevenoaks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very strong material, very versatile
Cons: strong chemical smell, you need gloves to work with this stuff.
Car Make Mercedes Benz
"I have just used this kit to repair a leaking hand basin where the thread was too coroded to undo and replace the sealing washer. One layer of the mixed resin and catalyst and two layers of fibre glass cloth have done the trick - a water tight seal and no risk of damaging the basin or pipe by dismantling it. I have also successfully repaired a broken leg on an antique bureau and a stripped thread on a feed pipe to a car petrol pump. Trick is to have the joint ready to receive the fibre glass, always wear vinyl gloves and use plastic picnic knives to mix and spread the resin."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well - could do with some spare gloves.,
May 05, 2012
By Supaken
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: hardens as advertised.
Cons: only one pair of gloves.
"Using the instructions provided, the kit worked perfectly in terms of producing tough glass fibre which set hard as advertised within 10-15 minutes. There is plenty of resin and hardener, but downside is that there is only one pair of protective gloves which will probably need to be replaced for subsequent usage."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use,
April 30, 2012
By mancatutto
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good instructions, easy to use
"Clear instructions and easy to use. There is a good amount of glass fibre material and resin but only 1 small plastic cup, so extra cups would be needed if you are to mix up all the resin supplied."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works well,
April 20, 2012
By Guildfordcustomer
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great product. It came with good instructions and was very easy to use. I used it for a fiberglass bath repair and the end result was excellent."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy repairs,
March 23, 2012
By SpikeB
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car Make Citroen C2 1.6 VTR
"Easy to use, cut & size the fibreglass sheet.
Adhesive mix set very quick.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GR8 STUFF!,
January 05, 2012
By blackbeauty68
from london
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: did the job perfectly
Cons: did not like colour...pink
Car Make used for a bath
"My daughter dropped a heavy object in the bath causing a whole...Not good! Found this stuff after searching for two days....
So impressed. Easy to use even for a non DIYer like me.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for David's Fastglass Glass Fibre Kit - Large
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Body works,
December 14, 2011
By Barquero
from Norfolk, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to apply
Cons: packaging is fragile.
Car Make Nissan Almera
"Excellent product for those little body repairs. easy to understand and apply.
Packaging tray could be a bit more substantial.
Good value for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>